DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 5/4/26, the following has occurred: Claim 11 has been amended; Claims 1-10 and 22-24 are cancelled.
Claims 11-21 and 25-29 are pending. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 5/4/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-21 and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111976629 A (“CN’629”) in view of EP 2296214 A1 (“EP’214”) and US 20140180039 A1 (US’039).
As to Claim 11:
CN'629 discloses:
a monitoring device for at least two energy storage components of an electric energy storage device, including a waveguide, which is designed to transmit acoustic and/or optical signals between units of the energy storage components and at least one controller of the electric energy storage device to monitor the energy storage components; wherein the waveguide is designed as a one-piece molded part, which forms a transmission network; which includes at least one collection channel for connection to the at least one controller and at least two connection channels connected to the at least one collection channel for connection to the at least two units for monitoring the energy storage components; wherein the acoustic and/or optical signals are transmittable within the molded part via the at least one collection channel and the connection channels bidirectionally between the units for monitoring the energy storage components and the at least one controller (Pgs. 2–5, 7–10).
However, CN'629 does not explicitly disclose that the molded part includes a coating made of a reflective material at least in some areas to reduce a damping of the acoustic and/or optical signal. Instead, CN'629 relies fundamentally on total internal reflection driven by the material boundary index difference against ambient air to guide the optical wave (CN’629, Pgs. 3–5).
EP'214 discloses a layout where a multiplicity of separate optical fibers merge into a collective optical waveguide linked to a central processor, and highlights that data signal transmission between electronic cell components can occur bidirectionally (EP’214, Pgs. 4–6, 9).
US'039 discloses light-guiding and wave-transmitting covers or layers where the underlying light-transmissive core material is explicitly bounded or treated “via the use of cladding and/or light reflective material, such that the cover serves as a light guide” (US'039, [0007], [0027]–[0029]). This selective application of light reflective material or structural cladding prevents internal signal degradation and maintains clean wave propagation boundaries (EP’214, Pgs. 4–6, 9; US'039, [0007], [0027]–[0029]).
CN'629, EP'214, and US'039 are analogous arts because they all belong to the same field of endeavor—specifically, the structural engineering and management of light-guiding/waveguide pathways to reliably route signal data through an integrated physical network. Alternatively, each reference is reasonably pertinent to the logical problem facing the inventor, which is how to structurally optimize a multi-channel optical transmission network to avoid signal losses and boundary leakages across integrated pathways (CN’629, Pgs. 2–5); EP'214 (Pgs. 2–6, 9); US'039 [0007], [0027]–[0029].
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the selective reflective boundary layer concepts taught by US'039 into the single-piece molded polymer waveguide bus network of CN'629, as supported by the collective routing configuration layout demonstrated by EP'214, in order to supplement standard air-boundary total internal reflection at non-coupling curves or non-linear junctions, thereby preventing optical leakage and reducing a damping of the optical signal as it propagates across complex cell-monitoring branch channels(CN’629, Pgs. 3–5, 7–8); EP'214 (Pgs. 4–6, 9); US'039 [0007], [0027]–[0029].
As to Claim 12:
CN’629 further discloses that the waveguide is formed as a one-piece molded optical waveguide that constitutes a transmission network interconnecting a plurality of battery modules and the controller ([0006], [0008], [0026]). CN’629 also teaches that the optical waveguide is configured as an annular or ring-shaped communication structure, which functions as a shared communication path for multiple battery modules, thereby corresponding to a bus-type transmission network ([0008], [0009]).
However, CN’629 does not explicitly describe the transmission network in terms of a collection channel and at least two connection channels as recited in claim 12. Rather, CN’629 primarily discloses a ring-shaped bus topology without expressly characterizing portions of the waveguide as a collection channel with branching connection channels.
EP’214 discloses a monitoring device for an electric energy storage system in which multiple units associated with individual energy storage components are optically connected via respective optical waveguides to a collective optical waveguide leading to a central unit (Abstract; Figs. 1–4; [0012]–[0016]). This arrangement forms a bus-type transmission network, wherein the collective optical waveguide functions as a shared bus and the individual optical waveguides function as connection paths from the units to the bus, enabling bidirectional optical signal transmission between the units and the central unit ([0013], [0015]–[0017]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the molded optical waveguide transmission network of CN’629 in the form of a bus network having a collection channel and multiple connection channels, as taught by EP’214, in order to provide a clear bus-type communication structure that facilitates scalable connection of multiple energy storage component units to a central controller, simplifies signal routing, and improves modularity of the monitoring device.
As to Claim 13:
CN’629 further discloses that the waveguide is formed as a one-piece molded part made of a polymer material, such as PMMA, thereby constituting a solid, integrated waveguide body forming a transmission network between the energy storage components and the controller ([0006], [0008], [0026]). CN’629 also teaches optical signal in-coupling and out-coupling between the waveguide and optical transmitting/receiving elements associated with the battery modules and the controller, thereby enabling signal transfer between the waveguide and the connected units ([0007]–[0009]).
However, CN’629 does not explicitly disclose that the molded part is designed as a solid body having surface structures which form defined areas for signal coupling and signal decoupling of a collection channel and connection channels, as specifically recited in claim 13. In particular, CN’629 does not expressly describe surface-formed coupling or decoupling structures on the molded waveguide body.
EP’214 discloses a monitoring device for an electric energy storage system in which optical waveguides associated with individual energy storage component units are optically coupled to a collective optical waveguide leading to a central unit (Abstract; Figs. 1–4; [0012]–[0016]). EP’214 teaches defined optical coupling and decoupling interfaces at which optical signals are introduced into and extracted from the waveguides, including coupling regions between individual unit waveguides and the collective waveguide ([0013], [0015]–[0017]). These interfaces inherently correspond to surface regions or structures configured to enable signal coupling and signal decoupling between different waveguide paths.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the molded waveguide of CN’629 to include surface structures forming defined areas for signal coupling and signal decoupling, as taught by EP’214, in order to facilitate reliable optical coupling between a main waveguide path and branch connections to individual energy storage component units, improve signal transfer efficiency, and enable scalable integration of multiple monitoring units within a solid molded waveguide body.
As to Claim 14:
CN’629 further discloses that the waveguide is formed as a one-piece molded optical waveguide made of a polymer material, thereby constituting a solid, integrated body forming a transmission network between a plurality of battery modules and the controller ([0006], [0008], [0026]). CN’629 also teaches that the molded optical waveguide functions as a shared communication path for multiple battery modules, corresponding to a bus-type transmission network as recited in claim 12 ([0008], [0009]).
However, CN’629 does not explicitly disclose that the molded part is designed as a solid body including surface structures which form areas for signal coupling and signal decoupling of a collection channel and multiple connection channels, as specifically required by claim 14. In particular, CN’629 does not expressly describe surface-formed coupling or decoupling structures provided on the molded waveguide body.
EP’214 discloses a monitoring device for an electric energy storage system in which optical waveguides associated with individual energy storage component units are optically coupled to a collective optical waveguide leading to a central unit (Abstract; Figs. 1–4; [0012]–[0016]). EP’214 teaches defined optical coupling and decoupling interfaces between the individual waveguides and the collective waveguide, at which optical signals are introduced into and extracted from the waveguides ([0013], [0015]–[0017]). These interfaces inherently correspond to surface regions or structures configured to enable signal coupling and signal decoupling between a shared bus-type waveguide and multiple branch waveguides.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the molded optical waveguide of CN’629 to include surface structures forming defined areas for signal coupling and signal decoupling, as taught by EP’214, in order to facilitate reliable optical coupling between a bus-type molded waveguide and branch connections to individual energy storage component units, improve signal transfer efficiency, and enable scalable integration of multiple monitoring units within a solid molded waveguide body.
As to Claim 15:
CN’629 further discloses that the waveguide is formed as a one-piece molded part made of a polymer material, such as PMMA, thereby constituting a solid, integrated waveguide body forming a transmission network between the energy storage components and the controller ([0006], [0008], [0026]). CN’629 also teaches optical signal in-coupling and out-coupling between the molded waveguide and optical transmitting/receiving elements associated with the battery modules and the controller ([0007]–[0009]).
However, CN’629 does not explicitly disclose that the molded part is designed as an injection molded part, as specifically recited in claim 15. While CN’629 teaches a molded polymer waveguide, it does not expressly identify injection molding as the manufacturing technique.
EP’214 discloses optical waveguides and related components for monitoring an electric energy storage system, and teaches manufacturing such optical components using conventional polymer processing techniques suitable for mass production, including molding processes commonly employed for plastic optical components ([0012]–[0016]). EP’214 thus teaches the suitability and advantages of producing optical waveguide components by injection molding to achieve precise geometries and efficient large-scale manufacture.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to manufacture the molded polymer waveguide of CN’629 as an injection molded part, as suggested by EP’214, in order to enable cost-effective mass production, achieve precise and repeatable waveguide geometries, and improve integration of the monitoring device within an electric energy storage system.
As to Claims 16-18:
CN’629 further discloses that the waveguide is formed as a one-piece molded part made of a polymer material, thereby constituting an integrated optical waveguide body forming a transmission network between the energy storage components and the controller ([0006], [0008], [0026]). CN’629 also teaches bidirectional optical signal transmission between the units and the controller via the molded waveguide ([0008], [0009]). CN’629 explicitly teaches that the polymer material used for this molded waveguide can be, for example, polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA or acryl glass) ([0026]).
As to Claims 19-21:
CN’629 further discloses that the waveguide is formed as a one-piece molded part constituting a transmission network between the battery modules and the controller ([0006], [0008], [0026]). CN’629 also teaches that the waveguide is configured as an annular or ring-shaped structure, thereby including curved waveguide sections having a defined radius and angle of curvature for routing optical signals between the units and the controller ([0008], [0009]).
However, CN’629 does not explicitly disclose that at least two connection channels and/or at least one collection channel, as recited in claims 19-21, include channel sections extending nonlinearly with an angle of curvature. Rather, CN’629 describes curvature in the context of an annular waveguide without expressly characterizing the curvature in terms of connection channels and/or a collection channel.
EP’214 discloses optical waveguides associated with individual energy storage component units that are routed from the units to a collective optical waveguide, and teaches that such waveguides may be flexibly routed and bent to accommodate spatial constraints within an energy storage device (Figs. 1–4; [0012]–[0016]). EP’214 therefore teaches nonlinear waveguide sections having angles of curvature in connection waveguides leading to a central collection waveguide.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the connection channels and/or the collection channel of the molded waveguide network of CN’629 to include nonlinear channel sections with an angle of curvature, as taught by EP’214, in order to accommodate packaging constraints, facilitate routing within a battery system, and enable efficient interconnection between multiple energy storage component units and a controller.
As to Claims 25-27:
CN’629 discloses a monitoring device for an electric energy storage device including a waveguide for transmitting optical signals between units associated with multiple energy storage components and a battery control device to monitor the energy storage components (Abstract; [0005]–[0008]). CN’629 further discloses that optical signals are generated and received by optical transmitting and receiving elements associated with the battery modules and the controller, which are optically coupled to the molded waveguide forming the transmission network ([0007]–[0009]). CN’629 thus teaches the use of transmitting elements for signal generation and receiving elements for signal reception that are connected to the waveguide for communication between the energy storage components and the controller.
However, CN’629 does not explicitly disclose that the transmitting elements and receiving elements are integrated on the energy storage component side in the units, as specifically recited in claim 25. In particular, CN’629 does not expressly describe the integration of the transmitting and receiving elements directly on or within the individual energy storage component units.
EP’214 discloses a monitoring device for an electric energy storage system in which optical transmitting elements (e.g., light sources) and receiving elements (e.g., photodetectors) are integrated with units associated with individual energy storage components and are optically coupled to respective connection waveguides leading to a collective waveguide connected to a central unit (Abstract; Figs. 1–4; [0012]–[0017]). EP’214 thus teaches integrating transmitting and receiving elements on the energy storage component side in the units and connecting those elements to connection waveguides for bidirectional signal transmission.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to integrate the transmitting elements and receiving elements of CN’629 on the energy storage component side in the units, as taught by EP’214, in order to improve signal coupling efficiency, reduce signal path length, simplify system architecture, and enable scalable monitoring of individual energy storage components within the electric energy storage device.
As to Claim 28:
CN’629 discloses an electric energy storage device comprising a plurality of energy storage components (battery modules) and at least one controller configured to monitor and manage the energy storage components (Abstract; [0001]–[0003]). CN’629 further discloses a monitoring device including an optical waveguide that transmits optical signals between units associated with the energy storage components and the controller to monitor the energy storage components ([0005]–[0009]). CN’629 also teaches that the waveguide is formed as a one-piece molded part constituting a transmission network for bidirectional optical communication between the energy storage components and the controller ([0006], [0008], [0026]). Thus, CN’629 discloses an electric energy storage device including at least two energy storage components, at least one controller, and a monitoring device for communicating monitoring signals between the components and the controller.
As to Claim 29:
CN’629 further teaches that such an electric energy storage device is suitable for use in an electric vehicle or motor vehicle application, where the battery system is installed in a vehicle to supply electrical power ([0002], [0003]). Thus, CN’629 discloses a motor vehicle comprising an electric energy storage device having multiple energy storage components and a controller.
However, CN’629 does not explicitly disclose that the electric energy storage device provided in the motor vehicle.
EP’214 discloses an electric energy storage system including multiple energy storage components, a central unit (controller), and a monitoring device in which individual units associated with the energy storage components are optically connected via respective connection waveguides to a collective optical waveguide leading to the central unit (Abstract; Figs. 1–4; [0012]–[0017]). EP’214 thus teaches a monitoring device architecture corresponding to the monitoring device of claim 11, which can be incorporated into an electric energy storage device suitable for installation in a motor vehicle.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide a motor vehicle having the electric energy storage device of CN’629 with a monitoring device configured according to the collection-channel and connection-channel architecture taught by EP’214, thereby resulting in a motor vehicle comprising an electric energy storage device according to claim 28, in order to achieve reliable and scalable monitoring of vehicle battery systems.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 11-21 and 25-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723