Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to the communication filed on 12/10/2025. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10, 27-28, 30-33 and 36 have been amended. Claims 1-10 and 27-36 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 12/10/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments provided for the 35 U.S.C. §102 rejection of claims 1-6, 9, 27-32 and 34-35 have been considered but are not persuasive.
(A) Applicant argues, “Cha does not teach, suggest, or disclose at least "determine[ing] a respective weight for each of the plurality of positioning methods; and send[ing] the respective weights for each of the plurality of positioning methods based on at least one of the respective weights being greater than the threshold," as recited in amended claims 1 and 27.
“In contrast to the claimed features, Cha is silent regarding weights for positioning methods, much less sending weights for positioning methods based on a respective weight being greater than a threshold.
“The Office Action asserts that paragraphs [0321]-[0325] of Cha teach determining respective weights for each of the plurality of positioning methods and sending the respective weights ... based on at least one of the respective weights being greater than the threshold. (See Office Action, p. 2). However, paragraphs [0321]-[0325] of Cha only teach reporting a measurement of an RS resource if the measurement of the RS resource is more than a threshold. Paragraphs [0321]-[0325] do not mention weights for a plurality of positioning methods, which are different than measurements of RS resources.
“In fact, weights for positioning methods are not mentioned at all in Cha, much less sending weights for positioning methods based on a respective weight being greater than a threshold. The only instance of the word "weight" appearing in Cha is related to a weight sensor, which has nothing to do weights being applied to positioning methods.
“Accordingly, Cha does not teach, suggest, or disclose at least "determine[ing] a respective weight for each of the plurality of positioning methods; and send[ing] the respective weights for each of the plurality of positioning methods based on at least one of the respective weights being greater than the threshold," as recited in amended claims 1 and 27.
“For at least these reasons, independent claims 1 and 27, and the claims that depend therefrom, patentably define over Cha. As such, Applicant respectfully requests that the Section 102 rejections be reconsidered and withdrawn.
“If a subsequent Office Action issues that alleges the Cha reference teaches the claimed subject matter, Applicant respectfully requests that the Office provide which feature(s) in Cha allegedly correspond to the "weights" and which feature(s) in Cha allegedly correspond to the "plurality of positioning methods,” (from remarks pages 6-7).
As to point (A), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that Cha does not teach weights for positioning methods or sending weights for positioning methods based on a respective weight being greater than a threshold. After reviewing Examiner Fan’s mapping, the present examiner is able to add the following explanation:
The “weights” of claim 1 may be mapped to the “measurements” in paragraphs [0314-0325] of Cha. These measurements are used and in certain case results are reported in [0314,0321-0323], as shown in the mapping by Examiner Fan. Measurements are compared to a threshold in [0314,0321-0323], again in accordance with the previous mapping. “Determining a respective weight for each of the plurality of positioning methods” may be understood through Cha paragraph [0325], where the value reported by the UE to the BS is either the measurement value itself when that value is above a threshold, or a report of detection failure when the measurement value is below a threshold. “Weight” would then be mapped to either the unchanged measurements or to the report of a failure state after this determination is performed. Finally, “sending the respective weights for each of the plurality of positioning methods based on at least one of the respective weights being greater than the threshold” may also be mapped to [0325]: all measurements are reported as either the measurement value or as an error report. Further analysis to determine positioning is predicated on at least one of these measurements being greater than the threshold, i.e., being a valid measurement.
In response to applicant’s argument that Cha fails to teach the term “weight”, it is noted that the term “weight” is not given an explicit definition in either the claims or the specification. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In the context of methods performed by WTRUs related to weights for positioning methods, the “weight” of a positioning method may be reasonably interpreted to be its measured value, and may also be reasonably interpreted to be a measurement failure indication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 27-31, 34-35 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Cha et al. US 2022/0124664.
As to claim 1, Cha teaches a method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit WTRU for wireless communications (esp. c.f. figs.25-26 teaching WTRU in comm. application), the method comprising: receiving configuration information for determining a combination of a plurality of positioning methods (esp. c.f. [0181-0183] teaching the UE receives CSI related configuration information through signaling), wherein the configuration information indicates using and reporting weights for the plurality of positioning methods and a threshold for weight comparison (see [0314, 0321-0323] teaching specific threshold); determining a respective weight for each respective positioning method of the plurality of positioning methods (esp. c.f. [0324-0325] teaching determining how much to configure the method based on the thresholds), and sending the respective weights for the plurality of positioning methods based on at least one of the respective weights being greater than the threshold (see [0321-0325] teaching modulating the desired result based on the measurement being greater than or equal to a specific threshold).
As to claim 2, Cha teaches claim 1 wherein respective weights for plurality of positioning methods are sent after a preconfigured time period (esp. c.f. [0322-0323] teaching the time difference measurement and how to configure the time period).
As to claim 3, Cha teaches claim 1 wherein the configuration information indicates information of a reference point for positioning (esp. c.f. [0328, 0330] teaching reference configuration for measurement configuration and how to base reference related information).
As to claim 4, Cha teaches claim 3, further comprising: determining a positioning estimate for the reference point and determining a respective positioning estimate for each respective positioning method (esp. c.f. [0244, 0267, 0270] teaching positioning and relative position).
As to claim 5, Cha teaches claim 4 further wherein the respective weight for each of the positioning is determined based on the positioning estimate and reference point (esp. c.f. [0340-0346] teaching weighting based on the positioning estimate for the reference points).
As to claim 9, Cha teaches claim 1 further comprising receiving information for measuring set of positioning reference signals and measuring them based on the configuration information (see [0277]).
As to claim 27, Cha teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit WTRU for wireless communications (esp. c.f. figs.25-26 teaching WTRU in comm. application), the method comprising: receiving configuration information for determining a combination of a plurality of positioning methods (esp. c.f. [0181-0183] teaching the UE receives CSI related configuration information through signaling), wherein the configuration information indicates using and reporting weights for the plurality of positioning methods and a threshold for weight comparison (see [0314, 0321-0323] teaching specific threshold); determining a respective weight for each respective positioning method of the plurality of positioning methods (esp. c.f. [0324-0325] teaching determining how much to configure the method based on the thresholds), and sending the respective weights for the plurality of positioning methods based on at least one of the respective weights being greater than the threshold (see [0321-0325] teaching modulating the desired result based on the measurement being greater than or equal to a specific threshold).
As to claim 28, Cha teaches claim 27 wherein respective weights for plurality of positioning methods are sent after a preconfigured time period (esp. c.f. [0322-0323] teaching the time difference measurement and how to configure the time period).
As to claim 29, Cha teaches claim 27 wherein the configuration information indicates information of a reference point for positioning (esp. c.f. [0328, 0330] teaching reference configuration for measurement configuration and how to base reference related information).
As to claim 30, Cha teaches claim 29, further comprising: determining a positioning estimate for the reference point and determining a respective positioning estimate for each respective positioning method (esp. c.f. [0244, 0267, 0270] teaching positioning and relative position).
As to claim 31, Cha teaches claim 30 further wherein the respective weight for each of the positioning is determined based on the positioning estimate and reference point (esp. c.f. [0340-0346] teaching weighting based on the positioning estimate for the reference points).
As to claim 34, Cha teaches claim 27, wherein the WTRU is further configured to receive information indicating a positioning reference signal reconfiguration and measure one or more PRSs based on the reconfiguration (esp. c.f. [0316] teaching reconfiguration mechanics for the PRSs).
As to claim 35, Cha teaches claim 27 further comprising receiving information for measuring set of positioning reference signals and measuring them based on the configuration information (see [0277]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha in view of Sedonaris et al. US 2018/0224519.
As to claim 6, Cha teaches claim 1. Cha does not explicitly teach, but Sedonaris teaches: wherein a sum of the respective weights for each of the plurality of positioning methods equals one (see at least [0041]; “the final position estimate {circumflex over (x)} is the weighted average of the position estimates obtained from all positioning technologies.” Weights in a weighted average add to 1.).
Both Cha and Sedonaris are directed to estimating the position of a mobile device using multiple measurements. Cha marks failed measurements, giving zero weight, and then performs positioning analysis using successful measurements (see [0325]; “On the other hand, if the measurement of an RS resource is less than or equal to the specific threshold, the UE may report the detection failure state. The BS/LMF may select measurements to be used for positioning based on the received report in order to improve the accuracy of the UE positioning…”). Cha does not explicitly teach how the multiple selected measurements are used for positioning. Sedonaris uses multiple selected measurements for positioning by employing a weighted average. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the positioning using multiple selected measurements of Cha to include a weighted average, as taught by Sedonaris. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a weighted average in the processing of multiple measurements in order to achieve optimal results, as recognized by Sedonaris (see Sedonaris at least [0038]; “The steps of determining weights w.sub.1, w.sub.2, . . . w.sub.K (330) and determining the final position estimate {circumflex over (x)} (340) can be designed with the objective that the final position estimate {circumflex over (x)} is optimal.”).
As to claim 32, Cha teaches claim 27. The remaining limitations of claim 32 are analogous to those of claim 6 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-8, 10, 33, and 36 are objected to for depending upon a rejected base claim but would otherwise be allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY BROWN RAYNAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648