DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 7/10/23 has been considered and entered. Claims 1-5 remain in the application for prosecution thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Yamaguchi et al. (2020/0136097).
Yamaguchi et al. (2020/0136097) teaches a cylindrical battery can (18) including an electrode body and a sealing body (20) as depicted in Fig. 1. Yamaguchi et al. (2020/0136097) teaches a second cover plate (21) fixed to a first cover plate (25) with an inner gasket (24) and a valve disc (23) being compressed between the first (25) and second (21) cover plates and being in the direction of flow. The first cover plate has a hollow disk-shaped pattern with a first sidewall and a portion extending downward from an edge portion of the first side wall and a bottom portion connected to the sidewall portion with through/venting holes (22a). The second plate (21) also having communicating holes therethrough (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Yamaguchi et al. (2020/0136097) teaches and depicts the through holes of the first cover plater (25) being in a vertical and horizontal direction with respect to the axis line.
Regarding claim 3, Yamaguchi et al. (2020/0136097) teaches a second side wall and a second hole/vent passing through in the direction of fluid flow with the valve disc between the hole and fluid flow.
Regarding claim 5, Yamaguchi et al. (2020/0136097) teaches a cylindrical storage battery including spiral stacking of positive electrode, negative electrode and separator, an outer can (18), a positive electrode terminal (11a) and a sealing body (21) (Figs. 1 and 2).
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Iwaizono et al. (6,524,739).
Iwaizono et al. (6,524,739) teaches a secondary battery including a sealing member (65) having a bottom plate (66) (claimed first cover plate) and a support plate (18) (claimed second cover plate) fixed to the bottom plate (66) having a gasket (19) (claimed elative valving element) compressed between the bottom plate (66) and the support plate (18). The sealing plate (66) includes a hollow disk portion having a first sidewall extending downward from an edge portion and a bottom wall connected to the first sidewall and having opening (66a) in a direction approaching the axis line. The support plate (18) also has a hole (18a) therein while the gasket (19) is disposed between the opening (66a) and the hole (18a) in a direction of fluid flow (abstract, col. 18, line 40 – col. 19, line 14 and Fig. 14).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Iwaizono et al. (6,524,739) teaches and depicts the opening (66a) and the hole (18a) being in a vertical and horizontal direction with respect to the axis line.
Regarding claim 3, Iwaizono et al. (6,524,739) teaches a second side wall and a second hole/vent passing through in the direction of fluid flow with the gasket (19) between the hole and fluid flow.
Regarding claim 5, Iwaizono et al. (6,524,739) teaches a cylindrical storage battery which would include but not depicted a spiral stacking of positive electrode, negative electrode and separator, an outer can (15), a positive electrode terminal and a sealing body (65) (Figs. 1 and 2).
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712