DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are pending
Claims 1-14 are rejected
Claim 8 is objected to
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR 10-2021-0167459, filed on November 29, 2021.
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. PCT/KR2022/017882, filed on November 14, 2022.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6, line 4, parenthesis to be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
The examiner interprets “T is a time period”
5. Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an oxazoline compound” is mentioned twice. It is suggested that one of these is to be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
The examiner interprets that “an oxazoline compound” is mentioned once.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
8. Regarding claim 3, the phrase “paddle-type" renders the claim indefinite because the claim includes elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "paddle-type"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is suggested that "paddle-type" be amended to “paddle”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yorino et. al. (WO 2019221236 A1) (Yorino).
12. The Examiner has provided a machine translation of WO 2019221236 A1. The citation of the prior art in this rejection refer to the machine translation.
13. Regarding claim 1, Yorino teaches a production method for a water absorbent resin (Yorino, Abstract) that is a super absorbent polymer (SAP) (Yorino, p. 6, paragraph 3)
wherein the water absorbent resin may be surface-crosslinked (Yorino, p. 8, paragraph 6).
Yorino further teaches a preparation of SAP particles with surface-crosslinked layers (Yorino, p. 8, paragraph 6) that a incorporates a surface cross-linking step (Yorino, p. 20, paragraph 3) by heating (i.e. heat-treating) a mixture of the particulate hydrogel or particulate dry polymer containing a surface cross-linking agent (Yorino, p. 20, paragraph 4).
wherein the polymer uses acrylic acid monomers as the raw materials for the polyacrylic acid polymer particles (Yorino, p. 6, paragraph 4).
Yorino further teaches a drying apparatus (i.e. surface cross-linking reactor) (Yorino, p. 17, paragraph 7) that is the heating device in the heat treatment step detailed above is a stirring drying (Yorino, p. 20, paragraph 6)
wherein the peripheral speed (i.e. linear velocity) of the drying apparatus is usually 0.15 m/s to 25 m/s (Yorino, p. 18, paragraph 6) and the length of time for the heat treatment (i.e. residence time) at the surface crosslinking temperature is in the range of 10 minutes to 120 minutes, preferably 30 minutes to 90 minutes (Yorino, p. 20, paragraph 6).
Yorino further teaches a surface cross-linking step is taken place simultaneously with the drying step (Yorino, p. 20, paragraph 2)
wherein in this case the surface cross-linking step and the drying step are performed in one step, so that a more compact manufacturing method is possible (Yorino, p. 29, paragraph 2).
Yorino further teaches that the ATT index in the drying apparatus (i.e. surface cross-linking reactor) in the heat treatment step is in the range of 0.09 to 180, which overlaps with the claimed range.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
14. Regarding claim 2, Yorino further teaches that the ATT index in the drying apparatus (i.e. surface cross-linking reactor) in the heat treatment step is in the range of 0.09 to 180, which encompasses the claimed range (Yorino, p. 18, paragraph 6 and Yorino, p. 20, paragraph 5).
15. Regarding claim 3, Yorino further teaches that the drying apparatus (i.e. surface cross-linking reactor) has means for agitating a material with stirring blades such as an arm, a paddle, and a cut disk (Yorino, p. 18, paragraph 2).
16. Regarding claim 4, Yorino further teaches that the drying apparatus (i.e. surface cross-linking reactor) that has a peripheral speed (i.e. linear velocity) derived from the diameter (i.e. one-half of the radius) of the trajectory stirring blade (i.e. rotating paddle) and the rotation speed of the stirring blade (Yorino, p. 18, paragraph 3)
wherein the rotation speed (in rpm) is inversely related to the time period (i.e. (1/T)) taken for one revolution of the stirring blade (i.e. rotating paddle) inside the drying apparatus (i.e. surface cross-linking reactor) (i.e., linear velocity=2*3.14*r/T, where in r is the radius of the trajectory stirring blade, and T is the time period taken to complete on revolution of the drying apparatus).
17. Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, Although there is no disclosure that the specific method to determine the residence time is conformity with Equation 1-2, given that Yorino discloses residence as the presently claimed and absent evidence criticality how the residence is measured/determined, it is an examiner's position that residence time disclosed by Yorino to meet the claim limitation.
Alternatively, Yorino further teaches, in the dryer, the heat transfer area inside the dryer can be increased by increasing the number of heating tubes. The large heat transfer area enables drying in a short time and also reduces the residence time inside the apparatus (i.e., dryer), further reducing thermal damage (Yorino, p. 16, paragraph 6). Therefore, it is clear that reducing residence time inside the dryer would reduce thermal damage.
Yorino further teaches the time for the heat treatment at the surface crosslinking temperature is appropriately set according to the moisture content of the particulate hydrogel or particulate dry polymer, the type of the surface crosslinking agent, and the like (Yorino, p. 20, paragraph 5).
While Yorino does not explicitly teach an equation to calculate the residence time, as presently claimed, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify a residence time calculated with the claimed equation, including that presently claimed, in order to provide a desirable heat treatment time according to the moisture content of the particulate hydrogel or particulate dry polymer, the type of the surface crosslinking agent, and the like, without thermal damage of the water absorbent, and thereby arrived at the claimed invention.
18. Regarding claim 6, Yorino further teaches that the polyacrylic acid polymer particles are prepared with acrylic acid as the monomer group (Yorino, p. 10, paragraph 6) to form a hydrogel crosslinked polymer (i.e. water-containing gel polymer) (Yorino, p. 11, paragraph 4),
wherein the acrylic acid monomer is neutralized (Yorino, p. 11, paragraph 4) in the presence of an internal cross-linking agent (Yorino, p. 11, paragraph 8);
wherein there is a drying step of the hydrogel crosslinked polymer (i.e. water-containing gel polymer) (Yorino, p. 13, paragraph 4) and a pulverization step of the hydrogel crosslinked polymer (Yorino, p. 13, paragraph 4).
Alternatively, “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that Yorino meets the requirements of the claimed acrylic acid-based base polymer particles, Yorino clearly meets the requirements of the present claim.
19. Regarding claim 7, Yorino further teaches incorporates a surface cross-linking step (Yorino, p. 20, paragraph 3)
wherein the surface crosslinking temperature is preferably 100
°
C to 250
°
C, which encompasses the claimed range.
Yorino further teaches that when the surface cross-linking step is performed simultaneously with the drying step when the surface crosslinking agent is added is preferably 70 to 150 ° C. (Yorino, p. 19, paragraph 5), which overlaps with the claimed range.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
20. Regarding claim 8, Yorino further teaches examples of surface crosslinking agents include one or more selected from the group consisting of polyols selected from the group consisting of ethylene glycol, propylene glycol, 1,3-propanediol, 1,4-butanediol, 1,6-hexanediol, and glycerol; one or more carbonate-based compounds selected from the group consisting of ethylene carbonate and propylene carbonate; an epoxy compound; an oxazoline compound; a polyamine compound; a mono- or di- oxazolidinone compound
21. Regarding claim 9, Yorino further teaches that the addition amount of the surface cross-linking agent is included in an amount of 0.001 part by weight to 5 parts by weight, more preferably 0.001 part by weight to 3 parts by weight, and further preferably 0.001 part by weight to 2 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the particulate hydrogel or dry polymer (i.e. acrylic acid-based base polymer particles), which encompasses the claimed range.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
22. Regarding claim 10, Yorino further teaches a centrifuge retention capacity (CRC) of the of the water-absorbent resin (i.e. superabsorbent polymer) is preferably 5 to 70 g/g, more preferably 10 to 60 g/g, still more preferably 15 to 50 g / g, particularly preferably in terms of solid content 18 to 40 g/g (Yorino (p. 23, paragraph 10),
wherein the absorption against pressure (AAP) corresponds to the Absorbency Under Pressure of 0.7 psi (i.e. AUP) (Yorino, p. 9, paragraph 5),
wherein the AAP (i.e. AUP) of the water absorbent resin (i.e. superabsorbent polymer) is preferably 15 g/g - 30 g/g (Yorino, p. 30, paragraph 10).
Yorino further teaches that that the effective capacity (EFFC) of the water absorbent resin (i.e. superabsorbent polymer) ranges from 10 g/g to 50 g/g, which overlaps with the claimed range (see math below).
EFFC (lowest value) = (CRC(lowest value) + AAP(lowest value)) / 2
EFFC (lowest possible value) = (5 g/g + 15 g/g) / 2 = 10 g/g
EFFC (highest possible value) = (CRC(highest value) + AAP(highest value)) / 2
EFFC (lowest value) = (70 g/g + 30 g/g) / 2 = 50 g/g
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
23. Regarding claim 11, Yorino further teaches the water absorbent resin (i.e. superabsorbent polymer) has a saline flow conductivity (SFC) of 120 (*10-7cm3
∙
s/g) which falls into the recited range.
24. Regarding claim 13, Yorino further teaches that that the effective capacity (EFFC) of the water absorbent resin (i.e. superabsorbent polymer) ranges from 10 g/g to 50 g/g, which overlaps with the claimed range (see math in article 18 above), which overlaps with the claimed range (Yorino p. 23, paragraph 10 and p. 30, paragraph 10).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
25. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yorino as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ahn et el. (CN 108026290 A) (Ahn).
26 The Examiner has provided a machine translation of CN 108026290 A. The citation of the prior art in this rejection refer to the machine translation.
27. Regarding claim 12, Yorino teaches the method of preparing a water absorbent resin (i.e. superabsorbent polymer) of claim 1. However, Yorino does not explicitly teach wherein a time (T-20), taken for 1 g of the superabsorbent polymer to absorb 20 g of an aqueous solution of sodium chloride and C12-C14 alcohol ethoxylate, is 129 seconds or less.
With respect to the difference, Ahn teaches a super absorbent polymer and preparation method thereof (Ahn, p. 2 paragraph 1)
wherein the wherein a time (T-20), taken for 1 g of the superabsorbent polymer to absorb 20 g of an aqueous solution of sodium chloride and C12-C14 alcohol ethoxylate, is 190 seconds or less, which encompasses the claimed range.
Ahn expressly teaches that water absorbent polymers are useful in hygienic materials, such as diapers (Ahn, p. 2, paragraph 3)
wherein superior performance of the water absorbent polymer in a diaper is dependent on high absorption rate and permeability for various liquids (Ahn, p. 2, paragraph 4).
Yorino and Ahn are analogous art as they are both drawn to a method of preparing a superabsorbent polymer.
In light of the motivation for preparing a water absorbent polymer with a high absorption rate as disclosed by Ahn above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the water absorbent resin (i.e. superabsorbent polymer) of Yorino to have a higher absorption rate of liquids such as an aqueous solution of sodium chloride and C12-C14 alcohol ethoxylate, e.g., 1 g of the superabsorbent polymer to absorb 20 g of an aqueous solution of sodium chloride and C12-C14 alcohol ethoxylate, is 190 seconds or less, to be useful in diapers, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
28. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yorino as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Brullot et. al. (WO 2020109601 A1) (Brullot).
29. Regarding claim 14, Yorino further teaches the water absorbent resin (i.e. superabsorbent polymer) has a saline flow conductivity (SFC) of 120 (*10-7cm3
∙
s/g), but doesn’t explicitly teach a saline flow conductivity (SFC) of 35 to 50 (*10-7cm3 ∙ s/g).
With respect to the difference, Brullot further teaches method of the present disclosure for steering a production process of the superabsorbent polymers (Brullot, p. 26, paragraph 3) with saline flow conductivity (SFC) values measured in Figure 10 (Brullot, p. 43, Figure 10)
Annotated Figure 10
wherein the superadsorbent polymers have an SFC of about 30 to about 80 (*10-7cm3
∙
s/g) or larger, which encompasses the recited range (Brullot, p. 43, Figure 10).
Brullot expressly teaches that an important requirement for the superabsorbent polymers is the ability of the hydrogel to conduct liquid (permeability) and distribute it (Brullot, p. 3, paragraph 4)
wherein permeability of superabsorbents is reported in the form of saline flow conductivity (SFC) (Brullot, p. 3, paragraph 4).
Brullot further teaches that further improvement of the properties of the crosslinked polymer particles (i.e. superabsorbent polymers) can be made with coatings (Brullot, p. 23, paragraph 3)
wherein suitable coatings for improving SFC are for example, inorganic inert substances, such as water- insoluble metal salts, organic polymers, cationic polymers and di- or polyvalent metal cations (Brullot, p. 25, paragraph 5).
Yorino and Brullot are analogous art as they are all drawn to production processes of superabsorbent polymers.
In light of the motivation to control the SFC as disclosed by Brullot, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify water-absorbent resin (i.e. superabsorbent polymer) of Yorino to have suitable coatings that control the level of permeability (i.e. SFC), and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/R.F.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1732
/KELING ZHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732