DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
While Examiner appreciates Applicant’s position and understanding of Yang, the claim fails to specify any degree of absorption. Thus, as those of ordinary skill in the art understand, absent any evidence to the contrary, the materials of Yang necessarily absorb any arbitrary amount of light, as dictated by thermodynamics. Therefore Yang’s beam trap is “configured to absorb…the laser light”.
Regardless of the implicit thermodynamics of materials, Yang details that the conical section (3, 33, 34) becomes heated as the light is reflected within the beam trap cavity. This heating happens because the laser light (energy) is in fact being absorbed. If conical section (3, 33, 34) were not absorbing the laser light, there would be no heating of the conical section (3, 33, 34).
Additionally, even if those of ordinary skill in the art did not consider the beam trap of Yang as configured to absorb the laser light, Huber teaches explicit absorbers (13) for capturing the internally reflected light of beam traps (Huber para. [0023]).
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 11 have not overcome Grapov in view of Huber. While Applicant suggests Grapov does not teach reflecting the second different portion of the laser light across the optical path at an acute angle relative to the optical path, such features appear to still be taught by Grapov (see below).
Applicant’s amendment to claim 10 has resolved the issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, 13-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 206349624 - Yang; text references made to the accompanying machine translation; of record) in view of Huber et al. (US 202/0124806 - Huber; of record).
As to claim 1, Yang teaches an optical assembly to process laser light output from a laser source (Yang Figs. 1-6), the optical assembly comprising
a housing to receive a distal end of an optical fiber that outputs the laser light (Yang Fig. 2 - 1, 2, 3, 4; para. [0004], [0022]);
one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps contained within the housing or coupled to the housing (Yang Fig. 2 - 4; para. [0022]);
a first optical aperture located inside the housing (Yang Fig. 2 - 3; Fig. 4; para. [0022], [0024]), wherein the first optical aperture is disposed along an optical path and defines a first numerical aperture of a first portion of the laser light based on a radial dimension of the first optical aperture (Yang Fig. 4 - 35; Fig. 6), and wherein the first optical aperture is arranged to pass the first portion of light (Yang Fig. 4 - 35; Fig. 6) and to reflect a second different portion of the laser light to the one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps (Yang Fig. 2 - 3, 4; Fig. 4 - 34; Fig. 6; para. [0026]);
a lens positioned downstream from the first optical aperture (Yang Fig. 6 - 30);
wherein the first optical aperture is defined by a cone reflector (Yang Fig. 4 - 34) that reflects the second different portion of the laser light across the optical path at an acute angle relative to the optical path (Yang Fig. 4 - 34; Fig. 6);
wherein the one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps are configured to absorb the second different portion of the laser light (Yang Fig. 2 - 3; Fig. 4 - 33, 34; para. [0026], [0027]).
Yang doesn’t specify the lens is a collimating lens.
In the same field of endeavor Huber teaches providing a collimating lens downstream of an aperture (Huber Fig. 3A - 5, 20; para. [0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a collimating lens since, as taught by Huber, such lenses are well known in the art for collimating light output from the fiber laser (Huber Fig. 3A - 20; para. [0053]).
As to claim 3, Yang in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Yang further teaches the first portion of the laser light passes through the collimating lens (Yang Fig. 6 - 30).
As to claim 4, Yang in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Yang further teaches the second different portion of the laser light does not pass through the collimating lens (Yang Fig. 6; para. [0026]).
As to claim 5, Yang in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Yang further teaches a receptacle for coupling the distal end of the optical fiber to the housing (Yang Fig. 2 - 2, 4).
As to claim 6, Yang in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 5, and Yang further teaches the one or more actively or passively cooled beam traps is enclosed by the receptacle at the distal end of the optical fiber (Yang Fig. 2 - 2, 3, 4; Fig. 3 - 41, 42, 43; Fig. 6).
As to claim 7, Yang in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Yang further teaches the first optical aperture is defined by a convergent cone reflector (Yang Fig. 4 - 34).
As to claim 9, Yang in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Yang further teaches the one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps are located in a chamber having an interior surface plated to selectively reflect or absorb the second different portion of the laser light (Yang Fig. 4 - 34, 33; Fig. 6; para. [0026]).
As to claim 10, Yang in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Yang further teaches one or more cooling channels thermally coupled to the interior surface of the chamber (Yang Fig. 3 - 42, 43; para. [0023], [0027]), wherein the one or more coolant channels are configured to carry a liquid coolant (Yang Fig. 3 - 42, 43; para. [0023], [0027]).
As to claim 11, Yang teaches an optical assembly to process laser light output from a laser source (Yang Figs. 1-6), the optical assembly comprising
a housing to receive a distal end of an optical fiber that outputs the laser light (Yang Fig. 2 - 1, 2, 3, 4; para. [0004], [0022]);
one or more beam traps contained within the housing or coupled to the housing (Yang Fig. 2 - 3, 4; para. [0022]), the one or more beam traps configured to receive laser light and convert the received laser light to heat (Yang para. [0007], [0026], [0027]);
means for removing the heat from the housing (Yang Fig. 2 - 4; para. [0007], [0026], [0027]), the heat removal means thermally coupled to the one or more beam traps (Yang Fig. 2 - 4; Fig. 3 - 41, 42, 43; para. [0023], [0026], [0027]);
a first optical aperture located inside the housing (Yang Fig. 2 - 3; Fig. 4; para. [0022], [0024]), wherein the first optical aperture is disposed along an optical path and defines a first numerical aperture of a first portion of the laser light based on a radial dimension of the first optical aperture (Yang Fig. 4 - 35; Fig. 6), and wherein the first optical aperture is arranged to pass the first portion of light (Yang Fig. 4 - 35; Fig. 6) and to reflect a second different portion of the laser light to the one or more beam traps (Yang Fig. 2 - 3, 4; Fig. 4 - 34; Fig. 6; para. [0026]);
a lens positioned downstream from the first optical aperture (Yang Fig. 6 - 30);
wherein laser light received and absorbed by the one or more beam traps for conversion to heat comprises the second different portion of the laser light (Yang Fig. 6; para. [0026]);
wherein the first optical aperture is defined by a cone reflector (Yang Fig. 4 - 34) that reflects the second different portion of the laser light across the optical path at an acute angle relative to the optical path (Yang Fig. 4 - 34; Fig. 6).
Yang doesn’t specify the lens is a collimating lens.
In the same field of endeavor Huber teaches providing a collimating lens downstream of an aperture (Huber Fig. 3A - 5, 20; para. [0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a collimating lens since, as taught by Huber, such lenses are well known in the art for collimating light output from the fiber laser (Huber Fig. 3A - 20; para. [0053]).
As to claim 13, Yang in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Yang further teaches the first portion of the laser light passes through the collimating lens (Yang Fig. 6 - 30).
As to claim 14, Yang in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Yang further teaches the second different portion of the laser light does not pass through the collimating lens (Yang Fig. 6; para. [0026]).
As to claim 15, Yang in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Yang further teaches means for coupling the distal end of the optical fiber to the housing (Yang Fig. 2 - 2, 4).
As to claim 16, Yang in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15, and Yang further teaches the one or more beam traps is enclosed by the means for coupling at the distal end of the optical fiber (Yang Fig. 2 - 2, 3, 4; Fig. 3 - 41, 42, 43; Fig. 6).
As to claim 17, Yang in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Yang further teaches the first optical aperture is defined by a convergent cone reflector (Yang Fig. 4 - 34).
As to claim 19, Yang in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Yang further teaches the one or more beam traps are located in a chamber having an interior surface plated to selectively reflect or absorb the redirected second portion of the laser light (Yang Fig. 4 - 34, 33; Fig. 6; para. [0026]).
As to claim 20, Yang in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Yang further teaches the heat removal means is thermally coupled to the interior surface of the chamber (Yang Fig. 1 - 3, 4; para. [0007], [0026], [0027]).
Claims 8, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Huber as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Ding et al. (CN 210334786 - Ding; of record).
As to claims 8, 18, Yang in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claims 1, 11, but doesn’t specify a second optical aperture located inside the housing and downstream from the first optical aperture, the second optical aperture defines a second NA of part of the first portion of the laser light based on a radial dimension of the second optical aperture, the second optical aperture is arranged to pass a part of the first portion of the light and redirect a third different part of the first portion of the laser light to the one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps.
In the same field of endeavor Ding teaches an optical assembly for laser processing comprising a first optical aperture (Ding Fig. 2 - 32) and a second optical aperture inside a housing and downstream from the first optical aperture (Ding Fig. 2 - 32, 33; para. [0025]),
the second optical aperture defines a second NA of part of the first portion of the laser light based on a radial dimension of the second optical aperture (Ding Fig. 2 - 33; Fig. 4 - 33; para. [0020], [0024]),
the second optical aperture is arranged to pass a part of the first portion of the light and redirect a third different part of the first portion of the laser light to the one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps (Ding Fig. 2 - 33, 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such second aperture since, as taught by Ding, such aperture allows for defining the laser light cone and creating the laser light cavity to trap stray light in the heat dissipation cavity (Ding Fig. 2 - 32, 33; para. [0024], [0026], [0027]).
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, 13-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grapov (US 2019/0039172; of record) in view of Huber et al. (US 2020/0124806 - Huber; of record).
As to claim 1, Grapov teaches an optical assembly to process laser light output from a laser source (Grapov Fig. 5 - 210, 208; para. [0018]), the optical assembly comprising
a housing to receive a distal end of an optical fiber that outputs the laser light (Grapov Fig. 5 - 220, 221)
one or more actively or passively cooled beam traps contained within the housing or coupled to the housing (Grapov Fig. 5 - 232, 233; para. [0023], [0025] - beam trap (232, 233) within housing actively cooled by water passages between (220, 221));
a first optical aperture located inside the housing (Grapov Fig. 5 - 234, 235; para. [0025]), wherein the first optical aperture is disposed along an optical path and defines a first numerical aperture (NA) of a first portion of the laser light based on a radial dimension of the first optical aperture (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2, 234, 235; para. [0030]), wherein first optical aperture is arranged to pass the first portion of the light and to reflect a second different portion of the laser light to the one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2, 4, 234, 235);
the first optical aperture is defined by a cone reflector that reflects the second different portion of the laser light across the optical path at an acute angle relative to the optical path (Grapov Fig. 5 - 4, 234, 233; para. [0040]);
wherein the one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps are configured to absorb the second different portion of the laser light (Grapov Fig. 5 - 232, 233; para. [0023], [0025]).
Grapov doesn’t specify a collimating lens positioned downstream from the first optical aperture.
In the same field of endeavor Huber teaches providing a collimating lens downstream of an aperture (Huber Fig. 3A - 5, 20; para. [0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a collimating lens since, as taught by Huber, such lenses are well known in the art for collimating light output from the fiber laser (Huber Fig. 3A - 20; para. [0053]).
As to claim 3, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Grapov/Huber further teaches the first portion of the laser light passes through the collimating lens (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2; Huber Fig. 1A - 5, 6; Fig. 3A - 5, 20).
As to claim 4, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Grapov/Huber further the second different portion of the laser light does not pass through the collimating lens (Huber Figs. 1A, 2A; Grapov Fig. 5 - 4).
As to claim 5, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Grapov further teaches a receptacle for coupling the distal end of the optical fiber (Grapov Fig. 5 - 226; para. [0022]).
As to claim 6, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 5, and Grapov further teaches one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps is enclosed by the receptacle at the distal end of the optical fiber (Grapov Fig. 5 - 208, 4, 232, 233).
As to claim 7, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Grapov further teaches the first optical aperture is defined by a convergent cone reflector (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2, 4, 234, 235).
As to claim 9, Grapov in view of Huber eaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Grapov further teaches the one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps are located in a chamber having an interior surface plated to selectively reflect or absorb the second different portion of the laser light (Grapov Fig. 5 - 232, 234, 233).
As to claim 10, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Grapov further teaches one or more coolant channels thermally coupled to the interior surface of the chamber, wherein the one or more coolant channels are configured to carry a liquid coolant (Grapov Fig. 4 - 228; Fig. 5 - 220, 221; para. [0023], [0024]).
As to claim 11, Grapov teaches an optical assembly to process laser light output from a laser source (Grapov Fig. 5), the optical assembly comprising
a housing to receive a distal end of an optical fiber that outputs the laser light (Grapov Fig. 5 - 220, 221)
one or more beam traps contained within the housing or coupled to the housing (Grapov Fig. 5 - 232, 233; para. [0023], [0025]), the one or more beam traps configured to receive laser light and convert the received laser light to heat (Grapov Fig. 5 - 232, 233; para. [0023], [0025]);
means for removing the heat from the housing (Grapov Fig. 4 - 228; Fig. 5 - 220, 221; para. [0023], [0024]), the heat removal means thermally coupled to the one or more beam traps (Grapov Fig. 4 - 228; Fig. 5 - 220, 221, 232; para. [0023], [0024]);
a first optical aperture located inside the housing (Grapov Fig. 5 - 234, 235; para. [0025]), wherein the first optical aperture is disposed along an optical path and defines a first numerical aperture (NA) of a first portion of the laser light based on a radial dimension of the first optical aperture (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2, 234, 235; para. [0030]), wherein first optical aperture is arranged to pass the first portion of the light and to reflect a second different portion of the laser light to the one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2, 4, 234, 235);
wherein the laser light received and absorbed by the one or more beam traps for conversion to heat comprises the second different portion of the laser light (Grapov Fig. 5 - 4; para. [0023], [0025], [0030]);
the first optical aperture is defined by a cone reflector that reflects the second different portion of the laser light across the optical path at an acute angle relative to the optical path (Grapov Fig. 5 - 4, 234, 233; para. [0040]).
Grapov doesn’t specify a collimating lens positioned downstream from the first optical aperture.
In the same field of endeavor Huber teaches providing a collimating lens downstream of an aperture (Huber Fig. 3A - 5, 20; para. [0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a collimating lens since, as taught by Huber, such lenses are well known in the art for collimating light output from the fiber laser (Huber Fig. 3A - 20; para. [0053]).
As to claim 13, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Grapov/Huber further teaches the first portion of the laser light passes through the collimating lens (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2; Huber Fig. 1A - 5, 6; Fig. 3A - 5, 20).
As to claim 14, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Grapov/Huber further the second different portion of the laser light does not pass through the collimating lens (Huber Figs. 1A, 2A; Grapov Fig. 5 - 4).
As to claim 15, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Grapov further teaches means for coupling the distal end of the optical fiber to the housing (Grapov Fig. 5 - 226; para. [0022]).
As to claim 16, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15, and Grapov further teaches one or more beam traps is enclosed by the means for coupling at the distal end of the optical fiber (Grapov Fig. 5 - 208, 4, 232, 233).
As to claim 17, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Grapov further teaches the at least one optical aperture is defined by a convergent cone reflector (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2, 4, 234, 235).
As to claim 19, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Grapov further teaches the one or more beam traps are located in a chamber having an interior surface plated to selectively reflect or absorb the second portion of the laser light (Grapov Fig. 5 - 232; para. [0025]).
As to claim 20, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 19, and Grapov further teaches the heat removal means is thermally coupled to the interior surface of the chamber (Grapov Fig. 4 - 228; Fig. 5 - 220, 221; para. [0023], [0024]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 October 13, 2026