DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are currently pending
Claims 17-36 were previously withdrawn from consideration
Claims 1, 5 and 7 are currently amended
Claims 1-16 are currently rejected
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 02/17/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (U.S. 2014/0217014 A1) (hereinafter “Na”) in view of LIU, Kangsheng et al. (WO 2021/240149 A1) (hereinafter “Liu”) and further in view of Boniface et al. (U.S. 2016/0244548 A1) (hereinafter “Boniface”).
Regarding Claim 1:
Na teaches a filter (see Na FIGS. 1-2, a filtration membrane 10 and 40, respectively) (see Na paragraphs 7-12 and 73-74) comprising:
a porous support membrane (see FIGS. 1-2, porous support membrane 12) (see paragraphs 73-74); and
a coating layer on the porous support membrane (see FIGS. 1-2, multiple layers 14 and/or layer 44) (see paragraphs 73-74), the coating layer comprising a moiety and a pH-responsive polymer (crosslinkable polymer) (see paragraphs 73-74, 76-77, 82, 98-100, 104, 106, 196, 207 and 279-290), wherein the moiety comprises a hydrophobic alkyl chain, the moiety is attached directly to the porous support membrane (see paragraphs 73-74, 76-77, 82, 98-100, 104, 106, 196, 207 and 279-290 further describing the moiety (hydrophobic alkyl chain) is directly attached to the support membrane 12).
Although Na teaches multiple layers and/or the porous support membrane, Na does not explicitly teach a mesh and does not explicitly teach a first silane moiety, wherein the pH-responsive polymer is attached via a linker, as recited in independent claim 1.
Liu teaches a porous support membrane is a porous substrate mesh (see Liu paragraphs 30-39).
Boniface further teaches multiple layers including silane moieties, wherein a polymer is additionally attached via a linker (see Boniface paragraphs 9-10, 13, 17 and 109-115).
Na and Liu are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter membrane system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to substitute the porous support membrane of Na with the porous substrate mesh of Liu in order to achieve the same desirable result of removing contaminants from a fluid source efficiently and effectively (see Liu paragraphs 30-39).
Na, Liu and Boniface are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter membrane system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter membrane of Na, as modified by Liu, to further add multiple layers including silane moieties, along with a linker, as taught by Boniface, to further allow the multiple coating layers to interconnect with the mesh to further purify a liquid source (see Boniface paragraphs 9-10, 13, 17 and 109-115).
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Na, Liu and Boniface teaches the filter as claimed in claim 1, wherein Na further teaches the pH-responsive polymer (crosslinkable polymer) is a homopolymer of general formula (I) (see claim set for formula) (see Na paragraphs 73-74, 76-77, 82, 98-100, 104, 106, 196, 207 and 279-290),
wherein R1 and R2 are each independently selected from methyl, ethyl, propyl, and isopropyl, wherein R3, R4, and R5 are each independently selected from hydrogen, methyl, and ethyl, and wherein A is a linking group selected from the group consisting of an ester, an amide, an ether, a methylene chain, and any combinations thereof, wherein the pH-responsive polymer is attached to the linker by bonding to at least one amino group in the pH-responsive polymer (see Na multiple chemical structures/formulas) (see Na paragraphs 73-74, 76-77, 82, 98-100, 104, 106, 196, 207 and 279-290).
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Na, Liu and Boniface teaches the combination of Na in view of Boniface teaches the filter as claimed in claim 2, wherein Na further teaches A is of general formula (II) (see Na multiple chemical structures/formulas) (see Na paragraphs 73-74, 76-77, 82, 98-100, 104, 106, 196, 207 and 279-290),
wherein Z is oxygen or NR6, R6 is hydrogen, methyl, or ethyl, wherein mis 1, 2, 3, or 4 (see Na multiple chemical structures/formulas) (see Na paragraphs 73-74, 76-77, 82, 98-100, 104, 106, 196, 207 and 279-290).
Regarding Claim 4:
The combination of Na, Liu and Boniface teaches the filter as claimed in claim 3, wherein Na further teaches Z is oxygen and m is 1 (see Na multiple chemical structures/formulas) (see Na paragraphs 73-74, 76-77, 82, 98-100, 104, 106, 196, 207 and 279-290).
Regarding Claim 5:
The combination of Na, Liu and Boniface teaches the filter as claimed in claim 2, wherein Na further teaches R1 and R2 are methyls, and the pH-responsive polymer is attached to the linker by quaternization of at least one amino group in the pH-responsive polymer (see Na multiple chemical structures/formulas) (see Na paragraphs 73-74, 76-77, 82, 98-100, 104, 106, 196, 207 and 279-290).
Regarding Claim 6:
The combination of Na, Liu and Boniface teaches the filter as claimed in claim 2, wherein Na further teaches R3 and R4 are hydrogen and RS is methyl (see Na multiple chemical structures/formulas) (see Na paragraphs 73-74, 76-77, 82, 98-100, 104, 106, 196, 207 and 279-290).
Regarding Claim 7:
The combination of Na, Liu and Boniface teaches the filter as claimed in claim 2, wherein Na further teaches the pH-responsive polymer is poly(2-(N,N-dimethylamino)ethyl methacrylate) (see Na multiple chemical structures/formulas) (see Na paragraphs 73-74, 76-77, 82, 98-100, 104, 106, 196, 207 and 279-290).
Regarding Claim 8:
The combination of Na, Liu and Boniface teaches the filter as claimed in claim 1, wherein Na further teaches the hydrophobic alkyl chain of the first silane moiety has at least 13 carbon atoms (see Na multiple chemical structures/formulas) (see Na paragraphs 73-74, 76-77, 82, 98-100, 104, 106, 196, 207 and 279-290).
Regarding Claim 9:
The combination of Na, Liu and Boniface teaches the filter as claimed in claim 1, wherein Boniface further teaches the linker comprises a second silane moiety having an alkyl group and an alkoxy group (see Boniface paragraphs 9-10, 13, 17 and 109-115).
Na, Liu and Boniface are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter membrane system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter membrane of Na, as modified by Liu, to further add multiple layers including silane moieties, along with a linker, as taught by Boniface, to further allow the multiple coating layers to interconnect with the mesh to further purify a liquid source (see Boniface paragraphs 9-10, 13, 17 and 109-115).
Regarding Claim 10:
The combination of Na, Liu and Boniface teaches the filter as claimed in claim 9, wherein Boniface further teaches the alkyl group of the second silane moiety has 2 to 6 carbon atoms, preferably 2 to 4 carbon atoms (see Boniface paragraphs 9-10, 13, 17 and 109-115).
Na, Liu and Boniface are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter membrane system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter membrane of Na, as modified by Liu, to further add multiple layers including silane moieties, along with a linker, as taught by Boniface, to further allow the multiple coating layers to interconnect with the mesh to further purify a liquid source (see Boniface paragraphs 9-10, 13, 17 and 109-115).
Regarding Claim 11:
The combination of Na, Liu and Boniface teaches the filter as claimed in claim 9, wherein Boniface further teaches the first silane moiety and/or the second silane moiety are each independently attached to the mesh by 1 to 3 silicon-oxygen bonds, preferably 2 silicon-oxygen bonds, more preferably 3 silicon-oxygen bonds (see Boniface paragraphs 9-10, 13, 17 and 109-115).
Na, Liu and Boniface are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter membrane system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter membrane of Na, as modified by Liu, to further add multiple layers including silane moieties, along with a linker, as taught by Boniface, to further allow the multiple coating layers to interconnect with the mesh to further purify a liquid source (see Boniface paragraphs 9-10, 13, 17 and 109-115).
Regarding Claim 12:
The combination of Na, Liu and Boniface teaches the filter as claimed in claim 1, wherein Na further teaches moiety and the pH-responsive polymer (see Na multiple chemical structures/formulas) (see Na paragraphs 73-74, 76-77, 82, 98-100, 104, 106, 196, 207 and 279-290), and Liu further teaches molar ratios (see Liu paragraphs 30-39 and 58).
Na, Liu and Boniface are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter membrane system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to substitute the porous support membrane of Na, as modified by Boniface, with the porous substrate mesh of Liu, wherein a molar ratio of the first silane moiety to the linker is from 1:4 to 2:1, preferably 1:3 to 1.8:1, more preferably 1:1 to 1.8:1 for optimization purposes (see Liu paragraphs 30-39 and 58).
Regarding Claim 13:
The combination of Na, Liu and Boniface teaches the filter as claimed in claim 1, wherein Na further teaches moiety and the pH-responsive polymer (see Na multiple chemical structures/formulas) (see Na paragraphs 73-74, 76-77, 82, 98-100, 104, 106, 196, 207 and 279-290), and Liu further teaches molar ratios (see Liu paragraphs 30-39 and 58).
Na, Liu and Boniface are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter membrane system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to substitute the porous support membrane of Na, as modified by Boniface, with the porous substrate mesh of Liu, wherein a molar ratio of the first silane moiety to the pH-responsive polymer is from 1:4 to 2:1, preferably 1:3 to 1.8:1, more preferably 1:1 to 1.8:1 for optimization purposes (see Liu paragraphs 30-39 and 58).
Regarding Claim 14:
The combination of Na, Liu and Boniface teaches the filter as claimed in claim 1, wherein Liu further teaches the mesh is made of metal, preferably stainless steel or aluminum, more preferably sintered stainless steel (see Liu paragraphs 30-39).
Na, Liu and Boniface are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter membrane system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to substitute the porous support membrane of Na, as modified by Boniface, with the porous substrate mesh of Liu in order to achieve the same desirable result of removing contaminants from a fluid source efficiently and effectively (see Liu paragraphs 30-39).
Regarding Claim 15:
The combination of Na, Liu and Boniface teaches the filter as claimed in claim 1, wherein Liu further teaches the mesh is treated in an acidic solution and/or temperature treated to make the mesh hydrophilic, preferably at a pH of 2 and lower or at a temperature of 25°C and lower (see Liu paragraphs 30-39).
Na, Liu and Boniface are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter membrane system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to substitute the porous support membrane of Na, as modified by Boniface, with the porous substrate mesh of Liu in order to achieve the same desirable result of removing contaminants from a fluid source efficiently and effectively (see Liu paragraphs 30-39).
Regarding Claim 16:
The combination of Na, Liu and Boniface teaches the filter as claimed in claim 1, wherein Liu further teaches the mesh is treated in an alkaline solution and/or temperature treated to make the mesh oleophilic, preferably treating the mesh at a pH of 8 and higher or at a temperature of at least 55°C (see Liu paragraphs 30-39).
Na, Liu and Boniface are analogous inventions in the art of teaching a filter membrane system and method. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to substitute the porous support membrane of Na, as modified by Boniface, with the porous substrate mesh of Liu in order to achieve the same desirable result of removing contaminants from a fluid source efficiently and effectively (see Liu paragraphs 30-39).
Other Reference Considered
Tan et al. (U.S. 2014/0076815 A1) (hereinafter “Tan”) teaches a separation of oil droplets from water.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The previous claim objections have been considered and are now withdrawn as a result of the current claim amendments.
Applicant’s remarks throughout pages 9-11 of the Remarks section filed on 02/19/2026 focuses on summaries of Na, Liu, and Boniface and what each of the references teach. Furthermore, Applicant argues on pages 11-12 of the Remarks section “Liu describes a mesh as a support that is missing in Na. Boniface describes a linker X to attach a pH-responsive moiety, but Boniface does not describe a first silane moiety comprising a hydrophobic alkyl chain, the first silane moiety is attached directly to the mesh. No possible combination of these references would result in the features of claim 1.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner reminds Applicant to view the rejection as a combination of references, and not individually or separately.
Na teaches a filter (see Na FIGS. 1-2, a filtration membrane 10 and 40, respectively) (see Na paragraphs 7-12 and 73-74) comprising a porous support membrane and a coating layer comprising a moiety and a pH-responsive polymer (see FIGS. 1-2, porous support membrane 12) (see FIGS. 1-2, multiple layers 14 and/or layer 44) (see paragraphs 73-74, 76-77, 82, 98-100, 104, 106, 196, 207 and 279-290).
Liu is merely used to teach a concept of a porous substrate mesh (see Liu paragraphs 30-39). Boniface further teaches multiple layers including silane moieties, wherein a polymer is additionally attached via a linker (see Boniface paragraphs 9-10, 13, 17 and 109-115).
As a result, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter membrane of Na, as modified by the porous substrate mesh of Liu, to further add multiple layers including silane moieties, along with a linker, as taught by Boniface, to further allow the multiple coating layers to interconnect with the mesh to further purify a liquid source (see Boniface paragraphs 9-10, 13, 17 and 109-115).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AKASH K VARMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773