Response to Amendment
The amendment filed by the Applicant on 2/27/26 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, in claims 1 and 19,
a dimension of the second groove part in the direction parallel to the display panel is not larger than a dimension of the first groove part in the direction parallel to the display panel.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
The above limitation is not shown in any of the drawings. The first and second grooves are shown below,
and the dimensions in every aspect, be it in the direction parallel to the display panel or any other direction, is completely different. The widths are different, the lengths are different, the thicknesses are different and the heights are different.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 12-16 and 19-26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claims 1 and 19, the limitation of “a dimension of the second groove part in the direction parallel to the display panel is not larger than a dimension of the first groove part in the direction parallel to the display panel” is not described in the specification and it therefore does not comply with written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 13, 21, 23 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (US 20220190042, WO 2022007034 A1,cited previously)
Regarding claim 1, Ye teaches a display panel (Fig.4) comprising: a driving backplane (121,123,125); a planarization layer group (131,132) provided on a side of the driving backplane; a plurality of pixel electrodes 141 (a pixel electrode layer 141) provided on a side, away from the driving backplane, of the planarization layer group and spaced apart from each other;
a pixel definition layer 142 provided on the side, away from the driving backplane, of the planarization layer group,
the pixel definition layer being provided with pixel openings (gaps between 142) exposing the pixel electrodes,
a partition groove (groove 1422) being provided between two adjacent pixel openings and comprising a first groove part (smaller circle below)
and a second groove part (bigger circle above) sequentially provided in a direction away from the driving backplane, and an orthographic projection of the second groove part on the driving backplane being within an orthographic projection of the first groove part on the driving backplane;
a light-emitting layer group (luminescent layer 142 and electrodes 141 and common electrode 144) provided on a side, away from the driving backplane, of the plurality of the pixel electrodes and the pixel definition layer,
and a common electrode 144 provided on a side, away from the driving backplane, of the light- emitting layer group; wherein a first opening is provided between the two adjacent pixel openings and in the pixel definition layer, and the second groove part is the first opening.
Ye does not teach the light-emitting layer group comprising a common layer disconnected in the partition groove.
However, Ye already teaches only the common top electrode reaches the first and second grooves, and the organic light emitting layer does not reach the grooves and is disconnected in the grooves.
And furthermore, it is well known in the art to consider common layers such as hole transport, hole injection, electron transport layers to be part of a functional organic light emitting layer. Therefore, when the organic light emitting layer, itself is shown to be disconnected at the grooves, then a common layer formed as part of/and included in the organic light emitting layer will also be disconnected from the grooves, as, only the common top electrode is shown to be connected to the groove in Ye.
wherein the display panel further comprises: a blocking layer
provided between the planarization layer group and the pixel definition layer and between two adjacent (between right end to left end) pixel electrodes, and spaced apart from the two adjacent pixel electrodes, wherein the blocking layer comprises at least two blocking sub-layers (sub-layers considered as blocking layers formed between a horizontal array of light emitting elements) arranged in a direction parallel to the display panel (seeing from top from left to right side) and spaced apart from each other through a gap, wherein the gap is the first groove part (shown by arrow)
.
Regarding claim 19, Ye teaches a display device (Fig.4), comprising a display panel comprising: a driving backplane (121,123,125);
a planarization layer group (131,132) provided on a side of the driving backplane; a plurality of pixel electrodes 141 (a pixel electrode layer 141) provided on a side, away from the driving backplane, of the planarization layer group and spaced apart from each other;
a pixel definition layer 142 provided on the side, away from the driving backplane, of the planarization layer group,
the pixel definition layer being provided with pixel openings (gaps between 142) exposing the pixel electrodes,
a partition groove (groove 1422) being provided between two adjacent pixel openings and comprising a first groove part (smaller circle below)
and a second groove part (bigger circle above) sequentially provided in a direction away from the driving backplane, and an orthographic projection of the second groove part on the driving backplane being within an orthographic projection of the first groove part on the driving backplane;
a light-emitting layer group (luminescent layer 142 and electrodes 141 and common electrode 144) provided on a side, away from the driving backplane, of the plurality of the pixel electrodes and the pixel definition layer,
and a common electrode 144 provided on a side, away from the driving backplane, of the light- emitting layer group; wherein a first opening is provided between the two adjacent pixel openings and in the pixel definition layer, and the second groove part is the first opening.
Ye does not teach the light-emitting layer group comprising a common layer disconnected in the partition groove.
However, Ye already teaches only the common top electrode reaches the first and second grooves, and the organic light emitting layer does not reach the grooves and is disconnected in the grooves.
And furthermore, it is well known in the art to consider common layers such as hole transport, hole injection, electron transport layers to be part of a functional organic light emitting layer. Therefore, when the organic light emitting layer itself is shown to be disconnected at the grooves, then a common layer formed as part of/and included in the organic light emitting layer will also be disconnected from the grooves, as, only the common top electrode is shown to be connected to the groove in Ye.
wherein the display panel further comprises: a blocking layer
provided between the planarization layer group and the pixel definition layer and between two adjacent (between right end to left end) pixel electrodes, and spaced apart from the two adjacent pixel electrodes, wherein the blocking layer comprises at least two blocking sub-layers (sub-layers considered as blocking layers formed between a horizontal array of light emitting elements) arranged in a direction parallel to the display panel (seeing from top from left to right side) and spaced apart from each other through a gap, wherein the gap is the first groove part (shown by arrow)
.
.
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Ye teaches a display panel display panel, the planarization layer group comprises a first planarization layer (132 in Ye) provided between the driving backplane and the pixel definition layer 142.
Regarding claims 3 and 21, Ye teaches a display panel, wherein the planarization layer group further comprises a second planarization layer 131 provided between the first planarization layer 132 and the driving backplane (121-125).
Regarding claims 13 and 23, teaches a display panel, wherein a material of the blocking layer is an inorganic material (upper common electrode inorganic material).
Claims 12 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye in view of Ishida (JP 2015118796 A)
Regarding claims 12 and 22, Ye teaches the invention set forth in claims 1 and 19 above, but is silent regarding a material of the blocking layer is the same as the pixel electrode.
Ishida teaches a first (longer arrow below) and second groove (upper groove shown by smaller arrow below),
it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form a pixel electrode in the first groove, in the device of Ye in order to use it for electrical connections/driving the device.
Claims 14 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (WO 2022007034 A1) and further in view of Kim (CN 105742324 A, cited previously)
Regarding claims 14 and 24, Ye teaches: the driving backplane comprises a base substrate 110 (Ye) and a plurality of thin film transistors (see in Ye: The driving circuit layer 120 includes thin film transistors and metal wires arranged in an array) provided on a side of the base substrate, and the display panel further comprises.
Ye does not teach a plurality of third electrodes provided between the first planarization layer and the second planarization layer, the pixel electrode being electrically connected with the third electrode through a vial hole in the second planarization layer, and the third electrode being electrically connected with a first electrode or a second electrode of the thin film transistor through a via hole in the first planarization layer.
Kim teaches a display device (Fig.2) wherein:
a plurality of third electrodes CH3 provided between the first planarization layer 150 and the second planarization layer 145, the pixel electrode CH4 being electrically connected with the third electrode through a vial hole in the second planarization layer 145, and the third electrode being electrically connected with a first electrode or a second electrode of the thin film transistor (T) through a via hole in the first planarization layer and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the third electrode as disclosed in Kim, in the device of Ye in order to reduce corrosion and metal migration resistance.
Claims 15 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (WO 2022007034 A1) and further in view of Li (US 20160181331 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 15, Ye teaches the invention set forth in claims 1 and 19 above,, but is silent regarding the light-emitting layer group further comprises one light-emitting material layer, the common layer comprises a first common layer group and a second common layer group, the first common layer group and the second common layer group are respectively provided on two opposite sides of the light- emitting material layer, the first common layer comprises at least a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer, and the second common layer comprises at least an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer.
Li teaches a display device wherein the light-emitting layer group further comprises one light-emitting material layer, the common layer comprises a first common layer group and a second common layer group, the first common layer group and the second common layer group are respectively provided on two opposite sides of the light- emitting material layer, the first common layer comprises at least a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer, and the second common layer comprises at least an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer ([0003],[0061] and [0071]) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the layers on the two sides of the light emitting layer as disclosed in Li, in the device of Ye in order to improve the light emitting efficiency.
Claims 16 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (WO 2022007034 A1) and further in view of Liu (CN 111668380 A, cited previously)
Regarding claim 16, Ye teaches the invention set forth in claims 1 and 19 above, but does not teach the display panel, wherein the light- emitting layer group further comprises two light-emitting material layers, the common layer comprises a third common layer, a first common layer group and a second common layer group, the third common layer is provided between the two light-emitting material layers, the first common layer group and the second common layer group are respectively provided on sides, away from the third common layer, of the two light-emitting material layers, the third common layer is a charge generation layer, the first common layer comprises at least a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer, and the second common layer comprises at least an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer.
Liu teaches the display device wherein first common layer comprises at least a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer, the second common layer comprises at least an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer and the third common layer comprises a charge generation layer (see in Liu: In addition to the highly conductive hole injection layer (HIL), a charge generation layer (CGL) is introduced for the multiple light-emitting layer (tandem) device AND
As shown in FIG. 3, the pixel film layer 15 comprises a hole injection layer 151 disposed on the substrate, a first hole transport layer 155 set on the hole injection layer 151, a second light emitting layer 156 disposed on the first hole transport layer 155, a first electron transport layer 157 set on the second light emitting layer 156 and a charge generating layer 152 disposed on the first electron transport layer 157, a second hole transport layer 158 disposed on the charge generating layer 152, a first light emitting layer 153 disposed on the second hole transport layer 158, and a second electron transport layer 159 disposed on the first light emitting layer 153, and a second electrode 154 disposed on the second electron transport layer 159.
and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the layers as disclosed in Liu, in the device of Ye in order to improve the working voltage and power consumption.
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 2/27/26 is acknowledged, however they are not found to be persuasive and the arguments are moot in light of new grounds of rejection. Regarding claims 1 and 19 wherein the organic functional layer is well known to comprise a common layer, the below prior art teaches the same:
US 20210335933 A1 discloses that that the organic light emitting layer may have a common layer such as a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer within it.
[0073] For example, the organic light-emitting functional layer comprises a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, an organic light-emitting layer, an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer which are stacked on the anode in turn. The hole injection layer, the hole transport layer, the organic light-emitting layer, the electron transport layer and the electron injection layer are manufactured by conventional processes.
Further, the limitation of “a dimension of the second groove part in the direction parallel to the display panel is not larger than a dimension of the first groove part in the direction parallel to the display panel” is unclear and not seen to be shown in any of the drawings, because every aspect of the dimensions of the first and second grooves are different and not the same. As seen in Applicants figures below:
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875