Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (JP2019034254A; see machine translation) in view of Ryu (KR20060101683A; see machine translation).
Regarding Claims 1 & 4, a method for treating waste lithium-ion batteries (see abstract), the method comprising pulverizing a waste lithium-ion battery and then heat-treating in a range of temperatures equal to or more than a temperature at which an electrolytic solution is evaporated to dryness and less than a temperature at which fluororesin is thermally decomposed (as required by Claim 1) and wherein the heat treatment is performed at a temperature in a range of 100 to 450°C (as required by Claim 4), Nakamura teaches a method for treating a waste lithium-ion battery (see abstract) wherein said method involves heating the waste lithium-ion battery at 100°C to 250°C and then roasting the heated waste lithium-ion battery at 300°C to 650°C (see [0015]) which reads on wherein the heat treatment is performed at a temperature in a range of 100 to 450°C. Nakamura further teaches that the heating process of the waste lithium-ion battery at 100°C to 250°C allows for the volatilization of the electrolytic solution (see [0028]) and specifically teaches a heating temperature of 200°C held for 1 hour (see [0036]) which reads on heat-treating in a range of temperatures equal to or more than a temperature at which an electrolytic solution is evaporated to dryness and less than a temperature at which fluororesin is thermally decomposed. Nakamura further teaches a roasting temperature of 450°C held for 3 hours for roasting the heated waste lithium-ion battery which allows for the processing of the battery without explosion (see [0036]-0037]).
Namura is silent on the pulverizing step occurring before the heat-treating step of a waste lithium-ion battery.
Ryu however teaches a dry separation method for treating waste lithium-ion battery (see L1/P2). Ryu further teaches that the method for treating waste lithium-ion battery involves a first step of crushing at least one waste lithium-ion battery and then drying the crushed material to remove the electrolyte (L3-4/P3). Ryu further teaches that the dry separation method prevents secondary contamination (see L14-17/P2 – L1/P3) and further discloses that the drying time can be determined by the amount of crushed material (see L14-15/P4).
Nakamura and Ryu are analogous art to the claimed invention as both reference are in the field of recycling lithium-ion waste batteries. Ryu discloses a dry separation method of crushing a waste lithium-ion battery to extract cobalt or cobalt oxide before subjecting to a heat-treatment step, Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dry separation method of Ryu to pulverize a waste lithium-ion battery (as shown by Nakamura) before heat treatment as doing so would minimize secondary contamination and also allow for controlling the drying time depending on the amount of crushed material to be heat-treated.
Claims 2 & 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (JP2019034254A; see machine translation) in view of Ban (JP2005042189A; see machine translation).
Regarding Claims 2 & 5, a method for treating waste lithium-ion batteries, wherein, the method comprising heat-treating a waste lithium-ion battery in a range of temperatures equal to or more than a temperature at which an electrolytic solution is evaporated to dryness and less than a temperature at which fluororesin is thermally decomposed and then pulverizing the waste lithium-ion battery to provide battery powder (as required by claim 2) and wherein the heat treatment is performed at a temperature in a range of 100 to 450°C (as required by Claim 5), Nakamura teaches a method for treating a waste lithium-ion battery (see abstract) wherein said method involves heating the waste lithium-ion battery at 100°C to 250°C and then roasting the heated waste lithium-ion battery at 300°C to 650°C (see [0015]) which reads on wherein the heat treatment is performed at a temperature in a range of 100 to 450°C. Nakamura further teaches that the heating process of the waste lithium-ion battery at 100°C to 250°C allows for the volatilization of the electrolytic solution (see [0028]) and specifically teaches a heating temperature of 200°C held for 1 hour (see [0036]) which reads on heat-treating in a range of temperatures equal to or more than a temperature at which an electrolytic solution is evaporated to dryness and less than a temperature at which fluororesin is thermally decomposed. Nakamura further teaches a roasting temperature of 450°C held for 3 hours for roasting the heated waste lithium-ion battery which allows for the processing of the battery without explosion (see [0036]-0037]).
Nakamura is silent on pulverizing the waste lithium-ion battery to provide battery powder after the heat-treating step.
Ban however teaches a crushing step for crushing lithium-ion battery that has been heat-treated which produces a combination of both coarse metal scrap and fine roasted ash (see [0022]). The crushed material is further sieved to separate the fine roasted ash (see [0023]). Thereafter the roasted ash is further reacted with an acid solution to further extract cobalt (see [[0033]). Ban further teaches that when cobalt is to be recovered from the positive electrode, either roasting or crushing may be performed first (see [0039]).
Nakamura and Ban are analogous art to the claimed invention as both reference are in the field of recycling lithium-ion waste batteries. Ban discloses a method of crushing a heat-treated lithium-ion battery after heat treatment, and further discloses that the either roasting or crushing may be performed first when cobalt is to be recovered from the positive electrode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pulverize before heat-treating waste lithium-ion to produce roasted ash (as shown by Ban) which can be further reacted with an acid solution to further extract cobalt.
Conclusion
/F.V.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725
March 31, 2026