DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1 and 15.
Applicant cancelled claims 5, 6, 8, 9, 11-14 prior to the first office action.
Status of claims:
Claims 1-4, 7, 10 and 15-28 are pending in this office action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10 and 15-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #112 Electronic R2-2009350 (hereinafter D1 in view of Shih et al.
(US20220022276) (hereinafter Shih, [also refer to provisional application 63/052,195]).
Per claim 1, D1 discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: detecting a
trigger condition relating to a wireless network characteristic, while the UE is in a non-connected radio
resource (RRC) state with a network device (page 2, 2.1.1 Timing alignment validity, line 11-page 3, line
2, "If the condition to use the pre-configured PUSCH resources is to have a valid Timing Alignment then it
is necessary that the UE has a mechanism available, while in RRC Inactive, that allows it to keep track if
the Timing Alignment is still valid. In preconfigured uplink resources[ PUR], this is based on the
monitoring of the cell RSRP level; while an alternative/additional approach could be to have this
mechanism to be timer based as in RRC CONNECTED state, which would require the introduction of a
timeAlignmentTimer (or equivalent timer) to be available for the UE that transitions to RRC_INACTIVE
state."); and controlling a data transmission according to the detection of the trigger condition(page 3,
lines 3-5, "In PUR, when pur TimeAlignmentTimer is running and RSRP has not changed more than
increase Thresh/decreaseThresh TA is considered as valid [3]. It seems the approach used for PUR can
be used as baseline for the NR SDT") but fails to explicitly disclose by performing a fallback to a random
access channel (RACH) based small data transmission (SDT) in response to the fallback to the RACH
based SDT to be initiated by the UE, performing a RACH procedure in response to the fallback to the RACH based SDT not to be initiated by the UE.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shih discloses by performing a fallback to a random
access channel (RACH) based small data transmission (SDT) in response to the fallback to the RACH
based SDT to be initiated by the UE (paragraph 0426, i.e. the UE may receive, from the gNB, a transmission 1712 comprising an RRC message (e.g., an RRCResume message) and/or DL data. For example, the SDT procedure may fallback to RRCResume, such as based on there being data (e.g., more data) expected to be transmitted, and/or the UE may enter 1710 RRC_CONNECTED state), performing a RACH procedure in response to the fallback to the RACH based SDT not to be initiated by the UE( paragraph 0307, table 0003, i.e. In this release of specification, redirectedCarrierInfo is not included in an RRCRelease message with suspendConfig if this message is in response to an RRCResumeRequest or an RRCResumeRequest1 which is triggered by the NAS layer. voiceFallbackIndication Indicates the RRC release is triggered by EPS fallback for IMS voice as specified in TS 23.502 [43].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Xiong into the invention D1, where D1
provides One of the objectives of the item on NR small data transmissions in inactive state is to specify
mechanisms that enable the transmission of small data transmissions over pre-configured PUSCH
resources and Shih provides a method and apparatus for selecting Bandwidth part (BWP) for subsequent transmission in pre-configured resources based Small Data Transmission (SDT) in a wireless communication system in order to provide efficiency while transmission of large data to and from mobile devices which include fallback when set conditions aren’t met or when additional data is expected, see Shih, paragraphs 0002, 0003, 0307 and 0426 and table 0003.
Per claim 2, the combination of D1 and Shih discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein D1
discloses the trigger condition relating to the wireless network characteristic includes reduction in
received beam quality or availability of at least one pre-configured uplink resource (page 3,5.3.3.19
Timingalignment validation for transmission using PUR, lines 6-13; page 3, lines 16-21; page 4,
Observation 1, Proposal 3, i.e. Observation 1: The condition of a valid timing alignment is not sufficient
condition to prevent gNB Rx beam misalignment in all scenarios. Proposal 3: Beam validation is
considered on top of TA validation to decide if a CG occasion can be used for SDT).
Per claim 3, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 2, where examiner interprets that
D1 discloses via timing alignment validation where you're considering if conditions are met, see page 3
5.3.3.19, 6-13 and 16-21, where the UE possibly lost the timing alignment, where stopping , suspending, starting or resuming data transmission would be apart the process of determining timing alignment
validation, as well as determining if there's beam misalignment, page 4, observation 1 and proposal 3).
Per claim 4, the combination of D1 and Shih discloses the method of Claim 3, further D1
discloses comprising: transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) message to the network device,
wherein the RRC message includes an RRC cause indicating a cause of the control of the data
transmission (page 2, Fig 1, ref. 1 RRC resume request., where resume is a cause).
Per claim 7, the combination of D1 and Shih discloses the method of Claim 4, wherein D1
discloses an access category is mapped to the RRC cause indicating the cause of the control of the data
transmission (page 2, Fig 1, ref. 1 RRC resume request., where resume is the cause and 2.1 and 2.1.1,
i.e. In the WID, it is highlighted that the transmission of UL data over pre-configured PUSCH resources
has the caveat that the UE must have a valid timing alignment, which is in-line with the PUR design [2]. A
UE in RRC_CONNECTED state, is configured by the RRC with timeAlignmentTimer that controls for how
long the MAC entity considers the Serving Cells associated with the Timing Advance Group to be uplink
time aligned, where examiner interprets that access category relates to a resume cause, In the
Applicant's specification, where the term access category has the same function as access identity,
where they are both mapped to the resume cause, examiner is not sure what is the difference between
access identity and access category).
Per claim 10, the combination of D1 and Shih discloses the method of Claim 4, wherein D1
discloses an access identity is mapped to the RRC cause indicating the cause of the control of the data
transmission( page 2, Fig 1, ref. 1 RRC resume request., where resume is the cause and 2.1 and 2.1.1,
i.e. In the WID, it is highlighted that the transmission of UL data over pre-configured PUSCH resources
has the caveat that the UE must have a valid timing alignment, which is in-line with the PUR design [2]. A
UE in RRC_CONNECTED state, is configured by the RRC with timeAlignmentTimer that controls for how
long the MAC entity considers the Serving Cells associated with the Timing Advance Group to be uplink
time aligned, where examiner interprets that access identity relates to a resume cause, In the Applicant's
specification, where the term access identity has the same function as access category where they are both mapped to the resume cause, examiner is not sure what is the difference between access identity
and access category).
Per claim 15, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1.
Per claim 16, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 2.
Per claim 17, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3.
Per claim 18, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Per claim 19, the combination of D1 and Shih discloses the apparatus of Claim 18, wherein D1
discloses the RRC cause indicates that: the fallback to the RACH based SDT is performed according to that a beam quality is less than a threshold or the at least one pre-configured uplink resource is not available; the RACH procedure is performed according to that the beam quality is less than the threshold (page 3, 5.3.3. 19, i.e. A UE shall consider the timing alignment value for transmission using PUR to be valid when all of the following conditions are fulfilled: 1>if pur-TimeAlignmentTimer 1s configured:2> pur-TimeAlignmentTimer is running as confirmed by lower layers;1> if pur-RSRP-ChangeThreshold (pur-NRSRP-Change Threshold in NB-IoT) 1s configured: 2> since the last TA validation, the serving cell(N)RSRP has not increased by more than increaseThresh, and 2> since the last TA validation, the serving cell (N)RSRP has not decreased by more than decrease Thresh, where Proposal 1: the PUR criteria(s}) of RSRP and TA timer to track if the UE's current Timing Alignment is valid is taken as baseline for CG based SDT, also see page 2, Fig 1 RRC resume request, examiner interprets a resume cause or the at least one pre-configured uplink resource is not available; or the beam quality is less than the threshold or the at least one pre- configured uplink resource is not available.
Per claim 20, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Per claim 21, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 7.
Per claim 22, the combination of D1 and Shih discloses the apparatus of Claim 21, wherein D1
discloses the RRC cause includes a resume cause value, and the access category mapped to the resume cause value indicates that: an access attempt for the fallback to the RACH based SDT is
performed according to that a beam quality is less than a threshold; the access attempt for the RACH
procedure is performed according to that the beam quality is less than the threshold (similar to claim 19
and 7); or the access attempt is performed according to that the beam quality is less than the threshold.
Per claim 23, the combination of D1 and Shih discloses the apparatus of Claim 21, wherein D1
discloses the RRC cause includes an establishment cause value, and the access category mapped to the
establishment cause value indicates that an access attempt is performed according to a small data
transmission beam failure recovery (page 2, 2.1.1, i.e. The general design principle is that if this timer
expires then the MAC entity assumes that the uplink is no longer time aligned, which in turn triggers
several configuration release actions which include also the "clear any configured downlink assignments
and configured uplink grants". This timer can be started or restarted upon the reception of a
TimingAdvance Command MAC CEs or by a Timing Advance Command via a Random Access
Response message, where examiner interprets restarting or starting is related to RRC cause and
establishment cause is based on timer expiration and the timing Alignment .is not aligned, see page 4,
lines 4-6, observation 1, proposal 3, The condition of a valid timing alignment is not sufficient condition to
prevent gNB Rx beam misalignment in all scenarios, beam validation is considered on top of TA
validation to decide if a CG occasion can be used for SDT.
Per claim 24, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 10.
Per claim 25 refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 19.
Per claim 26, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1and Shih
in further view of (3GPP TSG-WG2 meeting #112 electronic/ R2-2010388) (hereinafter D2)..
Per claim 27, the combination of D1 and Shih discloses the apparatus of Claim 17, but both
references fail to discloses wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: obtain data of the data transmission stored in a first buffer used for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) when the
fallback to the RACH based SDT is performed; and store the data in a second buffer, wherein the second
buffer is used for message-3 of RACH, message-A of RACH, message-3 of RACH based SDT or
message-A of RACH based SDT.
In an analogous filed of endeavor, D2 discloses wherein the processor is configured to cause the
apparatus to: obtain data of the data transmission stored in a first buffer used for hybrid automatic repeat
request (HARQ) when the fallback to the RACH based SDT is performed; and store the data in a second
buffer, wherein the second buffer is used for message-3 of RACH, message-A of RACH, message-3 of
RACH based SDT or message-A of RACH based SDT (page 2, Scheme Switch, 2.3 Switch between SDT
and RRC resume, . When buffer size is larger than a threshold configured by network, UE may resume
RRC connection and apply UL resource for data and page 3, see lines 1-13, transmission. The buffer size
here not only includes the data in L2 buffer, but also the foresee data, for example, periodic data packets.
Proposal 6: Consider buffer size as criteria for UE to decide whether to do SDT or not).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of D2 into the invention of D1 and Xiong,
D2 provides to analyze the SDT type selection between Configured grant and RACH based scheme, and
details of data volume calculation for performing transmission scheme in order to provide efficient quality
of service to prevent failure or delays, where determining buffer size is crucial to in switching between CG
based SDT or a RACH based SDT transmission.
Per claim 28, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 27( D1 provides Mac entities, see
page 2, timing alignment validity and D2 provides switching from buffer 1 to buffer 2, page 3 lines 1-13).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647