Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e R1-2007765, Discussion on Multi-TRP Inter-cell Operation, ZTE, (13.11.2020) (hereafter 3GPP R1-2007765).
Regarding claim 14, 3GPP R1-2007765 teaches a remote unit for wireless communication (see the mobile device/terminal shown in Fig. 2, page 2 of 3GPP R1-2007765), comprising: receive a configuration of different CORESETPoolIndex values for different control resource sets (CORESET) (see the teaching on page 2 of 3GPP R1-2007765 of “In order to support the utilization of SSBs from the neighbor cell TRP as the QCL source, all TCI states should be split into two groups, where each of them is associated with serving cell or neighbor cell.”), wherein CORESETPooIlndex=0 is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCID) of a serving cell (see the teaching on pages 2 and of 3GPP R1-2007765 of “In more detail, CORESETPoolIndex =0 corresponds to the serving cell”), and a higher layer parameter CORESETPooIndex=1 is associated with the PCID of a non-serving cell that is different from the PCID of the serving cell (see the teaching on page 2 of 3GPP R1-2007765 of “…and CORESETPoolIndex =1 corresponds to the neighbor cell” which has been mapped to applicant's recited “non-serving cell”); and receive a configuration of a synchronization signal block (SSB) from the non-serving cell configured as a reference signal (RS) to a signal associated with CORESETPooIndex=1 (see the teaching on page 2 of 3GPP R1-2007765 of “Since SCS of SSB in different neighbor cells can be different, if the SSB comes from the physical cell of the coordinated neighbor cell, SCS of the SSB should be informed to UE as well. Some other parameters to assist UE identifying the SSB from the neighbor cell, such as SMTC. Due to the neighbor cell information, i.e. MeasObjectNR for mobility measurement are always configured in RRC connection state, we do not need to repeatedly configure all above parameters of a neighbor cell. Specifically, all parameters including PCIs of multiple neighbor cells, ARFCN-ValueNR for center frequency, SCS, etc., are included inMeasObjectNR configured for each UE, each of which is identified by MeasObjectID. Thus, in order to associate a TCI state with a SSB from a neighbor cell, MeasObjectId and PCI are sufficient.”).
Regarding claim 23, the subject matter of this claim is substantially similar to the subject matter of claim 14 except claim 13 recites a “base unit” and the “configurations” are transmitted rather than “received” and is anticipated by the “base units” shown in Figures 2 and 3 of 3GPP R1-2007765. Therefore, it is rejected under 3GPP R1-2007765 for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
8. Claims 1 8, 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e R1-2007765, Discussion on Multi-TRP Inter-cell Operation, ZTE, (13.11.2020) (hereafter 3GPP R1-2007765) in view of Mondal et al (WO 2020/092468 A1), hereinafter Mondal.
Regarding claim 1, the 3GPP R1-2007765 teaches the following limitations recited in claim 1: A remote unit for wireless communication (see the mobile device/terminal shown in Fig. 2, page 2 of 3GPP R1-2007765), comprising:
receive a configuration of different CORESETPoolIndex values for different control resource sets (CORESET) (see the teaching on page 2 of 3GPP R1-2007765 of “In order to support the utilization of SSBs from the neighbor cell TRP as the QCL source, all TCI states should be split into two groups, where each of them is associated with serving cell or neighbor cell.”), wherein CORESETPooIlndex=0 is associated with a physical cell identifier (PCID) of a serving cell (see the teaching on pages 2 and of 3GPP R1-2007765 of “In more detail, CORESETPoolIndex =0 corresponds to the serving cell”) and a higher layer parameter CORESETPooIndex=1 is associated with a PCID of a non-serving cell that is different from the PCID of the serving cell (see the teaching on page 2 of 3GPP R1-2007765 of “…and CORESETPoolIndex =1 corresponds to the neighbor cell” which has been mapped to applicant's recited “non-serving cell”); and receive a configuration of a synchronization signal block (SSB) from the non-serving cell configured as a reference signal (RS) to a signal associated with CORESETPooIndex=1 (see the teaching on page 2 of 3GPP R1-2007765 of “Since SCS of SSB in different neighbor cells can be different, if the SSB comes from the physical cell of the coordinated neighbor cell, SCS of the SSB should be informed to UE as well. Some other parameters to assist UE identifying the SSB from the neighbor cell, such as SMTC. Due to the neighbor cell information, i.e. MeasObjectNR for mobility measurement are always configured in RRC connection state, we do not need to repeatedly configure all above parameters of a neighbor cell. Specifically, all parameters including PCIs of multiple neighbor cells, ARFCN-ValueNR for center frequency, SCS, etc., are included inMeasObjectNR configured for each UE, each of which is identified by MeasObjectID. Thus, in order to associate a TCI state with a SSB from a neighbor cell, MeasObjectId and PCI are sufficient.”).
However, 3GPP R1-2007765 does not specifically teach that the disclosed “remote unit” includes “at least one memory”; and “at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory”.
Mondal is from the same field of endeavor as the instant application and teaches in Fig. 2A a “remote unit” for wireless communication identified as element 120 that as described in para. [0011] and illustrated in Fig. 4, includes at least one memory illustrated as element 420; and at least one processor illustrated as elements 130 and 405 in Fig. 4 and discussed in para. [0011] and [0066] coupled with the at least one memory.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary level of skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the subject matter 3GPP R1-2007765 by using “at least one memory and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory” in the circuitry of the “remote unit” taught by 3GPP R1-2007765 because such a modification would ensure fast and rich content delivery in wireless communication service as Mondal indicates in para. [0010] is desired in new radio (NR) technology.
Regarding claim 8, in the 3GPP R1-2007765, the PCID of the non-serving cell is associated with a neighboring cell configured in measurement objects for a UE, see the teaching on page 2 of 3GPP R1-2007765.
Regarding claim 13, the subject matter of this claim is substantially similar to the subject matter of claim 1, except claim 13 recites a “base unit” and the “configurations” are transmitted rather than “received” and is anticipated by the “base units” shown in Figures 2 and 3 of 3GPP R1-2007765.
However, Mondal is from the same field of endeavor as the instant application and teaches in Fig. 2A a “base unit” for wireless communication identified as element 100 that as described in para. [0011] and illustrated in Fig. 5, includes least one memory illustrated as element 520; and at least one processor illustrated as elements 110 and 505 in Fig. 5 and discussed in para. [0011] and [0065] coupled with the at least one memory.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary level of skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the subject matter 3GPP R1-2007765 by using “at least one memory and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory” in the circuitry of the “base unit” taught by 3GPP R1-2007765 because such a modification would ensure fast and rich content delivery in wireless communication service as Mondal indicates in para. [0010] is desired in new radio (NR) technology.
Regarding claim 21, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 8. Therefore, it is rejected under 3GPP R1-2007765 & Mondal for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 8.
9. Claims 2-5, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP R1-2007765, in view of Mondal, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0239823), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 2, 3GPP R1-2007765 and Mondal disclose all claimed limitations, except a tracking reference signal (TRS) contained in a transmission control information (TCI) state activated for a CORESET configured with CORESETPoolIndex= 1 is quasi co-located (QCLed) [with the SSB from the non-serving cell].
Liu in the same field of endeavor as the instant application teaches: (1) TCI state linking to a TRS, see 0077; (2) a Coreset configured with TCI state(s) including QCL to the non-serving SSB directly or indirectly is for the TRP associated with the non-serving SSB, i.e., effectively assigned with CORESETPoolIndex 1, see 0122.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Liu into the combined system of 3GPP R1-2007765 and Liu. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to define a chain of relationships/links that associate a RS, directly using one link or indirectly using multiple links, to another RS/SSB.
Regarding claim 3, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected under 3GPP R1-2007765 & Mondal & Liu for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 2. Liu teaches PDSCH in association with QCL with the SSB from the non-serving cell, see 0122.
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP R1-2007765 and Mondal disclose all claimed limitations, except wherein an SSB configured for a spatial relation for physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and sounding reference signal (SRS) associated [with CORESETPoolIndex=I is associated with the PCID of the non-serving cell].
Liu, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, teaches all UL signals/channels (PUCCH/PUSCH/SRS/DMRS/PTRS/PRACH) should also be QCLed (or via spatial relation, via pathloss RS relation, etc.) to a TRS/SSB and belong to the TAG associated with that TRS/SSB, see 0122.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Liu
into the combined system of 3GPP R1-2007765 & Mondale. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide more than one SSB directly/indirectly to support more general M-TRP operations, as well as other transmissions/ receptions to the inter-cell TRP via the QCL relation linking to the non-serving SSB
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP R1-2007765 and Mondal disclose all claimed limitations, except wherein an SSB configured for pathloss reference signal (PL-RS) for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and sounding reference signal (SRS) associated with [CORESETPoolIndex=1 is associated with the PCID of the non-serving cell].
Liu, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, teaches the UL signal relation to some other signals, such as the pathloss RS relation, the spatial relation info, the relation defined by SRI, etc., may be generally viewed as extended QCL relation. Thus, each UL signal, such as SRS and PUCCH/PUSCH DMRS, can be “QCLed” to a SSB directly or indirectly, see 0130.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Liu
into the combined system of 3GPP R1-2007765 & Mondale. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to calculate an estimated pathloss in accordance with the SSB.
Regarding claim 15, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 2. Therefore, it is rejected under 3GPP R1-2007765 & Mondal & Liu for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 3. Therefore, it is rejected under 3GPP R1-2007765 & Mondal & Liu for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 4. Therefore, it is rejected under 3GPP R1-2007765 & Mondal & Liu for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 5. Therefore, it is rejected under 3GPP R1-2007765 & Mondal & Liu for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 5.
Allowable subject matter
10. Claims 6-7, 9-10 and 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DUC C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465