DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The rejection of claims 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) has been withdrawn in view of the claim amendment.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. US (2022/0322359) in view of LG electronics “FL summary #1 for AI 8.11.2.2 Feasibility and benefits for mode 2 enhancements”, #3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e, R1-20xxxxx, further in view of Lu et al. US (2019/0132893), further in view of Hahn et al. US (2022/0303059), and further in view of Wang et al. US (2022/0167310).
Regarding Claim 1, Ye discloses a method performed by user equipment (UE) (see Para [0125] i.e., first UE) the method comprising: receiving an Inter-UE Coordination (IUC) request, (see Para’s [0125] i.e., In some embodiments, a first UE, such as UE 106, may receive a trigger signal from a second UE to provide an inter-UE coordination message, wherein the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE & [0127] i.e., the second UE to trigger transmissions of the inter-UE coordination message, e.g., via transmission of a sidelink coordination request message to the first UE & [0130-0131] i.e., the first UE may receive a sidelink coordination request message from the second UE & [0134-0136])
the IUC request indicates a priority (see Para [0126] i.e., For example, if a sidelink coordination request message includes a data priority level, then the included data priority level can be used for the inter-UE coordination message & [0134-0135])
and the IUC request indicates a resource set type as "preferred resource set" or "non-preferred resource set" (see Para’s [0130] & [0134] i.e., The sidelink coordination request message may be more than 1 bit and may include criteria for selecting a set of resources for sidelink communications as well as parameters for an inter-UE coordination message. In some embodiments, the set if resources may be a set of preferred and/or non-preferred resources, [0135] i.e., parameters and/or requirements for the set of resources may include any combination of, and/or all of…an indication of a format of an inter-UE coordination message (e.g., an indication of preferred resources and/or an indication of non-preferred resources (i.e., “resource set type”), & [0163])
and transmitting an IUC response in response to the IUC request, (see Para’s [0130-0131] i.e., the first UE may receive a sidelink coordination request message from the second UE. The sidelink coordination request message may be a triggering signal for the first UE to provide the second UE with an inter-UE coordination message, [0132] i.e., the first UE may provide (e.g., send and/or transmit) to the second UE, an indication of a set of resources for sidelink communications, e.g., via an inter-UE coordination message. Additionally, the set of resources may be provided in response to receipt of the sidelink coordination message (i.e., “IUC request”) & [0139])
the IUC response indicates a resource set, (see Para’s [0124], [0125] i.e., where the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE, [0131-0132] & [0139])
the IUC response indicates a corresponding resource set type as "preferred resource set" or "non-preferred resource set", (see Para’s [0125] i.e., In some embodiments, the inter-UE coordination message may include one or more preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”) or may include one or more non-preferred resources, [0130] i.e., the first UE to provide a set of preferred and/or non-preferred resources for the second UE’s sidelink transmissions, [0134], [0171] i.e., the set of resources may indicate a set of preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”))
a priority of transmitting the IUC response, (see Para [0126] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message (e.g., to be used in the first UE’s resource selection procedure for the inter-UE coordination message. For example, if a sidelink coordination request message includes a data priority level, then the included data priority level can be used for the inter-UE coordination message, [0159], & [0162] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message. The data priority level may be based, at least in part, on a data priority level included in a sidelink coordination request message received from the second UE).
and the corresponding resource set type is determined based on the resource set type indicated by the IUC request (see Para’s [0125] i.e., a first UE may receive a trigger signal from a second UE to provide an inter-UE-coordination message, where the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE…the inter-UE coordination message may include one or more preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”), [0130-0132], [0134-0135] i.e., parameters and/or requirements for the set of resources included in sidelink coordination request message (i.e., “IUC request”) include an indication of preferred resources and/or an indication of non-preferred resources (i.e., resource set type indicated by the IUC request), [0139] i.e., the set of resources may be based on parameters included in the sidelink coordination request message, [0163] i.e., sidelink coordination request message may include a multi-bit message indicating one or more criteria for selecting the set of resources. The one or more criteria for selecting the set of resources may include any combination of, and/or all of a format of the inter-UE coordination message. The format of the inter-UE coordination message may define any combination of, and/or all of i.e., preferred resources of the first UE, non-preferred resources of the first UE (i.e., resource set type indicated by the IUC request), & [0171] i.e., the set of resources may indicate a set of preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”))
Ye does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the IUC response is carried in second-stage SCI or in a MAC CE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of LG electronics “FL summary #1 for AI 8.11.2.2 Feasibility and benefits for mode 2 enhancements”, #3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e, R1-20xxxxx.
LG electronics discloses wherein the IUC response is carried in second-stage SCI (see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 1.1 How to define “A set of resources” in Mode 2 i.e., resource set recommended by UE-A to UE-B e.g., Preferred RX resource set of UE-A, see Pg. 7 i.e., Section 1.2 When UE-A transmits “A set of resources” to UE-B in Mode 2 when requested by UE-B & Pg. 10 Section 1.3 i.e., Which container is used to transmit “A set of resources” to UE-B in Mode 2 which can include New 2nd SCI format & Pg. 11 i.e., Lenovo/Motorola Mobility i.e., introducing a new 2nd SCI format for transmitting the coordination message).
(LG suggests the inter-UE coordination message is transmitted from UE-A to UE-B using the 2nd SCI format for indicating a preferred set of resources of the UE-A to the UE-B to use for sidelink transmission by the UE-B to UE-A, (see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 1.1, Pg. 7 i.e., Section 1.2, & Pg. 11)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the inter-UE-coordination response message transmitted from the first UE to the second UE which indicates a set of preferred resources for performing sidelink communications as disclosed in Ye to be carried in second-stage SCI as disclosed in the teachings of LG who discloses a second-stage SCI is used for transmitting an inter-UE coordination message, because the motivation lies in LG that the inter-UE coordination message is transmitted from UE-A to UE-B using the 2nd SCI format for indicating a preferred set of resources of the UE-A to the UE-B to use for sidelink transmission by the UE-B to UE-A.
While Ye discloses wherein the IUC request is carried in second-stage SCI, (see Para [0136] i.e., In some embodiments, the sidelink coordination request message may be transmitted via sidelink control information (SCI), e.g. via an SCI stage 2 format), the combination of Ye in view of LG does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the IUC request is carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lu et al. US (2019/0132893).
Lu discloses wherein the IUC request is carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), (see Fig. 2 i.e., Coordination Req transmitted from UE A to UE B & Para’s [0012-0014] i.e., a D2D coordination message may be transmitted to a second D2D device, which is an intended target for D2D communication…The D2D coordination message may comprise a coordination request, & [0074] i.e., coordination message signaling can be carried in different ways, e.g., by RAN message like MAC CE message).
(Lu suggests the D2D coordination request message which may be carried in a MAC CE message is transmitted to a second D2D device intended as the target for D2D communication for allowing direct coordination between the D2D devices in order to set up D2D communication (see Para [0012])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the IUC request such as the sidelink coordination request message transmitted between the sidelink UEs as disclosed in Ye in view of LG to be carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) based on the teachings of Lu who discloses a D2D coordination request message (i.e., “IUC request”) may be carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), because the motivation lies in Lu that the D2D coordination request message which may be carried in a MAC CE message is transmitted to a second D2D device intended as the target for D2D communication for allowing direct coordination between the D2D devices in order to set up D2D communication.
While the combination of Ye in view of LG, and further in view of LU discloses the IUC response is carried in a second stage SCI included in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Ye, see Para [0130-0132] i.e., inter-UE coordination message, [0139] & LG, see Pg. 10, Section 1.3, Pg. 11 i.e., OPPO i.e., 2nd SCI format should be conveyed in PSSCH & Pg. 12 i.e., Huawei/HiSilicon i.e., 2nd SCI is also carried in PSSCH), the combination of Ye in view of LG, and further in view of LU does not disclose the claim feature of the IUC response is carried in a MAC CE included in the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hahn et al. US (2022/0303059).
Hahn discloses the 2nd stage SCI may be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH (see Para’s [0123-0124])
(Hahn suggests the 2nd stage SCI included in a MAC CE transmitted on PSSCH may include resource allocation information for PSSCH transmission, (see Para’s [0123-0124])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the second stage SCI carrying the inter-UE coordination message (i.e., “IUC response”) which is included in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, and further in view of LU to be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH as disclosed in Hahn who discloses the 2nd-stage SCI may be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH, which results in the IUC response carried in a MAC CE included in the PSSCH, because the motivation lies in Hahn the 2nd-stage SCI included in a MAC CE transmitted on PSSCH may include resource allocation information for PSSCH transmission.
While Ye discloses a determined priority of transmitting the IUC response is equal to a value of a data priority level indicated in the IUC request,(see Para [0126] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message (e.g., to be used in the first UE’s resource selection procedure for the inter-UE coordination message. For example, if a sidelink coordination request message includes a data priority level, then the included data priority level can be used for the inter-UE coordination message, [0159], & [0162] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message. The data priority level may be based, at least in part, on a data priority level included in a sidelink coordination request message received from the second UE), the combination of Ye in view of LG, further in view of LU, and further in view of Hahn does not disclose the priority of transmitting the IUC response is equal to a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Wang et al. US (2022/0167310).
Wang discloses a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH is a priority level of the data traffic (see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084-0085] i.e., the first SCI part 802 (e.g., SCI-1) format may comprise one or more of the followings: 1) a priority QoS value (e.g., 3 bits) & [0112] i.e., the priority of the traffic/data may be included in the SCI-1)
(Wang suggests the 1st stage SCI includes control information used for receiving the sidelink transmission such as resource assignment of the PSSCH and also includes control information for receiving the second stage SCI, (see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084-0085]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the priority of transmitting the IUC response which is determined to be equal to the value of the data priority level as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, further in view of LU, and further in view of Hahn to be equal to the value of the priority field in 1st-stage SCI associated with the PSSCH which is also a value of a priority level of the data traffic, because the motivation lies in Wang that the 1st stage SCI includes control information used for receiving the sidelink transmission such as resource assignment of the PSSCH and also includes control information for receiving the second stage SCI.
Regarding Claim 2, Ye discloses a user equipment (see Fig. 3 i.e., UE 106 & Para [0082]), comprising: a processor (see Fig. 3 i.e., processor 302 & Para [0089]); and a memory (see Fig. 3 i.e., memory 306 & Para [0089] & [0177]), storing instructions, wherein the processor is configured by the instructions (see Fig. 3 i.e., processor 302 Para’s & [0089], [0091], & [0176-0177]), to cause the user equipment (see Fig. 3 i.e., UE 106) to: receive an Inter-UE Coordination (IUC) request, (see Para’s [0125] i.e., In some embodiments, a first UE, such as UE 106, may receive a trigger signal from a second UE to provide an inter-UE coordination message, wherein the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE & [0127] i.e., the second UE to trigger transmissions of the inter-UE coordination message, e.g., via transmission of a sidelink coordination request message to the first UE & [0130-0131] i.e., the first UE may receive a sidelink coordination request message from the second UE & [0134-0136])
the IUC request indicates a priority (see Para [0126] i.e., For example, if a sidelink coordination request message includes a data priority level, then the included data priority level can be used for the inter-UE coordination message & [0134-0135])
and the IUC request indicates a resource set type as "preferred resource set" or "non-preferred resource set" (see Para’s [0130] & [0134] i.e., The sidelink coordination request message may be more than 1 bit and may include criteria for selecting a set of resources for sidelink communications as well as parameters for an inter-UE coordination message. In some embodiments, the set if resources may be a set of preferred and/or non-preferred resources, [0135] i.e., parameters and/or requirements for the set of resources may include any combination of, and/or all of…an indication of a format of an inter-UE coordination message (e.g., an indication of preferred resources and/or an indication of non-preferred resources (i.e., “resource set type”), & [0163])
and transmit an IUC response in response to the IUC request, (see Para’s [0130-0131] i.e., the first UE may receive a sidelink coordination request message from the second UE. The sidelink coordination request message may be a triggering signal for the first UE to provide the second UE with an inter-UE coordination message, [0132] i.e., the first UE may provide (e.g., send and/or transmit) to the second UE, an indication of a set of resources for sidelink communications, e.g., via an inter-UE coordination message. Additionally, the set of resources may be provided in response to receipt of the sidelink coordination message (i.e., “IUC request”) & [0139])
the IUC response indicates a resource set, (see Para’s [0124], [0125] i.e., where the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE, [0131-0132] & [0139])
the IUC response indicates a corresponding resource set type as "preferred resource set" or "non-preferred resource set", (see Para’s [0125] i.e., In some embodiments, the inter-UE coordination message may include one or more preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”) or may include one or more non-preferred resources, [0130] i.e., the first UE to provide a set of preferred and/or non-preferred resources for the second UE’s sidelink transmissions, [0134], [0171] i.e., the set of resources may indicate a set of preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”))
a priority of transmitting the IUC response, (see Para [0126] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message (e.g., to be used in the first UE’s resource selection procedure for the inter-UE coordination message. For example, if a sidelink coordination request message includes a data priority level, then the included data priority level can be used for the inter-UE coordination message, [0159], & [0162] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message. The data priority level may be based, at least in part, on a data priority level included in a sidelink coordination request message received from the second UE).
and the corresponding resource set type is determined based on the resource set type indicated by the IUC request (see Para’s [0125] i.e., a first UE may receive a trigger signal from a second UE to provide an inter-UE-coordination message, where the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE…the inter-UE coordination message may include one or more preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”), [0130-0132], [0134-0135] i.e., parameters and/or requirements for the set of resources included in sidelink coordination request message (i.e., “IUC request”) include an indication of preferred resources and/or an indication of non-preferred resources (i.e., resource set type indicated by the IUC request), [0139] i.e., the set of resources may be based on parameters included in the sidelink coordination request message, [0163] i.e., sidelink coordination request message may include a multi-bit message indicating one or more criteria for selecting the set of resources. The one or more criteria for selecting the set of resources may include any combination of, and/or all of a format of the inter-UE coordination message. The format of the inter-UE coordination message may define any combination of, and/or all of i.e., preferred resources of the first UE, non-preferred resources of the first UE (i.e., resource set type indicated by the IUC request), & [0171] i.e., the set of resources may indicate a set of preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”))
Ye does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the IUC response is carried in second-stage SCI or in a MAC CE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of LG electronics “FL summary #1 for AI 8.11.2.2 Feasibility and benefits for mode 2 enhancements”, #3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e, R1-20xxxxx.
LG electronics discloses wherein the IUC response is carried in second-stage SCI (see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 1.1 How to define “A set of resources” in Mode 2 i.e., resource set recommended by UE-A to UE-B e.g., Preferred RX resource set of UE-A, see Pg. 7 i.e., Section 1.2 When UE-A transmits “A set of resources” to UE-B in Mode 2 when requested by UE-B & Pg. 10 Section 1.3 i.e., Which container is used to transmit “A set of resources” to UE-B in Mode 2 which can include New 2nd SCI format & Pg. 11 i.e., Lenovo/Motorola Mobility i.e., introducing a new 2nd SCI format for transmitting the coordination message).
(LG suggests the inter-UE coordination message is transmitted from UE-A to UE-B using the 2nd SCI format for indicating a preferred set of resources of the UE-A to the UE-B to use for sidelink transmission by the UE-B to UE-A, (see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 1.1, Pg. 7 i.e., Section 1.2, & Pg. 11)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the inter-UE-coordination response message transmitted from the first UE to the second UE which indicates a set of preferred resources for performing sidelink communications as disclosed in Ye to be carried in second-stage SCI as disclosed in the teachings of LG who discloses a second-stage SCI is used for transmitting an inter-UE coordination message, because the motivation lies in LG that the inter-UE coordination message is transmitted from UE-A to UE-B using the 2nd SCI format for indicating a preferred set of resources of the UE-A to the UE-B to use for sidelink transmission by the UE-B to UE-A.
While Ye discloses wherein the IUC request is carried in second-stage SCI, (see Para [0136] i.e., In some embodiments, the sidelink coordination request message may be transmitted via sidelink control information (SCI), e.g. via an SCI stage 2 format), the combination of Ye in view of LG does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the IUC request is carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lu et al. US (2019/0132893).
Lu discloses wherein the IUC request is carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), (see Fig. 2 i.e., Coordination Req transmitted from UE A to UE B & Para’s [0012-0014] i.e., a D2D coordination message may be transmitted to a second D2D device, which is an intended target for D2D communication…The D2D coordination message may comprise a coordination request, & [0074] i.e., coordination message signaling can be carried in different ways, e.g., by RAN message like MAC CE message).
(Lu suggests the D2D coordination request message which may be carried in a MAC CE message is transmitted to a second D2D device intended as the target for D2D communication for allowing direct coordination between the D2D devices in order to set up D2D communication (see Para [0012])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the IUC request such as the sidelink coordination request message transmitted between the sidelink UEs as disclosed in Ye in view of LG to be carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) based on the teachings of Lu who discloses a D2D coordination request message (i.e., “IUC request”) may be carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), because the motivation lies in Lu that the D2D coordination request message which may be carried in a MAC CE message is transmitted to a second D2D device intended as the target for D2D communication for allowing direct coordination between the D2D devices in order to set up D2D communication.
While the combination of Ye in view of LG, and further in view of LU discloses the IUC response is carried in a second stage SCI included in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Ye, see Para [0130-0132] i.e., inter-UE coordination message, [0139] & LG, see Pg. 10, Section 1.3, Pg. 11 i.e., OPPO i.e., 2nd SCI format should be conveyed in PSSCH & Pg. 12 i.e., Huawei/HiSilicon i.e., 2nd SCI is also carried in PSSCH), the combination of Ye in view of LG, and further in view of LU does not disclose the claim feature of the IUC response is carried in a MAC CE included in the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hahn et al. US (2022/0303059).
Hahn discloses the 2nd stage SCI may be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH (see Para’s [0123-0124])
(Hahn suggests the 2nd stage SCI included in a MAC CE transmitted on PSSCH may include resource allocation information for PSSCH transmission, (see Para’s [0123-0124])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the second stage SCI carrying the inter-UE coordination message (i.e., “IUC response”) which is included in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, and further in view of LU to be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH as disclosed in Hahn who discloses the 2nd-stage SCI may be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH, which results in the IUC response carried in a MAC CE included in the PSSCH, because the motivation lies in Hahn the 2nd-stage SCI included in a MAC CE transmitted on PSSCH may include resource allocation information for PSSCH transmission.
While Ye discloses a determined priority of transmitting the IUC response is equal to a value of a data priority level indicated in the IUC request,(see Para [0126] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message (e.g., to be used in the first UE’s resource selection procedure for the inter-UE coordination message. For example, if a sidelink coordination request message includes a data priority level, then the included data priority level can be used for the inter-UE coordination message, [0159], & [0162] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message. The data priority level may be based, at least in part, on a data priority level included in a sidelink coordination request message received from the second UE), the combination of Ye in view of LG, further in view of LU, and further in view of Hahn does not disclose the priority of transmitting the IUC response is equal to a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Wang et al. US (2022/0167310).
Wang discloses a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH is a priority level of the data traffic (see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084-0085] i.e., the first SCI part 802 (e.g., SCI-1) format may comprise one or more of the followings: 1) a priority QoS value (e.g., 3 bits) & [0112] i.e., the priority of the traffic/data may be included in the SCI-1)
(Wang suggests the 1st stage SCI includes control information used for receiving the sidelink transmission such as resource assignment of the PSSCH and also includes control information for receiving the second stage SCI, (see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084-0085])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the priority of transmitting the IUC response which is determined to be equal to the value of the data priority level as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, further in view of LU, and further in view of Hahn to be equal to the value of the priority field in 1st-stage SCI associated with the PSSCH which is also a value of a priority level of the data traffic, because the motivation lies in Wang that the 1st stage SCI includes control information used for receiving the sidelink transmission such as resource assignment of the PSSCH and also includes control information for receiving the second stage SCI.
Regarding Claim 3, Ye discloses a user equipment (see Fig. 3 i.e., UE 106 & Para [0082]), comprising: a processor (see Fig. 3 i.e., processor 302 & Para [0089]); and a memory (see Fig. 3 i.e., memory 306 & Para [0089] & [0177]), storing instructions, wherein the processor is configured by the instructions (see Fig. 3 i.e., processor 302), Para’s [0089], [0091], & [0176-0177]), to cause the user equipment (see Fig. 3 i.e., UE 106) to: transmit an Inter-UE Coordination (IUC) request, (see Para’s [0125] i.e., In some embodiments, a first UE, such as UE 106, may receive a trigger signal from a second UE to provide an inter-UE coordination message, wherein the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE & [0127] i.e., the second UE to trigger transmissions of the inter-UE coordination message, e.g., via transmission of a sidelink coordination request message to the first UE & [0130-0131] i.e., the first UE may receive a sidelink coordination request message from the second UE & [0134-0136])
the IUC request indicates a priority (see Para [0126] i.e., For example, if a sidelink coordination request message includes a data priority level, then the included data priority level can be used for the inter-UE coordination message & [0134-0135])
and the IUC request indicates a resource set type as "preferred resource set" or "non-preferred resource set" (see Para’s [0130] & [0134] i.e., The sidelink coordination request message may be more than 1 bit and may include criteria for selecting a set of resources for sidelink communications as well as parameters for an inter-UE coordination message. In some embodiments, the set if resources may be a set of preferred and/or non-preferred resources, [0135] i.e., parameters and/or requirements for the set of resources may include any combination of, and/or all of…an indication of a format of an inter-UE coordination message (e.g., an indication of preferred resources and/or an indication of non-preferred resources (i.e., “resource set type”), & [0163])
and receive an IUC response corresponding to the IUC request, (see Para’s [0130-0131] i.e., the first UE may receive a sidelink coordination request message from the second UE. The sidelink coordination request message may be a triggering signal for the first UE to provide the second UE with an inter-UE coordination message, [0132] i.e., the first UE may provide (e.g., send and/or transmit) to the second UE, an indication of a set of resources for sidelink communications, e.g., via an inter-UE coordination message. Additionally, the set of resources may be provided in response to receipt of the sidelink coordination message (i.e., “IUC request”) & [0139])
the IUC response indicates a resource set, (see Para’s [0124], [0125] i.e., where the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE, [0131-0132] & [0139])
the IUC response indicates a corresponding resource set type as "preferred resource set" or "non-preferred resource set", (see Para’s [0125] i.e., In some embodiments, the inter-UE coordination message may include one or more preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”) or may include one or more non-preferred resources, [0130] i.e., the first UE to provide a set of preferred and/or non-preferred resources for the second UE’s sidelink transmissions, [0134], [0171] i.e., the set of resources may indicate a set of preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”))
the IUC response is received in accordance with a priority, (see Para [0126] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message (e.g., to be used in the first UE’s resource selection procedure for the inter-UE coordination message. For example, if a sidelink coordination request message includes a data priority level, then the included data priority level can be used for the inter-UE coordination message, [0159], & [0162] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message. The data priority level may be based, at least in part, on a data priority level included in a sidelink coordination request message received from the second UE).
and the corresponding resource set type is determined based on the resource set type indicated by the IUC request (see Para’s [0125] i.e., a first UE may receive a trigger signal from a second UE to provide an inter-UE-coordination message, where the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE…the inter-UE coordination message may include one or more preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”), [0130-0132], [0134-0135] i.e., parameters and/or requirements for the set of resources included in sidelink coordination request message (i.e., “IUC request”) include an indication of preferred resources and/or an indication of non-preferred resources (i.e., resource set type indicated by the IUC request), [0139] i.e., the set of resources may be based on parameters included in the sidelink coordination request message, [0163] i.e., sidelink coordination request message may include a multi-bit message indicating one or more criteria for selecting the set of resources. The one or more criteria for selecting the set of resources may include any combination of, and/or all of a format of the inter-UE coordination message. The format of the inter-UE coordination message may define any combination of, and/or all of i.e., preferred resources of the first UE, non-preferred resources of the first UE (i.e., resource set type indicated by the IUC request), & [0171] i.e., the set of resources may indicate a set of preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”))
Ye does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the IUC response is carried in second-stage SCI or in a MAC CE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of LG electronics “FL summary #1 for AI 8.11.2.2 Feasibility and benefits for mode 2 enhancements”, #3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e, R1-20xxxxx.
LG electronics discloses wherein the IUC response is carried in second-stage SCI (see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 1.1 How to define “A set of resources” in Mode 2 i.e., resource set recommended by UE-A to UE-B e.g., Preferred RX resource set of UE-A, see Pg. 7 i.e., Section 1.2 When UE-A transmits “A set of resources” to UE-B in Mode 2 when requested by UE-B & Pg. 10 Section 1.3 i.e., Which container is used to transmit “A set of resources” to UE-B in Mode 2 which can include New 2nd SCI format & Pg. 11 i.e., Lenovo/Motorola Mobility i.e., introducing a new 2nd SCI format for transmitting the coordination message).
(LG suggests the inter-UE coordination message is transmitted from UE-A to UE-B using the 2nd SCI format for indicating a preferred set of resources of the UE-A to the UE-B to use for sidelink transmission by the UE-B to UE-A, (see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 1.1, Pg. 7 i.e., Section 1.2, & Pg. 11)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the inter-UE-coordination response message transmitted from the first UE to the second UE which indicates a set of preferred resources for performing sidelink communications as disclosed in Ye to be carried in second-stage SCI as disclosed in the teachings of LG who discloses a second-stage SCI is used for transmitting an inter-UE coordination message, because the motivation lies in LG that the inter-UE coordination message is transmitted from UE-A to UE-B using the 2nd SCI format for indicating a preferred set of resources of the UE-A to the UE-B to use for sidelink transmission by the UE-B to UE-A.
While Ye discloses wherein the IUC request is carried in second-stage SCI, (see Para [0136] i.e., In some embodiments, the sidelink coordination request message may be transmitted via sidelink control information (SCI), e.g. via an SCI stage 2 format), the combination of Ye in view of LG does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the IUC request is carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lu et al. US (2019/0132893).
Lu discloses wherein the IUC request is carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), (see Fig. 2 i.e., Coordination Req transmitted from UE A to UE B & Para’s [0012-0014] i.e., a D2D coordination message may be transmitted to a second D2D device, which is an intended target for D2D communication…The D2D coordination message may comprise a coordination request, & [0074] i.e., coordination message signaling can be carried in different ways, e.g., by RAN message like MAC CE message).
(Lu suggests the D2D coordination request message which may be carried in a MAC CE message is transmitted to a second D2D device intended as the target for D2D communication for allowing direct coordination between the D2D devices in order to set up D2D communication (see Para [0012])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the IUC request such as the sidelink coordination request message transmitted between the sidelink UEs as disclosed in Ye in view of LG to be carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) based on the teachings of Lu who discloses a D2D coordination request message (i.e., “IUC request”) may be carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), because the motivation lies in Lu that the D2D coordination request message which may be carried in a MAC CE message is transmitted to a second D2D device intended as the target for D2D communication for allowing direct coordination between the D2D devices in order to set up D2D communication.
While the combination of Ye in view of LG, and further in view of LU discloses the IUC response is carried in a second stage SCI included in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Ye, see Para [0130-0132] i.e., inter-UE coordination message, [0139] & LG, see Pg. 10, Section 1.3, Pg. 11 i.e., OPPO i.e., 2nd SCI format should be conveyed in PSSCH & Pg. 12 i.e., Huawei/HiSilicon i.e., 2nd SCI is also carried in PSSCH), the combination of Ye in view of LG, and further in view of LU does not disclose the claim feature of the IUC response is carried in a MAC CE included in the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hahn et al. US (2022/0303059).
Hahn discloses the 2nd stage SCI may be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH (see Para’s [0123-0124])
(Hahn suggests the 2nd stage SCI included in a MAC CE transmitted on PSSCH may include resource allocation information for PSSCH transmission, (see Para’s [0123-0124])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the second stage SCI carrying the inter-UE coordination message (i.e., “IUC response”) which is included in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, and further in view of LU to be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH as disclosed in Hahn who discloses the 2nd-stage SCI may be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH, which results in the IUC response carried in a MAC CE included in the PSSCH, because the motivation lies in Hahn the 2nd-stage SCI included in a MAC CE transmitted on PSSCH may include resource allocation information for PSSCH transmission.
While Ye discloses a determined priority of receiving the IUC response is equal to a value of a data priority level indicated in the IUC request,(see Para [0126] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message (e.g., to be used in the first UE’s resource selection procedure for the inter-UE coordination message. For example, if a sidelink coordination request message includes a data priority level, then the included data priority level can be used for the inter-UE coordination message, [0159], & [0162] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message. The data priority level may be based, at least in part, on a data priority level included in a sidelink coordination request message received from the second UE), the combination of Ye in view of LG, further in view of LU, and further in view of Hahn does not disclose the priority of receiving the IUC response is equal to a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Wang et al. US (2022/0167310).
Wang discloses a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH is a priority level of the data traffic (see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084-0085] i.e., the first SCI part 802 (e.g., SCI-1) format may comprise one or more of the followings: 1) a priority QoS value (e.g., 3 bits) & [0112] i.e., the priority of the traffic/data may be included in the SCI-1)
(Wang suggests the 1st stage SCI includes control information used for receiving the sidelink transmission such as resource assignment of the PSSCH and also includes control information for receiving the second stage SCI, (see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084-0085])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the priority of receiving the IUC response which is determined to be equal to the value of the data priority level as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, further in view of LU, and further in view of Hahn to be equal to the value of the priority field in 1st-stage SCI associated with the PSSCH which is also a value of a priority level of the data traffic, because the motivation lies in Wang that the 1st stage SCI includes control information used for receiving the sidelink transmission such as resource assignment of the PSSCH and also includes control information for receiving the second stage SCI.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461