DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 11 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to the applicants arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ye in view of LG, further in view of Lu, further in view of Hahn, and further in view of Wang, the examiner respectfully disagrees. More specifically the applicant argues on (Pg. 1 of the remarks), that the emphasized claim features in claim 1 of “the IUC response is carried in a MAC CE included in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)” and a “priority of the IUC response is independent of a priority field in 1st-stage SCI associated with the PSSCH or is equal to a value of the priority field” is not taught by the prior art (Of Record). However the examiner respectfully disagrees as the combined teachings of the references discloses the claim features argued by the applicant.
First the applicant argues the teachings of Ye with respect to (Para’s [0126], [0159], & [0162]) as allegedly teachings the priority recited in applicants claimed invention (i.e., Pg.’s 2-3 of the remarks). However the examiner respectfully disagrees as the combined teachings of the references discloses the priority recited in applicants claimed invention. Ye does teach at least that a priority of an IUC response is determined in (Para’s [0126], [0159], & [0162]), but does not teach the claim feature of the “priority of the IUC response is independent of a priority field in 1st-stage SCI associated with the PSSCH or is equal to a value of the priority field” in which such claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of the teachings of Wang (Of Record). More specifically the applicant argues that the examiner also alleged that the priority (QoS) value of Wang teaches applicants claimed feature of a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH is a priority level of the data traffic (Wang i.e., Para’s [0084-0085] & [0112]).
The applicant further argues that in Wang, the priority (QoS) value is associated with the sidelink data traffic received by the receiving device and a corresponding PSFCH transmitted by the receiving device, with the PSFCH being either a long PSFCH associated with a high priority or a short PSFCH associated with a low priority according to (Para’s [0112] & [0122]) of Wang (i.e., Pg.3-Pg. 4 of the remarks). The applicant then states on PG. 4 of the remarks, that accordingly, the teachings of Wang are specifically directed to improving the reliability of PSFCH transmission according to Para [0096] of Wang.
Although the priority (QoS) value in the 1st stage SCI is used by the receiving device to determine whether to use a long or short PSFCH transmission, Wang still teaches that the priority of the traffic/data may be included in the first stage SCI (see Fig. 8 Para’s [0085] i.e., the first SCI part 802 (SCI-1) format may comprise one or more of the followings: 1) a priority (QoS value) & [0112] i.e., the priority of the traffic/data may be included in the SCI-1). Referring to (Fig. 8 & Para [0084]), Wang teaches that the second SCI part 804 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region (e.g., the PSSCH region 810) (Wang, Para [0084]). Therefore, since the second SCI is transmitted within the traffic region (e.g., PSSCH region 810), then the second SCI 804 in Fig. 8 of Wang also has a same priority of the data traffic indicated in first stage SCI, and therefore the second SCI 804 has a priority that is equal to the value of the priority field in the 1st stage SCI.
Since the combination of Ye in view of LG, further in view of Lu, and further in view of Hahn, has shown that the IUC response (i.e., inter-UE coordination message) can be carried in the second stage SCI (LG, see Pg. section 1.1, Pg. 10, Section 1.3, Pg. 11 i.e., Lenovo/Motorola Mobility and OPPO, Pg. 12 i.e., Huawei,HiSilicon) and that the second stage SCI may be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH (Hahn, see Para’s [0123-0124]), then it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the second stage SCI 804 disclosed in Fig. 8 of Wang can include the IUC response carried in the MAC CE as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, further in view of Lu, and further in view of Hahn, which results in the priority of the IUC response being equal to the value of the priority field in the 1st stage SCI.
Therefore regardless of the priority value in the 1st stage SCI being used by the receiving device for PSFCH transmission, Wang still teaches that the priority of the second stage SCI 804 may be equal to the priority value indicated in the first stage SCI 802 (Wang, see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084-0085] & [0112]) and that the first stage SCI includes control information about the second SCI part 804 used by the receiving device in order to properly receive the second stage SCI (Wang, see Para [0084]). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the IUC response carried in the second stage SCI which is included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, further in view of Lu, and further in view of Hahn to be included in the second stage SCI disclosed in Wang which results in the priority of the IUC response being equal to the value of the priority field in the 1st-stage SCI, because the motivation lies in Wang that the first stage SCI includes control information about the second SCI part 804 used by the receiving device in order to properly receive the second stage SCI (Wang, see Para [0084]).
In regards to the applicants argument on (Pg. 4 of the remarks) that the priority (QoS) value in Para [0085] of Wang is associated with received sidelink data traffic and completely unrelated to transmitted sidelink data traffic, the examiner respectfully disagrees as the priority (QoS) value included in the first stage SCI 802 of Wang is related to transmitted sidelink data traffic such as the PSSCH region 810 (Wang, see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084] i.e., A first SCI part 802 may be transmitted within the PSCCH region 808 and a second SCI part 804 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region (e.g., the PSSCH region 810), [0085] & [0112]).
In regards to the applicants on PG. 4 of the remarks that the teachings of Wang are completely unrelated to including an IUC response carried in a MAC CE on a PSSCH as recited in applicants claim 1, the applicant is arguing the teachings of Wang individually for not disclosing the IUC response carried in MAC CE on PSSCH. For the reasons explained above the combined teachings of the references results in the IUC response carried in the second stage SCI which is included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, further in view of Lu, and further in view of Hahn to be included in the second stage SCI disclosed in Wang.
In regards to the applicants arguments that Wang teaches away from the applicants claimed invention the examiner respectfully disagrees. For example one of ordinary skill would not be discouraged from the following path set out in the reference of Wang, which teaches the same frame structure that is used for sending the IUC response carried in second stage SCI in light of the applicants specification. For example referring to the applicants specification US (2024/0080866) in Para [0250] i.e.., Optionally, the coordination message priority may be related to a priority field in SCI associated with the inter-UE coordination message (e.g., 1st stage SCI associated with the 2nd-stage SCI carrying the inter-UE coordination message or 1st-stage SCI associated with the PSSCH). Therefore Fig. 8 of Wang including the first stage SCI 802 associated with the second stage SCI 804 or PSSCH 810 (Wang, see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084-0085]) discloses the same frame structure described in the applicants specification for sending the IUC response. Therefore Wang does not teach sway from the applicants claimed invention.
In regards to the applicants arguments on (Pg. 5 of the remarks), the applicant again argues that the priority (QoS) value in Wang is used to determine the format of the PSFCH and that contrary to the examiners allegation, the teachings of Wang cannot be broadly applied to a priority level of an IUC response carried in a MAC CE, as recited in applicants claimed invention. However the examiner respectfully disagrees for the same reasons explained above with respect to the combined teachings of the references. That is, regardless of the priority value in the 1st stage SCI being used by the receiving device for PSFCH transmission, Wang still teaches that the priority of the second stage SCI 804 transmitted within the downlink traffic region (e.g., the PSSCH region 810), may be equal to the priority value indicated in the first stage SCI 802 (Wang, see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084-0085] & [0112] i.e., the priority of the traffic/data may be included in the SCI-1) and the combined teachings of the references would result in the second stage SCI 804 of Wang including the IUC response carried in the second stage SCI which is included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, further in view of Lu, and further in view of Hahn which results in the priority of the IUC response being equal to the value of the priority field in the 1st-stage SCI, because the motivation lies in Wang that the first stage SCI includes control information about the second SCI part 804 used by the receiving device in order to properly receive the second stage SCI (Wang, see Para [0084]).
In regards to the applicants argument that examiners allegation that Wang generally teaches “the priority of traffic/data” is an overly broad generalization that ignores the fundamental purpose and requirements of both the priority (QoS) value of Wang and the priority level of an IUC response carried in a MAC CE of the applicants claimed invention, the priority of traffic/data” isn’t an overly broad generalization since Para [0084] of Wang discloses the second SCI part 804 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region (e.g., the PSSCH region 810) and therefore the second stage SCI 804 will have a priority equal to the value of the priority field in the first stage SCI 802 based on (Para’s [0084-0085] & [0112]) of Wang. As such, the combined teachings of the references for the reasons explained above results in the priority of the IUC response carried in MAC CE being equal to the value of the priority field in the 1st-stage SCI.
In regards to the applicants arguments on (Pg. 5 of the remarks) that one skilled in the art at the time of the applicants invention would have found no reasonable expectation of success in applying the priority (QoS) value in Wang to the priority level of an IUC response carried in a MAC CE, or in other words that one skilled in the art would not have found it obvious to modify the prior art of record based upon the teachings of Wang, the examiner respectfully disagrees. However applying the priority (QoS) value in Wang to be equal to a priority of the IUC response would have a reasonable expectation of success such as the receiving device being able to properly receive the IUC response included in the second stage SCI according to the combine teachings of the prior art and since Wang discloses that the first stage SCI includes control information about the second SCI part 804 used by the receiving device in order to properly receive the second stage SCI (Wang, see Para [0084]).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the motivation lies in Wang that the first stage SCI includes control information about the second SCI part 804 used by the receiving device in order to properly receive the second stage SCI (Wang, see Para [0084]). Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have would have found it obvious to combine the prior art references of Ye in view of LG, further in view of Lu, and further in view of Hahn with Wang in order for the receiving device to properly receive the second stage SCI based on the first stage SCI including control information about the second SCI part 804.
In regards to the applicants argument on (Pg. 6 of the remarks), that Wang is completely unrelated to transmitted sidelink data traffic including an IUC response carried in a MAC CE on a shared channel, such that one skilled in the art would not have been motivated to apply the priority level (QoS) taught by Wang to the transmission of the IUC response (i.e., inter-UE coordination message) taught by Ye, the examiner respectfully disagrees as the priority (QoS) value included in the first stage SCI 802 of Wang is related to transmitted sidelink data traffic such as the PSSCH region 810 (Wang, see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084] i.e., A first SCI part 802 may be transmitted within the PSCCH region 808 and a second SCI part 804 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region (e.g., the PSSCH region 810), [0085] & [0112]) and the combined teachings results in the IUC response carried in a MAC CE on the shared channel being included in the second stage SCI 804 of Wang resulting in the priority of the IUC response being equal to the value of the priority field in the 1st-stage SCI, because the motivation lies in Wang that the first stage SCI includes control information about the second SCI part 804 used by the receiving device in order to properly receive the second stage SCI (Wang, see Para [0084]). For the same reasons explained above, one skilled in the art would be motivated to apply the priority (QoS) value in Wang to be equal to a priority of the IUC response in order for the receiving device to be able to properly receive the IUC response included in the second stage SCI since Wang discloses that the first stage SCI includes control information about the second SCI part 804 used by the receiving device to properly receive the second stage SCI (Wang, see Para [0084]).
In regards to the applicants arguments on Pg. of the remarks, regarding the examiners response to applicants arguments on Pg. 8 of the advisory action, regarding the teachings of Ye not excluding the possibility of setting the priority of the IUC response being equal to the value of the priority field in the 1st stage SCI with respect to Para [0126] of Ye, the applicant states that the examiners allegations clearly demonstrate impermissible hindsight.
However Ye discloses in (Para [0126], [0159], & [0162]) that the UE may also determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message (“IUC response”) in which the data priority level may be pre-configured (Ye, see Para’s [0126], [0159], & [0162]). Hence the examiner does not rely on the determined data priority of the inter-UE coordination message (“IUC response”) to be based on using the data priority level included in the sidelink coordination request message received from the second UE as disclosed in Ye, but rather that a priority of the inter-UE coordination message (“IUC response”) is a preconfigured value as disclosed in Ye (Para’s [0126], [0159], & [0162]). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the determined priority of the IUC response disclosed in Ye when combined with the teachings of Wang could be a value equal to the value of the priority field in the 1st stage SCI.
In regards to the applicants arguments that however, the mere fact that Ye does not explicitly exclude differently setting the priority of the IUC response clearly does not provide any teaching, suggestion, or motivation to specifically set a priority of an IUC response to be equal to a value of a priority field as required by the applicants claimed invention. More specifically the applicant relies on the priority information included in the IUC request used to determine the priority for an IUC response as disclosed in Ye for not having any motivation to set the priority of an IUC response to be equal to a value of a priority field.
However the examiner respectfully disagrees for the same reasons previously mentioned above, that the examiner does not rely on the determined data priority of the inter-UE coordination message (“IUC response”) to be based on using the data priority level included in the sidelink coordination request message received from the second UE as disclosed in the teachings of Ye, but rather that the priority of the inter-UE coordination message (“IUC response”) is determined according to a preconfigured value as disclosed in Ye (Para’s [0126], [0159], & [0162]) which would be obvious that such value could be a value that is equal to the value of the priority field in the 1st stage SCI in Wang when combining the teachings of Ye in view of LG, further in view of Lu, and further in view of Hahn with Wang for the reasons explained above.
In regards to the applicants arguments that the examiner has provided no teaching, suggestion, or motivation from the prior art to explain why one skilled in the art would have ignored the data priority level indicated in the IUC message of Ye and to have instead applied a completely different priority as taught by Wang, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants argument. For example, the examiner is not ignoring the data priority level in the IUC response (e.g., inter-UE coordination message) of Ye, but rather shows that Ye teaches the claim feature in claim 1 teaching at least “a priority of the IUC response” can be determined. However Ye does not teach that the priority is equal to a value of the priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of the teachings of Wang who discloses the second stage SCI 804 has a priority that is equal to the priority value of the priority field in 1st stage SCI (Wang, see Para’s [0084-0085] i.e., A first SCI part 802 may be transmitted within the PSCCH region 808 and a second SCI part 804 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region (e.g., the PSSCH region 810)…first part SCI 802 may include a priority (QoS) value & [0112] i.e., the priority of the traffic/data may be included in the SCI-1). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the IUC response carried in the second stage SCI which is included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, further in view of Lu, and further in view of Hahn to be included in the second stage SCI disclosed in Wang which results in the priority of the IUC response being equal to the value of the priority field in the 1st-stage SCI, because the motivation lies in Wang that the first stage SCI includes control information about the second SCI part 804 used by the receiving device in order to properly receive the second stage SCI (Wang, see Para [0084]). Therefore the priority determined for the IUC response message is not ignored and can be equal to a value of the priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH when combined with the teachings of Wang. That is, the priority value determined for the IUC response (e.g., inter-UE coordination message) as disclosed in Ye is not necessarily a completely different priority as the priority in the first SCI disclosed in Wang, but could be equal to the priority in the first SCI disclosed in Wang as a possibility.
In regards to the applicants arguments on the bottom of Pg. 7, regarding combining Ye with LG electronics, with the other references including Hahn to provide a priority of an IUC response carried in a MAC CE, the applicant states that one skilled in the art would not have been motivated to combine the relied-upon prior art to arrive at applicants claimed feature of “a priority of the IUC response…is equal to a value of the priority field” where the priority field is a priority field in 1st-stage SCI associated with a PSSCH, the examiner respectfully disagrees for the same reasons explained above with respect to the combined teachings of the prior art references used for the rejection of claim 1.
In regards to the applicants arguments further on Pg. 8 regarding Para [0126] of Ye, the applicant argues that Ye the setting the data priority level for the IUC response according to Para [0126] of Ye does not provide teaching, suggestion, or motivation to have instead set a priority of the IUC response based upon a priority field in 1st-stage SCI. However the examiner respectfully disagrees for the same reasons explained above with respect to the combined teachings of the references, for example the priority determined for the IUC response message in Ye can be equal to a value of the priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH when combined with the teachings of Wang.
In regards to the applicants arguments on (Pg. 8 of the remarks), regarding that one skilled in the art at the time of the applicants invention would have understood that a priority level of an MAC CE is distinct from the priority level of a “PSSCH region”, even if that the “PSSCH region” includes a MAC CE. The applicant further argues a MAC PDU mapped to the PSSCH region may include one or more logical channels and respective priorities of the one or more logical channels and the MAC CE are distinct from the priority level of the SL-SCH (PSSCH) data transmission. However claim 1 does not claim priorities of one or more logical channels of the MAC PDU. The applicant further cites 5.22.1 of the 3GPP technical specification TS 38.321 v16.1.0 (July 2020) and that one skilled in the art at the time of applicants invention would have understood that the priority level of the PSSCH data transmission is different from the priority level of the MAC CE.
The teachings of Hahn discloses the second stage SCI may be included in a MAC-CE transmitted on the PSSCH (Hahn, see Para [0123]). However, in the context of Wang, the second SCI part 804 (i.e., included in MAC CE) may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region (e.g., the PSSCH region 810). Since the first stage SCI 802 in Wang indicates a priority value of the traffic region (Wang, Para’s [0085] & [0112]) which includes the second SCI part 804 transmitted within the traffic region (e.g., the PSSCH region 810), (Wang, Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084-0085] & [0112]), then the second stage SCI 804 (i.e., including the IUC response carried in MAC CE) may have the same priority value of the traffic region (e.g., PSSCH region 810) indicated by the first stage SCI 802, since the second SCI part 804 is transmitted within the downlink traffic region (e.g., the PSSCH region 810) (Wang, see Para [0084]) which has a priority equal to the priority included in the first stage SCI-1 802, (Wang, see Para’s [0085] & [0112]).
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the priority level in Wang such that priority of the IUC response carried in a MAC CE is equal to the priority level in Wang for the reasons explained above with respect to the combined teachings of Ye in view of LG, further in view of Lu, and further in view of Hahn with Wang.
For the reasons explained, the rejection of claims 1-3 under 35 USC 103 is maintained over the prior art references (Of Record). The examiner notes that the rejection of claims 1-3 have been changed to be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over the combination (i.e., according to the order) of Ye in view of LG electronics, further in view of Hahn, further in view of Lu, and further in view of Wang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. US (2022/0322359) in view of LG electronics “FL summary #1 for AI 8.11.2.2 Feasibility and benefits for mode 2 enhancements”, #3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e, R1-20xxxxx, further in view of Hahn et al. US (2022/0303059), further in view of Lu et al. US (2019/0132893), and further in view of Wang et al. US (2022/0167310).
Regarding Claim 1, Ye discloses a method performed by user equipment (UE) (see Para [0125] i.e., first UE) the method comprising: receiving an Inter-UE Coordination (IUC) request, (see Para’s [0125] i.e., In some embodiments, a first UE, such as UE 106, may receive a trigger signal from a second UE to provide an inter-UE coordination message, wherein the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE & [0127] i.e., the second UE to trigger transmissions of the inter-UE coordination message, e.g., via transmission of a sidelink coordination request message (i.e., “inter-UE coordination request”) to the first UE & [0130-0131] i.e., the first UE may receive a sidelink coordination request message (i.e., “inter-UE coordination request”) from the second UE & [0134-0136])
the IUC request indicates a priority (see Para [0126] i.e., For example, if a sidelink coordination request message includes a data priority level, then the included data priority level can be used for the inter-UE coordination message & [0134-0135])
and the IUC request indicates a resource set type as "preferred resource set" or "non-preferred resource set" (see Para’s [0130] & [0134] i.e., The sidelink coordination request message may be more than 1 bit and may include criteria for selecting a set of resources for sidelink communications as well as parameters for an inter-UE coordination message. In some embodiments, the set if resources may be a set of preferred and/or non-preferred resources, [0135] i.e., parameters and/or requirements for the set of resources may include any combination of, and/or all of…an indication of a format of an inter-UE coordination message (e.g., an indication of preferred resources and/or an indication of non-preferred resources (i.e., “resource set type”), & [0163])
and transmitting an IUC response in response to the IUC request, (see Para’s [0130-0131] i.e., the first UE may receive a sidelink coordination request message from the second UE. The sidelink coordination request message may be a triggering signal for the first UE to provide the second UE with an inter-UE coordination message (i.e., “IUC response”), [0132] i.e., the first UE may provide (e.g., send and/or transmit) to the second UE, an indication of a set of resources for sidelink communications, e.g., via an inter-UE coordination message (i.e., “IUC response”). Additionally, the set of resources may be provided in response to receipt of the sidelink coordination message (i.e., “IUC request”) & [0139])
the IUC response indicates a resource set, (see Para’s [0124], [0125] i.e., where the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE, [0131-0132] & [0139])
the IUC response indicates a corresponding resource set type as "preferred resource set" or "non-preferred resource set", (see Para’s [0125] i.e., In some embodiments, the inter-UE coordination message may include one or more preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”) or may include one or more non-preferred resources, [0130] i.e., the first UE to provide a set of preferred and/or non-preferred resources for the second UE’s sidelink transmissions, [0134], [0171] i.e., the set of resources may indicate a set of preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”))
a priority of the IUC response, (see Para [0126] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message (e.g., to be used in the first UE’s resource selection procedure for the inter-UE coordination message., [0159], & [0162] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message. The data priority level may be based, at least in part, on a data priority level included in a sidelink coordination request message received from the second UE. Alternatively, and/or in addition, the data priority level may be pre-configured).
and the corresponding resource set type is determined based on the resource set type indicated by the IUC request (see Para’s [0125] i.e., a first UE may receive a trigger signal from a second UE to provide an inter-UE-coordination message, where the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE…the inter-UE coordination message may include one or more preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”), [0130-0132], [0134-0135] i.e., parameters and/or requirements for the set of resources included in sidelink coordination request message (i.e., “IUC request”) include an indication of preferred resources and/or an indication of non-preferred resources (i.e., resource set type indicated by the IUC request), [0139] i.e., the set of resources may be based on parameters included in the sidelink coordination request message, [0163] i.e., sidelink coordination request message may include a multi-bit message indicating one or more criteria for selecting the set of resources. The one or more criteria for selecting the set of resources may include any combination of, and/or all of a format of the inter-UE coordination message. The format of the inter-UE coordination message may define any combination of, and/or all of i.e., preferred resources of the first UE, non-preferred resources of the first UE (i.e., resource set type indicated by the IUC request), & [0171] i.e., the set of resources may indicate a set of preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”))
Ye does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the IUC response is carried in a MAC CE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of LG electronics “FL summary #1 for AI 8.11.2.2 Feasibility and benefits for mode 2 enhancements”, #3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e, R1-20xxxxx.
LG electronics discloses wherein the IUC response is carried in second-stage SCI (see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 1.1 How to define “A set of resources” in Mode 2 i.e., resource set recommended by UE-A to UE-B e.g., Preferred RX resource set of UE-A, see Pg. 7 i.e., Section 1.2 When UE-A transmits “A set of resources” to UE-B in Mode 2 when requested by UE-B & Pg. 10 Section 1.3 i.e., Which container is used to transmit “A set of resources” to UE-B in Mode 2 which can include New 2nd SCI format & Pg. 11 i.e., Lenovo/Motorola Mobility i.e., introducing a new 2nd SCI format for transmitting the coordination message).
(LG suggests the inter-UE coordination message is transmitted from UE-A to UE-B using the 2nd SCI format for indicating a preferred set of resources of the UE-A to the UE-B to use for sidelink transmission by the UE-B to UE-A, (see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 1.1, Pg. 7 i.e., Section 1.2, & Pg. 11)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the inter-UE-coordination response message transmitted from the first UE to the second UE which indicates a set of preferred resources for performing sidelink communications as disclosed in Ye to be carried in second-stage SCI as disclosed in the teachings of LG who discloses a second-stage SCI is used for transmitting an inter-UE coordination message, because the motivation lies in LG that the inter-UE coordination message is transmitted from UE-A to UE-B using the 2nd SCI format for indicating a preferred set of resources of the UE-A to the UE-B to use for sidelink transmission by the UE-B to UE-A.
While the combination of Ye in view of LG discloses the IUC response is carried in a second stage SCI included in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Ye, see Para [0130-0132] i.e., inter-UE coordination message, [0139] & LG, see Pg. 10, Section 1.3, Pg. 11 i.e., OPPO i.e., 2nd SCI format should be conveyed in PSSCH & Pg. 12 i.e., Huawei/HiSilicon i.e., 2nd SCI is also carried in PSSCH), the combination of Ye in view of LG does not disclose the claim feature of the IUC response is carried in a MAC CE included in the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hahn et al. US (2022/0303059).
Hahn discloses the 2nd stage SCI may be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH (see Para’s [0123-0124])
(Hahn suggests the 2nd stage SCI included in a MAC CE transmitted on PSSCH may include resource allocation information for PSSCH transmission, (see Para’s [0123-0124])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the second stage SCI carrying the inter-UE coordination message (i.e., “IUC response”) which is included in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) as disclosed in Ye in view of LG to be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH as disclosed in Hahn who discloses the 2nd-stage SCI may be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH, which results in the IUC response carried in a MAC CE included in the PSSCH, because the motivation lies in Hahn the 2nd-stage SCI included in a MAC CE transmitted on PSSCH may include resource allocation information for PSSCH transmission.
The combination of Ye in view of LG, and further in view of Hahn does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the IUC request is carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lu et al. US (2019/0132893).
Lu discloses wherein the IUC request is carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), (see Fig. 2 i.e., Coordination Req transmitted from UE A to UE B & Para’s [0012-0014] i.e., a D2D coordination message may be transmitted to a second D2D device, which is an intended target for D2D communication…The D2D coordination message may comprise a coordination request, & [0074] i.e., coordination message signaling can be carried in different ways, e.g., by RAN message like MAC CE message).
(Lu suggests the D2D coordination request message which may be carried in a MAC CE message is transmitted to a second D2D device intended as the target for D2D communication for allowing direct coordination between the D2D devices in order to set up D2D communication (see Para [0012])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the IUC request such as the sidelink coordination request message transmitted between the sidelink UEs as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, and further in view of Hahn to be carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) based on the teachings of Lu who discloses a D2D coordination request message (i.e., “IUC request”) may be carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), because the motivation lies in Lu that the D2D coordination request message which may be carried in a MAC CE message is transmitted to a second D2D device intended as the target for D2D communication for allowing direct coordination between the D2D devices in order to set up D2D communication.
While Ye discloses a determined priority of the IUC response,(see Para [0126], [0159], & [0162] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message), the combination of Ye in view of LG, further in view of Hahn, and further in view of Lu does not disclose the priority of transmitting the IUC response is equal to a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Wang et al. US (2022/0167310).
Wang discloses a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH is a priority level of the traffic region (e.g., PSSCH region 810) including second stage SCI part 804 (see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084] i.e., a second SCI part 804 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region (e.g., the PSSCH region 810), [0085] i.e., the first SCI part 802 (e.g., SCI-1) format may comprise one or more of the followings: 1) a priority QoS value (e.g., 3 bits) & [0112] i.e., the priority of the traffic/data may be included in the SCI-1)
(Wang suggests the 1st stage SCI includes control information used for receiving the sidelink transmission such as resource assignment of the PSSCH and also includes control information in order for the receiving UE to properly receiving the second stage SCI, (see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084-0085]))
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the IUC response carried in the second stage SCI which is included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, further in view of Hahn, and further in view of Lu to be included in the second stage SCI disclosed in Wang who discloses a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH is a priority level of the traffic region (e.g., PSSCH region 810) including second stage SCI part 804, which results in the priority of the IUC response being equal to the value of the priority field in the 1st-stage SCI, because the motivation lies in Wang that the first stage SCI includes control information about the second SCI part 804 used by the receiving device in order to properly receive the second stage SCI.
Regarding Claim 2, Ye discloses a user equipment (see Fig. 3 i.e., UE 106 & Para [0082]), comprising: a processor (see Fig. 3 i.e., processor 302 & Para [0089]); and a memory (see Fig. 3 i.e., memory 306 & Para [0089] & [0177]), storing instructions, wherein the processor is configured by the instructions (see Fig. 3 i.e., processor 302 Para’s & [0089], [0091], & [0176-0177]), to cause the user equipment (see Fig. 3 i.e., UE 106) to: receive an Inter-UE Coordination (IUC) request, (see Para’s [0125] i.e., In some embodiments, a first UE, such as UE 106, may receive a trigger signal from a second UE to provide an inter-UE coordination message, wherein the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE & [0127] i.e., the second UE to trigger transmissions of the inter-UE coordination message, e.g., via transmission of a sidelink coordination request message (i.e., “inter-UE coordination request”) to the first UE & [0130-0131] i.e., the first UE may receive a sidelink coordination request message (i.e., “inter-UE coordination request”) from the second UE & [0134-0136])
the IUC request indicates a priority (see Para [0126] i.e., For example, if a sidelink coordination request message includes a data priority level, then the included data priority level can be used for the inter-UE coordination message & [0134-0135])
and the IUC request indicates a resource set type as "preferred resource set" or "non-preferred resource set" (see Para’s [0130] & [0134] i.e., The sidelink coordination request message may be more than 1 bit and may include criteria for selecting a set of resources for sidelink communications as well as parameters for an inter-UE coordination message. In some embodiments, the set if resources may be a set of preferred and/or non-preferred resources, [0135] i.e., parameters and/or requirements for the set of resources may include any combination of, and/or all of…an indication of a format of an inter-UE coordination message (e.g., an indication of preferred resources and/or an indication of non-preferred resources (i.e., “resource set type”), & [0163])
and transmit an IUC response in response to the IUC request, (see Para’s [0130-0131] i.e., the first UE may receive a sidelink coordination request message from the second UE. The sidelink coordination request message may be a triggering signal for the first UE to provide the second UE with an inter-UE coordination message (i.e., “IUC response”), [0132] i.e., the first UE may provide (e.g., send and/or transmit) to the second UE, an indication of a set of resources for sidelink communications, e.g., via an inter-UE coordination message (i.e., “IUC response”). Additionally, the set of resources may be provided in response to receipt of the sidelink coordination message (i.e., “IUC request”) & [0139])
the IUC response indicates a resource set, (see Para’s [0124], [0125] i.e., where the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE, [0131-0132] & [0139])
the IUC response indicates a corresponding resource set type as "preferred resource set" or "non-preferred resource set", (see Para’s [0125] i.e., In some embodiments, the inter-UE coordination message may include one or more preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”) or may include one or more non-preferred resources, [0130] i.e., the first UE to provide a set of preferred and/or non-preferred resources for the second UE’s sidelink transmissions, [0134], [0171] i.e., the set of resources may indicate a set of preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”))
a priority of the IUC response, (see Para [0126] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message (e.g., to be used in the first UE’s resource selection procedure for the inter-UE coordination message., [0159], & [0162] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message. The data priority level may be based, at least in part, on a data priority level included in a sidelink coordination request message received from the second UE. Alternatively, and/or in addition, the data priority level may be pre-configured).
and the corresponding resource set type is determined based on the resource set type indicated by the IUC request (see Para’s [0125] i.e., a first UE may receive a trigger signal from a second UE to provide an inter-UE-coordination message, where the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE…the inter-UE coordination message may include one or more preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”), [0130-0132], [0134-0135] i.e., parameters and/or requirements for the set of resources included in sidelink coordination request message (i.e., “IUC request”) include an indication of preferred resources and/or an indication of non-preferred resources (i.e., resource set type indicated by the IUC request), [0139] i.e., the set of resources may be based on parameters included in the sidelink coordination request message, [0163] i.e., sidelink coordination request message may include a multi-bit message indicating one or more criteria for selecting the set of resources. The one or more criteria for selecting the set of resources may include any combination of, and/or all of a format of the inter-UE coordination message. The format of the inter-UE coordination message may define any combination of, and/or all of i.e., preferred resources of the first UE, non-preferred resources of the first UE (i.e., resource set type indicated by the IUC request), & [0171] i.e., the set of resources may indicate a set of preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”))
Ye does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the IUC response is carried in a MAC CE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of LG electronics “FL summary #1 for AI 8.11.2.2 Feasibility and benefits for mode 2 enhancements”, #3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e, R1-20xxxxx.
LG electronics discloses wherein the IUC response is carried in second-stage SCI (see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 1.1 How to define “A set of resources” in Mode 2 i.e., resource set recommended by UE-A to UE-B e.g., Preferred RX resource set of UE-A, see Pg. 7 i.e., Section 1.2 When UE-A transmits “A set of resources” to UE-B in Mode 2 when requested by UE-B & Pg. 10 Section 1.3 i.e., Which container is used to transmit “A set of resources” to UE-B in Mode 2 which can include New 2nd SCI format & Pg. 11 i.e., Lenovo/Motorola Mobility i.e., introducing a new 2nd SCI format for transmitting the coordination message).
(LG suggests the inter-UE coordination message is transmitted from UE-A to UE-B using the 2nd SCI format for indicating a preferred set of resources of the UE-A to the UE-B to use for sidelink transmission by the UE-B to UE-A, (see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 1.1, Pg. 7 i.e., Section 1.2, & Pg. 11)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the inter-UE-coordination response message transmitted from the first UE to the second UE which indicates a set of preferred resources for performing sidelink communications as disclosed in Ye to be carried in second-stage SCI as disclosed in the teachings of LG who discloses a second-stage SCI is used for transmitting an inter-UE coordination message, because the motivation lies in LG that the inter-UE coordination message is transmitted from UE-A to UE-B using the 2nd SCI format for indicating a preferred set of resources of the UE-A to the UE-B to use for sidelink transmission by the UE-B to UE-A.
While the combination of Ye in view of LG discloses the IUC response is carried in a second stage SCI included in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Ye, see Para [0130-0132] i.e., inter-UE coordination message, [0139] & LG, see Pg. 10, Section 1.3, Pg. 11 i.e., OPPO i.e., 2nd SCI format should be conveyed in PSSCH & Pg. 12 i.e., Huawei/HiSilicon i.e., 2nd SCI is also carried in PSSCH), the combination of Ye in view of LG does not disclose the claim feature of the IUC response is carried in a MAC CE included in the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hahn et al. US (2022/0303059).
Hahn discloses the 2nd stage SCI may be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH (see Para’s [0123-0124])
(Hahn suggests the 2nd stage SCI included in a MAC CE transmitted on PSSCH may include resource allocation information for PSSCH transmission, (see Para’s [0123-0124])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the second stage SCI carrying the inter-UE coordination message (i.e., “IUC response”) which is included in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) as disclosed in Ye in view of LG to be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH as disclosed in Hahn who discloses the 2nd-stage SCI may be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH, which results in the IUC response carried in a MAC CE included in the PSSCH, because the motivation lies in Hahn the 2nd-stage SCI included in a MAC CE transmitted on PSSCH may include resource allocation information for PSSCH transmission.
The combination of Ye in view of LG, and further in view of Hahn does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the IUC request is carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lu et al. US (2019/0132893).
Lu discloses wherein the IUC request is carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), (see Fig. 2 i.e., Coordination Req transmitted from UE A to UE B & Para’s [0012-0014] i.e., a D2D coordination message may be transmitted to a second D2D device, which is an intended target for D2D communication…The D2D coordination message may comprise a coordination request, & [0074] i.e., coordination message signaling can be carried in different ways, e.g., by RAN message like MAC CE message).
(Lu suggests the D2D coordination request message which may be carried in a MAC CE message is transmitted to a second D2D device intended as the target for D2D communication for allowing direct coordination between the D2D devices in order to set up D2D communication (see Para [0012])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the IUC request such as the sidelink coordination request message transmitted between the sidelink UEs as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, and further in view of Hahn to be carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) based on the teachings of Lu who discloses a D2D coordination request message (i.e., “IUC request”) may be carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), because the motivation lies in Lu that the D2D coordination request message which may be carried in a MAC CE message is transmitted to a second D2D device intended as the target for D2D communication for allowing direct coordination between the D2D devices in order to set up D2D communication.
While Ye discloses a determined priority of the IUC response,(see Para [0126], [0159], & [0162] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message), the combination of Ye in view of LG, further in view of Hahn, and further in view of Lu does not disclose the priority of transmitting the IUC response is equal to a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Wang et al. US (2022/0167310).
Wang discloses a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH is a priority level of the traffic region (e.g., PSSCH region 810) including second stage SCI part 804 (see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084] i.e., a second SCI part 804 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region (e.g., the PSSCH region 810), [0085] i.e., the first SCI part 802 (e.g., SCI-1) format may comprise one or more of the followings: 1) a priority QoS value (e.g., 3 bits) & [0112] i.e., the priority of the traffic/data may be included in the SCI-1)
(Wang suggests the 1st stage SCI includes control information used for receiving the sidelink transmission such as resource assignment of the PSSCH and also includes control information in order for the receiving UE to properly receiving the second stage SCI, (see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084-0085]))
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the IUC response carried in the second stage SCI which is included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, further in view of Hahn, and further in view of Lu to be included in the second stage SCI disclosed in Wang who discloses a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH is a priority level of the traffic region (e.g., PSSCH region 810) including second stage SCI part 804, which results in the priority of the IUC response being equal to the value of the priority field in the 1st-stage SCI, because the motivation lies in Wang that the first stage SCI includes control information about the second SCI part 804 used by the receiving device in order to properly receive the second stage SCI.
Regarding Claim 3, Ye discloses a user equipment (see Fig. 3 i.e., UE 106 & Para [0082]), comprising: a processor (see Fig. 3 i.e., processor 302 & Para [0089]); and a memory (see Fig. 3 i.e., memory 306 & Para [0089] & [0177]), storing instructions, wherein the processor is configured by the instructions (see Fig. 3 i.e., processor 302), Para’s [0089], [0091], & [0176-0177]), to cause the user equipment (see Fig. 3 i.e., UE 106) to: transmit an Inter-UE Coordination (IUC) request, (see Para’s [0125] i.e., In some embodiments, a first UE, such as UE 106, may receive a trigger signal from a second UE to provide an inter-UE coordination message, wherein the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE & [0127] i.e., the second UE to trigger transmissions of the inter-UE coordination message, e.g., via transmission of a sidelink coordination request message (i.e., “inter-UE coordination request”) to the first UE & [0130-0131] i.e., the first UE may receive a sidelink coordination request message (i.e., “inter-UE coordination request”) from the second UE & [0134-0136])
the IUC request indicates a priority (see Para [0126] i.e., For example, if a sidelink coordination request message includes a data priority level, then the included data priority level can be used for the inter-UE coordination message & [0134-0135])
and the IUC request indicates a resource set type as "preferred resource set" or "non-preferred resource set" (see Para’s [0130] & [0134] i.e., The sidelink coordination request message may be more than 1 bit and may include criteria for selecting a set of resources for sidelink communications as well as parameters for an inter-UE coordination message. In some embodiments, the set if resources may be a set of preferred and/or non-preferred resources, [0135] i.e., parameters and/or requirements for the set of resources may include any combination of, and/or all of…an indication of a format of an inter-UE coordination message (e.g., an indication of preferred resources and/or an indication of non-preferred resources (i.e., “resource set type”), & [0163])
and receive an IUC response corresponding to the IUC request, (see Para’s [0130-0131] i.e., the first UE may receive a sidelink coordination request message from the second UE. The sidelink coordination request message may be a triggering signal for the first UE to provide the second UE with an inter-UE coordination message (i.e., “IUC response”), [0132] i.e., the first UE may provide (e.g., send and/or transmit) to the second UE, an indication of a set of resources for sidelink communications, e.g., via an inter-UE coordination message (i.e., “IUC response”). Additionally, the set of resources may be provided in response to receipt of the sidelink coordination message (i.e., “IUC request”) & [0139])
the IUC response indicates a resource set, (see Para’s [0124], [0125] i.e., where the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE, [0131-0132] & [0139])
the IUC response indicates a corresponding resource set type as "preferred resource set" or "non-preferred resource set", (see Para’s [0125] i.e., In some embodiments, the inter-UE coordination message may include one or more preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”) or may include one or more non-preferred resources, [0130] i.e., the first UE to provide a set of preferred and/or non-preferred resources for the second UE’s sidelink transmissions, [0134], [0171] i.e., the set of resources may indicate a set of preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”))
a priority of the IUC response, (see Para [0126] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message (e.g., to be used in the first UE’s resource selection procedure for the inter-UE coordination message., [0159], & [0162] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message. The data priority level may be based, at least in part, on a data priority level included in a sidelink coordination request message received from the second UE. Alternatively, and/or in addition, the data priority level may be pre-configured).
and the corresponding resource set type is determined based on the resource set type indicated by the IUC request (see Para’s [0125] i.e., a first UE may receive a trigger signal from a second UE to provide an inter-UE-coordination message, where the inter-UE coordination message indicates a set of resources for the second UE…the inter-UE coordination message may include one or more preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”), [0130-0132], [0134-0135] i.e., parameters and/or requirements for the set of resources included in sidelink coordination request message (i.e., “IUC request”) include an indication of preferred resources and/or an indication of non-preferred resources (i.e., resource set type indicated by the IUC request), [0139] i.e., the set of resources may be based on parameters included in the sidelink coordination request message, [0163] i.e., sidelink coordination request message may include a multi-bit message indicating one or more criteria for selecting the set of resources. The one or more criteria for selecting the set of resources may include any combination of, and/or all of a format of the inter-UE coordination message. The format of the inter-UE coordination message may define any combination of, and/or all of i.e., preferred resources of the first UE, non-preferred resources of the first UE (i.e., resource set type indicated by the IUC request), & [0171] i.e., the set of resources may indicate a set of preferred resources (i.e., “corresponding resource set type”))
Ye does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the IUC response is carried in a MAC CE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of LG electronics “FL summary #1 for AI 8.11.2.2 Feasibility and benefits for mode 2 enhancements”, #3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e, R1-20xxxxx.
LG electronics discloses wherein the IUC response is carried in second-stage SCI (see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 1.1 How to define “A set of resources” in Mode 2 i.e., resource set recommended by UE-A to UE-B e.g., Preferred RX resource set of UE-A, see Pg. 7 i.e., Section 1.2 When UE-A transmits “A set of resources” to UE-B in Mode 2 when requested by UE-B & Pg. 10 Section 1.3 i.e., Which container is used to transmit “A set of resources” to UE-B in Mode 2 which can include New 2nd SCI format & Pg. 11 i.e., Lenovo/Motorola Mobility i.e., introducing a new 2nd SCI format for transmitting the coordination message).
(LG suggests the inter-UE coordination message is transmitted from UE-A to UE-B using the 2nd SCI format for indicating a preferred set of resources of the UE-A to the UE-B to use for sidelink transmission by the UE-B to UE-A, (see Pg. 1 i.e., Section 1.1, Pg. 7 i.e., Section 1.2, & Pg. 11)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the inter-UE-coordination response message transmitted from the first UE to the second UE which indicates a set of preferred resources for performing sidelink communications as disclosed in Ye to be carried in second-stage SCI as disclosed in the teachings of LG who discloses a second-stage SCI is used for transmitting an inter-UE coordination message, because the motivation lies in LG that the inter-UE coordination message is transmitted from UE-A to UE-B using the 2nd SCI format for indicating a preferred set of resources of the UE-A to the UE-B to use for sidelink transmission by the UE-B to UE-A.
While the combination of Ye in view of LG discloses the IUC response is carried in a second stage SCI included in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (Ye, see Para [0130-0132] i.e., inter-UE coordination message, [0139] & LG, see Pg. 10, Section 1.3, Pg. 11 i.e., OPPO i.e., 2nd SCI format should be conveyed in PSSCH & Pg. 12 i.e., Huawei/HiSilicon i.e., 2nd SCI is also carried in PSSCH), the combination of Ye in view of LG does not disclose the claim feature of the IUC response is carried in a MAC CE included in the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hahn et al. US (2022/0303059).
Hahn discloses the 2nd stage SCI may be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH (see Para’s [0123-0124])
(Hahn suggests the 2nd stage SCI included in a MAC CE transmitted on PSSCH may include resource allocation information for PSSCH transmission, (see Para’s [0123-0124])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the second stage SCI carrying the inter-UE coordination message (i.e., “IUC response”) which is included in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) as disclosed in Ye in view of LG to be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH as disclosed in Hahn who discloses the 2nd-stage SCI may be included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH, which results in the IUC response carried in a MAC CE included in the PSSCH, because the motivation lies in Hahn the 2nd-stage SCI included in a MAC CE transmitted on PSSCH may include resource allocation information for PSSCH transmission.
The combination of Ye in view of LG, and further in view of Hahn does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the IUC request is carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lu et al. US (2019/0132893).
Lu discloses wherein the IUC request is carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), (see Fig. 2 i.e., Coordination Req transmitted from UE A to UE B & Para’s [0012-0014] i.e., a D2D coordination message may be transmitted to a second D2D device, which is an intended target for D2D communication…The D2D coordination message may comprise a coordination request, & [0074] i.e., coordination message signaling can be carried in different ways, e.g., by RAN message like MAC CE message).
(Lu suggests the D2D coordination request message which may be carried in a MAC CE message is transmitted to a second D2D device intended as the target for D2D communication for allowing direct coordination between the D2D devices in order to set up D2D communication (see Para [0012])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the IUC request such as the sidelink coordination request message transmitted between the sidelink UEs as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, and further in view of Hahn to be carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) based on the teachings of Lu who discloses a D2D coordination request message (i.e., “IUC request”) may be carried in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), because the motivation lies in Lu that the D2D coordination request message which may be carried in a MAC CE message is transmitted to a second D2D device intended as the target for D2D communication for allowing direct coordination between the D2D devices in order to set up D2D communication.
While Ye discloses a determined priority of the IUC response,(see Para [0126], [0159], & [0162] i.e., In addition, the first UE may determine a data priority of the inter-UE coordination message), the combination of Ye in view of LG, further in view of Hahn, and further in view of Lu does not disclose the priority of transmitting the IUC response is equal to a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Wang et al. US (2022/0167310).
Wang discloses a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH is a priority level of the traffic region (e.g., PSSCH region 810) including second stage SCI part 804 (see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084] i.e., a second SCI part 804 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region (e.g., the PSSCH region 810), [0085] i.e., the first SCI part 802 (e.g., SCI-1) format may comprise one or more of the followings: 1) a priority QoS value (e.g., 3 bits) & [0112] i.e., the priority of the traffic/data may be included in the SCI-1)
(Wang suggests the 1st stage SCI includes control information used for receiving the sidelink transmission such as resource assignment of the PSSCH and also includes control information in order for the receiving UE to properly receiving the second stage SCI, (see Fig. 8 & Para’s [0084-0085]))
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the IUC response carried in the second stage SCI which is included in a MAC CE transmitted on the PSSCH as disclosed in Ye in view of LG, further in view of Hahn, and further in view of Lu to be included in the second stage SCI disclosed in Wang who discloses a value of a priority field in 1st stage SCI associated with the PSSCH is a priority level of the traffic region (e.g., PSSCH region 810) including second stage SCI part 804, which results in the priority of the IUC response being equal to the value of the priority field in the 1st-stage SCI, because the motivation lies in Wang that the first stage SCI includes control information about the second SCI part 804 used by the receiving device in order to properly receive the second stage SCI.
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461