Election/Restrictions
Election of Group II drawn to claims 1-16 and 19-20, without traverse and filed on 11/3/25 is acknowledged. Claims 17-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objection
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, the limitation of “wherein an orthographic projection of the first opening on the base substrate driving backplane is within an orthographic projection of the second opening on the base substrate driving backplane “ is unclear language. It is not clear what is meant by the limitation. Appropriate correction is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (US 20220190042, WO 2022007034 A1) and further in view of Jia (CN 108717942 A)
Regarding claim 1, Ye teaches a display panel (Fig.1-4) comprising: a driving backplane (121,123,125); a planarization layer group (131,132) provided on a side of the driving backplane; a plurality of pixel electrodes 141 (a pixel electrode layer 141) provided on a side, away from the driving backplane, of the planarization layer group and spaced apart from each other;
a pixel definition layer 142 provided on the side, away from the driving backplane, of the planarization layer group,
the pixel definition layer being provided with pixel openings (gaps between 142) exposing the pixel electrodes,
a partition groove (groove 1422) being provided between two adjacent pixel openings and comprising a first groove part and a second groove part (the two arrows indicated the two grooves of different sizes) sequentially provided in a direction away from the driving backplane, and an orthographic projection of the second groove part on the driving backplane being within an orthographic projection of the first groove part on the driving backplane;
a light-emitting layer group (luminescent layer 142 and electrodes 141 and common electrode 43) provided on a side, away from the driving backplane, of the plurality of the pixel electrodes and the pixel definition layer,
and comprising a common layer disconnected in the partition groove;
and a common electrode 43 provided on a side, away from the driving backplane, of the light- emitting layer group.
Ye does not teach the light-emitting layer group comprising a common layer disconnected in the partition groove.
Jia teaches a display device, wherein the light-emitting layer group comprising a common layer (hole blocking layer 55) where it is disconnected in the partition groove (see in Jia: a hole blocking layer 55, an electron transport layer 56 and electron injection layer 57 in the groove structure 2 is automatically cut off, falls into the groove structure 21, that is, the adjacent organic light emitting layer 5 are cut off the connection) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to cut-off or disconnect the common layer in the groove, in order to prevent crosstalk (also see in Jia: a hole blocking layer 55, an electron transport layer 56 and electron injection layer 57 in the groove structure 2 is automatically cut off, falls into the groove structure 21, that is, the adjacent organic light emitting layer 5 are cut off the connection AND but because the groove structure 21 is provided, the adjacent organic light emitting layer 5 are cut off the connection, so the control one electroluminescent layer 54 emits light, not easy to generate holes or electrons transverse to the condition of 54 of adjacent electroluminescent layer, naturally does not cause the phenomenon of display crosstalk).
Regarding claim 19, Ye teaches a display device (Fig.1-4), comprising a display panel comprising: a driving backplane (121,123,125); a planarization layer group (131,132) provided on a side of the driving backplane; a plurality of pixel electrodes (a pixel electrode layer 141) provided on a side, away from the driving backplane, of the planarization layer group and spaced apart from each other; a pixel definition layer 142 provided on the side, away from the driving backplane, of the planarization layer group, the pixel definition layer being provided with pixel openings (gaps between 142) exposing the pixel electrodes,
a partition groove (groove 1422) being provided between two adjacent pixel openings and comprising a first groove part and a second groove part (the two arrows indicated the two grooves of different sizes) sequentially provided in a direction away from the driving backplane, and an orthographic projection of the second groove part on the driving backplane being within an orthographic projection of the first groove part on the driving backplane; a light-emitting layer group (luminescent layer 142 and electrodes 141 and common electrode 43) provided on a side, away from the driving backplane, of the plurality of the pixel electrodes and the pixel definition layer,
and a common electrode 144 provided on a side, away from the driving backplane, of the light- emitting layer group.
Ye does not teach a common layer disconnected in the partition groove.
Jia teaches a display device, wherein the light-emitting layer group comprising a common layer (hole blocking layer 55) disconnected in the partition groove (see in Jia: a hole blocking layer 55, an electron transport layer 56 and electron injection layer 57 in the groove structure 2 is automatically cut off, falls into the groove structure 21, that is, the adjacent organic light emitting layer 5 are cut off the connection) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to cut-off or disconnect the common layer in the groove, in order to prevent crosstalk (see in Jia: a hole blocking layer 55, an electron transport layer 56 and electron injection layer 57 in the groove structure 2 is automatically cut off, falls into the groove structure 21, that is, the adjacent organic light emitting layer 5 are cut off the connection AND but because the groove structure 21 is provided, the adjacent organic light emitting layer 5 are cut off the connection, so the control one electroluminescent layer 54 emits light, not easy to generate holes or electrons transverse to the condition of 54 of adjacent electroluminescent layer, naturally does not cause the phenomenon of display crosstalk).
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Ye in view of Jia teaches a display panel display panel, wherein the second groove part (larger size groove) is a first opening provided between the two adjacent pixel openings, the planarization layer group comprises a first planarization layer (132 in Ye) provided between the driving backplane and the pixel definition layer 142, and the first groove part (smaller size groove) is a groove provided in the first planarization layer 132.
Regarding claim 3, Ye in view of Jia teaches a display panel, wherein the planarization layer group further comprises a second planarization layer 131 provided between the first planarization layer 132 and the driving backplane (121-125).
Regarding claim 4, Ye in view of Jia teaches a display panel, wherein the second groove part comprises a first opening (larger groove) provided between the two adjacent pixel openings, and the planarization layer group comprises: a first planarization layer 132 (in Ye) provided between the driving backplane and the pixel definition layer, the second groove part further comprising a second opening (lower stepped portion of the larger groove as shown between the borders below:
provided in the first planarization layer 132; and a second planarization layer 131 provided between the first planarization layer and the driving backplane.
However, Ye in view of Jia does not teach: the first groove part (smaller groove) being a groove provided in the second planarization layer. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form a deeper groove adjacent the pixel element, such that the groove encroaches the second planarization layer in order to improve crosstalk between signals of various pixels.
Regarding claim 5, Ye in view of Jia teaches a display panel, wherein an orthographic projection of the first opening on the driving backplane coincides with an orthographic projection of the second opening on the driving backplane (the smaller and bigger opening in Ye with a common axis, also see rejection in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Ye in view of Jia teaches a display panel, wherein an orthographic projection of the first opening on the base substrate driving backplane is within an orthographic projection of the second opening on the base substrate driving backplane (the smaller and bigger opening in Ye with a common axis, also see rejection in claim 1 above, see claim objection above).
Claims 4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (WO 2022007034 A1) and Jia (CN 108717942 A) and further in view of Satoyoshi (JP 2015118796 A)
Regarding claim 4, Ye in view of Jia teaches a display panel, wherein the second groove part comprises a first opening (larger groove) provided between the two adjacent pixel openings, and the planarization layer group comprises: a first planarization layer 132 (in Ye) provided between the driving backplane and the pixel definition layer, the second groove part further comprising a second opening (lower stepped portion of the larger groove as shown between the borders below:
provided in the first planarization layer 132; and a second planarization layer 131 provided between the first planarization layer and the driving backplane.
However, Ye in view of Jia does not teach: the first groove part (smaller groove) being a groove provided in the second planarization layer.
Satoyoshi teaches a display device (Fig.4) wherein the groove 34 (having first and second openings) formed adjacent the pixel elements, in the second planarization layer (18 is pixel defining layer, 14 is the first planarization layer/sealing element, and 11b is the second planarization layer) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form a deeper groove adjacent the pixel element, in order for connecting to a plug.
Regarding claim 7, Ye in view of Jia teaches a display panel, wherein a first opening is provided between the two adjacent pixel openings, and the planarization layer group comprises: a first planarization layer 132 (in Ye) provided between the driving backplane and the pixel definition layer 142, the first planarization layer being provided with a second opening (smaller opening of the groove), and the second opening being connected to the first opening (bigger top opening of the groove); a second planarization layer 131 provided between the first planarization layer 132 and the driving backplane.
Ye in view of Jia does not teach the second planarization layer being provided with a groove, and the first groove part being the groove; and a first metal layer provided between the first planarization layer and the second planarization layer and between two adjacent pixel electrodes, and provided with a third opening, the second groove part being the third opening, and the third opening being connected to the second opening.
Satoshi teaches a display device wherein:
the second planarization layer 11b being provided with a groove 34, and the first groove part being the groove; and a first metal layer (left side of 35) provided between the first planarization layer 14 and the second planarization layer 11b and between two adjacent pixel electrodes 15, and provided with a third opening, the second groove part being the third opening, and the third opening being connected to the second opening (multiple openings in 34 that are connected together, that cut through the pixel defining layer 18, the first planarization layer 14 and the second planarization layer 11b, defining the first, second and third openings) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form a deeper groove adjacent the pixel element, in order to use it for connecting to a plug (from the teachings of plug 36 in Satoshi).
Regarding claim 8, Ye in view of Jia and Satoshi teaches a display panel, wherein an orthographic projection of the first opening on the driving backplane, an orthographic projection of the second opening on the driving backplane and an orthographic projection of the groove on the driving backplane coincide with each other (from the teachings of first second and third openings in Satoshi, that have a common axis, also rejection in claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 9, Ye in view of Jia and Satoshi teaches a display panel, wherein an orthographic projection of the first opening on the driving backplane is within an orthographic projection of the second opening on the driving backplane (from the teachings of first second and third openings in Satoshi, that have a common axis, also rejection in claim 7 above).
Regarding claim 10, Ye in view of Jia and Satoshi teaches a display panel, wherein the orthographic projection of the second opening on the driving backplane is within an orthographic projection of the groove on the driving backplane (from the teachings of first second and third openings in Satoshi, that have a common axis, also rejection in claim 7 above).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (WO 2022007034 A1) and Jia (CN 108717942 A) and Satoyoshi (JP 2015118796 A) and further in view of Choi (US 20180254429 A1)
Regarding claim 11, Ye in view of Jia and Satoyoshi teaches a first opening (gaps between 142) is provided between the two adjacent the pixel openings, the second groove part is the first opening but does not teach and the display panel further comprises: a blocking layer provided between the driving backplane and the pixel definition layer and between two adjacent pixel electrodes, the blocking layer being provided with a fourth opening, and the first groove part being the fourth opening.
Choi teaches a display device (Fig.4) wherein a blocking layer 130 (auxiliary electrode 130) provided in the pixel definition layer 108 (Fig.5) and between two adjacent pixel electrodes 120, the blocking layer being provided with a fourth opening, and the first groove part being the fourth opening and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the blocking layer as disclosed in Choi, in the device of Ye in view of Jia and Satayoshi in order to prevent occurrence of a brightness difference.
Although Ye in view of Jia and Satoyoshi and Choi does not teach a further penetration of the blocking layer such that it is provided between the driving backplane and the pixel definition layer, however, it would have been obvious to form the blocking layer at a higher depth, such that it is provided the groove between the driving backplane and the pixel definition layer, in order to form an easy manufacturing step of forming it in the same plane with the anode/pixel electrode.
Regarding claim 12, Ye in view of Jia and Satoyoshi and Choi teaches a
display panel, wherein a material of the blocking layer is the same as the pixel electrode ([0152] - [0153] of Choi).
Regarding claim 13, Ye in view of Jia and Satoyoshi and Choi teaches a display panel, wherein a material of the blocking layer is an inorganic material ([0064] in Choi).
.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (WO 2022007034 A1) and Jia (CN 108717942 A) and further in view of Kim (CN 105742324 A)
Regarding claim 14, Ye in view of Jia, teaches: the driving backplane comprises a base substrate 110 (Ye) and a plurality of thin film transistors (see in Ye: The driving circuit layer 120 includes thin film transistors and metal wires arranged in an array) provided on a side of the base substrate, and the display panel further comprises.
Ye in view of Jia does not teach a plurality of third electrodes provided between the first planarization layer and the second planarization layer, the pixel electrode being electrically connected with the third electrode through a vial hole in the second planarization layer, and the third electrode being electrically connected with a first electrode or a second electrode of the thin film transistor through a via hole in the first planarization layer.
Kim teaches a display device (Fig.2) wherein:
a plurality of third electrodes CH3 provided between the first planarization layer 150 and the second planarization layer 145, the pixel electrode CH4 being electrically connected with the third electrode through a vial hole in the second planarization layer 145, and the third electrode being electrically connected with a first electrode or a second electrode of the thin film transistor (T) through a via hole in the first planarization layer and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the third electrode as disclosed in Kim, in the device of Ye in view of Jia in order to reduce corrosion and metal migration resistance.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (WO 2022007034 A1) and Jia (CN 108717942 A) and further in view of Li (US 20160181331 A1)
Regarding claim 15, Ye in view of Jia teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding the light-emitting layer group further comprises one light-emitting material layer, the common layer comprises a first common layer group and a second common layer group, the first common layer group and the second common layer group are respectively provided on two opposite sides of the light- emitting material layer, the first common layer comprises at least a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer, and the second common layer comprises at least an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer.
Li teaches a display device wherein the light-emitting layer group further comprises one light-emitting material layer, the common layer comprises a first common layer group and a second common layer group, the first common layer group and the second common layer group are respectively provided on two opposite sides of the light- emitting material layer, the first common layer comprises at least a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer, and the second common layer comprises at least an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer ([0003],[0061] and [0071]) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the layers on the two sides of the light emitting layer as disclosed in Li, in the device of Ye in view of Jia in order to improve the light emitting efficiency.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (WO 2022007034 A1) and Jia (CN 108717942 A) and further in view of Liu (CN 111668380 A)
Regarding claim 16, Ye in view of Jia teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but does not teach the display panel, wherein the light- emitting layer group further comprises two light-emitting material layers, the common layer comprises a third common layer, a first common layer group and a second common layer group, the third common layer is provided between the two light-emitting material layers, the first common layer group and the second common layer group are respectively provided on sides, away from the third common layer, of the two light-emitting material layers, the third common layer is a charge generation layer, the first common layer comprises at least a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer, and the second common layer comprises at least an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer.
Liu teaches the display device wherein first common layer comprises at least a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer, the second common layer comprises at least an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer and the third common layer comprises a charge generation layer (see in Liu: In addition to the highly conductive hole injection layer (HIL), a charge generation layer (CGL) is introduced for the multiple light-emitting layer (tandem) device AND
As shown in FIG. 3, the pixel film layer 15 comprises a hole injection layer 151 disposed on the substrate, a first hole transport layer 155 set on the hole injection layer 151, a second light emitting layer 156 disposed on the first hole transport layer 155, a first electron transport layer 157 set on the second light emitting layer 156 and a charge generating layer 152 disposed on the first electron transport layer 157, a second hole transport layer 158 disposed on the charge generating layer 152, a first light emitting layer 153 disposed on the second hole transport layer 158, and a second electron transport layer 159 disposed on the first light emitting layer 153, and a second electrode 154 disposed on the second electron transport layer 159.
and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the layers as disclosed in Liu, in the device of Ye in view of Jia in order to improve the working voltage and power consumption.
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875