DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DuBois USPGPub 20190313669.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 10, DuBois teaches a formulation comprising [1139]:
a luo han fruit concentrate (which inherently comprises siratose)
additional sweeteners rebaudioside A; rebaudioside C; a glycosylated steviol glycoside as recited in claim 2
flavor modifying compound 3-[(4-amino-2,2-dioxido-1H-2,1,3-benzothiadiazin-5-yl)-oxy]-2,2-dimethyl-N-propylpropanamide (3rd structure in claim 3)
DuBois discloses that siratose can be present in the disclosed composition at a concentration of 0.1-3000 ppm which encompasses the proportions recited in claims 1 and 10. [0131] In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) Therefore, DuBois renders obvious claims 1-3 and 10.
Regarding claims 4-8, DuBois teaches using the formulation in beverages such as energy drinks with added caffeine. [0268-0269]
Regarding claims 9, 13 and 14, the composition of DuBois comprises the same components as claimed and disclosed by applicant and therefore must satisfy the functional limitations of claims 9, 13 and 14. Additionally, 3-[(4-amino-2,2-dioxido-1H-2,1,3-benzothiadiazin-5-yl)-oxy]-2,2-dimethyl-N-propylpropanamide is identified by DuBois as a sweetness enhancer. [1236]
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18271406 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 2 of the reference application teaches a formulation comprising siratose and one or more additional sweeteners as recited in present claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18271412 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 2 of the reference application teaches a formulation comprising luo han guo (fruit, powder, or extracts) (which inherently comprise siratose) and one or more additional sweeteners as recited in present claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 3 March 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 3 March 2026 regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on page 8 of the remarks that the rejection fails to identify a motivation for selecting siratose from the list of sweeteners disclosed by DuBois. It is unclear what legal standard applicant is applying in asserting that a motivation must be provided to utilize a single reference for all that is fairly teaches. DuBois teaches siratose and teaches including the sweeteners taught in proportions of 0.1-3000 ppm. Relying on these teachings of DuBois does not require any modification of DuBois. As such, clearly, no motivation is required.
Applicant asserts on page 8 of the remarks that examples at 250 ppm and 500 ppm of siratose evidence that the claimed proportions of 1-1000 ppm and 30-600 ppm are critical. This is not found persuasive as no evidence or explanation has been provided to demonstrate that the unexpected results asserted are present over the claimed range and absent in ranges outside of the claimed range. Additionally, applicant’s results are only noted to be demonstrated in apple drink, a beverage that the current claims are not limited to. As such, applicant’s assertions regarding unexpected results are not found persuasive.
Applicant’s request on page 9 of the remarks that the double patenting rejections be held in abeyance is acknowledged.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793