DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2023 and 08/14/2023 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 07/10/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, at least one circuit carrier having electrical conducting tracks of claim 1; all of claim 3 and provide an injection-molding tool for device connection parts of claim 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 6 recites, “the mating contacts,” claim should be amended to recite –mating contacts--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Carolis et al. [US 2009/0023320] in view of Genau [US 2013/0137310].
Regarding claim 1, Carolis discloses an electrical device, comprising a device housing (fig. 6; 112, 19) and at least one circuit carrier (fig. 6; 86) having electrical conducting tracks (Par [038] Ln 18-22; 86 will naturally have traces/tracks that will electrically connect 26 to 88) and a plurality of plug connectors (figs. 4 and 6; receptacles that contain 26 and 110), each of which comprises a contact carrier (individual receptacles) having a plurality of uninterrupted contact chambers (110) and a plurality of electrical plug contacts (26), wherein the plug contacts (26) at their terminal end (end of 26), respectively comprise a terminal region (end of 26 that physically n electrically connect to 86) at which they are connected, in an electrically conductive manner, to the conducting tracks (traces/tracks of 86) of the circuit carrier (86), and wherein the plug contacts (26) are respectively accommodated, at least partially, in one contact chamber (110) of the respective contact carrier (individual receptacles) and are retained therein, wherein the electrical device (fig. 5; 18) further comprises a device connection part (fig. 6; 19), which forms a housing part of the device housing (19, 112), wherein the device connection part (19) is configured integrally with the contact carriers (individual receptacles).
Regarding claim 9, Carolis discloses a device connection part (19) for the electrical device (18) as claimed in claim 1 one of the preceding claims, wherein the device connection part (19) comprises the above-mentioned contact carriers (individual receptacles) and is formed of an electrically insulating material (Par [0060] Ln. 1-3; plastic), wherein each of the contact carriers (individual receptacles) comprises the above-mentioned plurality of uninterrupted contact chambers (110), into which the electrical plug contacts (26) are insertable for bonding, on the terminal side (side of 26 that mates with 86), with conducting tracks (traces/tracks of 86) of the circuit carrier (86) of the electrical device (18) in an electrically conductive manner, wherein the device connection part (19) comprises an essentially planar terminal section (fig. 4; 24) onto which the contact carriers (individual receptacles) are molded (Par [0060] Ln. 1-3; this suggest that 19 is made from plastic and therefore is molded).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Carolis does not explicitly disclose the plug contacts, at their plug-in end, respectively comprise a plug-in region for plug-in side connection to the mating contacts of a mating connector which is plugged into the respective plug connector [claim 1]; for the contact-connection thereof, on the plug-in side, with electrical mating contacts of a mating connector which is plugged or pluggable into the respective plug connector [claim 9].
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Genau teaches the plug contacts (fig. 1; 30), at their plug-in end (fig. 1; 31 area), respectively comprise a plug-in region (31) for plug-in side connection to the mating contacts (Par [0085] Ln 7; contacts of the counter plug) of a mating connector (Par [0085] Ln 7; counter plug) which is plugged into the respective plug connector (fig. 8; 1); for the contact-connection thereof, on the plug-in side (fig. 1; 31 area), with electrical mating contacts (contacts of the counter plug) of a mating connector (counter plug) which is plugged or pluggable into the respective plug connector (1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plug contacts, at their plug-in end, respectively comprise a plug-in region for plug-in side connection to the mating contacts of a mating connector which is plugged into the respective plug connector and for the contact-connection thereof, on the plug-in side, with electrical mating contacts of a mating connector which is plugged or pluggable into the respective plug connector as suggested by Genau for the benefit of improving a known aspect of mating connectors together.
Regarding claim 2, Carolis modified by Genau has been discussed above. Carolis discloses wherein the circuit carrier (86) is fastened to the device connection part (19).
Regarding claim 4, Carolis modified by Genau has been discussed above. Carolis discloses wherein the circuit carrier (86) is a circuit board (86).
Regarding claim 5, Carolis modified by Genau has been discussed above. Carolis discloses wherein the said plurality of plug connectors (receptacles that contain 26 and 110) is at least four, such that at least four contact carriers (four individual receptacles) are integrally configured with the device connection part (19).
Regarding claim 7, Carolis modified by Genau has been discussed above. Carolis discloses wherein the electrical device (18) is a terminal device for a data network (fig. 1, 18 transfers power and communications).
Regarding claim 8, Carolis modified by Genau has been discussed above. Carolis discloses wherein the device housing (18) comprises a housing base part (fig. 6; 112) which, in combination with the device connection part (19), forms the device housing (112, 19).
Regarding claim 10, Carolis modified by Genau has been discussed above. Carolis discloses wherein the contact carriers (individual receptacles) are configured in the terminal section (24) in a recessed arrangement (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Carolis modified by Genau has been discussed above. Carolis discloses wherein the device connection part (19) forms at least one outer wall of the device housing (19, 112).
Regarding claim 13, Carolis modified by Genau has been discussed above. Carolis discloses wherein the device connection part (19), at the terminal section (24), further comprises at least one edge (fig. 4; edge of 24 connecting 41) or curvature, by means of which the device connection part (19) additionally forms at least one part (41) of at least one sidewall (41) of the device housing (19, 112), such that the device connection part (19) forms an upper shell of the device housing (19, 112).
Regarding claim 14, Carolis modified by Genau has been discussed above. Carolis discloses wherein the device connection part (19) comprises the plug contacts (26) which are secured in the contact chambers (110) of the contact carriers (individual receptacles).
Regarding claim 15, Carolis modified by Genau has been discussed above. Carolis discloses wherein the device connection part (19) comprises a fastening apparatus (fig. 6; 94) for fastening the circuit carrier (86) to the device connection part (19).
Regarding claim 16, Carolis modified by Genau has been discussed above. Carolis discloses wherein the fastening apparatus (94) is comprised of a plurality of fastening studs (multiple 94s) which are either molded (housing components i.e. 19 can be made from plastics, this suggest that 94 is molded with 19) onto the device connection part (19), or are embodied as separate parts and fitted to the device connection part.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Carolis et al. [US 2009/0023320] and Genau [US 2013/0137310] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito et al. [US 8,167,629].
Regarding claim 3, De Carolis and Genau disclose all of the claim limitations except wherein the circuit carrier comprises a plurality of through-contacts which are connected to the conducting tracks in an electrically conductive manner, which are embodied as electrically conductively-coated through-openings, wherein a.) the plug contacts are either embodied in the form of press-in contacts, wherein, at their terminal region, they respectively comprise a press-in pin, wherein the press-in contacts, at their press-in pins, are press-fitted into the respective through-contacts of the circuit carrier, or wherein b.) the plug contacts are embodied in the form of soldered contacts, wherein, at their terminal region, they comprise soldering pins, wherein the soldered contacts, at their soldering pins, are led through the respective through contacts of the circuit carrier and soldered thereto.
However, Ito teaches the circuit carrier (fig. 8; 30) comprises a plurality of through-contacts (fig. 8; 36) which are connected to the conducting tracks (30 is a circuit board which suggest that 43/44 will be electrically connected to another electrical component through traces/tracks of circuit board 30) in an electrically conductive manner, which are embodied as electrically conductively-coated through-openings (36), wherein b.) the plug contacts (43) are embodied in the form of soldered contacts, wherein, at their terminal region (fig. 8; area of 43a/b), they comprise soldering pins (43a/b), wherein the soldered contacts (43a/b), at their soldering pins, are led through the respective through contacts (36) of the circuit carrier (30) and soldered thereto.
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the circuit carrier comprises a plurality of through-contacts which are connected to the conducting tracks in an electrically conductive manner, which are embodied as electrically conductively-coated through-openings, wherein a.) the plug contacts are either embodied in the form of press-in contacts, wherein, at their terminal region, they respectively comprise a press-in pin, wherein the press-in contacts, at their press-in pins, are press-fitted into the respective through-contacts of the circuit carrier, or wherein b.) the plug contacts are embodied in the form of soldered contacts, wherein, at their terminal region, they comprise soldering pins, wherein the soldered contacts, at their soldering pins, are led through the respective through contacts of the circuit carrier and soldered thereto as suggested by Ito for the benefit of providing superior mechanical strength, high heat resistance, and better power handling compared to other PCB mounting technology.
Claim(s) 11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Carolis et al. [US 2009/0023320] and Genau [US 2013/0137310] as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of DE 102006051281.
Regarding claim 11, Carolis and Genau disclose all of the claim limitations except wherein the device connection part is produced by an injection-molding process, and is thus embodied as an integral injection-molded part with the contact carriers which are molded thereon.
However, DE ‘281 teaches the device connection part (fig. 3; 12) is produced by an injection-molding process (DE ‘281 translation; Par [0100] Ln. 3-4; injection molding), and is thus embodied as an integral injection-molded part (12) with the contact carriers (fig. 3; 40) which are molded thereon (Par [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the device connection part is produced by an injection-molding process, and is thus embodied as an integral injection-molded part with the contact carriers which are molded thereon as suggested by DE ‘281 for the benefit of providing exceptional repeatability, extensive filler options for a desired strength, and the ability to produce parts with tailored aesthetic finishes or multiple materials in one step.
Regarding claims 18-20, Carolis and Genau disclose the final product of claims 18-21 but, do not explicitly disclose the specific method steps A-G.
Regarding claims 18-20, DE ‘281 teaches A. provide an injection-molding tool for device connection parts (12; 12 is formed by injection molding, therefore using a tool/die is old and well known in the art for the injection molding process); B. injection-mold of at least one device connection part (12) as a one-piece injection-molded part, which comprises contact carriers (40) which are molded thereupon at their respective position; C. Guage the relative position (position of 40 has to be analyzed in order to connect 44 to 46) of the contact carriers (40) of the at least one device connection part (12) with respect to one another; D. Determine appropriate terminal positions (fig. 3; positions of 76 corresponding to 44) on the circuit carrier (46) from measurement data established in process step C, and the formation of at least one circuit carrier (46), with through-contacts (76) at the terminal positions (positions of 76 corresponding to 44) thus determined; E. Injection-mold device connection parts using the injection-molding tool (tool that was used to make 12), and populate the contact carriers (40) with plug contacts (44), and the produce the circuit carrier (46) according to the terminal positions (positions of 76 corresponding to 44) determined in process step D; F. Terminal-side electrical contact connection (section of 44 that connects to 76) of connect the plug contacts (44) with the respective circuit carrier (46), and fasten the respective circuit carrier (46) to the respective device connection part (12); G. Respective join the device connection parts (12) with a housing base part (fig. 3; 104) of the device housing (10), wherein the circuit carrier (46) is arranged in the device housing (10); wherein, in process step E, the plug contacts (44) are either over-molded during the injection-molding process (see Par [0125] Ln. 3-4) or, further to the injection-molding process, are inserted into the contact chambers of the contact carriers.
NOTE: In accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, method steps of claims 18-20 has not been given SIGNIFICANT patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. electrical device, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. injection molding steps of claims 18-20. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method steps of claims 18-20 as suggested by DE ‘281 for the benefit of providing exceptional repeatability, extensive filler options for a desired strength, and the ability to produce parts with tailored aesthetic finishes or multiple materials in one step.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Carolis et al. [US 2009/0023320] and Genau [US 2013/0137310] as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Versterre et al. [US 4,399,836].
Carolis and Genau disclose all of the claim limitations except wherein the device connection part, at its terminal section comprises a plurality of mounting openings for the fitting of further separately embodied plug connectors.
However, Versterre teaches the device connection part (fig. 2; 11), at its terminal section (fig. 2; 18) comprises a plurality of mounting openings (fig. 2; 17) for the fitting of further separately embodied plug connectors (fig. 2; 26, 26 is removably insertable).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the device connection part, at its terminal section comprises a plurality of mounting openings for the fitting of further separately embodied plug connectors as suggested by Versterre for the benefit of optimizing maintenance procedures when an electrical component needs servicing or improving the application of use for an electrical device by expanding the electrical capabilities of said device.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Carolis et al. [US 2009/0023320], Genau [US 2013/0137310] and DE 102006051281 as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Howard et al. [US 6,386,891].
Carolis, Genau and DE ‘281 disclose (DE’ 281) F1.) for electrical contact-connection, the terminal regions of the plug contacts (44) are led through the through-contacts (holes that receive 44 in 46) in the respective circuit carrier (46), by a press-in or subsequent soldering arrangement (Par [0110] Ln. 4-5).
Carolis, Genau and DE ‘281 do not disclose F1 being simultaneous with F2: fastening studs which are molded onto or applied to the device connection part respectively engage in an associated clamping recess in the respective circuit carrier, and are clamped therein.
However, Howard teaches fastening studs (fig. 1; 21) which are molded onto or applied to the device connection part (fig. 1; 14) respectively engage in an associated clamping recess (fig. 1; 50) in the respective circuit carrier (fig. 1; 32), and are clamped therein (clamped by 14 and 12).
NOTE: In accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, method steps of claim 21 has not been given SIGNIFICANT patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. electrical device, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. two steps of claim 21 being executed simultaneously. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate fastening studs which are molded onto or applied to the device connection part respectively engage in an associated clamping recess in the respective circuit carrier, and are clamped therein as suggested by Howard for the benefit of improving the internal stability of a circuit board.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/MARCUS E HARCUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831