DETAILED ACTION
Applicant elected Invention I (Claims 1-3), drawn to product of a plated steel sheet with Al-based plated layer, classified in class B32B15/012 for examination, without traverse. Therefore, Claims 7-11 have been cancelled; Claims 4-6 and 12-13 are withdrawn from consideration as non-elected claims, Claims 1-3 remain for examination, wherein claim 1 is an independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Tabata (US-PG-pub 2021/0355560, thereafter PG’560).
Regarding claim 1, PG’560 teaches a coated steel member and coated steel sheet excellent in hydrogen embrittlement resistance in a corrosive environment for hot press (abstract and par.[0183] of PG’560), which reads on the claimed plated steel sheet for hot press as claimed in the instant claim. PG’560 teaches the Al-based coating with 0-1.0 mass% Ni (par.[0131] of PG’560). PG’560 provides working example #D17 in table 10-2 having 0.1 mass% Ni in the Al-based coating, which is within the claimed Ni range of 0.05-0.35 wt% as claimed in the instant claim. Since PG’560 teaches all limitation in the instant claim, Claim 1 anticipated by PG’560.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG’560.
Regarding claim 2, The comparison between the claimed alloy composition ranges and the example #A18 in table 1 of PG’560 has been listed in following table. All of the essential alloy composition ranges disclosed in the example #A18 in table 1 of PG’560 are within the claimed alloy composition ranges. It is noted the Ti range disclosed in the example #A18 in table 1 of PG’560 is outside the claimed Ti range. However, PG’560 teaches adjusting the Ti in range of 0.010-0.100 mass% (par.[0077]), which overlaps the claimed Ti range. Overlapping Ti range creates a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144 05 I. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the Ti amount as claimed from the disclosure of PG’560 since PG’560 teaches the same Al-based coated steel sheet as claimed throughout whole disclosing range.
Element
From instant Claim 2 (mass %)
#A18 in table 1 of PG’560 (mass %)
Within range
(mass %)
C
0.07-0.5
0.33
0.33
Si
0.05-1
0.39
0.39
Mn
0.5-4
0.65
0.65
P
0.001-0.015
0.012
0.012
S
0.0001-0.02
0.0008
0.0008
Al
0.01-0.1
0.05
0.05
Cr
0.01-1
0.7
0.7
N
0.0010.02
0.004
0.004
Ti
0.01 or less
0.040
Adjusting range:
0.010-0.100 (par.[0077])
--
Overlap at 0.01
B
0.01 or less
0.0025
0.0025
Fe
Balance + impurities
Balance + impurities
Balance + impurities
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG’560 and further in view of Kim et al (US-PG-pub 2020/0190620 A1, thereafter PG’620).
Regarding claim 3, PG’560 teaches an Al-based alloy coated steel sheet (abstract, par.[0077] and [0183] of PG’560). PG’560 does not specify concentration gradient Al based plating layer as claimed in the instant claim. PG’620 teaches a steel sheet for a hot press formed member having excellent coating adhesion (Abstract and examples of PG’620). PG’620 teaches a concentration gradient in the Al alloy plated layer (abstract, claims, examples, par.[0013] and [0038] of PG’620), which reads on the claimed Al rich plating layer and the concentration gradient layer as claimed in the instant claim. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form Al rich plating layer and the concentration gradient layer as demonstrated by PG’620 for the Al-based alloy coated steel sheet of PG’560 in order to obtain a steel sheet for a hot press formed member having excellent coating adhesion (Abstract and examples of PG’620).
Conclusion
/JIE YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734