DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-5, 8-11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Bach et al (US 2016/0334094 A1) . Claim 1 , Bach (Fig. 1-4) discloses a multi-layer touchscreen assembly (Fig. 2; Paragraph [0027]; wherein discloses “ user interface assembly 140 may include a display assembly 160 for receiving inputs from user interface substrate 130 and displaying information in or on user interface substrate 130”) for an appliance (100; Fig. Paragraph [0023]; wherein discloses a cooktop appliance) , comprising: a panel (130; Fig. 2; wherein discloses a user interface substrate 130) comprising an outer touchscreen surface (142; Fig. 2; wherein discloses a primary surface and [0029] discloses a touch inputs on user interface substrate 130 ) ; an opaque layer (148; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0034]; wherein discloses “secondary surface 144 of user interface substrate 130 may be printed or coated with one or more layers of an opaque coating 148 , such as a paint or a plastic film heat-bonded to secondary surface 144”) positioned below the touchscreen surface (130; Fig. 2) and having at least one transparent area (149; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0036]; wherein discloses “As shown in FIG. 2, portions of secondary surface 144 are left, uncoated, unpainted, or uncovered. These uncoated, unpainted, or uncovered portions form windows 149 through which light from light sources 164 may pass to illuminate features such as, e.g., text, digits, graphics, and/or symbols, in or on user interface substrate 130 ”) therein defining lighting (164; Fig. 2) of at least one visual touch control region (132; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0022]; wherein discloses “ user interface assembly 140 includes one or more capacitive touch input components 132 ”) ; a printed circuit board (162 and 166; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0027]; wherein discloses a first printed circuit board 162 and a second printed circuit board 166) positioned below the opaque layer (148; Fig. 2) , the printed circuit board (162; Fig. 2) comprising a plurality of light-emitting diodes (164; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0027]; wherein discloses “ Each light source 164 may be, e.g., a polychromatic light emitting diode (“LED”) such as a white LED ”) proximate one or more corresponding capacitive touch sensors (166; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0029]; wherein discloses “ Second printed circuit board 166 may include a capacitive touch sensing system , whereby cooktop 100 is controlled at least in part through touch inputs on user interface substrate 130 by a user of cooktop 100, e.g., through c apacitive touch input components 132”) of a first visual touch control region (132; Fig. 1 ) of the one or more visual touch control regions (132; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0022]; wherein discloses “ user interface assembly 140 includes one or more capacitive touch input components 132 ”) , and the one or more capacitive touch sensors (166; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0029] ) configured to provide a visual indication ( Paragraph [0022]; wherein discloses “User interface 130 also includes a display component 134, such as a digital or analog display device designed to provide operational feedback to a user” ) of a control aspect of the appliance (Paragraph [0022]; wherein discloses “ Touch input components 132 can be used as part of a capacitive touch sensing system and can allow for the selective activation, adjustment or control of any or all heating assemblies 120 as well as any timer features or other user adjustable inputs”) according to a user's touch input (132; Fig. 1) ; and at least one diffusion portion (150; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0031]; wherein discloses “ light transmissive layer 150 is a light diffu sion or diffu sive layer , i.e., a diffu ser, that diffu ses the light from light sources 164 to provide uniform illumination of text, digits, graphics, or other features in or on user interface substrate 130”) operatively positioned between the opaque layer (148; Fig. 2) at a transparent area thereof (149; Fig. 2) and the printed circuit board (162; Fig. 2) at the first visual touch control region (132; Fig. 1) . Claim 10 , Bach (Fig. 1-4) discloses a n appliance (100; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0021]; wherein discloses “I n some embodiments, user interface substrate 130 of assembly 140 is incorporated into or may form the control panel of an appliance ”) , comprising: an operative component (120; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0022]; wherein discloses heating assemblies) that is controllable (Paragraph [0023]; wherein discloses a controller) according to at least a controllable aspect (140; Fig. 1; wherein discloses an interface assembly) ; and a multi-layer touchscreen assembly (140; Fig. 2; wherein figure shows multiple layers) operatively connected to the operative component (120; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0022]; wherein discloses “ Touch input compo nents 132 can be used as part of a capacitive touch sensing system and can allow for the selective activation, adjustment or control of any or all heating assemblies 120 ” ), the multi-layer touchscreen assembly 140; Fig. 2) comprising: a panel (130; Fig. 2; wherein discloses a user interface substrate 130) comprising an outer touchscreen surface (142; Fig. 2; wherein discloses a primary surface) ; an opaque layer (148; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0034]; wherein discloses “secondary surface 144 of user interface substrate 130 may be printed or coated with one or more layers of an opaque coating 148 , such as a paint or a plastic film heat-bonded to secondary surface 144”) positioned below the touchscreen surface (130; Fig. 2) and having at least one transparent area (149; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0036]; wherein discloses “As shown in FIG. 2, portions of secondary surface 144 are left, uncoated, unpainted, or uncovered. These uncoated, unpainted, or uncovered portions form windows 149 through which light from light sources 164 may pass to illuminate features such as, e.g., text, digits, graphics, and/or symbols, in or on user interface substrate 130 ”) therein defining lighting (164; Fig. 2) of at least one visual touch control region (132; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0022]; wherein discloses “ user interface assembly 140 includes one or more capacitive touch input components 132 ”); a printed circuit board (162 and 166; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0027]; wherein discloses a first printed circuit board 162 and a second printed circuit board 166) positioned below the opaque layer (148; Fig. 2) , the printed circuit board (162; Fig. 2) comprising a plurality of light-emitting diodes (164; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0027]; wherein discloses “ Each light source 164 may be, e.g., a polychromatic light emitting diode (“LED”) such as a white LED ”) proximate one or more corresponding capacitive touch sensors (166; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0029]; wherein discloses “ Second printed circuit board 166 may include a capacitive touch sensing system , whereby cooktop 100 is controlled at least in part through touch inputs on user interface substrate 130 by a user of cooktop 100, e.g., through c apacitive touch input components 132”) of a first visual touch control region (132; Fig. 1 ) of the one or more visual touch control regions (132; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0022]; wherein discloses “ user interface assembly 140 includes one or more capacitive touch input components 132 ”) , and the one or more capacitive touch sensors (166; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0029] ) configured to provide a visual indication (Paragraph [0022]; wherein discloses “User interface 130 also includes a display component 134, such as a digital or analog display device designed to provide operational feedback to a user”) of a control aspect of the appliance (Paragraph [0022]; wherein discloses “ Touch input components 132 can be used as part of a capacitive touch sensing system and can allow for the selective activation, adjustment or control of any or all heating assemblies 120 as well as any timer features or other user adjustable inputs”) according to a user's touch input (132; Fig. 1) ; and at least one diffusion portion (150; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0031]; wherein discloses “ light transmissive layer 150 is a light diffu sion or diffu sive layer , i.e., a diffu ser, that diffu ses the light from light sources 164 to provide uniform illumination of text, digits, graphics, or other features in or on user interface substrate 130”) operatively positioned between the opaque layer (148; Fig. 2) at a transparent area thereof (149; Fig. 2) and the printed circuit board (162; Fig. 2) at the first visual touch control region (132; Fig. 1) . Claim 19 , Bach (Fig. 1-4) discloses a method of making (Fig. 2; wherein figure shows an arrangement used to shows the method of making a touchscreen device 140) a touchscreen assembly (Fig. 2; Paragraph [0027]; wherein discloses “ user interface assembly 140 may include a display assembly 160 for receiving inputs from user interface substrate 130 and displaying information in or on user interface substrate 130”) for use in an appliance (100; Fig. Paragraph [0023]; wherein discloses a cooktop appliance) , comprising: providing a printed circuit board (162 and 166 ; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0027]; wherein discloses a first printed circuit board 162 and a second printed circuit board 166 ) comprising a plurality of light-emitting diodes (164; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0027]; wherein discloses “ Each light source 164 may be, e.g., a polychromatic light emitting diode (“LED”) such as a white LED ”) proximate one or more corresponding capacitive touch sensors (166; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0029]; wherein discloses “ Second printed circuit board 166 may include a capacitive touch sensing system , whereby cooktop 100 is controlled at least in part through touch inputs on user interface substrate 130 by a user of cooktop 100, e.g., through c apacitive touch input components 132”) of a first visual touch control region (132; Fig. 1 ) , the capacitive touch sensors (166; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0029] ) configured to selectively control (Paragraph [0022]; wherein discloses “ Touch input components 132 can be used as part of a capacitive touch sensing system and can allow for the selective activation, adjustment or control of any or all heating assemblies 120 ”) the appliance (100; Fig. 1) according to a user's touch input (132; Fig. 1) ; providing a diffusion holder (150; Fig. 2 and 3; Paragraph [0031]) holding at least one diffusion portion (157; Fig. 3) located above the first visual touch control region (166; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0029] ) of the printed circuit board (166; Fig. 2) ; providing an opaque layer (148; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0034]; wherein discloses “secondary surface 144 of user interface substrate 130 may be printed or coated with one or more layers of an opaque coating 148 , such as a paint or a plastic film heat-bonded to secondary surface 144”) having at least a transparent area (149; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0036]; wherein discloses “As shown in FIG. 2, portions of secondary surface 144 are left, uncoated, unpainted, or uncovered. These uncoated, unpainted, or uncovered portions form windows 149 through which light from light sources 164 may pass to illuminate features such as, e.g., text, digits, graphics, and/or symbols, in or on user interface substrate 130 ”) above the diffusion holder (150; Fig. 2) and diffusion portion (157; Fig. 3) ; and providing a touchscreen surface (130; Fig. 2; wherein discloses a user interface substrate 130) above the opaque layer (148; Fig. 2) . Claim s 2 and 16 , Bach (Fig. 1-4) discloses comprising a plurality of diffusion portions (157; Fig. 3; wherein in figure shows at least 5 different diffusion portions ) , each corresponding to a different visual touch control region (132; Fig. 1) of the touchscreen surface (142; Fig. 2) and thus positioned between plural corresponding transparent areas (149; Fig. 2) of the opaque layer (148; Fig. 2) and additional visual touch control regions of the printed circuit board (166; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0029]) . Claim s 3 and 17 , Bach (Fig. 1-4) discloses wherein the plural diffusion portions (157; Fig. 3; wherein in figure shows at least 5 different diffusion portions ) are operatively positioned at least partially within shaped openings (157; Fig. 3; wherein discloses voids) of a diffusion holder (152; Fig. 3 ; wherein discloses a diffusive substrate which holds the elements on front and back surfaces ) that is also operatively positioned between the opaque layer (148; Fig. 2) and the printed circuit board (166; Fig. 2) . Claim 4 , Bach (Fig. 1-4) discloses wherein the plural diffusion portions (157; Fig. 3; wherein in figure shows at least 5 different diffusion portions ) are connected to one another by connecting runners (159; Fig. 3) to position the plural diffusion portions within the shaped openings (157; Fig. 3; wherein discloses voids) of the diffusion holder (152; Fig. 3; wherein discloses a diffusive substrate which holds the elements on front and back surfaces) in a similar manner relative to the diffusion holder (152; Fig. 3) . Claim 5 , Bach (Fig. 1-4) discloses wherein the diffusion holder (152; Fig. 3; wherein discloses a diffusive substrate which holds the elements on front and back surfaces) is of a similar thickness as the plural diffusion portions (157; Fig. 3; wherein discloses voids and therefore has the same thickness as the diffusive substrate) and the connecting runners (159; Fig. 3) are thinner (Paragraph [0039]; wherein discloses opaque ink which is less than the diffusive substrate) than the plural diffusion portions (159; Fig. 3) and are positioned within like thickness grooves of the diffusion holder 152; Fig. 3; wherein discloses a diffusive substrate which holds the elements on front and back surfaces) . Claim s 8 and 18 , Bach (Fig. 1-4) discloses wherein the plurality of light-emitting diodes (164; Fig. 2) is located on a same side of the printed circuit board (162; Fig. 2; wherein the first printed circuit board 162 has the light sources 164 arranged on the same side as the second printed circuit broad 166 with a capacitive touch sensing system; Paragraph [0029]) as the corresponding touch sensors (166; Fig. 2) . Claim 9 , Bach (Fig. 1-4) discloses further comprising a second plurality of light-emitted diodes (164; Fig. 4; wherein figure shows light source s 164 that are associated with element 134 in figure 1 ) proximate one or more corresponding touch sensors (158; Fig. 4; wherein figure show up and down input regions) of a second visual touch control region (134; Fig. 1) . Claim 11 , Bach (Fig. 1-4) discloses wherein the one or more corresponding touch sensors of the first visual touch control region (132; Fig. 1) are operatively connected to a controller (Paragraph [0023]; wherein discloses a controller) configured to control the operative component (120; Fig. 1) . Claim 14 , Bach (Fig. 1-4) discloses wherein the operative component is a heating element (120; Fig. 1 ; Paragraph [0018]; wherein discloses heating assemblies 120 ) . Claim 15 , Bach (Fig. 1-4) discloses wherein the printed circuit board (160; Fig. 2) is the only printed circuit board ( Paragraph [0029]; wherein discloses “In some embodiments, only one printed circuit board may be provided , with the one printed circuit board having the desired components and capabilities attributed to first printed circuit board 162 and second printed circuit board 166”) in the touchscreen assembly (140: Fig. 4) . Claim 20 , Bach (Fig. 1-4) discloses wherein the diffusion layer (150; Fig. 2) and diffusion holder (157; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0039]; wherein discloses “second ink 159 defines voids 157 through which light from light sources 164 may pass to illuminate features of user interface assembly 140”) are provided substantially co-planar (Fig. 2 and 3; therefore support substate 152 has void areas 157 arranged on it so that is co-planer) such that the diffusion holder (150; Fig. 2) holds the diffusion layer flush respective to the opaque layer (148; Fig. 2) and the printed circuit board (162 and 166; Fig. 2) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim 6 i s rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bach et al (US 2016/0334094 A1) in view of Bach et al (US 2016/0299595 A1) . Claim 6 , Bach discloses t he touchscreen assembly of claim 1 . Bach does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of light-emitting diodes is greater in number than the number of corresponding touch sensors. Bach (Fig. 1-7C) discloses wherein the plurality of light-emitting diodes (162; Fig. 6) is greater in number (Fig. 6; wherein figure shows multiple light element 162 within a single touch sensing region) than the number of corresponding touch sensors (131; Fig. 6) . Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bach ’s appliance touch screen by applying a lighting arrangement, as taught by Bach, so to use an appliance touch screen with a lighting arrangement for provid ing a user interface for an appliance with features for displaying information about multiple operating states of the appliance within an area for selecting an operative state (Paragraph [0005]). Claim 7 i s rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bach et al (US 2016/0334094 A1) in view of Alexander (US 2017/0292713 A1) . Claim 7 , Bach (Fig. 1-4) discloses wherein at least one of the combination of (Fig. 2) a transparent area (149; Fig. 2) of the opaque layer (148; Fig. 2) , a diffusion portion (150; Fig. 2) , and a visual touch control region (160; Fig. 2) of the printed circuit board (166; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0029]) form a n input control (132; Fig. 1) . Bach does not expressly disclose w herein an input control is a slider control that is of greater width from one end thereof to another end thereof. Alexander (Fig. 1-3) discloses w herein an input control (20; Fig. 2 and 3) is a slider control (32; Fig. 3; Paragraph [0032]) that is of greater width from one end thereof to another end thereof (Fig. 3; wherein figure show markings of touch based slider that increase in width and distance) . Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bach ’s appliance touch screen by applying a slider control , as taught by Alexander , so to use an appliance touch screen with a slider control for providing by increasing the perceived friction to the user when increasing a setting, the touch sensor array 32 can be operated more accurately and precisely and also provid e physical, real-time feedback to the user indicative of the magnitude of his control input ( Paragraph [0031] ). Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bach et al (US 2016/0334094 A1) in view of Kolar et al (US 2017/0295997 A1) . Claim 12 , Bach discloses t he appliance of claim 10 . Bach does not expressly disclose wherein the operative component is a motor. Kolar (Fig. 1-5) discloses wherein the operative component is a motor (210; Fig. 1) . Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bach ’s appliance touch screen by applying a motor, as taught by Kolar, so to use an appliance touch screen with a motor for providing a user may need to operate the appliance without looking at the controls ( Paragraph [0003] ). Claim 13 , Kolar (Fig. 1-5) discloses wherein the appliance is a blender (200; Fig. 2; wherein figure shows a blender) . Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bach ’s appliance touch screen by applying a motor, as taught by Kolar, so to use an appliance touch screen with a motor for providing a user may need to operate the appliance without looking at the controls (Paragraph [0003]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ADAM J SNYDER whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3460 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 8am-4:30pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Chanh D Nguyen can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-7772 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Adam J Snyder/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623 03/04/2026