Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-22, 26, 27, 28, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Huber (Patent No. 7,595,466 filed on October 25, 2004) and Garbosa et al. (Publication No. 2022/0052869 filed on December 3, 2019, hereinafter Garbosa).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding Claims 16 and 26, Huber teaches a component for use with a household appliance (column 3, lines 12-15, a cooking surface as a household appliance comprising a glass ceramic plate with four different cooking zones.) essentially the means which comprises an the component comprising an optical indication element arranged in a non-detachable manner on the component (column 3, lines 14-16, see the optical indication element consisting of a decorative printing that is underneath the cooking zones. These cooking zones are non-detachable.).
Huber does not expressly teach coded information relating to the component and optical indication element designed for detection by an optical detection facility.
Garbosa teaches a component comprising an optical indication element arranged in a non-detachable manner on the component ([0121] the appliance registration is carried out by reading a barcode or a QR code which is printed on the smart home appliance; the non-detachable manner on the component being the printed barcode or QR code on the smart home appliance) and comprising coded information ([0121] e.g., barcode or a QR code) relating to the component ([0121] smart home appliance), optical indication element designed for detection by an optical detection facility ([0004] smart home appliances can be controlled by computer program running on corresponding computer or mobile phone…; [0102] a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) that enables connection to a network through Wi-Fi communication…; see [0105] figure 1; [0109] the cloud server may comprise a virtual server which collaborates with various devices over the Internet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concept of Huber’s method of a household appliance with the method of Garbosa’s household appliance because Huber’s household appliance includes a decorative printing on the household appliance but does not include the printing of coded information. Garbosa teaches the printing of coded information on the household appliance including either the printing of a bar code or a QR code. Incorporating the household appliance method of printing a bar code or a QR code by Garbosa into the household appliance method of Huber would improve Huber’s household appliance to enable the registration of the household appliance in the network by reading a printed barcode or QR code.
Regarding Claims 17 and 27, Huber teaches a household cooking appliance as the household appliance (column 3, lines 12-15, household appliance comprising a glass ceramic place with four different cooking zones).
Regarding Claim 18, Garbosa teaches the optical indication element is manufactured using a screen printing method (the claim limitations refer to the various claim limitations as the optical indication element manufactured in various alternative options provided by and/or therefore Garbosa includes a screen printing method [0121] the appliance registration is carried out by reading a barcode or a QR code which is printed on the smart home appliance).
Regarding Claim 19, Huber teaches the component is manufactured at least partially in a casting method, optical indication element being produced by a corresponding negative impression in a cast mold for manufacturing the component (column 1, lines 50-53, shapeless staring material (e.g. cast; column 3, line 47, casting compound).
Regarding Claim 20, Huber teaches a metal sheet optical indication element being arranged on the metal sheet (column 5, line 40, sheet-metal).
Regarding Claim 21, Huber teaches a plastic element optical indication element being arranged on the plastic element (column 3, line 47, plastic element).
Regarding Claim 22, Huber teaches a glass element optical indication element being arranged on the glass element (column 3, lines 25 and 26, glass ceramic plate).
Regarding Claim 28, Huber teaches the component and the optical indication element are arranged on the household appliance such as to be visible from outside of the household appliance (Abstract).
Regarding Claims 29 and 30, Huber teaches component is arranged movably between at least two positions on the household appliance, wherein a first position of the least two positions of the component the optical indication element is not visible and in a second position of the least two positions of the component the optical indication element is visible (Abstract).
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber (Patent No. 7,595,466 filed on October 25, 2004) and Garbosa et al. (Publication No. 2022/0052869 filed on December 3, 2019, hereinafter Garbosa) as applied to claims 16 and 26 above, and further in view of Farrel et al. (Publication No. 2023/0085049 filed September 10, 2021, hereinafter Farrel).
Regarding Claim 23, Huber nor Garbosa teach the component as a replacement part for the household appliance.
Farrel teaches the component is embodied as a replacement part for the household appliance ([0004] entire front panel generally needs to be replaced to replace the handle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concepts of Huber’s method of a household appliance with the method of Garbosa’s household appliance because Huber’s household appliance includes a decorative printing on the household appliance but does not include the printing of coded information. Garbosa teaches the printing of coded information on the household appliance including either the printing of a bar code or a QR code. Incorporating the household appliance method of printing a bar code or a QR code by Garbosa into the household appliance method of Huber would improve Huber’s household appliance to enable the registration of the household appliance in the network by reading a printed barcode or QR code.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concept of Huber’s and Garbosa’s method of a household appliance with the method of Farrel’s household appliance because Huber and Garbosa household appliances include various appliance units but they do not include a replacement part. Farrel teaches a replacement part for the household appliance. Incorporating the household appliance method of a replacement part by Farrel into the household appliances of Huber and Garbosa would improve Huber’s and Garbosa’ household appliance to enable the removal of a non-working household appliance component for the replacement of a new working household appliance component.
Regarding Claim 24, Farrel teaches an accessory part for the household appliance ([0004]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber (Patent No. 7,595,466 filed on October 25, 2004) and Garbosa et al. (Publication No. 2022/0052869 filed on December 3, 2019, hereinafter Garbosa) as applied to claims 16 and 26 above, and further in view of Kon (Publication No. 2003/0023515 filed July 29, 2002).
Huber nor Garbosa teach a reference to a data record stored in an external storage facility.
However, Kon teaches a reference to a data record stored in an external storage facility
(Abstract, The server searches an OA-apparatus DB for data records regarding OA apparatuses, based on the acquired specification information. The server searches an OA-apparatus feature DB for feature information representing a product specified in the searched data records; [0079] The household-appliance function data includes data records each of which includes data items of "Type of Household Appliance" (e.g. a TV, etc.), "Product Name" specifying the product name of a predetermined household appliance, and "Function" of the predetermined household appliance.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concept of Huber’s and Garbosa’s method of a household appliance with the method of Kon’s household appliance because Huber and Garbosa household appliances include data information related to the household appliance but do not include a data storage record. Kon teaches the household appliance network includes a data record. Incorporating the household appliance method of a data record by Kon into the household appliances of Huber and Garbosa would improve Huber’s and Garbosa’ household appliance to enable the data record to include stored names of household appliance data items, household appliance apparatus types, and household appliance data item functions.
Claims 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garbosa et al. (Publication No. 2022/0052869 filed on December 3, 2019, hereinafter Garbosa) and Kon (Publication No. 2003/0023515 filed July 29, 2002).
Regarding Claim 31, Garbosa teaches a component comprising an optical indication element arranged in a non-detachable manner on the component ([0121] the appliance registration is carried out by reading a barcode or a QR code which is printed on the smart home appliance; the non-detachable manner on the component being the printed barcode or QR code on the smart home appliance) and comprising coded information ([0121] e.g., barcode or a QR code) relating to the component ([0121] smart home appliance), optical indication element designed for detection by an optical detection facility ([0004] smart home appliances can be controlled by computer program running on corresponding computer or mobile phone…; [0102] a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) that enables connection to a network through Wi-Fi communication…; see [0105] figure 1; [0109] the cloud server may comprise a virtual server which collaborates with various devices over the Internet); a storge facility for storing the component ([0109] the cloud server many comprise a virtual server which collaborates with various devices over the internet); the storage facility relating to the component ([0109] the cloud server many comprise a virtual server which collaborates with various devices over the internet).
Garbosa does not expressly teach a data record relating to the component, a reference to the data record, the data record relating to the component as a function of a request comprising the reference.
However, Kon teaches a data record relating to the component (Abstract, apparatus feature DB for feature information representing a product specified in the searched data records; see figure 3, element 155, household-appliance database (DB) e.g., component), a reference to the data record ([0079] The household-appliance function data includes data records each of which includes data items of "Type of Household Appliance" (e.g. a TV, etc.), "Product Name" specifying the product name of a predetermined household appliance, and "Function" of the predetermined household appliance.), the data record relating to the component ([0079] The household-appliance function data includes data records each of which includes data items of "Type of Household Appliance" (e.g. a TV, etc.), "Product Name" specifying the product name of a predetermined household appliance, and "Function" of the predetermined household appliance.); household appliance (e.g., component)) as a function of a request comprising the reference (Abstract, server acquires specification information specifying a feature(s) of a product requested by a customer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concept of Garbosa’s method of a household appliance with the method of Kon’s household appliance because Garbosa’s household appliances include data information related to the household appliance but do not include a data storage record. Kon teaches the household appliance network includes a data record. Incorporating the household appliance method of a data record by Kon into the household appliance Garbosa would improve Garbosa’ household appliance to enable the data record to include stored names of household appliance data items, household appliance apparatus types, and household appliance data item functions.
Regarding Claims 32 and 34, Garbosa teaches the household appliance is embodied as a household cooking appliance ([0066] smart home appliance is one of an oven; [0088] home appliances, such as ovens).
Regarding Claim 33, Garbosa teaches a component comprising an optical indication element arranged in a non-detachable manner on the component ([0121] the appliance registration is carried out by reading a barcode or a QR code which is printed on the smart home appliance; the non-detachable manner on the component being the printed barcode or QR code on the smart home appliance) and comprising coded information ([0121] e.g., barcode or a QR code) relating to the component ([0121] smart home appliance), optical indication element designed for detection by an optical detection facility ([0004] smart home appliances can be controlled by computer program running on corresponding computer or mobile phone…; [0102] a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) that enables connection to a network through Wi-Fi communication…; see [0105] figure 1; [0109] the cloud server may comprise a virtual server which collaborates with various devices over the Internet); a storge facility for storing the component ([0109] the cloud server many comprise a virtual server which collaborates with various devices over the internet); the storage facility relating to the component ([0109] the cloud server many comprise a virtual server which collaborates with various devices over the internet); decoding the coded information contained in the optical indication element as a function of the detected optical indication element ([0004] smart home appliances can be controlled by computer program running on corresponding computer or mobile phone…; [0102] a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) that enables connection to a network through Wi-Fi communication…; see [0105] figure 1; [0109] the cloud server may comprise a virtual server which collaborates with various devices over the Internet).
Garbosa does not expressly teach requesting information material and providing the requested information material to the user.
Kon teaches requesting information material and providing the requested information material to the user (Abstract, server acquires specification information specifying a feature(s) of a product requested by a customer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concept of Garbosa’s method of a household appliance with the method of Kon’s household appliance because Garbosa’s household appliances include data information related to the household appliance but do not include a data storage record. Kon teaches the household appliance network includes a data record. Incorporating the household appliance method of a data record by Kon into the household appliance Garbosa would improve Garbosa’ household appliance to enable the data record to include stored names of household appliance data items, household appliance apparatus types, and household appliance data item functions.
Conclusion
/CHERYL LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166 February 7, 2026