DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/22/2025 and 7/10/2023 have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species 1 molded article and 2 B composite metal oxide includes a metal oxide of two or more metals selected from Fe Ti Zn Ni Co Mn and Al in the reply filed on 12/1/2025 is acknowledged reading on claims 1, 16, and 18.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claims 3-15, 17 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/1/2025
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 18 recites a diameter of 0.1pm or greater and 500 pm or less. It appears from the specification at [0020] that the units should be microns and for purposes of examination have been interpreted as such. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rick et al (US 2004/0177788)
Regarding Claim 1:
Rick teaches a pigment in a flake (meeting claim 16) form having coating layers of various refractive index and an absorbent layer and a protective layer (See claim 1 reference) The flake form substrate includes alumina (See claim 2 Al.us.b2O.sub.3) (meeting claim 1 for an alumina particle) The coating includes titanium oxide, zirconium oxide, zinc oxide (See claim 3 reference) and an absorbent layer of molybdenum oxide (See claim 9 of reference) as well as iron oxide, nickel oxide etc. (See claim 9-10 of reference) (meeting claim 1 for molybdenum and for the recited metal oxides)
The materials are used in an injection molding machine to form an article [0157]
The coating has a layers having thickness of 20-250nm; 10-100nm and 20-250nm (see claim 1 reference)
Further Regarding Claim 16:
Rick teaches the limitations above set forth. Rick teaches a pigment in a flake (meeting claim 16) form having coating layers of various refractive index and an absorbent layer and a protective layer (See claim 1 reference) The flake form substrate includes alumina (See claim 2 Al.us.b2O.sub.3) (meeting claim 1 for an alumina particle) The coating includes titanium oxide, zirconium oxide, zinc oxide (See claim 3 reference) and an absorbent layer of molybdenum oxide (See claim 9 of reference) as well as iron oxide, nickel oxide etc. (See claim 9-10 of reference)
Further Regarding Claim 18:
Rick teaches the limitations above set forth. The flake form substrates have a thickness of 0.05 to 5 microns. The size of the other two directions usually between 1 and 250 microns [0019] (rending obvious the ranges of claim 18 where one dimension is 200 microns and the other is 100 microns making it 2:1 for aspect ratio).
See MPEP 2144.05(I): "In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)"
Claim(s)1 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng Zhou (CN 110317402A) (2019)
Regarding claims 1 and 16
Feng Zhou (CN 110317402A) (2019) teaches a composition comprising a component referred to as a “laser absorber” and color changing aid. Feng teaches the composition includes an alumina flake (meeting claim 1 for a composite particle comprising alumina particle and claim 16 for a flake) with one or more metal oxides coated thereon including molybdenum oxide, (meeting claim 1 for alumina particle containing molybdenum) The metal oxide is antimony trioxide, tin dioxide, titanium dioxide, antimony tin oxide, indium tin oxide, bismuth oxide, copper oxide, ferric oxide, bismuth oxychloride, zinc oxide, molybdenum oxide, ferrous oxide, aluminum oxide or magnesium oxide. (meeting claim 1 for metal oxide two or more including iron / ferrous oxide, Ti / titanium oxide; aluminum oxide and a tin oxide.
Feng Zhou (CN 110317402A) (2019) teaches an alumina flake (meeting the limitation of claim 16 for a flake)
The particle has a diameter of 10 nm to 200 microns (Abstract)
The metal oxide-coated inorganic flakes are selected from metal oxide-coated mica flakes, metal oxide-coated alumina flakes, metal oxide-coated glass flakes, and metal oxide-coated ceramic flakes any one or more of two;
Further, the particle size of the laser absorbing agent is 10.0 nm˜200.0 μm; preferably, the particle size of the laser absorbing agent is 20.0 nm˜70.0 μm.
The agent as a core shell structure (first par in summary of invention)
Below are excerpts from the machine translation teaching flakes of alumina molybdenum and various metal oxides including certain of the claimed metal oxides:
The reference teaches flakes:
The metal oxide-coated inorganic flakes are selected from metal oxide-coated mica flakes, metal oxide-coated alumina flakes, metal oxide-coated glass flakes, and metal oxide-coated ceramic flakes any one or more of two;
The reference also teaches particles of one or more including alumina and molybdenum oxide as swell as ferric oxide titanium oxides etc. thereby rendering obvious claim 1:
Reference claim 3. The color-changing aid according to any one of claims 1 to 2, wherein: the metal powder is selected from any one or more than two of silver, iron, copper, tin, tungsten, titanium, chromium, nickel, gold, indium, zinc, antimony, aluminum, magnesium or alloy thereof;
the metal oxide is selected from one or more of antimony trioxide, tin dioxide, titanium dioxide, tin antimony oxide, indium tin oxide, bismuth trioxide, copper oxide, ferroferric oxide, bismuth oxychloride, zinc oxide, molybdenum oxide, ferric oxide, aluminum oxide and magnesium oxide;
the metal salt is selected from one or more than two of copper chromate, calcium silicate, hydroxyl copper phosphate, copper orthophosphate, calcium zirconate, zirconium silicate, barium titanate, calcium titanate, magnesium titanate and strontium titanate;
the inorganic flake coated with the metal oxide is any one or more than two of mica flake coated with the metal oxide, alumina flake coated with the metal oxide, glass flake coated with the metal oxide and ceramic flake coated with the metal oxide;
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 16 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12503606 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim a composite particle of an alumina particle comprising Mo with an inorganic coating (Claim 1 patent) having the claimed particle size (claim 1) with an oxide such as titanium oxide and iron oxide (Claims 2-3 patent) having a plate like shape (i.e. flake) (claim 7 patent) the instantly claimed particle size aspect ratio thickness etc. (patent claim 1) the diameter will overlap or meet the claimed range based upon the size, thickness, aspect ratio etc. See MPEP 2144.05(I): "In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)"
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892 accompanying this office action for prior art teaching various alumina particles.
/PAMELA H WEISS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1732