DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to claim 6 resolved the corresponding drawing objection.
Applicant’s remarks as they pertain to the drawing objection that the channels (299) are the heat sink are not consistent with the originally filed specification1. As stated by the specification, the channels (299) contain the liquid coolant which then carries the absorbed heat to a heat sink. The drawings do not show such heat sink because the channels and heat sink are not one and the same, as per the specification.
Applicant’s amendments have resolved the USC 112(b) issue of claim 6, but not the USC 112(b) issue of claim 16, see below.
Applicant’s amendments do not overcome the outstanding rejections. Applicant points out that claims 2, 12 are incorporated to claims 1 and 11, however Applicant’s remarks do not point out the errors of the rejection of claims 2 and 12 in the Office Action mailed September 23, 2025.
Ding continues to teach the a collimating lens (5) proximate to the optical aperture.
Similarly, Grapov in view of Huber also teaches a collimating lens proximate to the optical aperture.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “heat sink” (claim 10); “divergent cone reflector” (claims 20, 21) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 11, 13-20, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 3, the claim recites “the redirected second portion” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand as the “reflected second different portion” as introduced in claim 1.
As to claim 4, the claim recites “the redirected second portion” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand as the “reflected second different portion” as introduced in claim 1.
As to claim 11 the claim recites “the redirected second different portion” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand as the “reflected second different portion” as introduced earlier in the claim.
Claims 13-20, 22 are rejected as dependent upon claim 1.
As to claim 13, the claim recites “the redirected second portion” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand as the “reflected second different portion” as introduced in claim 11.
As to claim 14, the claim recites “the redirected second portion” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)). Examiner will understand as the “reflected second different portion” as introduced in claim 11.
As to claim 16, the claim recites “the receptacle” which lacks antecedent basis (MPEP 2173.05(e)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-11, 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Ding et al. (CN 210334786; herein Ding; text references made to accompanying machine translation; of record).
As to claim 1, Ding teaches an optical assembly to process laser light output from a laser source (Ding Figs. 1, 2) the optical assembly comprising
a housing to receive a distal end of an optical fiber that outputs the laser light (Ding Fig. 1 - 1, 2; para. [0020]);
one or more actively or passively cooled beam traps contained within the housing or coupled to the housing (Ding Fig. 1 - 3, 6; Fig. 2 - 31; para. [0020], [0027]);
one or more optical apertures located inside the housing (Ding Fig. 2 - 32, 33, 5), at least one of the optical apertures to define a numerical aperture (NA) of a first portion of the laser light based on a radial dimension of the at least one optical aperture (Ding Fig. 2 - 32, 33, 5; Fig. 3; Fig. 4), the at least one optical aperture arranged to pass the first portion of the light and reflect a second different portion of the laser light to the one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps (Ding Fig. 2 - 32, 33, 5; para. [0026], [0027] - as shown and discussed, light reflected by the front surface of aperture (32) is collected/dissipated/trapped within (31); light reflected by the rear surface of aperture (33) is collected/dissipated/trapped within (31); light reflected by aperture (5) is collected/dissipated/trapped within (31));
a collimating lens proximate to the at least one optical aperture (Ding Fig. 1 - 5; para. [0020]).
As to claim 4, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Ding further teaches the at least one optical aperture is upstream from the collimating lens (Ding Fig. 2 - 32, 33), wherein the redirected second portion of the laser light does not pass through the collimating lens (Ding Fig. 2 - light reflected from rear surface of (33) is trapped within (31)).
As to claim 5, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Ding further teaches a receptable for coupling the distal end of the optical fiber to the housing (Ding Fig. 1 - unlabeled housing of fiber (2)).
As to claim 6, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 5, and Ding further teaches one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps is enclosed by the receptacle at the distal end of the optical fiber (Ding Fig. 2 - 2, 31).
As to claim 7, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Ding further teaches the at least one optical aperture is defined by a convergent cone reflector (Ding Fig. 3 - 32, 321; Fig. 4 - 33, 331).
As to claim 8, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Ding further teaches the at least one optical aperture comprises a first optical aperture (Ding Fig. 2 - 32), wherein the optical assembly further comprises a second optical aperture located inside the housing and downstream from the first optical aperture (Ding Fig. 2 - 33), the second optical aperture to define an NA of part of the first portion of the laser light based on a radial dimension of the second optical aperture (Ding Fig. 2 - 33; Fig. 4 - 33; para. [0020], [0024]), the second optical aperture arranged to pass the part of the first portion of the light and redirect a different part of the first portion of the laser light to the one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps (Ding Fig. 2 - 33, 31).
As to claim 9, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Ding further teaches the one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps are located in a chamber having an interior surface plated to selectively reflet or absorb the redirected second portion of the laser light (Ding Fig. 2 - 31; para. [0026]).
As to claim 10, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Ding further teaches a heat sink thermally coupled to the interior surface of the chamber (Ding Fig. 1 - 6; para. [0020]), wherein the heat sink is air-cooled or liquid-cooled (Ding Fig. 1 - 6; para. [0020]).
As to claim 11, Ding teaches an optical assembly to process laser light output from a laser source (Ding Figs. 1, 2) the optical assembly comprising
a housing to receive a distal end of an optical fiber that outputs the laser light (Ding Fig. 1 - 1, 2; para. [0020]);
one or more beam traps contained within the housing or coupled to the housing (Ding Fig. 1 - 3, 6; Fig. 2 - 31; para. [0020], [0027]), the one or more beam traps configured to receive laser light and convert the received laser light to heat (Ding Fig. 1 - 3, 6; Fig. 2 - 31; para. [0020], [0027]);
means for removing the heat from the housing (Ding Fig. 1 - 6; para. [0020]), the heat removal means thermally coupled to the one or more beam traps (Ding Fig. 1 - 6; para. [0020]);
one or more optical apertures located inside the housing (Ding Fig. 2 - 32, 33, 5), at least one of the optical apertures to define a numerical aperture (NA) of a first portion of the laser light based on a radial dimension of the at least one optical aperture (Ding Fig. 2 - 32, 33, 5; Fig. 3; Fig. 4), the at least one optical aperture arranged to pass the first portion of the light and reflect a second different portion of the laser light to the one or more beam traps (Ding Fig. 2 - 32, 33, 5; para. [0026], [0027] - as shown and discussed, light reflected by the front surface of aperture (32) is collected/dissipated/trapped within (31); light reflected by the rear surface of aperture (33) is collected/dissipated/trapped within (31); light reflected by aperture of lens (5) is collected/dissipated/trapped within (31));
a collimating lens proximate to the at least one optical aperture (Ding Fig. 1 - 5; para. [0020]);
wherein the laser light received by the one or more beam traps for conversion to heat comprises the redirected second different portion of the laser light (Ding Fig. 2 - 31, 32, 33; para. [0025]-[0027] - light received by trap (31) includes the second portion of light (i.e. the light outside the beam passing through holes (322, 332)).
As to claim 14, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Ding further teaches the at least one optical aperture is upstream from the collimating lens (Ding Fig. 2 - 32, 33), wherein the redirected second portion of the laser light does not pass through the collimating lens (Ding Fig. 2 - light reflected from rear surface of (33) is trapped within (31)).
As to claim 15, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Ding further teaches means for coupling the distal end of the optical fiber to the housing (Ding Fig. 1 - unlabeled housing of fiber (2)).
As to claim 16, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15, and Ding further teaches one or more beam traps is enclosed by the receptacle of the distal end of the optical fiber (Ding Fig. 2 - 2, 31).
As to claim 17, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Ding further teaches the at least one optical aperture is defined by a convergent cone reflector (Ding Fig. 3 - 32, 321; Fig. 4 - 33, 331).
As to claim 18, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Ding further teaches the at least one optical aperture comprises a first optical aperture (Ding Fig. 2 - 32), wherein the optical assembly further comprises a second optical aperture located inside the housing and downstream from the first optical aperture (Ding Fig. 2 - 33), the second optical aperture to define a NA of part of the first portion of the laser light based on a radial dimension of the second optical aperture (Ding Fig. 2 - 33; Fig. 4 - 33; para. [0020], [0024]), the second optical aperture arranged to pass the part of the first portion of the light and redirect a different part of the first portion of the laser light to the one or more beam traps for conversion to heat further comprises the redirected part of the second portion of the laser light (Ding Fig. 2 - 33, 31).
As to claim 19, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Ding further teaches the one or more beam traps are located in a chamber having an interior surface plated to selectively reflet or absorb the second portion of the laser light (Ding Fig. 2 - 31; para. [0026]).
As to claim 20, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 19, and Ding further teaches the heat removal means is thermally coupled to the interior surface of the chamber (Ding Fig. 1 - 6; para. [0020]).
As to claim 21, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Ding further teaches the at least one optical aperture is defined by a divergent cone reflector (Ding Fig. 3 - 32, 321; Fig. 4 - 33, 331).
As to claim 22, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Ding further teaches the at least one optical aperture is defined by a divergent cone reflector (Ding Fig. 3 - 32, 321; Fig. 4 - 33, 331).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-11, 14-17, 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grapov (US 2019/0039172; of record) in view of Huber et al. (US 2020/0124806 - Huber; of record).
As to claim 1, Grapov teaches an optical assembly to process laser light output from a laser source (Grapov Fig. 5 - 210, 208; para. [0018]), the optical assembly comprising
a housing to receive a distal end of an optical fiber that outputs the laser light (Grapov Fig. 5 - 220, 221)
one or more actively or passively cooled beam traps contained within the housing or coupled to the housing (Grapov Fig. 5 - 232, 233; para. [0023], [0025] - beam trap (232, 233) within housing actively cooled by water passages between (220, 221));
one or more optical apertures located inside the housing (Grapov Fig. 5 - 234, 235; para. [0025]), at least one of the optical apertures to define a numerical aperture (NA) of a first portion of the laser light based on a radial dimension of the at least one optical aperture (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2, 234, 235; para. [0030]), the at least one optical aperture arranged to pass the first portion of the light and reflect a second different portion of the laser light to the one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2, 4, 234, 235).
Grapov doesn’t specify a collimating lens proximate the aperture.
In the same field of endeavor Huber teaches providing a collimating lens proximate the aperture (Huber Fig. 3A - 20; para. [0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a collimating lens since, as taught by Huber, such lenses are well known in the art for collimating light output from the fiber laser (Huber Fig. 3A - 20; para. [0053]).
As to claim 4, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Grapov/Huber further teaches at least one aperture is upstream from the collimating lens (Huber Fig. 3A - 5), wherein the redirected second portion of the laser light does not pass through the collimating lens (Huber Figs. 1A, 2A; Grapov Fig. 5 - 4).
As to claim 5, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Grapov further teaches a receptacle for coupling the distal end of the optical fiber (Grapov Fig. 5 - 226; para. [0022]).
As to claim 6, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 5, and Grapov further teaches one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps is enclosed by the receptacle at the distal end of the optical fiber (Grapov Fig. 5 - 208, 4, 232, 233).
As to claim 7, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Grapov further teaches the at least one optical aperture is defined by a convergent cone reflector (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2, 4, 234, 235).
As to claim 9, Grapov in view of Huber eaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Grapov further teaches the one or more actively cooled or passively cooled beam traps are located in a chamber having an interior surface plated to selectively reflect or absorb the redirected second portion of the laser light (Grapov Fig. 5 - 232, 234, 233).
As to claim 10, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Grapov further teaches a heat sink thermally coupled to the interior surface of the chamber, wherein the heat sink is air-cooled or liquid-cooled (Grapov Fig. 4 - 228; Fig. 5 - 220, 221; para. [0023], [0024]).
As to claim 11, Grapov teaches an optical assembly to process laser light output from a laser source (Grapov Fig. 5), the optical assembly comprising
a housing to receive a distal end of an optical fiber that outputs the laser light (Grapov Fig. 5 - 220, 221)
one or more beam traps contained within the housing or coupled to the housing (Grapov Fig. 5 - 232, 233; para. [0023], [0025]), the one or more beam traps configured to receive laser light and convert the received laser light to heat (Grapov Fig. 5 - 232, 233; para. [0023], [0025]);
means for removing the heat from the housing (Grapov Fig. 4 - 228; Fig. 5 - 220, 221; para. [0023], [0024]), the heat removal means thermally coupled to the one or more beam traps (Grapov Fig. 4 - 228; Fig. 5 - 220, 221, 232; para. [0023], [0024]);
one or more optical apertures located inside the housing (Grapov Fig. 5 - 234, 235; para. [0025]), at least one of the optical apertures to define a numerical aperture (NA) of a first portion of the laser light based on a radial dimension of the at least one optical aperture (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2, 234, 235; para. [0030]), the at least one optical aperture arranged to pass the first portion of the light and reflect a second different portion of the laser light to the one or more beam traps (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2, 4, 234, 235);
wherein the laser light received by the one or more beam traps for conversion to heat comprises the redirected second different portion of the laser light (Grapov Fig. 5 - 4; para. [0030]).
Grapov doesn’t specify a collimating lens proximate the aperture.
In the same field of endeavor Huber teaches providing a collimating lens proximate the aperture (Huber Fig. 3A - 20; para. [0053]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a collimating lens since, as taught by Huber, such lenses are well known in the art for collimating light output from the fiber laser (Huber Fig. 3A - 20; para. [0053]).
As to claim 14, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Grapov/Huber further teaches at least one aperture is upstream from the collimating lens (Huber Fig. 3A - 5), wherein the redirected second portion of the laser light does not pass through the collimating lens (Huber Figs. 1A, 2A; Grapov Fig. 5 - 4).
As to claim 15, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Grapov further teaches means for coupling the distal end of the optical fiber to the housing (Grapov Fig. 5 - 226; para. [0022]).
As to claim 16, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15, and Grapov further teaches one or more beam traps is enclosed by the receptacle at the distal end of the optical fiber (Grapov Fig. 5 - 208, 4, 232, 233).
As to claim 17, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Grapov further teaches the at least one optical aperture is defined by a convergent cone reflector (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2, 4, 234, 235).
As to claim 19, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Grapov further teaches the one or more beam traps are located in a chamber having an interior surface plated to selectively reflect or absorb the second portion of the laser light (Grapov Fig. 5 - 232; para. [0025]).
As to claim 20, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 19, and Grapov further teaches the heat removal means is thermally coupled to the interior surface of the chamber (Grapov Fig. 4 - 228; Fig. 5 - 220, 221; para. [0023], [0024]).
As to claim 21, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Grapov further teaches the at least one optical aperture is defined by a divergent cone reflector (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2, 4, 234, 235).
As to claim 22, Grapov in view of Huber teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Grapov further teaches the at least one optical aperture is defined by a divergent cone reflector (Grapov Fig. 5 - 2, 4, 234, 235).
Claims 3, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of Ueyama (US 2002/0167652; of record).
As to claims 3 and 13, Ding teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claims 2, 12, and Ding further teaches the redirected portion of the laser light passes through the collimating lens (Ding Fig. 2 - 5; para. [0026] - surfaces of collimating lens (5) reflecting light back through to be trapped by the beam trap (31)).
Ding doesn’t specify an aperture downstream of the collimating lens.
In the same field of endeavor Ueyama teaches providing collimating lenses with downstream apertures (Ueyama Fig. 3 - 4, 7, 70; para. [0044]), such aperture redirecting light to the beam entrance through the collimating lens (Ueyama Fig. 3 - 4, 7, 70, 22; para. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such aperture since, as taught by Ueyama, such apertures are well known in the art for setting the output beam diameter (Ueyama Fig. 3 - 4, 7, 70; para. [0044]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Berger (DE 10033785) is cited as an additional example of a laser light processing assembly with cooling.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 January 26, 2026
1 Spec. para. [0029]