DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1, 2, 15, 16, 19, 22 and 25.
Status of claims:
Claims 1-4, 7, 10 and 15-28 are pending in this office action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant suggest that the combination of D1 and Alfarhan fails to teach wherein the trigger condition includes that a reference signal received power (RSRP} of a downlink reference signal is less than a threshold.
Examiner respectfully disagree, where Alfarhan teaches the trigger condition includes that a reference signal received power (RSRP} of a downlink reference signal is less than a threshold, see paragraph 0109 and 0139, . the WTRU may monitor for DL assignments on a configured grant for small data reception if the measured channel condition is within the configure range or less than the threshold and in an example, a power level may be used as a condition or a trigger [e.g., determined by the WTRU]. For example, the WTRU may determine that the power level [e.g., a transmit power level or a receive power level] is above [or below] a threshold. Based on the determination that the power level being above [or below] a threshold, the WTRU may determine that its spatial filter is no longer valid based on achieving a determined transmit power level. The determined transmit power level may be based on a threshold, the WTRU’s P.sub.cmax, and/or a power headroom). The Applicant discloses in the Remarks about the Applicant inventive concept is trying to avoid complete beam failure, where Alfarhan reference goes to recovery procedures. Applicant should amend the independent claims to add additional language around preventive methods to avoid complete failure because the above amendment is not enough to make these independent claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10 and 15-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #112 Electronic R2-2009350 (hereinafter D1 in view of Alfarhan et al.
(US20230189245) (hereinafter Alfarhan, [also refer to provisional application 63/093,977])
Per claim 1, D1 discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: detecting a
trigger condition relating to a wireless network characteristic, while the UE is in a non-connected radio
resource (RRC) state with a network device (page 2, 2.1.1 Timing alignment validity, line 11-page 3, line
2, "If the condition to use the pre-configured PUSCH resources is to have a valid Timing Alignment then it
it is necessary that the UE has a mechanism available, while in RRC Inactive, that allows it to keep track if the Timing Alignment is still valid. In preconfigured uplink resources[ PUR], this is based on the
monitoring of the cell RSRP level; while an alternative/additional approach could be to have this
mechanism to be timer based as in RRC CONNECTED state, which would require the introduction of a
timeAlignmentTimer (or equivalent timer) to be available for the UE that transitions to RRC_INACTIVE
state."); and controlling a data transmission according to the detection of the trigger condition(page 3,
lines 3-5, "In PUR, when pur TimeAlignmentTimer is running and RSRP has not changed more than
increase Thresh/decrease Thr TA is considered as valid [3]. It seems the approach used for PUR can
be used as baseline for the NR SDT") but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the trigger condition includes that a reference signal received power (RSRP)of a downlink reference signal is less than a threshold or at least one pre-configured uplink resource associated with the downlink reference signal is not available; andby performing a fallback from a configured grant (CG) type 1 based small data transmission (SDT) to a random access channel (RACH) based small data transmission (SDT) in response to the fallback to the RACH based SDT to be initiated by the UE, wherein the UE remains in the non connected RRC state; or performing a RACH procedure in response to the fallback to the RACH based SDT not to be initiated by the UE.
In an analogous filed of endeavor, Alfarhan discloses wherein the trigger condition includes that a reference signal received power (RSRP) of a downlink reference signal is less than a threshold (paragraph 0109 and 0139, i.e. the WTRU may monitor for DL assignments on a configured grant for small data reception if the measured channel condition is within the configure range or less than the threshold and in an example, a power level may be used as a condition or a trigger [e.g., determined by the WTRU]. For example, the WTRU may determine that the power level [e.g., a transmit power level or a receive power level] is above [or below] a threshold. Based on the determination that the power level being above [or below] a threshold, the WTRU may determine that its spatial filter is no longer valid based on achieving a determined transmit power level. The determined transmit power level may be based on a threshold, the WTRU’s P.sub.cmax, and/or a power headroom) or at least one pre-configured uplink resource associated with the downlink reference signal is not available; and by performing a fallback from a configured grant (CG) type 1 based small data transmission (SDT) to a random access channel (RACH) based small data transmission (SDT) in response to the fallback to the RACH based SDT to be initiated by the UE, wherein the UE remains in the non connected RRC state (paragraph 0140, i.e. he WTRU may be configured to perform beam failure recovery in INACTIVE state/mode. In one embodiment, upon detection of beam failure in INACTIVE mode, the WTRU may perform one or more of the following
recovery activities: (1) the WTRU may transition to connected mode. (2) The WTRU may perform cell
reselection. (3) The WTRU may fall back on a different method of small data transmission. For example, if
the WTRU is configured to perform small data transmission on a configured grant, the WTRU may instead
attempt to transmit small data on a RACH-based resource (e.g., MsgA or Msg3) ; or performing a RACH
procedure in response to the fallback to the RACH based SDT not to be initiated by the UE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Alfarhan into the invention D1, where D1 provides One of the objectives of the item on NR small data transmissions in inactive state is to
specify mechanisms that enable the transmission of small data transmissions over pre-configured
PUSCH resources and Alfarhan provides methods and apparatus for downlink small data reception in
wireless communications are provided. In an example, a method includes receiving configuration
information for small data transmission (SDT), and the configuration information indicates one or more
uplink (UL) configured grants (CGs), one or more downlink (DL) CGs, and a Transport Block Size (TBS)
threshold for SDT; receiving a DL data transmission using a DL CG of the one or more DL CGs in order to
provide a better quality of service by having options during recovery that allows going into connect mode
and triggering condition which determining power levels and/or retransmitting or fallback while idle to mode to transition to CG SDT and/or RACH SDT for transmitting data in see Alfarhan, paragraphs 0002, 0109, 0139 and 0140.
Per claim 2, the combination of D1 and Alfarhan discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein D1 discloses the trigger condition relating to the wireless network characteristic includes reduction in received beam quality or availability of the at least one pre-configured uplink resource (page 3,5.3.3.19 Timing alignment validation for transmission using PUR, lines 6-13; page 3, lines 16-21; page 4, Observation 1, Proposal 3, i.e. Observation 1: The condition of a valid timing alignment is not sufficient condition to prevent gNB Rx beam misalignment in all scenarios. Proposal 3: Beam validation is considered on top of TA validation to decide if a CG occasion can be used for SDT).
Per claim 3, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 2, where examiner interprets that D1 discloses via timing alignment validation where you're considering if conditions are met, see page 3 5.3.3.19, 6-13 and 16-21, where the UE possibly lost the timing alignment, where stopping suspending, starting or resuming data transmission would be apart the process of determining timing alignment validation, as well as determining if there's beam misalignment, page 4, observation 1 and proposal 3).
Per claim 4, the combination of D1 and Alfarhan discloses the method of Claim 3, further D1 discloses comprising: transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) message to the network device, wherein the RRC message includes an RRC cause indicating a cause of the control of the data transmission (page 2, Fig 1, ref. 1 RRC resume request., where resume is a cause).
Per claim 7, the combination of D1 and Alfarhan discloses the method of Claim 4, wherein D1 discloses an access category is mapped to the RRC cause indicating the cause of the control of the data transmission (page 2, Fig 1, ref. 1 RRC resume request., where resume is the cause and 2.1 and 2.1.1, i.e. In the WID, it is highlighted that the transmission of UL data over pre-configured PUSCH resources has the caveat that the UE must have a valid timing alignment, which is in-line with the PUR design [2]. A UE in RRC_CONNECTED state, is configured by the RRC with timeAlignmentTimer that controls for how long the MAC entity considers the Serving Cells associated with the Timing Advance Group to be uplink time aligned, where examiner interprets that access category relates to a resume cause, In the Applicant's specification, where the term access category has the same function as access identity, where they are both mapped to the resume cause, examiner is not sure what is the difference between access identity and access category).
Per claim 10, the combination of D1 and Alfarhan discloses the method of Claim 4, wherein D1 discloses an access identity is mapped to the RRC cause indicating the cause of the control of the data transmission( page 2, Fig 1, ref. 1 RRC resume request., where resume is the cause and 2.1 and 2.1.1, i.e. In the WID, it is highlighted that the transmission of UL data over pre-configured PUSCH resources has the caveat that the UE must have a valid timing alignment, which is in-line with the PUR design [2]. A UE in RRC_CONNECTED state, is configured by the RRC with timeAlignmentTimer that controls for how long the MAC entity considers the Serving Cells associated with the Timing Advance Group to be uplink time aligned, where examiner interprets that access identity relates to a resume cause, In the Applicant's specification, where the term access identity has the same function as access category where they are both mapped to the resume cause, examiner is not sure what is the difference between access identity and access category).
Per claim 15, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 1.
Per claim 16, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 2.
Per claim 17, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 3.
Per claim 18, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Per claim 19, the combination of D1 and Alfarhan discloses the apparatus of Claim 18, wherein D1 discloses the RRC cause indicates that: the fallback to the RACH based SDT is performed according to that the RSRP is less than the threshold or the at least one pre-configured uplink resource is not available; the RACH procedure is performed according to that the RSRP is less than the threshold (page 3, 5.3.3. 19, i.e. A UE shall consider the timing alignment value for transmission using PUR to be valid when all of the following conditions are fulfilled: 1>if pur-TimeAlignmentTimer 1s configured:2> pur- TimeAlignmentTimer is running as confirmed by lower layers;1> if pur-RSRP- Change Threshold (pur- NRSRP-Change Threshold in NB-IoT) 1s configured: 2> since the last TA validation, the serving cell(N)RSRP has not increased by more than increase Thresh, and 2> since the last TA validation, the serving cell (N)RSRP has not decreased by more than decrease Thresh, where Proposal 1: the PUR criteria(s}) of RSRP and TA timer to track if the UE's current Timing Alignment is valid is taken as baseline for CG based SDT, also see page 2, Fig 1 RRC resume request, examiner interprets a resume cause or the at least one pre-configured uplink resource is not available; or the RSRP is less than the threshold or the at least one pre- configured uplink resource is not available.
Per claim 20, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Per claim 21, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 7.
Per claim 22, the combination of D1 and Alfarhan discloses the apparatus of Claim 21, wherein D1 discloses the RRC cause includes a resume cause value, and the access category mapped to the resume cause value indicates that: an access attempt for the fallback to the RACH based SDT is performed according to that a beam quality is less than a threshold; the access attempt for the RACH procedure is performed according to that the beam quality is less than the threshold (similar to claim 19 and 7); or the access attempt is performed according to that the beam quality is less than the threshold.
Per claim 23, the combination of D1 and Alfarhan discloses the apparatus of Claim 21, wherein D1 discloses the RRC cause includes an establishment cause value, and the access category mapped to the establishment cause value indicates that an access attempt is performed according to a small data transmission beam failure recovery (page 2, 2.1.1, i.e. The general design principle is that if this timer expires then the MAC entity assumes that the uplink is no longer time aligned, which in turn triggers several configuration release actions which include also the "clear any configured downlink assignments and configured uplink grants". This timer can be started or restarted upon the reception of a TimingAdvance Command MAC CEs or by a Timing Advance Command via a Random Access Response message, where examiner interprets restarting or starting is related to RRC cause and establishment cause is based on timer expiration and the timing Alignment is not aligned, see page 4, lines 4-6, observation 1, proposal 3, The condition of a valid timing alignment is not sufficient condition to prevent gNB Rx beam misalignment in all scenarios, beam validation is considered on top of TA validation to decide if a CG occasion can be used for SDT.
Per claim 24, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 10.
Per claim 25 refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 19.
Per claim 26, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 and Alfarhan in further view of (3GPP TSG-WG2 meeting #112 electronic/ R2-2010388) (hereinafter D2).
Per claim 27, the combination of D1 and Alfarhan discloses the apparatus of Claim 17, but both references fail to explicitly discloses wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: obtain data of the data transmission stored in a first buffer used for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) when the fallback to the RACH based SDT is performed; and store the data in a second buffer, whereinthe second buffer is used for message-3 of RACH, message-A of RACH, message-3 of RACH based SDT or message-A of RACH based SDT.
In an analogous filed of endeavor, D2 discloses wherein the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to: obtain data of the data transmission stored in a first buffer used for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) when the fallback to the RACH based SDT is performed; and store the data in a second buffer, wherein the second buffer is used for message-3 of RACH, message-A of RACH, message-3 of RACH based SDT or message-A of RACH based SDT (page 2, Scheme Switch, 2.3 Switch between SDT and RRC resume, When buffer size is larger than a threshold configured by network, UE may resume RRC connection and apply UL resource for data and page 3, see lines 1-13, transmission. The buffer size here not only includes the data in L2 buffer, but also the foresee data, for example, periodic data packets. Proposal 6: Consider buffer size as criteria for UE to decide whether to do SDT or not).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of D2 into the invention of D1 and Alfarhan, D2 provides to analyze the SDT type selection between Configured grant and RACH based scheme, and details of data volume calculation for performing transmission scheme in order to provide efficient quality of service to prevent failure or delays, where determining buffer size is crucial to in switching between CG based SDT or a RACH based SDT transmission.
Per claim 28, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 27( D1 provides Mac entities, see page 2, timing alignment validity and D2 provides switching from buffer 1 to buffer 2, page 3 lines 1-13).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647