DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 7/11/23, 8/14/24, and 6/12/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishida et al. (JP 2003-151558).
Regarding claim 1, Ishida teaches an electrode for a secondary battery (abstract) comprising:
an electrode current collector, or electrode core material (11); and
a mixture layer, or positive electrode mixture layer (13), and a gas adsorption layer, or linear coating of gas adsorption element (12) (Figure 1),
wherein the mixture layer has a pattern structure, i.e. striped as seen in Figure 1, and
wherein the gas adsorption layer (11) is disposed in a region where the mixture layer is not disposed (Figure 1).
As for claim 2, it is seen in Figure 1 that the mixture layer (13) and gas adsorption layer (12) form one layer without irregularities on the surface).
Regarding claim 4, Ishida teaches that the coating layer has a thickness of 0.03mm to 0.1mm (p. 4 of machine translation).
As for claims 6-7, Ishida teaches that the gas adsorbent may be activated carbon ([0008]).
With regard to claims 9-10, Ishida teaches the electrode discussed above in a secondary battery including both electrode having a gas adsorption layer (p. 9 claim 6 of the machine translation), a separator, and an electrolyte (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida.
The teachings of Ishida as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 3, Ishida teaches that the thickness of the positive electrode layer including the gas adsorption layer is, for example 140 µm wherein the current collector has a thickness of 20 µm (p. 7). For thickness of 60 µm or smaller, which falls within the range of 30-100 µm for the gas adsorption layer, the limitations of claim 3 are met. Absent any additional and more specific information, a prima face case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05
As for claim 5, Ishida is silent on the area of the gas adsorption layer relative to the mixture layer; however, Ishida teaches that both the thickness and the width of the gas adsorption layer are result effective (middle of p. 4 of machine translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to determine the optimum area of the gas adsorption layer. MPEP 2144.05 II B
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Lee (KR 2001-0095831).
The teachings of Ishida as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Ishida teaches that the gas adsorbent material may be a metal oxide (p. 4 of machine translation) but is silent on the metals of claim 8.
Lee teaches a gas adsorbent metal oxide, specifically zirconium oxide (abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use zirconium oxide such as suggested by Lee as the gas adsorbent material of Ishida and the results of the substitution, i.e. gas adsorption, would have been predictable. MPEP 2143 I B
Conclusion
/ALIX E EGGERDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729