DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1 – 2, 4 – 9, 11, 14 – 15, 18 – 23 and 25 – 27 are pending, claims 3, 10, 12 – 13, 16 – 17 and 24 are canceled, and claim 27 is newly added.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 5 recites limitation “transmitting associated with deactivating the SN” for its original intent.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 6 – 8, 11, 14 – 15, 19 – 23 and 25 – 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. WO2020146499A1 (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D1 in EPO search report), hereinafter Zhou in view of Yilmaz et al. WO2020167170A1 (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D2 in EPO search report), hereinafter Yilmaz, and further in view of Chang et al. US 20220217801 A1, hereinafter Chang.
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: (Zhou: Summary and para. [0082] wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310 (e.g. a wireless modem, an antenna, and/or the like), at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 stored in non- transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314)
receiving, from a serving cell associated with a master node (MN) of the UE (Zhou: para. [0144] a base station may either act as a master base station or as a secondary base station. In multi connectivity, a wireless device may be connected to one master base station and one or more secondary base stations. In an example, a master base station (e.g. the MN 1130) may provide a master cell group (MCG) comprising a primary cell and/or one or more secondary cells for a wireless device (e.g. the wireless device 110). A secondary base station (e.g. the SN 1150) may provide a secondary cell group (SCG) comprising a primary secondary cell (PSCell) and/or one or more secondary cells for a wireless device (e.g. the wireless device 110), configuration information that indicates an activated state or a deactivated state of a secondary node (SN) of the UE; and
(Zhou: para. [00194 & 0068 & 00148] When configured with CA, a base station and/or a wireless device may employ an activation/deactivation mechanism of an SCell to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device. When a wireless device is configured with one or more SCells, a gNB may activate or deactivate at least one of the one or more SCells. Upon configuration of an SCell, the SCell may be deactivated unless an SCell state associated with the SCell is set to “activated” or “dormant”)
in response to the configuration information indicating the activated state of the SN of the UE,
(Zhou: para. [00197-00198] When a wireless device receives an SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE activating an SCell, the wireless device may activate the SCell. In response to the activating the SCell, the wireless device may perform operations comprising: SRS transmissions on the SCell; CQI/PMI/RI/CRI reporting for the SCell; PDCCH monitoring on the SCell; PDCCH monitoring for the SCell; and/or PUCCH transmissions on the SCell)
receiving a deactivation indication that configures an SN state at the UE as the deactivated state; and
(Zhou: para. [0195 & 0216 & 0068] wireless device may activate/deactivate an SCell in response to receiving an SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE. [00194] wireless device may employ an activation/deactivation mechanism of an SCell to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device. When a wireless device is configured with one or more SCells, a gNB may activate or deactivate at least one of the one or more SCells. Para. [00199] When a wireless device receives an SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE deactivating an activated SCell, the wireless device may deactivate the activated SCell)
transmitting, to a master node (MN), an indication (Zhou: para. [00148] master base station may be informed by a wireless device of a SCG failure type, for split bearer, a DL data transfer over a master base station may be maintained)
It is noted that Zhou does not explicitly disclose: transmitting, to the MN and based at least in part on the deactivation indication, an indication of buffered data for transmission via the SN.
However, Yilmaz from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: transmitting, to the MN and based at least in part on the deactivation indication (Yilmaz: page 47 lines 20-35 while SCG is suspended), an indication of buffered data for transmission via the SN. (Yilmaz: page 48 lines 1-5 UE 120 decides to request for the resumption of stored SCG configurations. This may e.g. be due to UL data arrival to an SCG terminated bearer. The indication from the UE 120 to resume the SCG, in RRC_CONNECTED, may be related to the sending of the data volume, e.g. a Buffer Status Report (BSR), to the MN 110 with an indication that the BSR is related to the Secondary Node SN 111). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yilmaz in the method of Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for the handling of the SCG operations, e.g. the handling of resume or suspend operations, is made independent from the handling of the MCG operations. By handling the SCG independently from the handling of the MCG, the SCG does not for example have to be resumed just because the MCG is to be resumed. Thereby, a more efficient usage of the connection between the UE and the communications network is provided. This results in an improved performance of the communications network (Yilmaz: page 24 lines 18-28).
It is noted that Zhou and Yilmaz do not explicitly disclose: setting a threshold associated with data split as infinity based at least in part on the SN being in the deactivated state.
However, Chang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of:
setting a threshold associated with data split as infinity based at least in part on the SN being in the deactivated state; (Chang: para. [0294] after receiving dual connectivity deactivation indication information sent by the first network device, the terminal device determines to perform at least one of the following operations, including (2) if a split bearer is configured, stopping data transmission over the split bearer in the secondary cell group, and/or determining that the primary path is the master cell group, and setting the uplink data split threshold to be infinite) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Chang in the method of Zhou and Yilmaz. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for setting the uplink data split threshold to infinity can fully ensure that the primary path of the split bearer is the MCG after the dual connectivity is deactivated. And this ensures continuity of a service transmitted over the split bearer. This can fully ensure that the primary path that is of the split bearer and that is determined by the terminal device is the MCG. Therefore, impact of communication suspension caused by disabling of the bearer on the SCG side in the split bearer can be reduced. (Chang: para. [0267]), and ensures service continuity of the communication service, and can improve applicability and practicality of the dual connectivity technology (Chang: para. [0288 & 0296 & 0005 & 0007 & 0013 & 0018 & 0059]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the serving cell belongs to the SN or the MN in a multi-radio dual connectivity (MR-DC) scenario. (Zhou; para. [00144-00148] When multi connectivity is configured for a wireless device 110, the wireless device 110, which may support multiple reception/transmission functions in an RRC connected state, may be configured to utilize radio resources provided by multiple schedulers of a multiple base stations. Multiple base stations may be inter-connected via a non- ideal or ideal backhaul (e.g. Xn interface, X2 interface, and/or the like). A base station (corresponds to claim limitation “serving cell”) involved in multi connectivity for a certain wireless device may perform at least one of two different roles: a base station may either act as a master base station or as a secondary base station. In multi connectivity (corresponds to claim limitation “multi-radio connectivity”), a wireless device may be connected to one master base station and one or more secondary base stations. In an example, a master base station (e.g. the MN 1130) may provide a master cell group (MCG) comprising a primary cell and/or one or more secondary cells for a wireless device (e.g. the wireless device 110). A secondary base station (e.g. the SN 1150) may provide a secondary cell group (SCG) comprising a primary secondary cell (PSCell) and/or one or more secondary cells for a wireless device (e.g. the wireless device 110). [00143 ] PIG. 11 A and PIG. 1 IB show packet flows employing a multi connectivity (e.g. dual connectivity (corresponds to claim limitation “MR-DC”), multi connectivity, tight interworking, and/or the like))
Regarding claim 6, Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang teach the method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, to the MN, (Zhou: para. [00148] master base station may be informed by a wireless device of a SCG failure type, for split bearer, a DL data transfer over a master base station may be maintained)
Zhou does not explicitly teaches: information indicating that data associated with a data radio bearer (DRB) is available for transmission when the SN is in the deactivated state.
Yilmaz from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: information indicating that data associated with a data radio bearer (DRB) is available for transmission when the SN of the UE is in the deactivated state. (Yilmaz: page 48 lines 1-5 UE 120 decides to request for the resumption of stored SCG configurations. This may e.g. be due to UL data arrival to an SCG terminated bearer. The indication from the UE 120 to resume the SCG, in RRC_CONNECTED, may be related to the sending of the data volume, e.g. a Buffer Status Report (BSR), to the MN 110 with an indication that the BSR is related to the Secondary Node SN 111) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yilmaz in the method of Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for the handling of the SCG operations, e.g. the handling of resume or suspend operations, is made independent from the handling of the MCG operations. By handling the SCG independently from the handling of the MCG, the SCG does not for example have to be resumed just because the MCG is to be resumed. Thereby, a more efficient usage of the connection between the UE and the communications network is provided. This results in an improved performance of the communications network (Yilmaz: page 24 lines 18-28).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang teach the method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving, from the MN, additional information regarding reconfiguring a secondary cell group (SCG) DRB (Zhou: para. [00161] wireless device may be configured to operate in a multi connectivity mode. A wireless device in RRC_CONNECTED with multiple RX/TX may be configured to utilize radio resources provided by multiple schedulers located in a plurality of base stations. The plurality of base stations may be connected via a non-ideal or ideal backhaul over the Xn interface. In an example, a base station in a plurality of base stations may act as a master base station or as a secondary base station. A wireless device may be connected to one master base station and one or more secondary base stations. A wireless device may be configured with multiple MAC entities, e.g. one MAC entity for master base station, and one or more other MAC entities for secondary base station(s). In an example, a configured set of serving cells for a wireless device may comprise two subsets: an MCG comprising serving cells of a master base station, and one or more SCGs comprising serving cells of a secondary base station(s))
Zhou and Yilmaz do not explicitly teaches: reconfiguring a secondary cell group (SCG) DRB as a master cell group (MCG) DRB.
Chang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: reconfiguring a secondary cell group (SCG) DRB (data originally mapped to the SCG bearer) as a master cell group (MCG) DRB (newly established backup MCG bearer).
(Chang: para. [0283] SCG bearer, the first network device or the second network device may configure an associated MCG bearer for the terminal device. The MCG bearer may be a currently existing MCG bearer of the terminal device, or may be a newly established backup MCG bearer of the terminal device. Then, when the dual connectivity is deactivated, the terminal device may switch, to the MCG bearer or a link on the MCG side of the MCG bearer for transmission, data originally mapped to the SCG bearer for transmission. When the dual connectivity is subsequently activated, the terminal device may continue to transmit, on the original SCG bearer instead of the foregoing associated MCG bearer or MCG split bearer, a data flow originally mapped to the SCG bearer. Para. [0249] terminal device may report, to a network by using the first auxiliary information, a type of a bearer that the terminal device requests the network to configure (for example, the MCG bearer, the SCG bearer, or the split bearer), or report, to the network, a type of a bearer that the terminal device prefers or tends to use, or indicate configuration preference priorities of a plurality of radio bearers). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Chang in the method of Zhou and Yilmaz. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for to ensure service continuity during dual connectivity activation or deactivation, the terminal device may report that a preferred radio bearer (preferred bearer) is the split bearer, or report that a configuration priority of the split bearer is higher than that of the secondary cell group bearer (Chang: para. [0249]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang teach the method of claim 1, Zhou does not explicitly teaches: further comprising triggering a buffer status report (BSR) in response to arrival of uplink data when the SN is in the deactivated state.
Yilmaz from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: further comprising triggering a buffer status report (BSR) in response to arrival of uplink data when the SN is in the deactivated state (Yilmaz: page 48 lines 1-5 UE 120 decides to request for the resumption of stored SCG configurations. This may e.g. be due to UL data arrival to an SCG terminated bearer. The indication from the UE 120 to resume the SCG, in RRC_CONNECTED, may be related to the sending of the data volume, e.g. a Buffer Status Report (BSR), to the MN 110 with an indication that the BSR is related to the Secondary Node SN 111. When SCG was suspended page 47 lines 20-35) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yilmaz in the method of Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for the handling of the SCG operations, e.g. the handling of resume or suspend operations, is made independent from the handling of the MCG operations. By handling the SCG independently from the handling of the MCG, the SCG does not for example have to be resumed just because the MCG is to be resumed. Thereby, a more efficient usage of the connection between the UE and the communications network is provided. This results in an improved performance of the communications network (Yilmaz: page 24 lines 18-28).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the deactivation indication is received from the SN or the MN in at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) message, a deactivation medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), or a dormancy MAC CE, and wherein the method further comprises receiving an activation indication from the SN or the MN, wherein the activation indication is carried in at least one of the RRC message or an activation MAC CE. (Zhou: para. [0068 & 00194-00198] base station may transmit a MAC CE comprising one or more fields, the values of the fields indicating activation and/or deactivation of PDCP duplication for the one or more radio bearers. In an example, the one or more processes may comprise Channel State Information (CSI) transmission of on one or more cells. The base station may transmit one or more MAC CEs indicating activation and/or deactivation of the CSI transmission on the one or more cells. In an example, the one or more processes may comprise activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells. In an example, the base station may transmit a MA CE indicating activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells)
Regarding claim 14, Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang teach the method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of: suspending or disabling a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication based on at least in part on the SN being in the deactivated state; (Zhou: para. [0068] deactivation of PDCP duplication for the one or more radio bearers in an example, base station may transmit a MA CE indicating activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells)
Zhou does not explicitly teach: suspending or disabling a split radio bearer (RB) based on at least in part on the SN being in the deactivated state
Yilmaz from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: suspending or disabling a split radio bearer (RB) (deactivate duplication for split bearers) based on at least in part on the SN being in the deactivated state (Yilmaz: page 62 lines 30-33 For the case of split bearers: Deactivation of duplication: Data is sent only to the MCG leg if the SCG is suspended. Page 67 lines 7-15 network 100, e.g. the MN 110, to reconfigure the affected bearers explicitly when SCG is suspended, i.e. explicitly switch the primary path of all split bearers to MCG, deactivate duplication for split bearers, etc.) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yilmaz in the method of Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for the handling of the SCG operations, e.g. the handling of resume or suspend operations, is made independent from the handling of the MCG operations. By handling the SCG independently from the handling of the MCG, the SCG does not for example have to be resumed just because the MCG is to be resumed. Thereby, a more efficient usage of the connection between the UE and the communications network is provided. This results in an improved performance of the communications network (Yilmaz: page 24 lines 18-28).
Regarding claims 15, and 19 – 21, Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang teach an apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled with the processor, the processor configured to cause the apparatus to: (Zhou: Summary Fig. 3, and para. [0082] wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310 (e.g. a wireless modem, an antenna, and/or the like), at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 stored in non- transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314) and Zhou and Yilmaz teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 1, 6, 11 and 14, and therefore apparatus claims 15, and 19 – 21 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 22, Zhou teaches a network node for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled the at least one memory and operable to cause the network node to:
(Zhou: Fig. 3 and para. [0069] base stations (base station 1, 120A, and base station 2, 120B) and base station 1, 120A, may comprise at least one communication interface 320 A (e.g. a wireless modem, an antenna, a wired modem, and/or the like), at least one processor 321 A, and at least one set of program code instructions 323 A stored in non-transitory memory 322A and executable by the at least one processor 321A. The base station 2, 120B, may comprise at least one communication interface 320B, at least one processor 321B, and at least one set of program code instructions 323B stored in non- transitory memory 322B and executable by the at least one processor 321B)
transmit a deactivation indication to a user equipment (UE) in response to a secondary node (SN) deactivation procedure being initiated at an SN, (Zhou: para. [0195 & 0216 & 0068] In an example, a wireless device may activate/deactivate an SCell in response to receiving an SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE. [00196] In an example, a gNB may transmit, to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising an SCell timer (e.g., sCellDeactivationTimer). In an example, a wireless device may deactivate an SCell in response to an expiry of the SCell timer)
the deactivation indication configures an SN state at the UE as a deactivated state (Zhou: para. [00207] When configured with one or more SCells, a gNB may activate, hibernate, or deactivate at least one of the one or more SCells. In an example, a gNB may transmit one or more RRC messages comprising parameters indicating at least one SCell being set to an active state, a dormant state, or an inactive state, to a wireless device. para. [00194 & 0068 & 00148] When configured with CA, a base station and/or a wireless device may employ an activation/deactivation mechanism of an SCell to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device. When a wireless device is configured with one or more SCells, a gNB may activate or deactivate at least one of the one or more SCells. Upon configuration of an SCell, the SCell may be deactivated unless an SCell state associated with the SCell is set to “activated” or “dormant”)
receive, an indication (Zhou: para. [00148] master base station may be informed by a wireless device of a SCG failure type, for split bearer, a DL data transfer over a master base station may be maintained)
It is noted that Zhou does not explicitly disclose: receive, based at least in part on the deactivation indication, an indication of buffered data for transmission via the SN.
However, Yilmaz from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: receive, based at least in part on the deactivation indication (Yilmaz: page 47 lines 20-35 while SCG is suspended), an indication of buffered data for transmission via the SN. (Yilmaz: page 48 lines 1-5 UE 120 decides to request for the resumption of stored SCG configurations. This may e.g. be due to UL data arrival to an SCG terminated bearer. The indication from the UE 120 to resume the SCG, in RRC_CONNECTED, may be related to the sending of the data volume, e.g. a Buffer Status Report (BSR), to the MN 110 with an indication that the BSR is related to the Secondary Node SN 111). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yilmaz in the method of Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for the handling of the SCG operations, e.g. the handling of resume or suspend operations, is made independent from the handling of the MCG operations. By handling the SCG independently from the handling of the MCG, the SCG does not for example have to be resumed just because the MCG is to be resumed. Thereby, a more efficient usage of the connection between the UE and the communications network is provided. This results in an improved performance of the communications network (Yilmaz: page 24 lines 18-28).
It is noted that Zhou and Yilmaz do not explicitly disclose: setting a threshold associated with data split as infinity based at least in part on the SN being in the deactivated state.
However, Chang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of:
setting a threshold associated with data split as infinity based at least in part on the SN being in the deactivated state; (Chang: para. [0294] after receiving dual connectivity deactivation indication information sent by the first network device, the terminal device determines to perform at least one of the following operations, including (2) if a split bearer is configured, stopping data transmission over the split bearer in the secondary cell group, and/or determining that the primary path is the master cell group, and setting the uplink data split threshold to be infinite) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Chang in the method of Zhou and Yilmaz. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for setting the uplink data split threshold to infinity can fully ensure that the primary path of the split bearer is the MCG after the dual connectivity is deactivated. And this ensures continuity of a service transmitted over the split bearer. This can fully ensure that the primary path that is of the split bearer and that is determined by the terminal device is the MCG. Therefore, impact of communication suspension caused by disabling of the bearer on the SCG side in the split bearer can be reduced. (Chang: para. [0267]), and ensures service continuity of the communication service, and can improve applicability and practicality of the dual connectivity technology (Chang: para. [0288 & 0296 & 0005 & 0007 & 0013 & 0018 & 0059]).
Regarding claim 23, Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang teach the network node of claim 22, wherein the network node comprises the SN, (Zhou: para. [0144] a base station may either act as a master base station or as a secondary base station. In multi connectivity, a wireless device may be connected to one master base station and one or more secondary base stations. In an example, a master base station (e.g. the MN 1130) may provide a master cell group (MCG) comprising a primary cell and/or one or more secondary cells for a wireless device (e.g. the wireless device 110). A secondary base station (e.g. the SN 1150) may provide a secondary cell group (SCG) comprising a primary secondary cell (PSCell) and/or one or more secondary cells for a wireless device (e.g. the wireless device 110) and wherein the at least one processor is further operable to cause the(Zhou; para. [00144-00148] When multi connectivity is configured for a wireless device 110, the wireless device 110, which may support multiple reception/transmission functions in an RRC connected state, may be configured to utilize radio resources provided by multiple schedulers of a multiple base stations. Multiple base stations may be inter-connected via a non- ideal or ideal backhaul (e.g. Xn interface, X2 interface, and/or the like). A base station (corresponds to claim limitation “serving cell”) involved in multi connectivity for a certain wireless device may perform at least one of two different roles: a base station may either act as a master base station or as a secondary base station. In multi connectivity (corresponds to claim limitation “multi-radio connectivity”), a wireless device may be connected to one master base station and one or more secondary base stations. In an example, a master base station (e.g. the MN 1130) may provide a master cell group (MCG) comprising a primary cell and/or one or more secondary cells for a wireless device (e.g. the wireless device 110). A secondary base station (e.g. the SN 1150) may provide a secondary cell group (SCG) comprising a primary secondary cell (PSCell) and/or one or more secondary cells for a wireless device (e.g. the wireless device 110). [00143 ] PIG. 11 A and PIG. 1 IB show packet flows employing a multi connectivity (e.g. dual connectivity (corresponds to claim limitation “MR-DC”), multi connectivity, tight interworking, and/or the like)) wherein the first request message is associated with deactivating the SN or activating the SN. (Zhou: para. [0195 & 0216 & 0068] wireless device may activate/deactivate an SCell in response to receiving an SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE. [00194] wireless device may employ an activation/deactivation mechanism of an SCell to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device. When a wireless device is configured with one or more SCells, a gNB may activate or deactivate at least one of the one or more SCells. Para. [00199] When a wireless device receives an SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE deactivating an activated SCell, the wireless device may deactivate the activated SCell)
Regarding claim 25, Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang teach the network node of claim 22, wherein the at least one processor is further operable to cause the network node to transmit an activation indication to the UE in response to an SN activation procedure being initiated, wherein at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) message or an activation medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) comprises the activation indication. (Zhou: para. [0068 & 00194-00198] base station may transmit a MAC CE comprising one or more fields, the values of the fields indicating activation and/or deactivation of PDCP duplication for the one or more radio bearers. In an example, the one or more processes may comprise Channel State Information (CSI) transmission of on one or more cells. The base station may transmit one or more MAC CEs indicating activation and/or deactivation of the CSI transmission on the one or more cells. In an example, the one or more processes may comprise activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells. In an example, the base station may transmit a MA CE indicating activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells)
Regarding claim 26, Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 22, and therefore method claim 26 is rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. US 20210051767 A1, hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 4, Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang teach the method of claim 3, further comprising transmitting, to the MN, (Zhou: para. [00148] master base station may be informed by a wireless device of a SCG failure type, for split bearer, a DL data transfer over a master base station may be maintained)
Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang do not explicitly teaches: at least one of: an identity (ID) of a bearer; or information regarding the expiry of the timer associated with deactivating the SN of the UE.
Zhang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: at least one of: an identity (ID) of a bearer; or information regarding expiry of the timer associated with deactivating the SN of the UE (Zhang: para. [0216] In response to expiration of the timer, the UE may enter the SCG deactivated state 1222, and inform the network (NW) that the deactivated state has been entered). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Uemura in the method of Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so In the SCG deactivated state 1222, the UE may deactivate (e.g., terminate activity with respect to) secondary cells of the SN and reduce activity with respect to the primary cell of the SN (Zhang: para. [0216]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cirik et al. US 20210159967 A1 (Cirik: para. [0001] application is a continuation of International Application No. PCT/US2019/046204, filed Aug. 12, 2019), hereinafter Cirik, and further in view of Zhang et al. US 20210051767 A1, hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 9, Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang teach the method of claim 8, Zhou does not explicitly teach: further comprising at least one of: in response to the BSR being triggered, deactivating the SN; or triggering, in response to the BSR being triggered, deactivating the SN; or triggering, in response to the BSR being triggered, a random access (RA) procedure to transmit information to the SN, and transmitting the BSR during the RA procedure.
Yilmaz from the same or similar fields of endeavor teach: in response to the BSR being triggered, deactivating the SN; (Yilmaz: page 48 lines 1-5 UE 120 decides to request for the resumption of stored SCG configurations. This may e.g. be due to UL data arrival to an SCG terminated bearer. The indication from the UE 120 to resume the SCG, in RRC_CONNECTED, may be related to the sending of the data volume, e.g. a Buffer Status Report (BSR), to the MN 110 with an indication that the BSR is related to the Secondary Node SN 111. When SCG was suspended page 47 lines 20-35)
Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang do not explicitly teach: restarting, in response to the BSR being triggered, a timer associated with deactivating the SN.
Cirik from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: restarting, in response to the BSR being triggered, a timer associated with deactivating the SN.
(Cirik: claim 5 - restarting the deactivation timer of the first secondary cell in response to transmitting a medium access control protocol data unit in a configured uplink grant on any secondary cell, other than the first secondary cell, in the cell group. Para. [0291] wireless device may start transmitting a buffer status report (BSR) to the second network node) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Cirik in the method of Zhou, Yilmaz and Chang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for topology adaptation for physically fixed relays may be supported to enable robust operation, e.g., mitigate blockage and/or load variation on backhaul links (Cirik: para. [0185]).
Zhou, Yilmaz, Chang and Cirik do not explicitly teach: triggering, in response to the BSR being triggered, a random access (RA) procedure to transmit information to the SN, and transmitting the BSR during the RA procedure.
Zhang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teach: triggering, in response to the BSR being triggered, a random access (RA) procedure to transmit information to the SN, and transmitting the BSR during the RA procedure (Zhang: Fig. 10 and para. [0203] If the UE determines that UL data is available for transmission to the SN (e.g., if SCG DRB data available), the UE may assert a scheduling request (SR) to the SN by initiating a random access procedure (RACH) with respect to the SN, as suggested at 1034, and report (to the SN) the amount of the UL data as part of a buffer status report (BSR). In response to receiving the scheduling request, the SN may send an SCG activation command 1036 to the UE. In response to receiving the SCG activation command, the UE may enter the SCG activated state 1038, wherein activity of the secondary cells of the SCG is restored (or enabled).) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zhang in the method of Zhou, Yilmaz, Chang and Cirik. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for by reducing activity with respect to the secondary node, the UE device may conserve battery power when traffic rate to and/or from the secondary node is low (Zhang: para. [0234 & 0169 & 0178-0179 & 0193]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 18 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 2, 4 – 9, 11, 14 – 15, 18 – 23 and 25 – 27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Pertinent to claim 5 - Kwon US 20150092707 A1 teaches in para. [0115] In this case, as shown in FIG. 15A, the UE identifies and applies information about activation/deactivation indicator(s) of secondary serving cell(s) involved with the MeNB, and ignores information about activation/deactivation indicator(s) for secondary serving cell(s) involved with the SeNB, from the first activation/deactivation MAC CE message. Also, the UE identifies and applies information about activation/deactivation indicator(s) for secondary serving cell(s) involved with the SeNB, and ignores information about activation/deactivation indicator(s) for secondary serving cell(s) involved with the MeNB, from the second activation/deactivation MAC CE message.
Pertinent to claim 1 - Kim et al. US20190124677A1 in para. [0140] teaches if the threshold is not allocated to the corresponding split bearer or the corresponding PDCP, it is understood that an infinite as the threshold is set and the buffer status of the corresponding split bearer is always reported and the data of the corresponding split bearer are transmitted, through the cell group instructed by the ul-DataSplitDRB-ViaSCG)
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418