DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication received May 28th, 2026. Claims 1, 4, 7-8, 15-17, 19, 21-22, 25, 27 have been entered and are presented for examination.
Application 18/271,629 is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/071590 01/13/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues “Lyazidi fails to Lyazidi fails to disclose that the NRPPa message from the LMF is used to determine the periodicity and amount of UE's UL grant(s), i.e., limitation 1.1 of amended claim 1.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Lyazidi discloses the LMF 316 may send an abort indication message to the serving gNB 302-1A to indicate the stop or the release of configured grant resources (Step 402a) (paragraph 0100).
Applicant argues “in addition, from the above passage, the gNB in Lyazidi directly configures the periodicity of UE's UL grant(s) upon receiving the NRPPa message for determining the periodicity of UE's UL grant(s) without any additional trigger information. In contrast, the amended claim 1 defines that the base station first receives the first assistance information for determining an interval and amount for a configured grant resource, and in response to receiving trigger information from the core network device, the base station configures the configured grant resource for a terminal. Therefore, the trigger condition for configuring the grant resource for the terminal in Lyazidi is different from that of the present application. In other words, Lyazidi fails to teach or suggest "in response to receiving trigger information from the core network device, configuring the configured grant resource for a terminal" as defined in amended claim 1.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Since Applicant has failed to claim and identify what the trigger information is, the claimed trigger information can be interpreted to be the positioning request.
Applicant argues “Furthermore, Rao discloses that the gNB configures the resource configuration (s) (i.e. Grant) for PRS and/or SRSp for the WTRU in Msg2 when it receives a request in a RACH procedure in Msg1 from the WTRU. In other words, the gNB in Rao configures the resource configuration for the WIRU based on the request in a RACH procedure from the WTRU. In contrast, the amended claim 1 defines that the base station configures the configured grant resource for a terminal based on trigger information from the core network device. Therefore, the trigger condition for configuring the resource configuration in Rao is different from that of the present application. Rao fails to disclose receiving trigger information from the LMF to configures the resource configuration for the WTRU. That is, Rao fails to teach or suggest "in response to receiving trigger information from the core network device, configuring the configured grant resource for a terminal" as defined in amended claim 1.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As shown in Figure 2 of Rao, the Location Request 214 is responsible for gNB configuring a grant in order for the UE to send back the measurement report.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 17, 21, 25, and 27 are rejected under 5 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et al (US 20230379860 A1) hereinafter Rao in view of Lyazidi et al. (US 20230388839 A1) hereinafter Lyazidi.
Regarding claim 1, rao teaches a method for resource configuration (PRS configuration [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), performed by a base station (carried out by gNB and LM F [0201]-[0202], [0486], [0491], and [0520]; elements 203 and 205 of Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), the method comprising: in response to receiving trigger information from the core network device (see Figure 2, Location Request 214; receiving NRPPa from LMF [0010], [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; element 210 and 310 of Figs. 2 and 3, respectively), configuring the configured grant resource for a terminal (WTRU receiving a configuration message for a CG resource [0169], [0174], [0234], [0486], and [0491]; elements 210, 310, 822, 922, and 924 of Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), wherein the configured grant resource is configured for the terminal to send positioning measurement information to the base station (CG resource used for position reporting [0169], [0174], [0234], [0486], and [0491]).
Rao does not explicitly teach receiving first assistance information sent by a core network device, wherein the first assistance information is used to determine an interval and amount for a configured grant resource.
Lyazidi teaches receiving first assistance information sent by a core network device, wherein the first assistance information is used to determine an interval and amount for a configured grant resource (gNB-DU receiving periodical reporting and QoS information from the gNB-CU. The information is used for configuring UE UL grants [0099]; until deactivated [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Lyazidi to the teachings of Rao. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would support split gNB-CU/DU architecture (Lyazidi [0099]).
Regarding claim 4, Rao and Lyazidi teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Rao further teaches further comprises: sending first configuration information to the terminal (sending PRS configuration [0174] and [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), wherein the first configuration information is configured to indicate the configured grant resource (PRS configuration indicating resources applicable for positioning report [0174] and [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9).
Regarding claim 7, Rao and Lyazidi teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Rao further teaches further comprises: sending resource control information to the terminal (transmitting RRC message to terminal associated with the inactive state [0174]-[0175], [0223], and [0510]; Fig. 9), wherein the resource control information is configured to activate, or deactivate, or release the configured grant resource (RRC message may cause the WTRU to retain or release CG resources; [0174]-[0175], [0223], and [0510]; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 17, Rao teaches a method for resource determination (configuring PRS resources [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), performed by a terminal
(performed by a WTRU [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; element 201 of Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), the method comprising: receiving configuration resource information sent by a base station (receiving PRS configuration from gNB and/or LM F [0169], [0174], [0234], [0486], and [0491]; elements 210, 310,
822, 922, and 924 of Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), wherein the configuration resource information indicates a configured grant resource (PRS configuration indicating resources applicable for positioning report [0174] and [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9); and determining the configured
grant resource for sending positioning measurement information to the base station (determining resources associated with a CG to be used for positioning reporting [0169], [0174], [0234], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), according to the configuration resource information (based on the PRS configuration [0169], [0174], [0234], [0486], and [0491]); the configured grant resource is configured by the base station in response to trigger information received from the core network device (see Figure 2, Location Request 214; receiving NRPPa from LMF [0010], [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; element 210 and 310 of Figs. 2 and 3, respectively).
Rao does not explicitly teach wherein an interval and amount for a configured grant resource is determined by the base station from the assistance information sent by the core network.
Lyazidi teaches wherein an interval and amount for a configured grant resource is determined by the base station from the assistance information sent by the core network (The information used for configuring UE UL grants being sent from the gNB-CU [0099]; until deactivated [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Lyazidi to the teachings of Rao. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would support split gNB-CU/DU architecture (Lyazidi [0099]).
Regarding claim 21, Rao teaches all the features of claim 17, as outlined above.
Rao further teaches receiving resource control information sent by a base station (WTRU receives RRC message from gNB associated with the inactive state [0174]-[0175], [0223], and [0510]; Fig. 9), and determining whether the configured grant resource is activated, deactivated, or released according to the resource control information (RRC message may cause the WTRU to retain or release CG resources; [0174]-[0175], [0223], and [0510]; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 25, Rao teaches all the features of claim 17, as outlined above.
Rao further teaches a terminal (WTRU [0046]-[0055]; Fig. 18), configured to implement the method of claim 17 (methods implemented in a WTRU [0011]-[0013] and [0555]), comprising: a processor (processor [0046]-[0055]; element 118 of Fig. 18); and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor (memory storing instructions [0046]-[0055] and [0555]; elements 130 and 132 of Fig.18), wherein the processor is configured to implement the method of claim 17 by executing the instructions stored in the memory (methods implemented in a WTRU [0011]-[0013] and [0555]).
Regarding claim 27, Rao teaches a method for resource configuration (PRS configuration [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), performed by a core network device (carried out by LMF [0010], [0201]-[0202], [0486], [0491], and [0520]; elements 203 and 205 of Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), the method comprising: sending first assistance information to a base station (LMF sending NRPPa or PRS configuration to gN8 [0010] and [0201]-[0202] , [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9), and the configured resource is configured by the base station for a terminal to send positioning measurement information to the base station (based on the PRS configuration, determining resources associated with a CG to be used for positioning reporting to the gNB [0169], [0174], [0234], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9); wherein the configured grant resource is configured by the base station in response to trigger information received from the core network device (see Figure 2 [Location Request]).
Rao does not explicitly teach wherein the first assistance information is used to determine an interval and amount for a configured grant resource.
Lyazidi teaches wherein the first assistance information is used to determine an interval and amount for a configured grant resource (The information is used for configuring UE UL grants [0099]; until deactivated [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Lyazidi to the teachings of Rao. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would support split gNB-CUIDU architecture (Lyazidi [0099]).
6. Claims 8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao and Lyazidi as applied to claims 7, 21 above and further in view of Hwang (US 20240205869 A1) hereinafter Hwang.
Regarding claim 8, Rao and Lyazidi teach all the features of claim 7, as outlined above.
Rao and Lyazidi do not explicitly teach receiving control assistance information sent by a core network device; and determining the resource control information according to the control assistance information.
Hwang teaches receiving control assistance information sent by a core network device (receiving NRPPa for activating the CG [0284]; element 1417 of Fig. 14); and determining the resource control information according to the control assistance information (activating the CG based on the NRPPa [0284]; element 1419 of Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Hwang to the teachings of Rao and Lyazidi. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow for activating a configured grant resource for the UE (Hwang [0284]).
Regarding claim 22, Rao and Lyazidi teach all the features of claim 21, as outlined above.
Rao and Lyazidi do not explicitly teach in response to the configured grant resource being activated, sending the positioning measurement information to the base station on the configured grant resource.
Hwang teaches in response to the configured grant resource being activated (in response to measurement CG being activated [0282]-[0284]; element 1419 of Fig. 14), sending the positioning measurement information to the base station on the configured grant resource (sending location measurement to the base station [0282]-[0287]; element 1429 of Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Hwang to the teachings of Rao and Lyazidi. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow for activating a configured grant resource for the UE (Hwang [0284]).
7. Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao and Lyazidi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 20240349110 A1) hereinafter Yamamoto.
Regarding claim 15, Rao and Lyazidi teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Rao further teaches indicating the configured grant resource to the terminal (PRS configuration indicating resources applicable for positioning report [0174] and [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9).
Rao and Lyazidi do not explicitly teach the indication being through a specific information element, wherein in response to the configured grant resource being indicated by the specific information element, the terminal confirms that the configured grant resource is only for sending positioning measurement information to the base station.
Yamamoto teaches the indication being through a specific information element (IE indicating CG resource [0113]; Fig. 15), wherein in response to the configured grant resource being indicated by the specific information element, the terminal confirms that the configured grant resource is only for sending positioning measurement information to the base station (the UE performs measurement based on CG configuration and gap pattern for specifically PRS [0113]; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Yamamoto to the teachings of Rao and Lyazidi. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow for configuring measurement gap patterns (Yamamoto [0016]).
Regarding claim 16, Rao and Lyazidi teach all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Rao further teaches sending indication information to the terminal (PRS configuration indicating resources applicable for positioning report [0174] and [0201]-[0202], [0486], and [0491]; Figs. 2, 3, 8, and 9).
Rao and Lyazidi do not explicitly teach the indication information is configured to indicate that the configured grant resource is only for sending positioning measurement information to the base station.
Yamamoto teaches the indication information is configured to indicate that the configured grant resource is only for sending positioning measurement information to the base station (the UE performs measurement based on CG configuration and gap pattern specifically for PRS [0113]; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Yamamoto to the teachings of Rao and Lyazidi. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would allow for configuring measurement gap patterns (Yamamoto [0016]).
8. Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao and Lyazidi as applied to claim 17 above and further in view of Rao et al. (US 20230283424 A1) hereinafter Rao_424.
Regarding claim 19, Rao and Lyazidi teach all the features of claim 17, as outlined above.
Rao and Lyazidi do not explicitly teach receiving radio resource control layer information sent by the base station, wherein the configuration resource information is carried in the radio resource control layer information.
Rao_424 teaches receiving radio resource control layer information sent by the base station (receiving RRC from gNB [0105]), wherein the configuration resource information is carried in the radio resource control layer information (grant configuration for PRS via RRC message [0105]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Rao_424 to the teachings of Rao and Lyazidi. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would reduce overhead associated with positioning related services (Rao_424 [0002]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465