DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on Application 18/271,508 filed 07/10/2023 by Kenta Morimoto, Kentaro Ogawa, and Masahiro Kuroiwa.
Claims 1-4 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by SHIGEMATSU (US 2023/0193534 A1.
With respect to claim 1. SHIGEMATSU teaches a non-woven fabric for supporting a solid electrolyte (paragraph 0016). The air permeability of the non-woven fabric is between 250-1500 cm3/cm2/sec (paragraph 0048) with specific examples falling within 155-400 cm3/cm2/sec, which is taken to be between 9-24 L/cm2/min (see Table 1). The thickness of the non-woven fabric is between 10-30 microns (paragraph 0057). The density of the non-woven fabric is between 0.15-0.32 g/cc (paragraph 0058).
With respect to claim 2. SHIGEMATSU teaches the non-woven fiber includes the binder fibers, such as a crimpled composite fiber in an amount of 80% by mass (Table 1).
With respect to claims 3-4. SHIGEMATSU teaches an all solid state lithium battery including a solid electrolyte layer (paragraph 0017). Such a solid electrolyte layer is supported on the non-woven fabric (paragraph 0029).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIGEMATSU (JP 2020024860 A) in view of HOTTA (US 2020/0295403 A1).
With respect to claim 1. SHIGEMATSU teaches a solid electrolyte carrying nonwoven fabric (abstract and paragraph 0010). The thickness of the nonwoven fabric is between 10-30 microns (paragraph 0060). The density of the nonwoven fabric is between 0.25 g/cm3 and 0.35 g/cm3 (paragraph 0061). SHIGEMATSU does not explicitly teach the air permeability of the non-woven sheet. However, SHIGEMATSTU teaches the other properties of the nonwoven sheet as claimed.
HOTTA teaches a nonwoven fabric which may include a gelled electrolyte (paragraph 0044). The separator which may be a nonwoven fabric may have an air permeability coefficient of 5x10-14 m2 (paragraph 0142). The permeability coefficient is chosen in order to control the amount of the electrolyte in the separators (paragraph 0142).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to control the air permeability of the nonwoven fabric of SHIGEMATSU to be within the desired range as a matter of routine optimization, as HOTTA teaches that such a parameter is utilized for that very purpose, and therefore achieving the claimed air permeability in the range of 1-50 L/cm3/min may be achieved as a matter of routine optimization.
With respect to claim 2. SHIGEMATSU teaches a content of heat-resistant fiber being between 2-40 mass% (paragraph 0010) which is an overlapping range with the claimed amount of 20-80 mass%. See MPEP 2144.05(I). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claims 3-4. SHIGEMATSU teaches a solid state battery composed of the solid electrolyte layer (paragraph 0014). The solid electrolyte layer then includes the nonwoven fabric for support (paragraph 0026).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G JELSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722