DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18271775 filed 07/11/2023 is a National Stage entry of PCT/CN2021/071528 , International Filing Date: 01/13/2021.
Status of the Application
This Non-final office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment received by the Office on 11 July 2023. Claims 1-31 have been presented in the application, of which, claims 4-6, 9, 11, 18-20, 23, 25 and 30 are cancelled, claims 7, 24, 26-29 and 31 are currently amended and claims 1-3, 8, 10, 12-17 and 21-22 are original. Accordingly, pending claims 1-3, 7-8, 10, 12-17, 21-22, 24, 26-29 and 31 are addressed herein.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 07/11/2023, 07/09/2025 and 08/004/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10, 12-17, 21-22, 24, 26-29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al (US 2020/0404617) in view of Islam et al (US 2019/0394749).
Regarding claim 1, Murray et al discloses method (FIG. 3 illustrates an example paging method, [0025], line 1), comprising:
receiving, at a first device (fig. 14, item UE1) and from a second device (fig. 14 item TRP 1), a configuration of a paging indication, the configuration indicating (UE1 would receive paging transmissions (configuration of a paging indication) from TRP 1 (second device) during paging block 1, [0226], lines 6-8):
location information for monitoring the paging indication (The UEs would monitor for paging during all paging blocks, but would only receive paging transmissions during paging blocks where beams providing coverage in the area (location information) of the UE are transmitted, [0226], lines 4-6), and
mapping information between the paging indication and a set of paging occasions in at least one paging frame (fig. 21, In a first option, PO may map to the paging burst series (set of paging occasions and paging indication mapped), e.g., for covering the sweeping area within a Paging Frame. In a second option, PO may map to or one more paging bursts in the paging burst series (set of paging occasions and paging indication mapped), e.g., multiple subframes within a Paging Frame. In a third option, PO may map to one or more paging blocks in a paging burst (set of paging occasions and paging indication mapped), e.g., carrying the Paging Indication on a physical channel. Exemplary mappings for the different options are shown in FIGS. 19 to 21, [0236], lines 2-6);
receiving the paging indication from the second device based on the location information (The UEs would monitor for paging during all paging blocks, but would only receive paging transmissions during paging blocks where beams providing coverage in the area (location information) of the UE are transmitted. UE1 would receive paging transmissions (configuration of a paging indication) from TRP 1 (second device) during paging block 1, [0226], lines 4-8);
determining, based on the mapping information, a paging occasion which is associated with the first device from the set of paging occasions (Every UE in the pool of UEs configured for a given PO (a paging occasion which is associated with the first device from the set of paging occasions) and PI-RNTI may be mapped (based on the mapping information) to one of the PRACH preambles, [0426], line 2); and
Murray et al does not specifically disclose concept of monitoring a paging message in the determined paging occasion associated with the first device.
However, Islam et al specifically teaches concept of monitoring a paging message in the determined paging occasion associated with the first device (UE monitors for paging message where locations of monitored paging occasions (determined paging occasion) may be based at least in part on which beamformed transmission beams are used to transmit SSBs by the base station, [0050], lines 7-8).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Murray et al with concept of monitoring a paging message in the determined paging occasion associated with the first device of Islam et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve paging configuration in beamformed wireless communications, (Islam et al, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Murray et al discloses method, wherein receiving the paging indication comprises (UE1 would receive paging transmissions (paging indication) from TRP 1 (second device) during paging block 1, [0226], lines 6-8):
determining, from the location information, a first time offset prior to start time of the at least one paging frame associated with the first device (UE may obtain the configuration of the paging DCI CORESET. The indication of the paging DCI CORESET may include: (iv) Slot location (location information) of the paging DCI CORESET within a UE's PO. e.g., the time offset (first time offset) of the paging DCI CORESET corresponding to the selected SS block or to the starting slot (start time) of the PO in number of slots, [0362], lines 2-4, [0364], lines 1 and 7-9); and
receiving the paging indication based on the first time offset (UE may obtain the configuration of the paging DCI CORESET. The indication of the paging DCI CORESET may include: (iv) Slot location (location information) of the paging DCI CORESET within a UE's PO. e.g., the time offset (first time offset) of the paging DCI CORESET, [0362], lines 2-4, [0364], lines 1 and 7-9).
Regarding claim 3, Murray et al discloses method, wherein receiving the paging indication comprises (UE1 would receive paging transmissions (paging indication) from TRP 1 (second device) during paging block 1, [0226], lines 6-8):
determining a first physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, monitoring occasion corresponding to a first paging occasion in the set of paging occasions (UE may, for example periodically, monitor a PDCCH for a DL control information (DCI) or DL assignment on a PDCCH masked with a P-RNTI (Paging RNTI), for example in Idle Mode and/or in Connected Mode. Paging Occasion (PO) that a UE may monitor for the Paging Channel, for example in Idle Mode, [0193], lines 1-2, [0194], lines 1-2);
determining, from the location information, a second time offset prior to the first PDCCH monitoring occasion (UE may obtain the configuration of the paging DCI CORESET. The indication of the paging DCI CORESET may include: (iv) Slot location (location information) of the paging DCI CORESET within a UE's PO. e.g., the time offset (first time offset) of the paging DCI CORESET corresponding to the selected SS block or to the starting slot (start time) of the PO in number of slots (second time offset), [0362], lines 2-4, [0364], lines 1 and 7-9); and
receiving the paging indication based on the second time offset (UE may obtain the configuration of the paging DCI CORESET. The indication of the paging DCI CORESET may include starting slot (start time) of the PO in number of slots (second time offset), [0362], lines 2-4, [0364], lines 1 and 7-9).
Regarding claim 7, Murray et al discloses method, wherein receiving the paging indication comprises (UE1 would receive paging transmissions (paging indication) from TRP 1 (second device) during paging block 1, [0226], lines 6-8):
determining, from the location information, a search space of the paging indication (The POs' starting indication p_s is exemplified with 0, 4, or 8, e.g., the starting subframe to search PI (paging indication) of a PO is subframe 0, 4, or 8 in this example. The N.sub.s is set to 2 in FIG. 40B, e.g., there are 2 POs in a PF. The starting indication of a PO p_s is set to 0 and 5, e.g., the starting subframe for a UE to search PI (paging indication) of its PO is subframe 0 or 5 in this example, [0344], lines 4-7); and
receiving the paging indication in the search space (The POs' starting indication p_s is exemplified with 0, 4, or 8, e.g., the starting subframe to search PI (paging indication) of a PO is subframe 0, 4, or 8 in this example, [0344], lines 4-7).
Regarding claim 8, Murray et al discloses method, wherein the configuration is received in at least one of system information, downlink control information or radio resource control signaling (UE may, for example periodically, monitor a PDCCH for a DL control information (DCI) or DL assignment on a PDCCH masked with a P-RNTI (Paging RNTI), for example in Idle Mode and/or in Connected Mode. Paging Occasion (PO) that a UE may monitor for the Paging Channel, for example in Idle Mode, [0193], lines 1-2, [0194], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Murray et al discloses method, wherein monitoring the paging message in the paging occasion comprises:
obtaining a bitmap from the paging indication (The paging indication may occur with a single P-RNTI. However, the paging DCI may carry a bitmap of P bits indicating which UEs should respond to the paging as shown in FIG. 75, [0460], lines 1-2);
mapping the bitmap to the paging occasion based on the mapping information (The paging indication may occur with a single P-RNTI. Paging DCI may carry a bitmap of P bits indicating which UEs should respond to the paging as shown in FIG. 75. A single bitmap maps to multiple UE IDs. In the case of multiple P-RNTIs, each PO carries multiple paging indicators scrambled with corresponding P-RNTIs, [0460], lines 1-2, [0461], lines 1-2, [0469], lines 1-2); and
Murray et al does not specifically disclose concept of monitoring the paging message in the paging occasion.
However, Islam et al specifically teaches concept of monitoring the paging message in the paging occasion (UE monitors for paging message where locations of monitored paging occasions (determined paging occasion) may be based at least in part on which beamformed transmission beams are used to transmit SSBs by the base station, [0050], lines 7-8).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Murray et al with concept of monitoring the paging message in the paging occasion of Islam et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve paging configuration in beamformed wireless communications, (Islam et al, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 12, Murray et al discloses method, wherein monitoring the paging message in the paging occasion comprises:
obtaining a bitmap from the paging indication (The paging indication may occur with a single P-RNTI. However, the paging DCI may carry a bitmap of P bits indicating which UEs should respond to the paging as shown in FIG. 75, [0460], lines 1-2);
mapping the bitmap to a subset of paging occasions based on the mapping information (The paging indication may occur with a single P-RNTI. Paging DCI may carry a bitmap of P bits indicating which UEs should respond to the paging as shown in FIG. 75. A single bitmap maps to multiple UE IDs. In the case of multiple P-RNTIs, each PO carries multiple paging indicators scrambled with corresponding P-RNTIs, [0460], lines 1-2, [0461], lines 1-2, [0469], lines 1-2); and
Murray et al does not specifically disclose concept of in accordance with a determination that the paging occasion is in the subset of paging occasions, monitoring the paging message in the paging occasion.
However, Islam et al specifically teaches concept of in accordance with a determination that the paging occasion is in the subset of paging occasions, monitoring the paging message in the paging occasion (UE monitors for paging message where locations of monitored paging occasions (determined paging occasion) may be based at least in part on which beamformed transmission beams are used to transmit SSBs by the base station, [0050], lines 7-8).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Murray et al with concept of in accordance with a determination that the paging occasion is in the subset of paging occasions, monitoring the paging message in the paging occasion of Islam et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve paging configuration in beamformed wireless communications, (Islam et al, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Murray et al discloses method, wherein monitoring the paging message in the paging occasion comprises:
obtaining a bitmap from the paging indication (The paging indication may occur with a single P-RNTI. However, the paging DCI may carry a bitmap of P bits indicating which UEs should respond to the paging as shown in FIG. 75, [0460], lines 1-2);
mapping the bitmap to at least one group of devices based on the mapping information (The paging indication may occur with a single P-RNTI. Paging DCI may carry a bitmap of P bits indicating which UEs should respond to the paging as shown in FIG. 75. A single bitmap maps to multiple UE IDs. In the case of multiple P-RNTIs, each PO carries multiple paging indicators scrambled with corresponding P-RNTIs, [0460], lines 1-2, [0461], lines 1-2, [0469], lines 1-2); and
Murray et al does not specifically disclose concept of in accordance with a determination that the first device belongs to one of the at least one group of devices, monitoring the paging message in the paging occasion.
However, Islam et al specifically teaches concept of in accordance with a determination that the first device belongs to one of the at least one group of devices, monitoring the paging message in the paging occasion (UE monitors for paging message where locations of monitored paging occasions (determined paging occasion) may be based at least in part on which beamformed transmission beams are used to transmit SSBs by the base station, [0050], lines 7-8).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Murray et al with concept of in accordance with a determination that the first device belongs to one of the at least one group of devices, monitoring the paging message in the paging occasion of Islam et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve paging configuration in beamformed wireless communications, (Islam et al, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Murray et al discloses method, further comprising:
Murray et al does not specifically disclose concept of causing monitoring the paging message to be skipped based on the paging indication, in accordance with a determination that the paging indication lacks at least one of:
the paging occasion associated with the first device,
a paging frame associated with the first device, or
a group of devices associated with the first device.
However, Islam et al specifically teaches concept of causing monitoring the paging message to be skipped based on the paging indication, in accordance with a determination that the paging indication lacks at least one of (If the network has mixed slots (i.e., combinations of downlink/sidelink (D/S) and uplinks (U) within a slot), the network may configure the paging search space so that the paging monitoring occasions (e.g., paging PDCCH monitoring occasions) do not occur in slots that do not have sufficient resources for scheduling a paging physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), [0126], lines 1-4):
the paging occasion associated with the first device (paging monitoring occasions (e.g., paging PDCCH monitoring occasions) do not occur in slots that do not have sufficient resources for scheduling a paging physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), [0126], lines 1-4),
a paging frame associated with the first device (paging monitoring occasions (e.g., paging PDCCH monitoring occasions) do not occur in slots that do not have sufficient resources for scheduling a paging physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), [0126], lines 1-4), or
a group of devices associated with the first device (If the network has mixed slots (i.e., combinations of downlink/sidelink (D/S) and uplinks (U) within a slot), the network may configure the paging search space so that the paging monitoring occasions (e.g., paging PDCCH monitoring occasions) do not occur in slots that do not have sufficient resources for scheduling a paging physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), [0126], lines 1-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Murray et al with concept of causing monitoring the paging message to be skipped based on the paging indication, in accordance with a determination that the paging indication lacks at least one of: the paging occasion associated with the first device, a paging frame associated with the first device, or a group of devices associated with the first device of Islam et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve paging configuration in beamformed wireless communications, (Islam et al, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 15, Murray et al discloses method, comprising:
transmitting, at a second device and to a first device, a configuration of a paging indication, the configuration indicating (UE1 would receive paging transmissions (configuration of a paging indication) from TRP 1 (second device) during paging block 1, [0226], lines 6-8)
location information for monitoring the paging indication (The UEs would monitor for paging during all paging blocks, but would only receive paging transmissions during paging blocks where beams providing coverage in the area (location information) of the UE are transmitted, [0226], lines 4-6), and
mapping information between the paging indication and a set of paging occasions in at least one paging frame (fig. 21, In a first option, PO may map to the paging burst series (set of paging occasions and paging indication mapped), e.g., for covering the sweeping area within a Paging Frame. In a second option, PO may map to or one more paging bursts in the paging burst series (set of paging occasions and paging indication mapped), e.g., multiple subframes within a Paging Frame. In a third option, PO may map to one or more paging blocks in a paging burst (set of paging occasions and paging indication mapped), e.g., carrying the Paging Indication on a physical channel. Exemplary mappings for the different options are shown in FIGS. 19 to 21, [0236], lines 2-6);
transmitting the paging indication to the first device based on the location information (The UEs would monitor for paging during all paging blocks, but would only receive paging transmissions during paging blocks where beams providing coverage in the area (location information) of the UE are transmitted. UE1 would receive paging transmissions (configuration of a paging indication) from TRP 1 (second device) during paging block 1, [0226], lines 4-8); and
Murray et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmitting, to the first device, a paging message in a paging occasion associated with the first device in the set of paging occasions based on the paging indication.
However, Islam et al specifically teaches concept of transmitting, to the first device, a paging message in a paging occasion associated with the first device in the set of paging occasions based on the paging indication (UE monitors to receive paging message (paging indication) where locations of monitored paging occasions (in a paging occasion associated with the first device in the set of paging occasions based on the paging indication) may be based at least in part on which beamformed transmission beams are used to transmit SSBs by the base station, [0050], lines 7-8).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Murray et al with concept of transmitting, to the first device, a paging message in a paging occasion associated with the first device in the set of paging occasions based on the paging indication of Islam et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve paging configuration in beamformed wireless communications, (Islam et al, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 16, Murray et al discloses method, wherein transmitting the configuration comprises (UE1 would receive paging transmissions (configuration of a paging indication) from TRP 1 (second device) during paging block 1, [0226], lines 6-8):
transmitting the configuration comprising the location information indicating a first time offset prior to start time of the at least one paging frame (UE may obtain the configuration of the paging DCI CORESET. The indication of the paging DCI CORESET may include: (iv) Slot location (location information) of the paging DCI CORESET within a UE's PO. e.g., the time offset (first time offset) of the paging DCI CORESET corresponding to the selected SS block or to the starting slot (start time) of the PO in number of slots, [0362], lines 2-4, [0364], lines 1 and 7-9); and
wherein transmitting the paging indication comprises (UE1 would receive paging transmissions (paging indication) from TRP 1 (second device) during paging block 1, [0226], lines 6-8):
transmitting the paging indication based on the first time offset (UE may obtain the configuration of the paging DCI CORESET. The indication of the paging DCI CORESET may include: (iv) Slot location (location information) of the paging DCI CORESET within a UE's PO. e.g., the time offset (first time offset) of the paging DCI CORESET, [0362], lines 2-4, [0364], lines 1 and 7-9).
Regarding claim 17, Murray et al discloses method, wherein transmitting the configuration comprises (UE1 would receive paging transmissions (configuration of a paging indication) from TRP 1 (second device) during paging block 1, [0226], lines 6-8):
transmitting the configuration comprising the information indicating a second time offset prior to a first physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, monitoring occasion associated with a first paging occasion in the set of paging occasions (UE may, for example periodically, monitor a PDCCH for a DL control information (DCI) or DL assignment on a PDCCH masked with a P-RNTI (Paging RNTI), for example in Idle Mode and/or in Connected Mode. Paging Occasion (PO) that a UE may monitor for the Paging Channel, for example in Idle Mode, [0193], lines 1-2, [0194], lines 1-2); and
wherein transmitting the paging indication comprises (UE may obtain the configuration of the paging DCI CORESET. The indication of the paging DCI CORESET may include: (iv) Slot location (location information) of the paging DCI CORESET within a UE's PO. e.g., the time offset (first time offset) of the paging DCI CORESET corresponding to the selected SS block or to the starting slot (start time) of the PO in number of slots (second time offset), [0362], lines 2-4, [0364], lines 1 and 7-9):
transmitting the paging indication based on the second time offset (UE may obtain the configuration of the paging DCI CORESET. The indication of the paging DCI CORESET may include starting slot (start time) of the PO in number of slots (second time offset), [0362], lines 2-4, [0364], lines 1 and 7-9).
Regarding claim 21, Murray et al discloses method, wherein transmitting the configuration comprises (UE1 would receive paging transmissions (configuration of a paging indication) from TRP 1 (second device) during paging block 1, [0226], lines 6-8):
transmitting the configuration comprising the information indicating a search space of the paging indicating (UE may, for example periodically, monitor a PDCCH for a DL control information (DCI) or DL assignment on a PDCCH masked with a P-RNTI (Paging RNTI), for example in Idle Mode and/or in Connected Mode. Paging Occasion (PO) that a UE may monitor for the Paging Channel, for example in Idle Mode, [0193], lines 1-2, [0194], lines 1-2); and
wherein transmitting the paging indication comprises (UE may obtain the configuration of the paging DCI CORESET. The indication of the paging DCI CORESET may include: (iv) Slot location (location information) of the paging DCI CORESET within a UE's PO. e.g., the time offset (first time offset) of the paging DCI CORESET corresponding to the selected SS block or to the starting slot (start time) of the PO in number of slots (second time offset), [0362], lines 2-4, [0364], lines 1 and 7-9):
transmitting the paging indication in the search space (The POs' starting indication p_s is exemplified with 0, 4, or 8, e.g., the starting subframe to search PI (paging indication) of a PO is subframe 0, 4, or 8 in this example, [0344], lines 4-7).
Regarding claim 22, Murray et al discloses method, wherein the configuration is transmitted in system information or downlink control information (UE1 would receive paging transmissions (configuration of a paging indication) from TRP 1 (second device) during paging block 1, [0226], lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 24, Murray et al discloses method, further comprising:
generating the paging indication comprising a bitmap which is to be mapped to the paging occasion based on the mapping information (The paging indication may occur with a single P-RNTI. However, the paging DCI may carry a bitmap of P bits indicating which UEs should respond to the paging as shown in FIG. 75, [0460], lines 1-2); and
Murray et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein transmitting the paging message in the paging occasion comprises:
transmitting the paging message in the paging occasion.
However, Islam et al specifically teaches concept of wherein transmitting the paging message in the paging occasion comprises(UE monitors for paging message where locations of monitored paging occasions (determined paging occasion) may be based at least in part on which beamformed transmission beams are used to transmit SSBs by the base station, [0050], lines 7-8):
transmitting the paging message in the paging occasion (UE monitors for paging message where locations of monitored paging occasions (determined paging occasion) may be based at least in part on which beamformed transmission beams are used to transmit SSBs by the base station, [0050], lines 7-8).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Murray et al with concept of wherein transmitting the paging message in the paging occasion comprises: transmitting the paging message in the paging occasion of Islam et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve paging configuration in beamformed wireless communications, (Islam et al, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 26, Murray et al discloses method further comprising:
generating the paging indication comprising a bitmap which is to be mapped to a subset of paging occasions based on the mapping information (The paging indication may occur with a single P-RNTI. Paging DCI may carry a bitmap of P bits indicating which UEs should respond to the paging as shown in FIG. 75. A single bitmap maps to multiple UE IDs. In the case of multiple P-RNTIs, each PO carries multiple paging indicators scrambled with corresponding P-RNTIs, [0460], lines 1-2, [0461], lines 1-2, [0469], lines 1-2); and
Murray et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein transmitting the paging message in the paging occasion comprises:
in accordance with a determination that thee paging occasion is in the subset of paging occasions, transmitting the paging message in the paging occasion.
However, Islam et al specifically teaches concept of wherein transmitting the paging message in the paging occasion comprises (UE monitors for paging message where locations of monitored paging occasions (determined paging occasion) may be based at least in part on which beamformed transmission beams are used to transmit SSBs by the base station, [0050], lines 7-8):
in accordance with a determination that thee paging occasion is in the subset of paging occasions, transmitting the paging message in the paging occasion (UE monitors for paging message where locations of monitored paging occasions (determined paging occasion) may be based at least in part on which beamformed transmission beams are used to transmit SSBs by the base station, [0050], lines 7-8).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Murray et al with concept of wherein transmitting the paging message in the paging occasion comprises: in accordance with a determination that thee paging occasion is in the subset of paging occasions, transmitting the paging message in the paging occasion of Islam et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve paging configuration in beamformed wireless communications, (Islam et al, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 27, Murray et al discloses method, further comprising:
generating the paging indication comprising a bitmap which is mapped to a group of devices for monitoring the paging message based on the mapping information (The paging indication may occur with a single P-RNTI. Paging DCI may carry a bitmap of P bits indicating which UEs should respond to the paging as shown in FIG. 75. A single bitmap maps to multiple UE IDs. In the case of multiple P-RNTIs, each PO carries multiple paging indicators scrambled with corresponding P-RNTIs, [0460], lines 1-2, [0461], lines 1-2, [0469], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 28, Murray et al discloses first device comprising:
at least one processor (fig. 1b, item 118, processor); and
at least one memory including computer program code (Access to RAM 82 and/or ROM 93 may be controlled by memory controller 92. Memory controller 92 may provide an address translation function that translates virtual addresses into physical addresses as instructions are executed, [0180], lines 4-5);
the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device to perform the method (Access to RAM 82 and/or ROM 93 may be controlled by memory controller 92. Memory controller 92 may provide an address translation function that translates virtual addresses into physical addresses as instructions are executed, [0180], lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 29, Murray et al discloses second device comprising:
at least one processor (fig. 1b, item 118, processor); and
at least one memory including computer program code (Access to RAM 82 and/or ROM 93 may be controlled by memory controller 92. Memory controller 92 may provide an address translation function that translates virtual addresses into physical addresses as instructions are executed, [0180], lines 4-5);
the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the second device to perform the method (Access to RAM 82 and/or ROM 93 may be controlled by memory controller 92. Memory controller 92 may provide an address translation function that translates virtual addresses into physical addresses as instructions are executed, [0180], lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 31, Murray et al discloses non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions which, when executed on a first device, cause the first device to perform:
receiving, from a second device, a configuration of a paging indication, the configuration indicating (UE1 would receive paging transmissions (configuration of a paging indication) from TRP 1 (second device) during paging block 1, [0226], lines 6-8):
location information for monitoring the paging indication (The UEs would monitor for paging during all paging blocks, but would only receive paging transmissions during paging blocks where beams providing coverage in the area (location information) of the UE are transmitted, [0226], lines 4-6), and
mapping information between the paging indication and a set of paging occasions in at least one paging frame (fig. 21, In a first option, PO may map to the paging burst series (set of paging occasions and paging indication mapped), e.g., for covering the sweeping area within a Paging Frame. In a second option, PO may map to or one more paging bursts in the paging burst series (set of paging occasions and paging indication mapped), e.g., multiple subframes within a Paging Frame. In a third option, PO may map to one or more paging blocks in a paging burst (set of paging occasions and paging indication mapped), e.g., carrying the Paging Indication on a physical channel. Exemplary mappings for the different options are shown in FIGS. 19 to 21, [0236], lines 2-6);
receiving the paging indication from the second device based on the location information (The UEs would monitor for paging during all paging blocks, but would only receive paging transmissions during paging blocks where beams providing coverage in the area (location information) of the UE are transmitted. UE1 would receive paging transmissions (configuration of a paging indication) from TRP 1 (second device) during paging block 1, [0226], lines 4-8);
determining, based on the mapping information, a paging occasion which is associated with the first device from the set of paging occasions (Every UE in the pool of UEs configured for a given PO (a paging occasion which is associated with the first device from the set of paging occasions) and PI-RNTI may be mapped (based on the mapping information) to one of the PRACH preambles, [0426], line 2); and
Murray et al does not specifically disclose concept of monitoring a paging message in the determined paging occasion associated with the first device.
However, Islam et al specifically teaches concept of monitoring a paging message in the determined paging occasion associated with the first device (UE monitors for paging message where locations of monitored paging occasions (determined paging occasion) may be based at least in part on which beamformed transmission beams are used to transmit SSBs by the base station, [0050], lines 7-8).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Ji et al with concept of monitoring a paging message in the determined paging occasion associated with the first device of Islam et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve paging configuration in beamformed wireless communications, (Islam et al, [0002], lines 1-2).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681