DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, line 2, recites “at least one or more.” Correction of the redundant language is required. The claim should read as either “at least one” or “one or more.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 7, recites “a dynamic viscosity at 40°C of 2500 mm2/s.” Because dynamic viscosity uses the unit Pa·s, rather than mm2/s, it is unclear what property is being claimed. Para. 0011 of the instant specification notes that the viscosity is measured in accordance with JIS K 2283:2000, which is a method for measuring kinematic viscosity. For the purpose of further examination, the property being claimed will be taken to be the kinematic viscosity with a unit of mm2/s.
Claims 2-12 are indefinite due to dependence on indefinite claim 1.
Claim 3, line 2, recites “at least one type selected from.” The use of the word “type” so extends the scope of the expression as to render it objectionably indefinite. For the purpose of further examination, it will be taken to read “at least one selected from.”
Claim 4, lines 1-2, recites “the dynamic viscosity if the plasticizer (C) at 40°C is 1 to 2000 mm2/s.” Because dynamic viscosity uses the unit Pa·s, rather than mm2/s, it is unclear what property is being claimed. Para. 0011 of the instant specification notes that the viscosity is measured in accordance with JIS K 2283:2000, which is a method for measuring kinematic viscosity. For the purpose of further examination, the property being claimed will be taken to be the kinematic viscosity with a unit of mm2/s.
Claim 11, line 2, recites “at least one or more types selected from.” The use of the word “type” so extends the scope of the expression as to render it objectionably indefinite. For the purpose of further examination, it will be taken to read “at least one or more selected from.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Giannini et al (US 2019/0092103 A1), as evidenced by ExxonMobil (Escorez 1102 Product Datasheet, May 5 2020) and Haus et al (Viscosity properties of mineral paraffinic base oils as a key factor in their primary biodegradability, November 2000, Biodegradation, Vol 11, p.365-369).
Regarding Claims 1 and 3-8: Giannini teaches a sealing composition comprising a rubber component (para. 0068-0069), a tackifier (para. 0071), and a plasticizer (para. 0072), wherein the tackifier is a C5 petroleum resin, a C9 petroleum resin, or a C5/C9 copolymer (para. 0096) and the plasticizer is a paraffinic oil (para. 0103). Giannini teaches that the tackifier resin is present at 5-50phr (para. 0122) and the plasticizer is present at 25-65phr (para. 0127). Based on calculations, the mass ratio of the plasticizer to the tackifier is from 0.5-13.
Giannini does not explicitly teach the softening point of the tackifier. However, Giannini teaches Escorez 1102 as an example of the tackifier (para. 0096), which ExxonMobil teaches has a softening point of 100°C (p.1, Properties).
Giannini does not explicitly teach the kinematic viscosity of the plasticizer. However, Haus teaches that paraffinic oils typically have kinematic viscosities at 40°C of about 10-600 mm2/s (p.365, Abstract; p.367, Table 1).
Regarding Claim 2: Giannini teaches that the rubber component comprises a styrenic thermoplastic elastomer and/or a diene elastomer (para. 0068-0069), wherein the styrenic thermoplastic elastomer may be a styrene-butadiene copolymer (para. 0076) and the diene elastomer may be a butadiene rubber or an isoprene rubber (para. 0085).
Regarding Claim 10: Giannini teaches 0.1-6phr of a peroxide crosslinking agent (para. 0093).
Regarding Claim 11: Giannini teaches thiazole and thiuram vulcanizing agents (para. 0089).
Regarding Claim 12: Giannini teaches a self-sealing tire using the sealing composition (para. 0002).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giannini et al (US 2019/0092103 A1), as evidenced by ExxonMobil (Escorez 1102 Product Datasheet, May 5 2020) and Haus et al (Viscosity properties of mineral paraffinic base oils as a key factor in their primary biodegradability, November 2000, Biodegradation, Vol 11, p.365-369).
Giannini teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, wherein the mass ratio of the plasticizer and the tackifier is from 0.5-13, as set forth above. This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an overlapping mass ratio of the plasticizer and the tackifier is from 0.5-13 and would have been motivated to do so at the lower end of the range to achieve sufficient tackiness/adhesion of the sealant.
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767