DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending and are subject to this office action. Claim 1 is amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s response filed on 03/09/2026 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5, filed 03/09/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to require that the cover is configured to be detached and reattached to the main housing by a user. Liu does not explicitly disclose how the display screen (3, “cover”) is attached to the casing (2, “main housing”). Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of a combination of previously applied prior art and newly found prior art.
Therefore, the rejection below is maintained and modified where necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 203505584 U, as cited on IDS dated 07/11/2023, and hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided) in view of Begin (US 20200345960 A1, as cited on IDS dated 12/18/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses an electronic cigarette (Fig. 1), comprising:
A casing (2, “main housing”), display screen (3, “a cover”), and an atomizer (4) configured to generate an aerosol (Fig. 1, [0013]). The casing (2), the display screen (3), and components contained within the device are considered to meet the claim limitation of a main body.
The display screen (3, “a cover”) covers the sidewall of the casing (2) when the display screen (3) is mated with the casing (2). An outer surface of the main housing is interpreted as the external circumferential surface of the casing (2) and the surface of the sidewall that mates with the display screen (3). Therefore, the display screen (3) covers a portion of an outer surface of the casing (2).
The display screen is convenient to install ([0007]). “Releasably attached” is interpreted as a cover that can be attached or detached from the main housing. Liu discloses the cover (3) and main housing (2) are separate components (Fig. 2) therefore they are capable of being attached and detached.
The display screen (3) comprises electronic paper on its externally visible surface (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0014]). The electronic paper comprises black and white charged particles that form a black and white display where the white particles reflect ambient light and black particles absorb (“light scattering”) ambient light ([0014]).
Liu does not explicitly disclose the display screen (3) can be attached and reattached to the casing (2) by a user.
However, Begin, directed to an aerosol provision assembly (500, Fig. 5, [0100]), discloses:
A removable member (“a cover”) attached to a housing (502) using magnets (530, Fig. 5, [0100]), and;
The removeable member is replaceable (i.e. configured to be detached and reattached to the main housing by a user) which allows a user to customize the assembly ([0031).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu by providing a replaceable (i.e. configured to be detached and reattached to the main housing by a user) magnetic attachment between the display screen and casing as taught by Begin because both Liu and Begin are directed to aerosol generating devices, Begin teaches a removable cover allows the user to customize the device, and this involves applying magnetic attachment to a cover in a similar aerosol generating device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses the display screen (3) is electronic paper comprising an electronic ink layer (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0014]).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses the word “e-ink” (“a graphical object”) displayed on the electronic paper display screen (3, Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Begin discloses the housing (502) comprises magnets (530, “one or more respective magnetic counter coupling elements provided with the main housing”) and the removable member comprises corresponding magnets (“one or more magnets provided with the cover”) to engage with the magnets (530) on the housing (502, Fig. 5, [0100]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 203505584 U, as cited on IDS dated 07/11/2023, hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided) in view of Begin (US 20200345960 A1, as cited on IDS dated 12/18/2025) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Shima (US 20220365381 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses the electronic paper display screen (3) reduces the consumption of electricity ([0019]).
Liu does not explicitly disclose the electronic paper display screen (3) is a memory in pixel (MIP) display.
However, Shima, directed to a display device (DSP, Fig. 1, [0021]), discloses:
An electronic paper-type display device for use in smartphones or other personal electronic devices ([0020]).
The display device (DSP) has a configuration that employs a Memory In Pixel (MIP) scheme ([0042]).
A MIP scheme maintains the display without needing to refresh the pixel signals in a frame cycle resulting in lower power consumption ([0043-0045])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, in view of Begin, by configuring the display to have a memory in pixel scheme as taught by Shima because both Liu and Shima are directed to electronic displays, Shima teaches the memory in pixel scheme results in lower power consumption, and this involves applying a known display to a similar electronic device to yield predictable results.
Claim 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 203505584 U, as cited on IDS dated 07/11/2023, hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided) in view of Begin (US 20200345960 A1, as cited on IDS dated 12/18/2025) as applied to claim 4 above, further in view of Lamb (US 20170251724 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses the word “e-ink” (“a graphical object”) displayed on the electronic paper display screen (3, Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
Liu does not explicitly disclose displaying a graphical object based on display information provided to the cover and/or electronic display.
However, Lamb, directed to an aerosol delivery device (abstract), discloses:
An aerosol delivery device (100) comprising an electronic paper display (106, Fig. 1, [0040])
The electronic paper display (106) is controllable by the control component to present icons based on information (“display information”) about the aerosol delivery device (100) such as the amount of precursor composition or battery charge remaining ([0041, 0063]).
Display information is interpreted as information that determines what is presented on the electronic paper display (106).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, in view of Begin, by configuring the main control board (6) to provide display information to the electronic paper display (3) to determine the graphical objected presented on the display (3) as taught by Lamb because both Liu and Lamb are directed to aerosol generating devices, Liu teaches an electronic paper display screen (3) connected to a main control board (6, [0004]), and Lamb teaches an electronic paper display (106) that presents icons based on information from a control component and this merely involves configuring a control unit to display icons based on display information which merely involves the routine skill of programming a controller.
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses the word “e-ink” (“a graphical object”) displayed on the electronic paper display screen (3, Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
Liu does not explicitly disclose displaying a graphical object based on operational information provided to the cover and/or electronic display.
However, Lamb, directed to an aerosol delivery device (abstract), discloses:
An aerosol delivery device (100) comprising an electronic paper display (106, Fig. 1, [0040])
The electronic paper display (106) is controllable by the control component to present icons based on information (“operational information”) about the aerosol delivery device (100) such as the amount of precursor composition or battery charge remaining ([0041, 0063]).
Operational information is interpreted as information about the operations of the aerosol generation device.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, in view of Begin, by configuring the main control board (6) to provide operational information to the electronic paper display (3) to determine the graphical object presented on the display (3) as taught by Lamb because both Liu and Lamb are directed to aerosol generating devices, Liu teaches an electronic paper display screen (3) connected to a main control board (6, [0004]), and Lamb teaches an electronic paper display (106) that presents icons based on operational information from a control component and this merely involves configuring a control unit to display icons based on operational information which merely involves the routine skill of programming a controller.
Regarding claim 7, Lamb discloses the electronic paper display (106) present icons based on information (“operational information”) about the aerosol delivery device (100) such as the amount of precursor composition or battery charge remaining ([0041, 0063]). Lamb does not explicitly disclose the display changes based on changes of the operational information. However, operational information such as the remaining precursor composition or battery life is dynamic data that changes as the device is used which reasonably suggests that the display would change as the operational information changes.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 203505584 U, as cited on IDS dated 07/11/2023, hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided) in view of Begin (US 20200345960 A1, as cited on IDS dated 12/18/2025) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Veelo (US 20230039557 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses the electronic paper display (3) is physically connected to the battery (5) and main control board (6, [0004, 0013]) which are part of the main body of the device.
Liu does not explicitly disclose electronic paper display (3) is physically connected to the main body with a wired connection.
However, Veelo, directed to a tobacco grinding device for cigarettes (abstract), discloses:
A grinding device (1200) comprising a display (1626) and controller (1610, Fig. 16A, [0071, 0076]).
The display (1626) is connected to the controller (1610) through a wired connection ([0076]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, in view of Begin, by providing a wired connection between the control board and the display as taught by Veelo because both Liu and Veelo are directed to electronic accessories for smoking, Liu discloses the battery, control board, and display are physically connected but is silent to the connection means and Veelo teaches a wired connection between the controller and the display, and this involves applying a known connection means between a display screen and controller to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, Modified Liu does not explicitly disclose the wired connection between the display and the controller is configured to supply power to the display. However, Liu discloses the electronic paper display (3) is physically connected to the battery (5) and main control board (6, [0004, 0013]) and Veelo discloses a wired connection between the controller and display. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the battery supplies power to the control board and the display screen and that a wired connection between the control board and the display screen would be configured to supply power from the battery.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 203505584 U, as cited on IDS dated 07/11/2023, hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided) in view of Begin (US 20200345960 A1, as cited on IDS dated 12/18/2025) and Lamb (US 20170251724 A1), as applied to claim 5 above, further in view of Veelo (US 20230039557 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses the electronic paper display (3) is physically connected to the battery (5) and main control board (6, [0004, 0013]) which are part of the main body of the device.
Liu does not explicitly disclose electronic paper display (3) is physically connected to the main body with a wired connection.
However, Veelo, directed to a tobacco grinding device for cigarettes (abstract), discloses:
A grinding device (1200) comprising a display (1626) and controller (1610, Fig. 16A, [0071, 0076]).
The display (1626) is connected to the controller (1610) through a wired connection ([0076]).
The display can present the time, weight of tobacco in the chamber, and low battery notifications (“display information”) to the user ([0016, 0076])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, in view of Begin and Lamb, by providing a wired connection between the control board and the display as taught by Veelo because both Liu and Veelo are directed to electronic smoking accessories, Liu discloses the battery, control board, and display are physically connected but is silent to the connection means and Veelo teaches providing a wired connection between the controller and the display, and this involves applying a known connection means between a display screen and controller to a similar device to yield predictable results.
In regards to the limitations directed to the wired connection being configured to communicating display information, Liu, Lamb, or Veelo do not explicitly disclose the wired connection between the controller and the display is configured for communication display information. However, Lamb discloses the control component sends signals to the electronic paper display (106) to present icons based on information (“display information”) about the aerosol delivery device (100) such as the amount of precursor composition or battery charge remaining ([0041, 0063]) and Veelo discloses a wired connection between the controller (1610) and the display (1626) which reasonably suggests the wired connection is configured for transmitting the display information.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 203505584 U, as cited on IDS dated 07/11/2023, hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided) in view of Begin (US 20200345960 A1, as cited on IDS dated 12/18/2025) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Veelo (US 20230039557 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses the electronic paper display (3) is physically connected to the battery (5) and main control board (6, [0004, 0013]).
Liu does not explicitly disclose a wireless interface for receiving display or operational information from a remote device.
However, Veelo, directed to a tobacco grinding device for cigarettes (abstract), discloses:
A grinding device (1200) comprising a display (1626), and a controller (1610) wirelessly connected to a transceiver (1608, Fig. 16A, [0071, 0076]).
A mobile device (“remote device”) is communicatively coupled to the controller (1610) via the transceiver (1608) for controlling the operation of the device ([0076]). Commands (i.e. start or stop grinding, or adjusting speed [0076]) sent from the mobile device to the grinding device to control the operations of the device is considered to meet the claim limitation of operational information.
Controlling the device through a user interface of a mobile application provides a convenient way to use of the device ([0016]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, in view of Begin, by providing a transceiver for controlling the electronic cigarette through a wireless interface with a mobile device as taught by Veelo because both Liu and Veelo are directed to electronic smoking accessories, Veelo teaches controlling the device through a mobile application provides a convenient way to use the device, and this involves applying a known wireless interface to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Veelo discloses the mobile device (“remote device”) comprises smart phone (“mobile phone”), a tablet computer (“personal computer”) or servers ([0076, 0079]).
Regarding claim 13, Veelo discloses a mobile device (“remote device”) connected to the controller (1610) through a transceiver (1608, “wireless interface”) and the controller (1610) has a wired or wireless connection with display (1626, [0076]).
Veelo does not explicitly disclose the wireless interface between the mobile device and grinding devices communicates display or operational information to the display (1626).
However, Veelo, directed to a tobacco grinding device for cigarettes (abstract), further discloses:
The controller (1610) can employ the transceiver (1608) to connect wirelessly to a WiFi network for communication with servers on the internet ([0079])
The grinding device can include a tag reader (1622) to transmit data read from a tag to the controller (1610) via the transceiver (1608).
The tag reader (1622) can be used to read a tag on a package of tobacco and the controller (1610) can retrieve information about the tobacco (“display information”) from a server on the internet for display to the user via the display (1626).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, in view of Begin, by providing a tag reader connected to the transceiver as taught by Veelo because both Liu and Veelo are directed to electronic smoking accessories, Veelo teaches the tag reader provides the device the additional functionality of identifying consumables used with the device, and this involves applying a known tag reader to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 203505584 U, as cited on IDS dated 07/11/2023, hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided) in view of Begin (US 20200345960 A1, as cited on IDS dated 12/18/2025) and Veelo (US 20230039557 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, further in view of Leadly (US 20180160733 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Veelo discloses the electronic cigarette can be controlled through wireless connection such as Bluetooth ([0016])
Liu or Veelo do not explicitly disclose the wireless connection is Bluetooth Low Energy.
However, Leadly, directed to an electronic cigarette (10), discloses:
Bluetooth Low Energy communications between an e-cigarette (10) and a smartphone (400), Fig. 4, [0047])
A Bluetooth Low Energy link has a low average power consumption ([0049])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu, in view of Begin and Veelo, by providing using a Bluetooth Low Energy interface as taught by Leadly because both Liu and Veelo are directed to electronic cigarettes, Leadly teaches Bluetooth Low Energy has low energy consumption, and this involves applying a known wireless interface to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/M.F.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755