DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 3/19/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 10-2016-0097537 A, hereinafter Kim, cited by applicant) in view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0057700 A1, hereinafter Huang).
Re Claim 1. Kim teaches a separator (abstract) comprising:
a porous polymer substrate (para. 42) having a plurality of pores;
a first porous coating layer (para. 15 & 31) on a first surface of the porous polymer substrate, wherein the first porous coating layer comprises a plurality of first inorganic particles and first binder particles on a part or all of a surface of the first inorganic particles to connect and fix the first inorganic particles to each other (para. 15); and
a second porous coating layer (para. 15 & 31) on a second surface of the porous polymer substrate, wherein the second porous coating layer comprises a plurality of second inorganic particles and second binder particles on a part or all of a surface of the second inorganic particles to connect and fix the second inorganic particles to each other (para. 15).
Kim fails to specifically teach that an average particle diameter of the second binder particles is 10 or more times larger than an average particle diameter of the first binder particles.
The invention of Huang encompasses electrochemical device. Huang teaches that an average particle diameter of the second binder particles is 6 or more times larger than an average particle diameter of the first binder particles (para. 43 & 44).
In view of Huang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Kim to have an average particle diameter of the second binder particles is 6 or more times larger than an average particle diameter of the first binder particles, since Huang teaches the advantage of doing it, which is to provide good adhesive force and improved the cycle performance of the electrochemical device (para. 25).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
Re Claim 2. The combination teaches wherein the average particle diameter of the second binder particles is 6 to 3000 times larger than the average particle diameter of the first binder particles (Huang, para. 44).
Re Claim 3. The combination teaches wherein the first and second binder particles are each independently a water-based binder polymer (Huang, para. 19).
Re Claim 4. The combination teaches wherein the first and second binder particles are each independently any one or more selected from the group consisting of a polyacrylic polymer (para. 19).
Re Claim 5. The combination teaches wherein the first binder particles have an average particle diameter of 5 μm or smaller, and the second binder particles have an average particle diameter of 0.5 μm or larger (Huang, para. 44).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
3/26/2026