DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Claim Status
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on 3/5/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 27-30 and 32-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/5/26.
Applicant’s election of the species of compound 1 in the reply filed on 3/5/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-24, 26 and 31 have been canceled.
Claims 25 and 34-36 are being examined.
Priority
The priority information is found in the filing receipt dated 5/20/25.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/14/24 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
37 CFR 1.821(d) states that each occurrence of a sequence should include the corresponding sequence identifier. At least pages 3-5, 10 (first line after table 1) and 12-23 of the 28 page clean copy of the specification of 7/10/23 recite sequences without the corresponding sequence identifier.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Page 5 of the clean copy of the specification of 7/10/23 states “For convenience, when the compound of the present invention is described in the present application, H on the left side and OH on the right side are omitted”. Instant claim 1 recites ‘compound is’ and does not recite any open-ended terminology. Thus, the compounds as recited in claim 25 are interpreted as being identical to those recited (the claims are not open to additions at the terminal ends).
Claim Objections
Claims 25 and 36 are objected to because of the following informalities:
37 CFR 1.821(d) states that each occurrence of a sequence should include the corresponding sequence identifier. Claims 25 and 36 recite sequences without the corresponding sequence identifier.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25 and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites ‘compound is selected from’ and then recites specific compounds. However, there is no ‘or’ or ‘and’ to separate the last 2 compounds of the group. As such, it is unclear if the group is open to other possible compounds. None of the dependent claims clarify the claim scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 25 and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon (product of nature) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) compounds/compositions which correspond to products of nature (fragments of natural protein as discussed in detail below). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is no additional elements that apply or use the judicial exception. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as discussed below.
This 101 rejection is consistent with the most recent training provided by the office which will be referred to as 'guidance' (MPEP 2106).
In comparison to the subject matter eligibility test as set forth in the guidance, the claims are drawn to compounds/compositions. Thus the answer to step 1 is yes.
BLAST search of compound 1 (retrieved from https://blast.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Blast.cgi on 4/9/26, 31 pages) reveals that compound 1 corresponds to residues of numerous natural proteins including numerous myosin heavy chains (pages 9-11, 13-16 for example). Thus compound 1 corresponds to a fragment of a known protein. In relation to prong one of step 2a of the guidance the answer is yes because the peptides correspond to domains of natural proteins (i.e. products of nature which are a natural phenomenon).
In relation to prong two of step 2a, the instant claims are product claims and do not require any additional elements that apply the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. Thus the answer to prong two of step 2a is no.
The instant claims recite compound 1 which is a fragment of a known protein. The Myriad Supreme Court decision (Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, 569 U.S. 12-398 (2013)) stated: “Myriad’s claims are not saved by the fact that isolating DNA from the human genome severs the chemical bonds that bind gene molecules together” (page 2 and 14). In the instant case, applicants’ claims are not saved by the fact that the peptides of the instant claims correspond to fragments (the protein with severed bonds).
In relation to step 2b, claim 34 recites a composition. The compositions of claim 34 can correspond to the compound in water which itself is naturally occurring. Thus, claim 34 can correspond to a combination of naturally occurring components. The instantly claimed compositions are like the novel bacterial mixture of Funk Brothers which contained multiple naturally occurring components, which was held ineligible because each species of bacteria in the mixture (like each component in the peptide composition) continued to have “the same effect it always had”, i.e., it lacked markedly different characteristics. Funk Brothers Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co., 333 U.S. 127, 131 (1948), discussed in Myriad Genetics, 133 S. Ct. at 2117 (explaining that the bacterial mixture of Funk Brothers “was not patent eligible because the patent holder did not alter the bacteria in any way”). The claims do not require any additional features that add significantly more to the exceptions.
Further, there is no evidence of any markedly different characteristic. There is no indication that mixing of the peptide and an excipient (such as water) changes the structure, function or other properties of the peptide or the water. MPEP 2106.04(c) II C recognizes that a change cannot be an inherent or innate characteristic on the naturally occurring counterpart or an incidental change in a characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart. Thus the answer to step 2b is no because there is not adequate evidence to conclude that the claims include significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Diamond (US 6,632,435).
Diamond teach a C-hydroxyl (H-A1-Y9-COOH) L-amino acid combinatorial nonapeptide library arranged in a positional scanning format (example 6 columns 15-16). Diamond teach that each library consists of 180 mixtures in the OX8 format where O represents one each of the 20 natural L-amino acids and X represents any of the 20 natural amino acids with the exception of cysteine in each of the remaining positions (example 6 columns 15-16). Diamond teach that each mixture consisted of 198 different nonamer peptides (example 6 columns 15-16).
In relation to claim 25, the nonapeptide library of Diamond is of sequence OX8 where O represents one each of the 20 natural L-amino acids and X represents any of the 20 natural amino acids with the exception of cysteine in each of the remaining positions (example 6 columns 15-16). Diamond teach that each mixture consisted of 198 different nonamer peptides (example 6 columns 15-16). Thus, when O is Glu, the library necessarily comprises Glu-Ala-Glu-Ala-Lys-Gly-Lys-Ala-Glu which is instant compound 7.
In relation to claim 34, Diamond teach that each mixture consisted of 198 different nonamer peptides (example 6 columns 15-16).
Conclusion
RONALD T. NIEBAUER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/RONALD T NIEBAUER/Examiner, Art Unit 1658