DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a hinged end cap” of claim 5, “a drum brake” of claim 18, and “a spring-loaded arm” of claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a load” in line 2 should be corrected as --[[a]]the load--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a load” in line 2 should be corrected as --[[a]]the load--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a load” in line 3 should be corrected as --[[a]]the load--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a drum” in line 2 should be corrected as --[[a]]the drum--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1: Claim 1 recites “at least one drive unit” in line 4 and “a drive unit” in line 8. However, the scope of the claim is indefinite because claim 1 recites ”at least two drive units” in line 2 and it is not clear whether “at least one drive unit” in line 4 and “a drive unit” in line 8 refer to one of the at least two drive units or if they are separate and distinct from each other. For examination purposes, “at least one drive unit” and “a drive unit” are interpreted as --at least one of the two drive units-- and --[[a]]the drive unit--respectively.
Claim 6: Claim 6 recites “it is moved” in line 3. However, the term, “it” renders the scope of the claim indefinite. For examination purposes, “it is moved” is interpreted as --[[it]]the load is moved--.
Claim 9: Claim 9 recites “a plurality of recesses” in line 2. However, the scope of the claim is indefinite. Claim 7 (which upon claim 9 depends) recites “at least one recess” in line 2. It is not clear whether “a plurality of recesses” in claim 9 comprises “at least one recess” or if they are separate and distinct from each other. For examination purposes, “a plurality of recesses” is interpreted as --a plurality of the recesses--.
Claim 10:
Claim 10 recites “a locking member which can be secured over the or each recess” in line 2. However, the phrase, “over the or each recess” renders the scope of the claim indefinite. For examination purposes, upon reviewing claim 7 (which upon claim 10 depends) and claim 10, “which can be secured over the or each recess” is interpreted as --which can be secured over the [[or each]] recess--.
Claim 10 recites “a recess” in line 3. However, the scope of the claim is indefinite. Claim 7 (which upon claim 10 depends) recites “at least one recess” in line 2. It is not clear whether “a recess” in claim 10 refers to “at least one recess” or if they are separate and distinct from each other. For examination purposes, “a recess” is interpreted as --[[a]]the at least one recess--.
Claims 2-5, 7-8, 11-19 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Woerner (5,307,880).
Regarding claim 1, Woerner (‘880) discloses a transporter apparatus (fig1) comprising:
a chassis 12 (col.4 line23) mounted upon at least two drive units 16 (col.4 line27), the drive units 16 being arranged in parallel and defining a space 18 (col.4 line28) therebetween (fig1);
a motor 20 (col. 4 line33) providing drive to at least one of the drive units 16 (col.4 lines36-39); and
a lifting mechanism adapted to receive a load and move the load between the ground and a lifted position (fig2, dotted line), the lifting mechanism comprising:
first and second guide bars 30 (col.4 lines52-53), each guide bar 30 having a first end attached to the drive unit 16 (fig2, via the chassis 12) and a second end attached to the chassis 12 (fig2);
first and second lifting carriages 60 (col.5 lines40-41), each lifting carriage 60 slidingly (col.5 lines40-41) mounted on a respective guide bar 30 and adapted to receive a portion of the load (col.5 lines40-51, fig2); and
first and second hydraulic rams 40 (col.4 line64), each ram 40 having a first end attached to the chassis 12 (fig2) and a second end attached to a respective lifting carriage 60 (via the guide bars 30).
Regarding claim 2¸ Woerner discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least two drive units 16 are continuous track units (fig1).
Regarding claim 3¸ Woerner discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the load is a drum which can rotate about a drum axle 68 (col.5 lines47-48), wherein each of the first and second lifting carriages 60 is adapted to receive a respective end of the drum axle 68 (fig2, col.5 lines44-49).
Regarding claim 4¸ Woerner discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a drum axle 68 (col.5 lines47-48) for inserting into a drum (col.5 lines50-51, fig2) such that the drum may rotate about the drum axle 68, wherein each of the first and second lifting carriages 60 is adapted to receive an end of the drum axle 68 (col.5 lines47-51, fig2).
Regarding claim 6¸ Woerner discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the guide bars 30 are inclined relative to the vertical (figs1-2), such that when the load is lifted by the lifting carriages 60 the load is moved upwards and towards a centre of gravity of the apparatus (figs1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Woerner discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each lifting carriage 60 includes at least one recess 66(col.5 line47, figs1-2) adapted to receive portion of the load (fig2).
Regarding claim 8, Woerner discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein each recess 66 includes a bearing (an exterior surface on the recess 66 which engages the part of the load) located therein.
Regarding claim 11, Woerner discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each lifting carriage 60 includes one or more fixing apertures 66 (fig2, col.5 line47) adapted to receive a part of the load (fig2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woerner (5,307,880).
Regarding claim 9, Woerner discloses the apparatus of claim 7, however, does not explicitly disclose a use of a plurality of the recesses 66. It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woerner to use a plurality of the recesses, for the purpose of receiving a plurality of loads.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woerner (5,307,880) in view of Borntrager et al (US 2010/0183412 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Woerner discloses the apparatus of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose a use of a remote control. Borntrager et al (‘412) teaches a use of a remote control (para[0011],[0060]) adapted to control a transporter apparatus (abstract, para[0011],[0060]) so that an operator can use the apparatus while standing some distance away from the apparatus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woerner to use a remote control, as taught by Borntrager et al, so that an operator can use the apparatus while standing some distance away from the apparatus.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woerner (5,307,880) in view of Zamboni (4,084,763).
Regarding claim 18, Woerner discloses the apparatus of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose a use of a drum brake. Zamboni (‘763) teaches a use of a drum brake 76 (col.4 lines66-68) to apply a drag of a desired amount against the drum during rotating of the drum (col.4 lines66-68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Woerner to use a drum brake, as taught by Zamboni, to apply a drag of a desired amount against the drum during rotating of the drum (col.4 lines66-68).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12-16, and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if all of intervening claims overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The subject matter of the claim(s) could either not be found or was not suggested in the prior art of record.
The subject matter of claim 5 not found was a use of a hinged end cap adapted to close over and secured an end of the drum axle; in combination with the limitations set forth in claim 5 and any of its intervening claims of the instant invention.
The subject matter of claim 10 not found was a use of a locking member which can be secured over the recess; in combination with the limitations set forth in claim 10 and any of its intervening claims of the instant invention.
The subject matter of claim 13 not found was a use of a plurality of roller members and at least one guide roller pivotably connected to the attachment arms; in combination with the limitations set forth in claim 13 and any of its intervening claims of the instant invention.
Claims 14-16 depend on claim 13.
The subject matter of claim 19 not found was a use of a spring-loaded arm for the drum brake; in combination with the limitations set forth in claim 19 and any of its intervening claims of the instant invention.
None of the prior arts of record considered as a whole, alone or in combination, teaches or renders obvious the allowable subject matter of the instant invention.
Conclusion
/SEAHEE HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723