DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 7/7/26 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 6/18/26. Claims 1, 4, and 9 are amended. Claim 5 is canceled. Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected finally for the reasons provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida et al. (JP 2003-151558).
Regarding claim 1, Ishida teaches an electrode for a secondary battery (abstract) comprising:
an electrode current collector, or electrode core material (11); and
a mixture layer, or positive electrode mixture layer (13), and a gas adsorption layer, or linear coating of gas adsorption element (12) (Figure 1),
wherein the mixture layer has a pattern structure, i.e. striped as seen in Figure 1, and
wherein the gas adsorption layer (11) is disposed in a region where the mixture layer is not disposed (Figure 1).
Further regarding claim 1 and with regard to claim 4, Ishida teaches that the coating layer, i.e. both the mixture layer and the gas adsorption layer, has a thickness of 0.03mm to 0.1mm (p. 4 of machine translation). Since the upper limit of the thickness of Ishida is close to the claimed lower limit, the examiner takes the position that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that the layer’s performance in the prior art range would have been the same as, or similar to, the performance in the claimed range. Consequently, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to employ a thickness within the claimed range. MPEP 2144.05 I
Ishida is silent on the area of the gas adsorption layer relative to the mixture layer; however, Ishida teaches that both the thickness and the width of the gas adsorption layer are result effective (middle of p. 4 of machine translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to determine the optimum area of the gas adsorption layer. MPEP 2144.05 II B
As for claim 2, it is seen in Figure 1 that the mixture layer (13) and gas adsorption layer (12) form one layer without irregularities on the surface).
Regarding claim 3, Ishida teaches that the thickness of the positive electrode layer including the gas adsorption layer is, for example 140 µm wherein the current collector has a thickness of 20 µm (p. 7). For thickness of 60 µm or smaller, which falls within the range of 30-100 µm for the gas adsorption layer, the limitations of claim 3 are met. Absent any additional and more specific information, a prima face case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05
As for claims 6-7, Ishida teaches that the gas adsorbent may be activated carbon ([0008]).
With regard to claims 9-10, Ishida teaches the electrode discussed above in a secondary battery including both electrode having a gas adsorption layer (p. 9 claim 6 of the machine translation), a separator, and an electrolyte (abstract).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Lee (KR 2001-0095831).
The teachings of Ishida as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Ishida teaches that the gas adsorbent material may be a metal oxide (p. 4 of machine translation) but is silent on the metals of claim 8.
Lee teaches a gas adsorbent metal oxide, specifically zirconium oxide (abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use zirconium oxide such as suggested by Lee as the gas adsorbent material of Ishida and the results of the substitution, i.e. gas adsorption, would have been predictable. MPEP 2143 I B
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 4 that the thickness range of Ishida does not overlap the claimed range, the examiner finds that the range of Ishida does obviate the claimed range for the reasons provided above. Additionally, Applicant is reminded that a general teaching that a thickness should not be above a certain amount does not constitute a teaching away, and the examiner further notes that Ishida does not specifically limit the upper amount. MPEP 2144.05 III B
As to the alleged “claimed relationship” between the thickness and area of the gas adsorption layer, the examiner finds that the data provided in Tables 1 and 2 do not provide sufficient evidence of unexpected results as would be required to overcome the prima facie case of obviousness. Specifically, the Tables do not specify the area of the gas adsorption layer of the Comparative Example, and the examiner is unable to find a value in the specification. Additionally, the area for both Examples 1 and 2 is 10%. Applicant is directed to MPEP 716.02 for more information on unexpected results arguments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALIX E EGGERDING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729