DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 27, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., text-type data input by the user such as via an input apparatus) are not recited in claims 1, 6-9, 11, 13-14, 17-18. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
It is maintained that the text data converted from speech input by the user in Lembersky may be considered as “text data of the user” to the extent required by the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, 11, 13-14, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lembersky et al. (US 2019/0095775 A1, “Lembersky”).
As to claims 1, 8, 9, 11, Lembersky discloses a method for human-computer interaction, comprising:
receiving information of at least one modality of a user, wherein the information of at least one modality comprises image data and text data of the user (user face/video input 106, Fig. 1, para. 0022-0024, 0073; user’s speech 102 is converted to text, para. 0022);
recognizing intention information of the user and an emotional characteristic of the user corresponding to the intention information based on the information of the at least one modality (user’s speech is converted to text and user’s mood is determined based on facial expressions captured by video and tone, volume, speed, timing, etc. of audio, para. 0022-0028), comprising:
recognizing an expression characteristic of the user based on the image data of the user (facial expression recognizer interprets the facial landmarks as indicating a facial expression and emotion, para. 0075);
extracting the intention information of the user based on the text data (user intent based on converted text, para. 0025);
obtaining the emotional characteristic of the user corresponding to the intention information based on the text data and the expression characteristic (user’s mood may be determined based on facial recognition, skeletal tracking, words, etc., para. 0022, 0027-0028);
determining reply information to the user based on the intention information (a proper response to the user is determined based on the converted text and mood, para. 0022, 0027);
selecting an emotional characteristic of a character to be fed back to the user based on the emotional characteristic of the user (AI character responds in the appropriate facial emotions and voice, e.g., if the user is determined to be worried, the AI character may respond in a calming way, para. 0027; AI character is smiling if the user is happy, or calming if the user is upset, or shocked if the user says something shocking, para. 0029); and
generating a broadcast video of an animated character image corresponding to the emotional characteristic of the character based on the emotional characteristic of the character and the reply information (AI character is presented as a hologram/3D model, para. 0006, 0022, 0027, 0038, 0103).
As to claims 6, 17, Lembersky discloses: wherein the generating the broadcast video of the animated character image corresponding to the emotional characteristic of the character based on the emotional characteristic of the character and the reply information comprises:
generating a reply audio based on the reply information and the emotional characteristic of the character (AI engine 112 determines a proper response to the user, which results in the proper text and emotion response being sent to a processor 116, which then translates the responsive text back to synthesized speech 118, para. 0022); and
obtaining the broadcast video of the animated character image corresponding to the emotional characteristic of the character based on the reply audio, the emotional characteristic of the character, and a pre-established animated character image model (2D or 3D AI character conveys the appropriate emotional response, the AI character may be based on any associated character model, such as a human, avatar, cartoon, or inanimate object character, para. 0022; avatar may be a celebrity, a fictional character, etc., para. 0090).
As to claims 7, 18, Lembersky discloses: wherein the obtaining the broadcast video of the animated character image corresponding to the emotional characteristic of the character based on the reply audio, the emotional characteristic of the character, and the pre-established animated character image model comprises:
inputting the reply audio and the emotional characteristic of the character into a trained mouth shape driving model to obtain mouth shape data outputted from the mouth shape driving model (morph target animation, para. 0026, 0040-0049);
inputting the reply audio and the emotional characteristic of the character into a trained expression driving model to obtain expression data outputted from the expression driving model (morph target animation, para. 0026, 0040-0049);
driving the animated character image model based on the mouth shape data and the expression data to obtain a three-dimensional model action sequence (mouth shape data, para. 0041);
rendering the three-dimensional model action sequence to obtain a video frame picture sequence (3D holographic character conveys appropriate emotional response and mouth movement, para. 0006, 0022); and
synthesizing the video frame picture sequence to obtain the broadcast video of the animated character image corresponding to the emotional characteristic of the character (3D files and audio files are combined into an interactive holographic “character” which can interact with users, para. 0038),
wherein the mouth shape driving model and the expression driving model are trained based on a pre-annotated audio of a same person and audio emotion information obtained from the audio (machine learning tools and techniques 122 may then be used to improve the virtual assistant's responses based on the user's past experiences, para. 0031; machine learning may be used to analyze all user interactions to further improve the face emotional response and verbal response over time, para. 0093).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 13, 19-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lembersky in view of McDuff et al. (US 2020/0279553 A1, “McDuff”).
As to claims 2, 13, 22, Lembersky discloses: wherein
the information of the at least one modality further comprises audio data of the user (user’s speech 102, para. 0022), and
the recognizing the intention information of the user and the emotional characteristic of the user corresponding to the intention information based on the information of the at least one modality further comprises:
obtaining text information from the audio data (user’s speech is converted to text, para. 0022);
extracting the intention information of the user based on the text information and the text data (user intent based on converted text, para. 0025);
wherein the obtaining the emotional characteristic of the user corresponding to the intention information based on the text data and the expression characteristic comprises: obtaining the emotional characteristic of the user corresponding to the intention information based on the text data, the audio data and the expression characteristic (user’s mood may be determined based on facial recognition, skeletal tracking, and tone, volume, speed, words, etc. of voice, para. 0022, 0027-0028, 0101).
Lembersky differs from claims 2, 13 in that it does not disclose two types of text, i.e. text data and text information. McDuff teaches an emotionally-intelligent conversation agent which interacts with a user based on the user’s multimodal inputs, i.e. audio, text and video, to identify content and emotional expression (Abstract, para. 0018, 0020, 0064), the text including typed text as well as text converted from speech (para. 0060, 0065, 0127). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lembersky with the above teaching of McDuff in order to accommodate input via typed text as well as spoken text, such as when the user is not able to speak or not comfortable speaking (McDuff: para. 0090).
As to claims 19-21, Lembersky in view of McDuff teaches: wherein the text data of the user comprises text data input by the user as text-type data (McDuff: typed text, para. 0060, 0065, 0090, 0127).
As to claim 23, Lembersky in view of McDuff teaches: the non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 11,
wherein the text data of the user consists of text data input by the user as one or more of characters, symbols, and numerical data, using an input apparatus configured to receive input from a user's fingers (McDuff: text typed on a keyboard 310 or entered using any other type of input device, para. 0065, 0090);
the information of the at least one modality consists essentially of the image data, the text data of the user, and audio data of the user (Lembersky: user face/video input 106, Fig. 1, para. 0022-0024, 0073; user’s speech 102 is converted to text, para. 0022; McDuff: audio, text and video inputs, para. 0018), and
the recognizing the intention information of the user and the emotional characteristic of the user corresponding to the intention information based on the information of the at least one modality further comprises:
obtaining text information from the audio data (Lembersky: user’s speech is converted to text, para. 0022; McDuff: text from speech, para. 0028);
extracting the intention information of the user based on the text information and the text data (Lembersky: user intent based on converted text, para. 0025; McDuff: intent recognized from speech text and typed text, para. 0035, 0065, 0090);
wherein the obtaining the emotional characteristic of the user corresponding to the intention information based on the text data and the expression characteristic comprises: obtaining the emotional characteristic of the user corresponding to the intention information based on text data, the audio data and the expression characteristic (Lembersky: user’s mood may be determined based on facial recognition, skeletal tracking, and tone, volume, speed, words, etc. of voice, para. 0022, 0027-0028, 0101; McDuff: sentiment based on text from speech, typed text and facial expressions, para. 0064-0065);
wherein the generating the broadcast video of the animated character image corresponding to the emotional characteristic of the character based on the emotional characteristic of the character and the reply information comprises:
generating a reply audio based on the reply information and the emotional characteristic of the character (Lembersky: AI engine 112 determines a proper response to the user, which results in the proper text and emotion response being sent to a processor 116, which then translates the responsive text back to synthesized speech 118, para. 0022); and
obtaining the broadcast video of the animated character image corresponding to the emotional characteristic of the character based on the reply audio, the emotional characteristic of the character, and a pre-established animated character image model (Lembersky: 2D or 3D AI character conveys the appropriate emotional response, the AI character may be based on any associated character model, such as a human, avatar, cartoon, or inanimate object character, para. 0022; avatar may be a celebrity, a fictional character, etc., para. 0090)., comprising:
inputting the reply audio and the emotional characteristic of the character into a trained mouth shape driving model to obtain mouth shape data outputted from the mouth shape driving model (Lembersky: morph target animation, para. 0026, 0040-0049);
inputting the reply audio and the emotional characteristic of the character into a trained expression driving model to obtain expression data outputted from the expression driving model (Lembersky: morph target animation, para. 0026, 0040-0049);
driving the animated character image model based on the mouth shape data and the expression data to obtain a three-dimensional model action sequence (Lembersky: mouth shape data, para. 0041);
rendering the three-dimensional model action sequence to obtain a video frame picture sequence (Lembersky: 3D holographic character conveys appropriate emotional response and mouth movement, para. 0006, 0022); and
synthesizing the video frame picture sequence to obtain the broadcast video of the animated character image corresponding to the emotional characteristic of the character (Lembersky: 3D files and audio files are combined into an interactive holographic “character” which can interact with users, para. 0038),
wherein the mouth shape driving model and the expression driving model are trained based on a pre-annotated audio of a same person and audio emotion information obtained from the audio (Lembersky: machine learning tools and techniques 122 may then be used to improve the virtual assistant's responses based on the user's past experiences, para. 0031; machine learning may be used to analyze all user interactions to further improve the face emotional response and verbal response over time, para. 0093).
As to claim 24, Lembersky in view of McDuff teaches: wherein the text data of the user comprises text data input by the user as one or more of characters, symbols, and numerical data, using an input apparatus (McDuff: text typed on a keyboard 310 or entered using any other type of input device, para. 0065, 0090).
As to claim 25, Lembersky in view of McDuff teaches: wherein the text data of the user comprises text data input by the user as one or more of characters, symbols, and numerical data, using an input apparatus configured to receive input from a user's extremities and/or digits (McDuff: text input may be generated writing freehand, para. 0090).
As to claim 26, Lembersky in view of McDuff teaches: wherein the information of the at least one modality consists essentially of the image data and text data of the user; wherein the text data of the user comprises text data input by the user as one or more of characters, symbols, and numerical data, using an input apparatus comprising a keyboard and/or a mouse (McDuff: text typed on a keyboard 310 or entered using any other type of input device, para. 0065, 0090).
Claim(s) 4, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lembersky in view of McDuff, and further in view of Seo et al. (US 2020/0104670 A1, “Seo”).
Lembersky in view of McDuff differs from claims 4, 15 in that although it teaches the use of machine learning to analyze all user interactions and categorize the emotion (Lembersky: para. 0093, claim 3), it does not specifically teach: wherein the obtaining the emotional characteristic of the user corresponding to the intention information based on the text data, the audio data and the expression characteristic comprises:
inputting the text data into a trained text emotion recognition model to obtain a text emotion characteristic outputted from the text emotion recognition model;
inputting the audio data into a trained speech emotion recognition model to obtain a speech emotion characteristic outputted from the speech emotion recognition model;
inputting the expression characteristic into a trained expression emotion recognition model to obtain an expression emotion characteristic outputted from the expression emotion recognition model; and
performing weighted summation on the speech emotion characteristic and the expression emotion characteristic to obtain the emotional characteristic of the user corresponding to the intention information.
Seo teaches obtaining an emotion prediction based on a weighted average of speech emotion and facial expression emotion using trained neural network models according to each modality of data, such as a voice model, a facial expression model, a language model, etc. (Figs. 3, 4, para. 0049, 0080-0082, 0089, 0134-0135), the multimedia data including image, data, video data, audio data, text data, graphic data, etc. (para. 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lembersky in view of McDuff with the above teaching of Seo in order to provide an accurate identification of human emotion (Seo: para. 0006).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stella L. Woo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693