DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2018-096616 to Mitsubishi Hitachi Power Sys. (Mitsubishi) in view of US 2004/0096370 to Blanchard. (Machine translation provided by applicant has been used for translational purposes).
Regarding claim 1, Mitsubishi discloses an ammonia decomposition system, comprising:
a reactor (30a, fig. 2D) filled with a catalyst ([39]) for a decomposition reaction where ammonia which is a raw material is decomposed into hydrogen and nitrogen ([39]); and
a diluent gas supply line (48, fig. 2D; [44]) for supplying a diluent gas having a lower ammonia concentration than the raw material, such that the diluent gas is mixed with the raw material before the raw material flows into the catalyst ([39], [44], [51]),
wherein the reactor includes a catalyst containing part for containing the catalyst (fig. 2D; [39]).
However, Mitsubishi does not explicitly disclose which Blanchard discloses:
the reactor is internally divided into a first chamber (108, fig. 1; [15]), a second chamber (110, fig. 1; [15]) located downstream of the first chamber in a flow direction of the raw material, and a third chamber (middle section of 100 containing the heat exchanger 114, fig. 1; [16]) between the first chamber and the second chamber, wherein the catalyst containing part is disposed so as to communicate with each of the first chamber and the second chamber and to extend in the third chamber (fig. 1), and wherein the third chamber is configured to allow a heating medium (via heat exchanger 114 and its inlet and outlet lines, fig. 1) to flow therethrough.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the reactor of Blanchard in the device of Mitsubishi for eliminating both the ineffective catalyst volume and the catalyst fluidization potential ([5]; Blanchard).
Once the chambers of Blanchard are added to the system of Mitsubishi, the third chamber of Mitsubishi will be 30a where the catalyst is disposed and it will be configured to allow a heating medium (flue 38 disclosed in [34] of Mitsubishi) to flow therethrough.
Regarding claim 2, Mitsubishi combined with Blanchard discloses the ammonia decomposition system according to claim 1,
wherein the diluent gas is part of an outflow gas having flowed out from the reactor ([44]; Mitsubishi).
Regarding claim 4, Mitsubishi combined with Blanchard discloses the ammonia decomposition system according to claim 3, comprising:
a raw material supply line (25, fig. 2D; Mitsubishi) for supplying the raw material to the reactor, wherein the raw material supply line is connected to a downstream end of the diluent gas supply line (fig. 2D; Mitsubishi).
Regarding claim 5, Mitsubishi combined with Blanchard discloses the ammonia decomposition system according to according to claim 3,
wherein the diluent gas supply line has a downstream end connected to the reactor (via 25, fig. 1; Mitsubishi).
Regarding claim 7, Mitsubishi combined with Blanchard discloses the ammonia decomposition system according to claim l, comprising:
a gas mixer (merging portion of 25 in fig. 2D where the diluent gas from 48 is introduced can be considered a mixer; Mitsubishi) communicating with the reactor, wherein the gas mixer is connected to a raw material supply line and the diluent gas supply line, and is configured to mix the raw material having flowed into the gas mixer via the raw material supply line and the diluent gas having flowed into the gas mixer via the diluent gas supply line (fig. 2D; Mitsubishi).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsubishi combined with Blanchard as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of JP 2016-188721 to Toyota Ind Corp. (Toyota) (Machine translation provided by applicant has been used for translational purposes).
Regarding claim 6, Mitsubishi combined with Blanchard discloses the ammonia decomposition system according to claim 5, comprising:
a raw material supply line (25, fig. 2D; Mitsubishi) for supplying the raw material to the reactor, but does not explicitly disclose which Toyota discloses:
the reactor has an inner surface at least partially covered with a refractory material (fig. 6; ceramic; [39], [53]) such that a connection portion of the reactor with the raw material supply line is surrounded (the whole inner surface is surrounded; [abstract; [39], [53]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the coating of Toyota inside the reactor of Mitsubishi combined with Blanchard so as to suppress thermal decomposition of ammonia ([53]; Toyota).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that since Mitsubishi is directed to an ammonia decomposition reactor and Blanchard is directed to an ammonia synthesis reactor, they cannot be combined to have the three chambers as disclosed in claim 1. However, the office respectfully disagrees. First off, Mitsubishi discloses a reactor that carries a catalyst in fig. 2D and paragraph [39]. The entrance to the catalyst within the reactor can be considered the claimed first chamber, the exit from the catalyst within the reactor can be considered the second claimed chamber, and the part of the chamber containing the catalyst can be considered the claimed third chamber. Furthermore, the flue gas 38 is supplied to provide the heat to the reactor for the endothermic reaction to the reactor as disclosed in paragraph [34]. As such, Mitsubishi alone can be used to reject all of claim 1. However, even if to say that Mitsubishi does not disclose all the chambers, Blanchard is used to show that a catalyst can be placed between two chambers in a reactor, regardless of the type of reactor. It is that this teaching that is applied to Mitsubishi for eliminating both the ineffective catalyst volume and the catalyst fluidization potential. As such, it is the office’s position that the claim limitations are met.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 8/6/2026, with respect to double patenting rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The double patenting rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAPINDER SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746