DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Amendment and Remarks filed on 2/16/2026. This Action is made FINAL.
Claims 1-7 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
(A) Applicant's arguments filed “Claims 1-7 are pending and have been examined. Claim 1 has been amended. Support for the amendment is found in at least Figs. 2 and 5 of the present specification. No new matter has been added.” on 2/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (A), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes Figs. 2 and 5 and the specification does not provide any evidence to support the limitation of “wherein the notification means provides notification of the arrival of the maintenance time in the same manner on both the home screen and the screen on which the reset setting means is provided”. The claim is rejected under 35 USC § 112 as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
(B) Applicant's arguments filed “Enfsh, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016) states regarding the first stage of the Mayo/Alice inquiry that:"Rather, the 'directed to' inquiry applies a stage-one filter to claims, considered in light of the specification, based on whether 'their character as a whole is directed to excluded subject matter.' Internet Patents Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1346 (Fed. Cir.2015); see Genetic Techs. Ltd. v. Merial L.L.C., 818 F.3d 1369, 1375, 2016 WL 1393573, at *5 (Fed.Cir.2016) (inquiring into 'the focus of the claimed advance over the prior art')." That is, Enfish requires an evaluation of the claims as a whole, in light of the specification, and a determination of the focus of the claims. The presence of claim limitations which could be construed as abstract does not discount the value of the claim viewed as a whole in light of the specification, which is directed towards technological improvement of the existing prior art.” on 2/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (B), upon further consideration, The examiner further notes displaying a home screen, providing notifications of maintenance time, and resetting the maintenance time based on selection does not indicate any improvement of the existing prior art. The process is well known to a person having ordinary skill in the art.
(C) Applicant's arguments filed “The human mind cannot execute a "display device" to show "a home screen, which includes at least one of the consumables; a notification means; a plurality of function setting means; and a selection means," as set forth in claim 1. For at least this reason, the claimed invention of claim 1 is not an abstract idea” on 2/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (C), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes that the limitations of “the display device that shows a home screen, which includes at least one of the consumables, a notification means, a plurality of function setting means, and a selection means” are mere data outputting in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05). In particular, display device recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as display performing a generic computer function of displaying setting selections). Furthermore, “shows a home screen” indicate insignificant extra-solution activity to the at least one abstract idea.
(D) Applicant's arguments filed “Applicant also notes that in Core Wireless Licensing SARLv. LG Electronics, Inc., 880 F.3d 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2018), the Federal Circuit ruled that improvements to user interface technology are patent-eligible so long as they recite specific improvements over prior systems:"The asserted claims in this case are directed to an improved user interface for computing devices, not to the abstract idea of an index, as argued by LG on appeal. Although the generic idea of summarizing information certainly existed prior to the invention, these claims are directed to a particular manner of summarizing and presenting information in electronic devices... Like the improved systems claimed in Enfish, Thales, Visual Memory, and Finjan, these claims recite a specific improvement over prior systems, resulting in an improved user interface for electronic devices." There is no need to proceed to the second step of the Alice/Mayo test, because the claimed invention of claim 1 is not directed to an abstract idea. Claim 1, when considered as a whole and in view of the focus of the claim in light of the specification, is not directed to a judicial exception.” on 2/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (D), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes displaying a home screen, providing notifications of maintenance time, and resetting the maintenance time based on selection does not indicate any improvement of the existing prior art. Furthermore there is no evidence that indicated improvements to user interface technology. The process is well known to a person having ordinary skill in the art and merely indicated insignificant extra-solution activity with the at least one abstract idea.
(E) Applicant's arguments filed “At least the above-bolded feature of claim 1 is not disclosed, taught, or suggested in the cited prior art, Kudou in view of Gronsbell. Neither Kudou nor Gronsbell show the above-bolded claim feature. Although the Examiner cites Kudou's Figs. 9-11 and paragraph [0071], specifically the shortest remaining time display portion 83, this is not displayed on the home screen 70 at the center display unit 12. Gronsbell also does not disclose, teach, or suggest the above-bolded feature of claim 1.” on 2/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (E), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes Figs. 2 and 5 and the specification does not provide any evidence to support the limitation of “wherein the notification means provides notification of the arrival of the maintenance time in the same manner on both the home screen and the screen on which the reset setting means is provided”. The claim is rejected under 35 USC § 112 as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Furthermore, Fig. 14 of Kudou indicated a screen with notification of the arrival of the maintenance time and Fig. 15 of Kudou indicated a screen with notification of the arrival of the maintenance time and the reset setting means. Any user interface screen may be configured to function as the system’s home screen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The amended claim 1 recited the limitation of “wherein the notification means provides notification of the arrival of the maintenance time in the same manner on both the home screen and the screen on which the reset setting means is provided” which was not described in the specification. The applicant claimed in the remark dated on 2/16/2026 “Claims 1-7 are pending and have been examined. Claim 1 has been amended. Support for the amendment is found in at least Figs. 2 and 5 of the present specification. No new matter has been added” however Figs. 2 and 5 does not indicate notification of the arrival of the maintenance time in the same manner on both the home screen and the screen on which the reset setting means is provided. The amendment therefor is directed to new matters.
Dependent claims 2-7 are rejected because the claims depended on claim 1 which is rejected base on the reason above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis-Step 1
Claims 1-6 are directed to A display device of a work machine (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claims 1-6 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis-Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for reminder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites:
A display device of a work machine, comprising:
a storage means that stores a cumulative time of use with respect to consumables of the work machine that requires maintenance depending on use;
the display device that shows a home screen, which includes at least one of the consumables; a notification means; a plurality of function setting means; and a selection means;
the notification means that provides a notification of arrival of a maintenance time of the consumable on the basis of the cumulative time;
the plurality of function setting means for respectively setting in the display device a plurality of functions of the work machine; and
the selection means for selecting any of the plurality of function setting means in the display device, wherein the plurality of function setting means has a reset setting means for resetting the cumulative time, and
the selection means performs visual recognition display that allows visual recognition of a procedure leading to the reset setting means regarding at least one of the consumable for which the maintenance time has arrived,
wherein the notification means provides notification of the arrival of the maintenance time, and the visual recognition display is also performed, on the home screen displayed on the display device wherein the display device allows transition from the home screen to a screen on which the reset setting means is provided,
wherein the notification means provides notification of the arrival of the maintenance time in the same manner on both the home screen and the screen on which the reset setting means is provided.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a "mental process" and/or “certain methods of organizing human activity” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation by a user or in the human mind. For example, “the plurality of function setting means for respectively setting … a plurality of functions of the work machine” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mental selections indicating which data to memorize. Similarly, the limitation of "the selection means for selecting any of the plurality of function setting means… , wherein the plurality of function setting means has a reset setting means for resetting the cumulative time" in the context of this claim encompasses the user mental selection to clearing the memorized data. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis-Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim as a whole, integrates the abstract into a partial application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s), and whether those additional elements integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception.
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A display device of a work machine, comprising:
a storage means that stores a cumulative time of use with respect to consumables of the work machine that requires maintenance depending on use;
the display device that shows a home screen, which includes at least one of the consumables; a notification means; a plurality of function setting means; and a selection means;
the notification means that provides a notification of arrival of a maintenance time of the consumable on the basis of the cumulative time;
the plurality of function setting means for respectively setting in the display device a plurality of functions of the work machine; and
the selection means for selecting any of the plurality of function setting means in the display device, wherein the plurality of function setting means has a reset setting means for resetting the cumulative time, and
the selection means performs visual recognition display that allows visual recognition of a procedure leading to the reset setting means regarding at least one of the consumables for which the maintenance time has arrived,
wherein the notification means provides notification of the arrival of the maintenance time, and the visual recognition display is also performed, on the home screen displayed on the display device wherein the display device allows transition from the home screen to a screen on which the reset setting means is provided,
wherein the notification means provides notification of the arrival of the maintenance time in the same manner on both the home screen and the screen on which the reset setting means is provided.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “storage means”, “notification means”, and “the display device”, the examiner submits that these limitations are mere instructions to apply the above noted abstract idea by merely using a computer to perform the process (MPEP § 2106.05). In particular, “storage means” recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as ROM performing a generic computer function of storing data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. “notification means” and “the display device” recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as display performing a generic computer function of displaying a notification and settings) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Regarding the additional limitations of “a storage means that stores a cumulative time of use with respect to a consumable of the work machine that requires maintenance depending on use”, the examiner submits that these limitations are mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05). In particular, “a storage means that stores a cumulative time of use” indicate pre-solution activity such that it amounts no more than a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process.
Regarding the additional limitations of “the display device that shows a home screen, which includes at least one of the consumables; a notification means; a plurality of function setting means; and a selection means”, “a notification means that provides a notification of arrival of a maintenance time of the consumable on the basis of the cumulative time”, “the selection means performs visual recognition display that allows visual recognition of a procedure leading to the reset setting means regarding at least one of the consumables for which the maintenance time has arrived”, “wherein the notification means provides notification of the arrival of the maintenance time, and the visual recognition display is also performed, on the home screen displayed on the display device wherein the display device allows transition from the home screen to a screen on which the reset setting means is provided”, and “wherein the notification means provides notification of the arrival of the maintenance time in the same manner on both the home screen and the screen on which the reset setting means is provided”, the examiner submits that these limitations are mere data outputting in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05). In particular, “the display device that shows a home screen”, “provides a notification of arrival of a maintenance time”, “performs visual recognition display”, “the visual recognition display is also performed, on a home screen displayed on the display device” indicate post-solution activity such that it amounts no more than a step of outputting/displaying data for use in a claimed process.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add no thing that is nor already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2 106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis-Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the Revised Guidance, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “storage means”, “notification means”, and “the display device” amounts to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Furthermore, regarding the additional limitation of “a storage means that stores a cumulative time of use with respect to a consumable of the work machine that requires maintenance depending on use”, “the display device that shows a home screen, which includes at least one of the consumables; a notification means; a plurality of function setting means; and a selection means”, “the notification means that provides a notification of arrival of a maintenance time of the consumable on the basis of the cumulative time”, “the selection means performs visual recognition display that allows visual recognition of a procedure leading to the reset setting means regarding at least one of the consumables for which the maintenance time has arrived”, “wherein the notification means provides notification of the arrival of the maintenance time, and the visual recognition display is also performed, on the home screen displayed on the display device wherein the display device allows transition from the home screen to a screen on which the reset setting means is provided”, and “wherein the notification means provides notification of the arrival of the maintenance time in the same manner on both the home screen and the screen on which the reset setting means is provided” the examiner submits that the limitation merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the at least one abstract idea as previously discussed.
Hence the claim is not patent eligible.
Therefore, claim(s) 1 is/are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding Claim 2, the claim recites “the selection means hierarchizes the procedure leading to the reset setting means” which further narrowing the abstract idea and fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 3, the claim recites further narrowing limitation on the “the selection means performs the visual recognition display for each hierarchy level” which is merely insignificant extra solution activity and fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 4, the claim recites “the reset setting means is provided for each type of a plurality of the consumables at the lowest layer of the selection means” which further narrowing the abstract idea and fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 5, the claim recites further narrowing limitation on the “the selection means includes identification notations identifying options and displays an identification notation of an option leading to the reset setting means in a different color from another option, as the visual recognition display” which is merely insignificant extra solution activity and fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 6, the claim recites further narrowing limitation on the “the selection means cancels the visual recognition display after resetting the cumulative time by the reset setting means” which is merely insignificant extra solution activity and fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
As per claim 7, it recites “A work machine including the display device according to claim 1”. having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: storage means in claim 1, notification means in claim 1, function setting means in claim 1, selection means in claim 1-6, reset setting means in claim 1-2, 4-6.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In the specification paragraph 24, “The storage unit 12 is a storage means configured with a storage medium such as a ROM and a RAM and stores various information of the display device 10”. Accordingly, the storage means is interpreted as a storage medium such as a ROM and a RAM. In the specification paragraph 45, “the display control unit I1 and the display unit 13 included in the display device 10 function as a notification means that provides a notification of arrival of a maintenance time of the consumable on the basis of the cumulative time”. Accordingly, the notification means is interpreted as a display. In the specification paragraph 27, “the display control unit 11 displays on the display unit 13 a function setting screen 60 having a plurality of function setting means for setting a plurality of functions of the work machine 1 (refer to FIG. 6). For example, the display control unit 11 displays on the display unit 13 a reset setting screen 60a, as the function setting screen 60, having a reset setting means for resetting usage information such as a cumulative time of each consumable of the work machine 1 as a function setting means. The home screen 20 has a selection means for making a selection leading to any of the plurality of function setting means. Furthermore, the display control unit 11 displays on the display unit 13, between the home screen 20 and the function setting screen 60,selection screens 30, 40, and 50 each having a selection means for making a selection leading to any of the plurality of function setting means (refer to FIG. 3, FIG. 4, and FIG. 5). In other words, the display control unit 11 and the display unit 13 function as the function setting means and the selection means”. Accordingly, the function setting means, selection means, reset setting means are interpreted as user selection buttons on a screen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudou (US20180268620A1) in view of Gronsbell (US20200234515A1).
In regards to claim 1, Kudou teaches A display device of a work machine, comprising:
a storage means that stores a cumulative time of use with respect to consumables of the work machine that requires maintenance depending on use(Kudou: Para 60 “As information pieces used for display control by the display control portion 51, the storage portion 54 stores, for each maintenance item, (i) a next maintenance timing set by the operation of the operating portion 20, (ii) a maintenance period calculated based on the next maintenance timing, (iii) a time and an accumulated travel distance when previous maintenance was performed, (iv) an elapsed period from the previous maintenance, (v) and the like”);
the display device that shows a home screen (Kudou: Fig. 14; Para 27 “FIG. 2 is a diagram showing a home screen image of a center display unit”; Para 57 “The below-described application screen image 171 (see FIG. 13), a below-described maintenance screen image 275 (see FIG. 14), or the like is displayed at the center display unit 12 based on a control signal from the control unit 50. Each of these screen images displays information pieces (hereinafter referred to as “maintenance related information pieces”) about maintenance regarding a plurality of maintenance items of the vehicle”), which includes at least one of the consumables(Kudou: Fig. 14 Element 276, 280, 278; Para 57 “The below-described application screen image 171 (see FIG. 13), a below-described maintenance screen image 275 (see FIG. 14), or the like is displayed at the center display unit 12 based on a control signal from the control unit 50. Each of these screen images displays information pieces (hereinafter referred to as “maintenance related information pieces”) about maintenance regarding a plurality of maintenance items of the vehicle”); a notification means(Kudou: Fig. 14 Element 281, 282, 283); a plurality of function setting means(Kudou: Fig. 14; Para 84 “The maintenance screen image 275 displays item buttons 276, 277, and 278 for respective maintenance items. In the present embodiment, the maintenance screen image 275 displays a periodic inspection item button 276, a tire rotation item button 277, and an oil change item button 278”); and a selection means(Kudou: Fig. 14; Para 87 “When any one of the item buttons 276, 277, and 278 is selected and determined on the maintenance screen image 275 shown in FIG. 14 by the operation of the operating portion 20, a setting screen image 376, 377, or 378 (see FIGS. 15 to 17) of the corresponding maintenance item is displayed”);
the notification means that provides a notification of arrival of a maintenance time of the consumable on the basis of the cumulative time(Kudou: Fig. 9-11; Para 76 “When the nearness degree is Level 1, and none of the maintenance items is in the maintenance period, the nearness degree display portion 81 displays words “Service Due in” as shown in FIG. 7. When the nearness degree is Level 2, and at least one of the maintenance items is in the maintenance period, the nearness degree display portion 81 displays words “Service Soon” as shown in FIG. 9. When the nearness degree is Level 3, and at least one of the maintenance timings of the maintenance items is about to pass, the nearness degree display portion 81 displays words “Service Due” as shown in FIG. 10. When the nearness degree is Level 4, and at least one of the maintenance timings of the maintenance items has come or has passed, the nearness degree display portion 81 displays words “Service Past Due” as shown in FIG. 11”);
the plurality of function setting means for respectively setting in the display device a plurality of functions of the work machine(Kudou: Fig. 14; Para 84 “The maintenance screen image 275 displays item buttons 276, 277, and 278 for respective maintenance items. In the present embodiment, the maintenance screen image 275 displays a periodic inspection item button 276, a tire rotation item button 277, and an oil change item button 278”); and
the selection means for selecting any of the plurality of function setting means in the display device(Kudou: Fig. 14; Para 87 “When any one of the item buttons 276, 277, and 278 is selected and determined on the maintenance screen image 275 shown in FIG. 14 by the operation of the operating portion 20, a setting screen image 376, 377, or 378 (see FIGS. 15 to 17) of the corresponding maintenance item is displayed”), wherein the plurality of function setting means has a reset setting means for resetting the cumulative time (Kudou: Fig. 15-17 Element 384a, 384b, 384c; Para 87 “Specifically, when the periodic inspection item button 276 is selected and determined on the maintenance screen image 275, the periodic inspection setting screen image 376 shown in FIG. 15 is displayed. When the oil change item button 278 is selected and determined, the oil change setting screen image 378 shown in FIG. 16 is displayed. When the tire rotation item button 277 shown in FIG. 14 is selected and determined, the tire rotation setting screen image 377 shown in FIG. 17 is displayed”; Para 88 “The periodic inspection setting screen image 376 shown in FIG. 15 displays: a title display portion 380 a showing that the image is the setting screen image for the periodic inspection; an on/off set button 381 a for turning on or off display setting of the information piece about the maintenance timing of the periodic inspection at the center display unit 12 and the maintenance timing display portion 35; a remaining time set button 382 a for setting the remaining time until the maintenance timing; a remaining travel distance set button 383 a for setting the remaining travel distance until the maintenance timing; and a reset button 384 a for resetting the setting of the remaining period to an initial value”), and
the selection means performs visual recognition display that allows visual recognition of a procedure leading to the reset setting means regarding at least one of the consumables for which the maintenance time has arrived(Kudou: Fig. 13-17; Para 82 “When the command button 71 is executed on the home screen image 70 shown in FIG. 2, the application screen image 171 shown in FIG. 13 is displayed at the center display unit 12. The application screen image 171 displays a plurality of item buttons 172, 173, 174, and 175 including a maintenance item button 175”; Para 84 “When the maintenance item button 175 is selected and determined on the application screen image 171 shown in FIG. 13 by the operation of the operating portion 20, the maintenance screen image 275 shown in FIG. 14 is displayed”; Para 87 “When any one of the item buttons 276, 277, and 278 is selected and determined on the maintenance screen image 275 shown in FIG. 14 by the operation of the operating portion 20, a setting screen image 376, 377, or 378 (see FIGS. 15 to 17) of the corresponding maintenance item is displayed”; Para 88 “The periodic inspection setting screen image 376 shown in FIG. 15 displays: a title display portion 380 a showing that the image is the setting screen image for the periodic inspection; an on/off set button 381 a for turning on or off display setting of the information piece about the maintenance timing of the periodic inspection at the center display unit 12 and the maintenance timing display portion 35; a remaining time set button 382 a for setting the remaining time until the maintenance timing; a remaining travel distance set button 383 a for setting the remaining travel distance until the maintenance timing; and a reset button 384 a for resetting the setting of the remaining period to an initial value”),
wherein the notification means provides notification of the arrival of the maintenance time, and the visual recognition display is also performed, on the home screen displayed on the display device(Kudou: Fig. 9-11 Element 83; Para 71 “The informing display portion 80, the nearness degree display portion 81, the shortest remaining travel distance display portion 82, and the shortest remaining time display portion 83 are arranged in the maintenance timing display portion 35 so as to be lined up in this order from an upper side in an upward/downward direction”) wherein the display device allows transition from the home screen to a screen on which the reset setting means is provided(Kudou: Fig. 15-17 Element 384a, 384b, 384c; Para 87 “Specifically, when the periodic inspection item button 276 is selected and determined on the maintenance screen image 275, the periodic inspection setting screen image 376 shown in FIG. 15 is displayed. When the oil change item button 278 is selected and determined, the oil change setting screen image 378 shown in FIG. 16 is displayed. When the tire rotation item button 277 shown in FIG. 14 is selected and determined, the tire rotation setting screen image 377 shown in FIG. 17 is displayed”; Para 88 “The periodic inspection setting screen image 376 shown in FIG. 15 displays: a title display portion 380 a showing that the image is the setting screen image for the periodic inspection; an on/off set button 381 a for turning on or off display setting of the information piece about the maintenance timing of the periodic inspection at the center display unit 12 and the maintenance timing display portion 35; a remaining time set button 382 a for setting the remaining time until the maintenance timing; a remaining travel distance set button 383 a for setting the remaining travel distance until the maintenance timing; and a reset button 384 a for resetting the setting of the remaining period to an initial value”),
wherein the notification means provides notification of the arrival of the maintenance time in the same manner on both the home screen (Kudou: Fig. 14 element 281; Para 85 “In the maintenance screen image 275 shown in FIG. 14, the item buttons 276, 277, and 278 are provided with respective remaining period display portions 281, 282, and 283. With this, by opening the maintenance screen image 275 by the operation of the operating portion 20, the user can confirm the remaining periods of all the maintenance items. In the example shown in FIG. 14, the remaining period display portion 281 of the periodic inspection item button 276 displays both the remaining travel distance and the remaining time, and each of the remaining period display portion 282 of the tire rotation item button 277 and the remaining period display portion 283 of the oil change item button 278 displays only the remaining travel distance”; i.e. any user interface screen may be configured to function as the system’s home screen) and the screen on which the reset setting means is provided(Kudou: Fig. 15; Para 88 “The periodic inspection setting screen image 376 shown in FIG. 15 displays: a title display portion 380 a showing that the image is the setting screen image for the periodic inspection; an on/off set button 381 a for turning on or off display setting of the information piece about the maintenance timing of the periodic inspection at the center display unit 12 and the maintenance timing display portion 35; a remaining time set button 382 a for setting the remaining time until the maintenance timing; a remaining travel distance set button 383 a for setting the remaining travel distance until the maintenance timing; and a reset button 384 a for resetting the setting of the remaining period to an initial value”; Para 90 “The remaining time set button 382 a is provided with a remaining period display portion 386 a, and the remaining travel distance set button 383 a is provided with a remaining period display portion 387 a. The remaining period display portion 386 a of the remaining time set button 382 a displays the remaining time, and the remaining period display portion 387 a of the remaining travel distance set button 383 a displays the remaining travel distance”).
Yet Kudou do not explicitly teach the display device that shows a home screen, which includes at least one of the consumables; a notification means; a plurality of function setting means; and a selection means.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gronsbell teaches the display device that shows a home screen, which includes at least one of the consumables; a notification means; a plurality of function setting means; and a selection means(Gronsbell: Fig. 41; Para 111 “The user interface 22 may include a touch screen display, a speaker, physical buttons, and/or other input/output mechanisms. In an example embodiment, the processor 14 may comprise user interface circuitry configured to control at least some functions of one or more input/output mechanisms. The processor and/or user interface circuitry comprising the processor may be configured to control one or more functions of one or more input/output mechanisms through computer program instructions (for example, software and/or firmware) stored on a memory accessible to the processor (for example, memory device 16, and/or the like)”; Para 309 “FIGS. 41-42 show an example user home screen including a home screen interface in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. In the depicted embodiment, links to one or more vehicle diagnostic data sets (e.g., fuel information, battery information, diagnostic alerts - including DTC, maintenance information, recall information, and any other relevant information relating to the vehicle status and health), vehicle historical information (e.g., trip, location history, and the like), and/or additional functionality (e.g., WiFi hotspot) may be depicted”; i.e. the consumables (fuel information, battery information) a notification means (diagnostic alerts - including DTC, maintenance information, recall information, and any other relevant information relating to the vehicle status and health) a plurality of function setting means (additional functionality (e.g., WiFi hotspot)) and a selection means(touch screen display)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device of a work machine of Kudou with the feature of the display device that shows a home screen, which includes at least one of the consumables; a notification means; a plurality of function setting means; and a selection means disclosed by Gronsbell. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “monitor and maintain a vehicle in an efficient manner based on sensory data and protection policies” (Gronsbell: Para 2).
In regards to claim 2, the combination of Kudou and Gronsbell teaches The display device according to claim 1, and Kudou further teaches wherein the selection means hierarchizes the procedure leading to the reset setting means(Kudou: Fig. 13-17; Para 82 “When the command button 71 is executed on the home screen image 70 shown in FIG. 2, the application screen image 171 shown in FIG. 13 is displayed at the center display unit 12. The application screen image 171 displays a plurality of item buttons 172, 173, 174, and 175 including a maintenance item button 175”; Para 84 “When the maintenance item button 175 is selected and determined on the application screen image 171 shown in FIG. 13 by the operation of the operating portion 20, the maintenance screen image 275 shown in FIG. 14 is displayed”; Para 87 “When any one of the item buttons 276, 277, and 278 is selected and determined on the maintenance screen image 275 shown in FIG. 14 by the operation of the operating portion 20, a setting screen image 376, 377, or 378 (see FIGS. 15 to 17) of the corresponding maintenance item is displayed”; Para 88 “The periodic inspection setting screen image 376 shown in FIG. 15 displays: a title display portion 380 a showing that the image is the setting screen image for the periodic inspection; an on/off set button 381 a for turning on or off display setting of the information piece about the maintenance timing of the periodic inspection at the center display unit 12 and the maintenance timing display portion 35; a remaining time set button 382 a for setting the remaining time until the maintenance timing; a remaining travel distance set button 383 a for setting the remaining travel distance until the maintenance timing; and a reset button 384 a for resetting the setting of the remaining period to an initial value”).
In regards to claim 3, the combination of Kudou and Gronsbell teaches The display device according to claim 2, and Kudou further teaches wherein the selection means performs the visual recognition display for each hierarchy level(Kudou: Fig. 13-17; Para 82 “When the command button 71 is executed on the home screen image 70 shown in FIG. 2, the application screen image 171 shown in FIG. 13 is displayed at the center display unit 12. The application screen image 171 displays a plurality of item buttons 172, 173, 174, and 175 including a maintenance item button 175”; Para 84 “When the maintenance item button 175 is selected and determined on the application screen image 171 shown in FIG. 13 by the operation of the operating portion 20, the maintenance screen image 275 shown in FIG. 14 is displayed”; Para 87 “When any one of the item buttons 276, 277, and 278 is selected and determined on the maintenance screen image 275 shown in FIG. 14 by the operation of the operating portion 20, a setting screen image 376, 377, or 378 (see FIGS. 15 to 17) of the corresponding maintenance item is displayed”; Para 88 “The periodic inspection setting screen image 376 shown in FIG. 15 displays: a title display portion 380 a showing that the image is the setting screen image for the periodic inspection; an on/off set button 381 a for turning on or off display setting of the information piece about the maintenance timing of the periodic inspection at the center display unit 12 and the maintenance timing display portion 35; a remaining time set button 382 a for setting the remaining time until the maintenance timing; a remaining travel distance set button 383 a for setting the remaining travel distance until the maintenance timing; and a reset button 384 a for resetting the setting of the remaining period to an initial value”).
In regards to claim 4, the combination of Kudou and Gronsbell teaches The display device according to claim 2, and Kudou further teaches wherein the reset setting means is provided for each type of a plurality of the consumables at the lowest layer of the selection means(Kudou: Fig. 15-17; Para 88 “The periodic inspection setting screen image 376 shown in FIG. 15 displays: a title display portion 380 a showing that the image is the setting screen image for the periodic inspection; an on/off set button 381 a for turning on or off display setting of the information piece about the maintenance timing of the periodic inspection at the center display unit 12 and the maintenance timing display portion 35; a remaining time set button 382 a for setting the remaining time until the maintenance timing; a remaining travel distance set button 383 a for setting the remaining travel distance until the maintenance timing; and a reset button 384 a for resetting the setting of the remaining period to an initial value”; i.e. Fig. 15-17 including screen with a reset button resulting from a series of sections(the lowest layer of the selection means)).
In regards to claim 5, the combination of Kudou and Gronsbell teaches The display device according to claim 1, and Kudou further teaches wherein the selection means includes identification notations identifying options and displays an identification notation of an option leading to the reset setting means in a different color from another option, as the visual recognition display(Kudou: Fig. 14; Para 86 “In the example shown in FIG. 14, the tire rotation is in the maintenance period. Therefore, the image 280 of the wrench mark is displayed at the tire rotation item button 277, and the remaining period is displayed in red at the remaining period display portion 282. Therefore, by opening the maintenance screen image 275 by the operation of the operating portion 20, the user can confirm the maintenance item corresponding to the shortest remaining period displayed at the maintenance timing display portion 35”; Para 87 “When any one of the item buttons 276, 277, and 278 is selected and determined on the maintenance screen image 275 shown in FIG. 14 by the operation of the operating portion 20, a setting screen image 376, 377, or 378 (see FIGS. 15 to 17) of the corresponding maintenance item is displayed”; Para 93 “the tire rotation setting screen image 377 shown in FIG. 17 also displays a title display portion 380 c, an on/off set button 381 c, a remaining travel distance set button 383 c, and a reset button 384 c.”).
In regards to claim 6, the combination of Kudou and Gronsbell teaches The display device according to claim 1, and Kudou further teaches wherein the selection means cancels the visual recognition display after resetting the cumulative time by the reset setting means(Kudou: Fig. 8; Para 75 “when the time is used as the index of the remaining period, the remaining time corresponding to Level 1 of the nearness degree is 16 days or more. The remaining time corresponding to Level 2 of the nearness degree falls within a range of 4 days or more and 15 days or less. The remaining time corresponding to Level 3 of the nearness degree falls within a range of 1 day or more and 3 days or less. The remaining time corresponding to Level 4 of the nearness degree is 0 day or less”; Para 77 “In the informing display portion 80, display for informing that at least one of the maintenance items is in the maintenance period is not performed when the nearness degree is Level 1 (see FIG. 7) but is performed when the nearness degree is Level 2, 3, or 4 (see FIGS. 9 to 11). A mode of the display for informing at the informing display portion 80 is not especially limited. For example, by pop-up display of a wrench mark shown in FIGS. 9 to 11, the informing display portion 80 informs that at least one of the maintenance items is in the maintenance period; Para 91 “When the reset button 384 a is executed by the operation of the operating portion 20, the setting of the remaining period is reset to an initial value. Normally, the reset button 384 a is executed after the maintenance”; i.e. display for informing that at least one of the maintenance items is in the maintenance period is not performed (cancels the visual recognition display) when the nearness degree is Level 1 indicating the remaining period is 16 days or more resulting from a reset to an initial value(resetting the cumulative time by the reset setting means)).
In regards to claim 7, the combination of Kudou and Gronsbell teaches The display device according to claim 1, and Kudou further teaches A work machine including the display device according to claims 1(Kudou: Para 10 “A first aspect of the present invention of the present application is a display device of a vehicle, the display device including a display portion configured to display maintenance related information pieces about a plurality of maintenance items of the vehicle”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
3/13/26