DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 20110169447) in view of Helnerus (US 20210237598 ).
Regarding claim 1, Brown teaches a charging pile (figures 4, 14, 22 and 26 ),
wherein the charging pile comprises a charging pile main body (figure 4 item 58 defined as a housing. Figure 14 item 98 a portable housing. Figure 22 item 148 defined in [0085] as an Electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) enclosure),
a mounting back plate (figure 6 item 74 [0048] a rear plate. Figure 15 shows a rear mounting plate. Figure 29 shows a mounting back plate), and a wiring assembly, wherein the wiring assembly is mounted on the mounting back plate, and the charging pile main body cooperates with the wiring assembly to enable a power connection of the charging pile main body (figure 3 [0045] discloses wherein the housing 54 includes wiring such as, relays, contactors, circuit boards, transformers, modules, lights, displays, charging circuits and/or any other components to implement an electric vehicle supply circuit such as a circuit for charging a vehicle with the cord set. Figure 6 [0051] discloses wherein housing 58 includes wiring such as circuit boards. Figure 14 [0079] discloses housing 98 with wiring such as circuits to enable power connection and charging. Figure 21 item 147 [0084] discloses enclosure item 147 includes wiring such as circuit boards)
wherein the wiring assembly comprises an electric connecting portion, and the charging pile main body is provided with a plug connector (figure 4 shows a plug connector item 60 connects the housing to a source of charging power), wherein the plug connector and the electric connecting portion are mated by insertion and electrically connected to each other (figures 37 and 38 show how an electric connecting portion a contactor item 258 within the circuitry of the EVSE are connected to the power supply via a plug connector to provide power to the vehicle); and
the electric connecting portion is configured to communicate with an external power supply through an input line ( [0006] and [0130] disclose wherein two way communications between the external power via the EVSE and the vehicle is enabled to monitor power received from the external power supply),
wherein the wiring assembly further comprises a cover plate, wherein the cover plate is detachably connected to the mounting back plate, which jointly forms an accommodating cavity configured to accommodate the electric connecting portion; the cover plate is provided with a socket communicating with the accommodating cavity; and the plug connector is capable of extending into the socket and electrically connected to the electric connecting portion (figure 4 shows a cover plate with a socket for receiving connector 62. Figure 12 shows a cover plate with socket 77. Figure 36 shows a cover plate with a socket for receiving connector 235).
Brown does not explicitly teach wherein the electric connecting portion comprises a wire-connecting terminal and a plug bush, wherein the wire-connecting terminal is electrically connected to the plug bush, and the plug connector is inserted into the plug bush and cooperates with the plug bush; and the wire-connecting terminal is configured to be electrically connected to the input line.
Helnerus teaches the electric connecting portion comprises a wire-connecting terminal and a plug bush, wherein the wire-connecting terminal is electrically connected to the plug bush, and the plug connector is inserted into the plug bush and cooperates with the plug bush; and the wire-connecting terminal is configured to be electrically connected to the input line (figures 2, 3, 5 and 6 show connecting portions: a connection strip 38 [0105], a power connection 42 [0107], connectors 46,48 [0109], charging connection 52, and bus connector 60. Figures 2, 3, 5 and 6 show plug bush items: a plug 56, collar 58, fixing means 62, charging bushing 70 and fixing means 66. Paragraph [0108] discloses charging bushings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Brown reference with the charging system of the Helnerus reference so that the charger is may be easily installed by the user.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Helnerus reference in paragraph [0008] wherein the charging device is made for easy installation.
Figure 4 shows a charging pile or an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE)
Helnerus figure 5 shows a plurality of plug connectors, wirings, and charging bushings or bushes.
Regarding claim 4, Brown teaches the charging pile according to claim 3, but does not explicitly teach wherein a plurality of plug connectors and a plurality of electric connecting portions are provided, wherein the plurality of plug connectors are arranged at intervals on the charging pile main body, wherein each plug connector is electrically connected to one electric connecting portion.
Helnerus teaches wherein a plurality of plug connectors and a plurality of electric connecting portions are provided, wherein the plurality of plug connectors are arranged at intervals on the charging pile main body, wherein each plug connector is electrically connected to one electric connecting portion (figures 2, 3, 5 and 6 show a plurality of plug connecting portions: a connection strip 38 [0105], a power connection 42 [0107], connectors 46,48 [0109], charging connection 52, and bus connector 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Brown reference with the charging system of the Helnerus reference so that the charger is may be easily installed by the user.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Helnerus reference in paragraph [0008] wherein the charging device is made for easy installation.
Regarding claim 5, Brown teaches the charging pile according to claim 4, but does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plug connectors is linear, and the plurality of plug connectors is evenly arranged at intervals on the charging pile main body.
Helnerus teaches wherein each of the plug connectors is linear, and the plurality of plug connectors is evenly arranged at intervals on the charging pile main body (figures 2, 3, 5 and 6 show a plurality of plug connecting portions: a connection strip 38 [0105], a power connection 42 [0107], connectors 46,48 [0109], charging connection 52, and bus connector 60, arranged at intervals on the charging pile main body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Brown reference with the charging system of the Helnerus reference so that the charger is may be easily installed by the user.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Helnerus reference in paragraph [0008] wherein the charging device is made for easy installation.
Regarding claim 8, Brown teaches the charging pile according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the cover plate is provided thereon with a through hole corresponding to the connecting piece, and the through hole communicates with the accommodating cavity; and the connecting piece is provided in the through hole.
Helnerus teaches wherein the cover plate is provided thereon with a through hole corresponding to the connecting piece, and the through hole communicates with the accommodating cavity (figure 2 item 27 [0086] a cover corresponding to connecting pieces within the cavity of assembly 20); and the connecting piece is provided in the through hole (figure 2 shows a through hole item 84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Brown reference with the charging system of the Helnerus reference so that the charger is may be easily installed by the user.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Helnerus reference in paragraph [0008] wherein the charging device is made for easy installation.
Regarding claim 9, Brown teaches the charging pile according to claim 1, wherein the mounting back plate is provided with a waterproof plate, and the waterproof plate is obliquely arranged above the cover plate (paragraph [0053] discloses wherein the cover protects the connector from moisture).
Regarding claim 11, Brown teaches the charging pile according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein a plurality of plug bushes is provided with a partition therebetween.
Helnerus teaches wherein a plurality of plug bushes is provided with a partition therebetween (Figures 2, 3, 5 and 6 show a plurality of plug bush items: a plug 56, collar 58, fixing means 62, charging bushing 70 and fixing means 66. Paragraph [0108] discloses charging bushings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Brown reference with the charging system of the Helnerus reference so that the charger is may be easily installed by the user.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Helnerus reference in paragraph [0008] wherein the charging device is made for easy installation.
Regarding claim 12, Brown teaches the charging pile according to claim 2, wherein the wiring assembly comprises a limiting piece, and the mounting back plate is detachably connected to the limiting piece; and the mounting back plate and the limiting piece form a limiting cavity configured for the input line to pass through (figures 5, 15 and 26 show a back plate forming limiting cavity).
Regarding claim 13, Brown teaches the charging pile according to claim 2, wherein the charging pile main body is provided with an accommodating slot, wherein a wall of the accommodating slot comprises a perimeter wall and a bottom wall, wherein the perimeter wall surrounds outside the bottom wall; and the mounting back plate is able to extend into the accommodating slot when the plug connector is cooperating with the electric connecting portion (figure 27 shows the charging EVSE connected to a wall).
Regarding claim 14, Brown teaches the charging pile according to claim 13, wherein an extension direction of the plug connector is perpendicular to the bottom wall, wherein the plug connector is able to be mated to the electric connecting portion in a direction perpendicular to the bottom wall (figure 27 shows the charging EVSE connected to a wall).
Regarding claim 15, Brown teaches the charging pile according to claim 13, wherein a bottom of the perimeter wall is provided with an avoidance opening, and the avoidance opening communicates with the accommodating slot; the avoidance opening is configured to yield to the mounting back plate; and an extension direction of the plug connector is parallel to the bottom wall, wherein the plug connector is able to be mated to the electric connecting portion in a direction parallel to the bottom wall (figure 27 shows the charging EVSE connected to a wall).
Regarding claim 16, Brown teaches the charging pile according to claim 13, wherein the perimeter wall is provided with a through-hole, and a side surface of the mounting back plate is provided with a mounting slot; and a nut is embedded in the mounting slot, wherein the nut is configured to cooperate with a fixing screw passing through the through-hole (figure 27 shows the charging EVSE connected to a wall with a through hole and a fixing screw. Figures 30 and 31 show a mounting plate with through holes).
Regarding claim 18, Brown teaches the charging pile according to claim 1, wherein the mounting back plate is provided with a mounting hole, and the mounting hole is configured for a mounting piece to pass through, so as to facilitate fixed mounting of the mounting back plate to a fixed carrier (figures 5, 15 and 26 show a back plate forming limiting cavity).
4. Claims 10, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 20110169447) in view of Helnerus (US 20210237598 ) as applied to claim 9 and further view of Bonwit (US 20130175989)
Regarding claim 10, Brown and Helnerus teach the charging pile according to claim 9, wherein the mounting back plate comprises a base plate and a side plate, wherein the side plate surrounds the base plate (figures 5, 6, 12, 16, 22 shows mounting back plate with a side plate surrounding the base plate); but does not explicitly teach the electric connecting portion is mounted on the base plate, and the cover plate is detachably connected to the base plate and/or the side plate; and the waterproof plate is provided on the base plate and located between the electric connecting portion and the side plate.
Bonwit teaches wherein the electric connecting portion is mounted on the base plate, and the cover plate is detachably connected to the base plate and/or the side plate; and the waterproof plate is provided on the base plate and located between the electric connecting portion and the side plate (shown in figure 4 wherein the electric connecting portion 40 is mounted on a base plate. Figure 5A shows cover plate 15 is detachably connected to a side included within enclosure 10 connecting with the base plate 100 shown figure 2. Paragraphs [0063], [0065] and [0066] discloses wherein the enclosure plates are waterproof with a waterproof seal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Brown and Helnerus references with the charging system of the Bonwit reference so that the charger is protected from the external environment.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Bonwit reference in paragraph [0063] wherein the charging system is protected from the external environment.
Bonwit figure 5A shows wherein the charger includes detachable portions.
Regarding claim 17, Brown and Helnerus teach the charging pile according to claim 13, but do not explicitly teach wherein a sealing strip is provided on a side of the perimeter wall near the mounting back plate, and the sealing strip is configured to seal a gap between the perimeter wall and the mounting back plate.
Bonwit teaches wherein a sealing strip is provided on a side of the perimeter wall near the mounting back plate, and the sealing strip is configured to seal a gap between the perimeter wall and the mounting back plate (figure 5A shows a sealing ring item 70 defined in [0063] as a sealing material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Brown and Helnerus reference with the charging system of the Bonwit reference so that the charger is protected from the external environment.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Bonwit reference in paragraph [0063] wherein the charging system is protected from the external environment.
Regarding claim 19, Brown teaches the charging pile according to claim 4, wherein the wiring assembly further comprises a cover plate (shown in figure 4); the cover plate is provided with a socket communicating with the accommodating cavity (shown in figure 4); and the plug connector is capable of extending into the socket and electrically connected to the electric connecting portion (shown in figure 4).
Brown and Helnerus do not explicitly teach wherein the cover plate is detachably connected to the mounting back plate, which jointly forms an accommodating cavity configured to accommodate the electric connecting portion.
Bonwit teaches wherein the cover plate is detachably connected to the mounting back plate, which jointly forms an accommodating cavity configured to accommodate the electric connecting portion (shown in figure 5A wherein the cover plate is detachably connected to the back mounting plate to accommodate a cavity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Brown and Helnerus references with the charging system of the Bonwit reference so that the charger is protected from the external environment.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Bonwit reference in paragraph [0063] wherein the charging system is protected from the external environment.
Regarding claim 20, Brown and Helnerus teach the charging pile according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the mounting back plate is provided with a waterproof plate, and the waterproof plate is obliquely arranged above the cover plate.
Bonwit teaches wherein the mounting back plate is provided with a waterproof plate, and the waterproof plate is obliquely arranged above the cover plate (defined in paragraph [0063] wherein the system is protected with a waterproof material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Brown and Helnerus references with the charging system of the Bonwit reference so that the charger is protected from the external environment.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Bonwit reference in paragraph [0063] wherein the charging system is protected from the external environment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the Brown in view Helnerus references fail to teach, “any terminal post having a connecting piece attached thereto to hold the line and the plug bush with respect the terminal slot.” Thus Helnerus fails to describe the limitation of: “a wire-connecting terminal and a plug bush, wherein the wire-connecting terminal is electrically connected to the plug bush, and the plug connector is inserted into the plug bush and cooperates with the plug bush; and the wire-connecting terminal is configured to be electrically connected to the input line.” This argument is not persuasive.
Helnerus figure 2 and paragraph [0049] shows a plurality of wire-connecting terminals and a plug bush, interpreted as cable bushings. The wire connecting terminals are electrically connected to the plug bush and the plug connector is inserted into the plug bush. The claimed limitation does not describe a novel arrangement of wirings within an Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment. One of ordinary skill the art can reasonably ascertain that the cable bushings arrangement described by Helnerus reasonably reads on the limitation disclosed above. For these reasons, the argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20170129351 A1 Overhead Cable Management Bianco; James S. Et Al.
Us 20130175989 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging Station Bonwit; Holden
Us 10027148 B2 Portable EVSE System Connolly; Brittany Et Al.
Us 20130020991 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging Station Deboer; John Et Al.
Us 20230275411 A1 Docking Unit Gardner; Timothy Et Al.
Us 20170237944 A1 Electric Vehicle Charging Station Haas; Harry Price
Us 20170182896 A1 On-Board Charger For Electric Vehicles Masip; Guillem Rovira
Us 20180086218 A1 Charge And Discharge For EV Murase; Haruhiko Et Al.
Us 20210237599 A1 Charging Station For EVs Müller-Winterberg; Christian Et Al.
Us 12522093 B2 Charging Station Schmidt; Konstantin Et Al.
Us 20230256841 A1 Wallbox EVSE Steinbuchel, Iv; Herman Joseph
Us 20220089055 A1 Vehicle Charging Systems Tenhouten; Broc William Et Al.
Us 20220194236 A1 Automotive Battery Power System Whiting; John Et Al.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859