DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 12/16/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 15, 16, 17, 19, 22 and 27 have been amended. Claims 2, 5-6, 9-14, 18, 20, 23-24 and 26 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered. Regarding independent claims 1, 17 and 27; they are moot based on the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining
obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 17, 21, 25, and 27 are rejected under 5 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al (US 20230379860 A1) hereinafter Rao in view of Lyazidi et al. (US 20230388839 A1) hereinafter Lyazidi.
Regarding claim 1,
Rao teaches a method for resource configuration (PRS configuration [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), performed by a base station (carried out by gNB and LMF [0201]-[0202], [0486], [0491], and [0520]; elements 203 and 205 of Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), the method comprising: configuring the configured grant resource for a terminal (WTRU receiving a configuration message for a CG resource [0169], [0174], [0234], [0486], and [0491]; elements 210, 310, 822, 922, and 924 of Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), wherein the configured grant resource is configured for the terminal to send positioning measurement information to the base station (CG resource used for position reporting [0169], [0174], [0234], [0486], and [0491]).
Rao does not explicitly teach receiving first assistance information sent by a core network device, wherein the first assistance information is used to determine an interval and amount for a configured grant resource.
Lyazidi teaches receiving first assistance information sent by a core network device, wherein the first assistance information is used to determine an interval and amount for a configured grant resource (gNB-DU receiving periodical reporting and QoS information from the gNB-CU. The information is used for configuring UE UL grants [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Lyazidi to the teachings of Rao. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would support split gNB-CU/DU architecture (Lyazidi [0099]).
Regarding claim 3,
Rao and Lyazidi teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Rao further teaches before configuring the configured grant resource (before WTRU receives the PRS configuration [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), the method further comprises: receiving trigger information sent by a core network device (receiving NRPPa from LMF [0010], [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; element 210 and 310 of Figs. 2 and 3, respectively).
Regarding claim 4,
Rao and Lyazidi teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Rao further teaches further comprises: sending first configuration information to the terminal (sending PRS configuration [0174] and [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), wherein the first configuration information is configured to indicate the configured grant resource (PRS configuration indicating resources applicable for positioning report [0174] and [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9).
Regarding claim 7,
Rao and Lyazidi teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Rao further teaches further comprises: sending resource control information to the terminal (transmitting RRC message to terminal associated with the inactive state [0174]-[0175], [0223], and [0510]; Fig. 9), wherein the resource control information is configured to activate, or deactivate, or release the configured grant resource (RRC message may cause the WTRU to retain or release CG resources; [0174]-[0175], [0223], and [0510]; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 17,
Rao teaches a method for resource determination (configuring PRS resources [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), performed by a terminal (performed by a WTRU [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; element 201 of Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), the method comprising: receiving configuration resource information sent by a base station (receiving PRS configuration from gNB and/or LMF [0169], [0174], [0234], [0486], and [0491]; elements 210, 310, 822, 922, and 924 of Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), wherein the configuration resource information indicates a configured grant resource (PRS configuration indicating resources applicable for positioning report [0174] and [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9); and determining the configured grant resource for sending positioning measurement information to the base station (determining resources associated with a CG to be used for positioning reporting [0169], [0174], [0234], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), according to the configuration resource information (based on the PRS configuration [0169], [0174], [0234], [0486], and [0491]).
Rao does not explicitly teach wherein an interval and amount for a configured grant resource is determined by the base station from the assistance information sent by the core network.
Lyazidi teaches wherein an interval and amount for a configured grant resource is determined by the base station from the assistance information sent by the core network (The information used for configuring UE UL grants being sent from the gNB-CU [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Lyazidi to the teachings of Rao. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would support split gNB-CU/DU architecture (Lyazidi [0099]).
Regarding claim 21,
Rao teaches all the features of claim 17, as outlined above.
Rao further teaches receiving resource control information sent by a base station (WTRU receives RRC message from gNB associated with the inactive state [0174]-[0175], [0223], and [0510]; Fig. 9), and determining whether the configured grant resource is activated, deactivated, or released according to the resource control information (RRC message may cause the WTRU to retain or release CG resources; [0174]-[0175], [0223], and [0510]; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 25,
Rao teaches all the features of claim 17, as outlined above.
Rao further teaches a terminal (WTRU [0046]-[0055]; Fig. 1B), configured to implement the method of claim 17 (methods implemented in a WTRU [0011]-[0013] and [0555]), comprising: a processor (processor [0046]-[0055]; element 118 of Fig. 1B); and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor (memory storing instructions [0046]-[0055] and [0555]; elements 130 and 132 of Fig. 1B), wherein the processor is configured to implement the method of claim 17 by executing the instructions stored in the memory (methods implemented in a WTRU [0011]-[0013] and [0555]).
Regarding claim 27,
Rao teaches a method for resource configuration (PRS configuration [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), performed by a core network device (carried out by LMF [0010], [0201]-[0202], [0486], [0491], and [0520]; elements 203 and 205 of Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), the method comprising: sending first assistance information to a base station (LMF sending NRPPa or PRS configuration to gNB [0010] and [0201]-[0202] , [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), and the configured resource is configured by the base station for a terminal to send positioning measurement information to the base station (based on the PRS configuration, determining resources associated with a CG to be used for positioning reporting to the gNB [0169], [0174], [0234], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9).
Rao does not explicitly teach wherein the first assistance information is used to determine an interval and amount for a configured grant resource.
Lyazidi teaches wherein the first assistance information is used to determine an interval and amount for a configured grant resource (The information is used for configuring UE UL grants [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Lyazidi to the teachings of Rao. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would support split gNB-CU/DU architecture (Lyazidi [0099]).
Claims 8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao and Lyazidi in view of Hwang (US 20240205869 A1) hereinafter Hwang.
Regarding claim 8,
Rao and Lyazidi teach all the features of claim 7, as outlined above.
Rao and Lyazidi do not explicitly teach receiving control assistance information sent by a core network device; and determining the resource control information according to the control assistance information.
Hwang teaches receiving control assistance information sent by a core network device (receiving NRPPa for activating the CG [0284]; element 1417 of Fig. 14); and determining the resource control information according to the control assistance information (activating the CG based on the NRPPa [0284]; element 1419 of Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Hwang to the teachings of Rao and Lyazidi. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow for activating a configured grant resource for the UE (Hwang [0284]).
Regarding claim 22,
Rao and Lyazidi teach all the features of claim 21, as outlined above.
Rao and Lyazidi do not explicitly teach in response to the configured grant resource being activated, sending the positioning measurement information to the base station on the configured grant resource.
Hwang teaches in response to the configured grant resource being activated (in response to measurement CG being activated [0282]-[0284]; element 1419 of Fig. 14), sending the positioning measurement information to the base station on the configured grant resource (sending location measurement to the base station [0282]-[0287]; element 1429 of Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Hwang to the teachings of Rao and Lyazidi. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow for activating a configured grant resource for the UE (Hwang [0284]).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao and Lyazidi in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 20240349110 A1) hereinafter Yamamoto.
Regarding claim 15,
Rao and Lyazidi teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Rao further teaches indicating the configured grant resource to the terminal (PRS configuration indicating resources applicable for positioning report [0174] and [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9).
Rao and Lyazidi do not explicitly teach the indication being through a specific information element, wherein in response to the configured grant resource being indicated by the specific information element, the terminal confirms that the configured grant resource is only for sending positioning measurement information to the base station.
Yamamoto teaches the indication being through a specific information element (IE indicating CG resource [0113]; Fig. 15), wherein in response to the configured grant resource being indicated by the specific information element, the terminal confirms that the configured grant resource is only for sending positioning measurement information to the base station (the UE performs measurement based on CG configuration and gap pattern for specifically PRS [0113]; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Yamamoto to the teachings of Rao and Lyazidi. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow for configuring measurement gap patterns (Yamamoto [0016]).
Regarding claim 16,
Rao and Lyazidi teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Rao further teaches sending indication information to the terminal (PRS configuration indicating resources applicable for positioning report [0174] and [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9).
Rao and Lyazidi do not explicitly teach the indication information is configured to indicate that the configured grant resource is only for sending positioning measurement information to the base station.
Yamamoto teaches the indication information is configured to indicate that the configured grant resource is only for sending positioning measurement information to the base station (the UE performs measurement based on CG configuration and gap pattern specifically for PRS [0113]; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Yamamoto to the teachings of Rao and Lyazidi. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow for configuring measurement gap patterns (Yamamoto [0016]).
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao and Lyazidi in view of Rao et al. (US 20230283424 A1) hereinafter Rao_424.
Regarding claim 19,
Rao and Lyazidi teach all the features of claim 17, as outlined above.
Rao and Lyazidi do not explicitly teach receiving radio resource control layer information sent by the base station, wherein the configuration resource information is carried in the radio resource control layer information.
Rao_424 teaches receiving radio resource control layer information sent by the base station (receiving RRC from gNB [0105]), wherein the configuration resource information is carried in the radio resource control layer information (grant configuration for PRS via RRC message [0105]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Rao_424 to the teachings of Rao and Lyazidi. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would reduce overhead associated with positioning related services (Rao_424 [0002]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABDUL AZIZ SANTARISI whose telephone number is (703)756-4586. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8 AM - 5:00 PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571)270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ABDUL AZIZ SANTARISI/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465