Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8-9, 11, 14-15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Sadhu et al. (Pub NO. US 2021/0068170 A1; hereinafter Sadhu).
Regarding Claim 1, Sadhu teaches a method of monitoring air pollution (method in Fig. 1; See [0015]-[0025]), the method comprising:
receiving, by a receiver, a wireless communication signal (user equipment 16 receives mmWave wireless signal from base stations 12, 14 in Fig. 1; See para [0015]);
measuring, by the receiver, attenuation of a millimeter Wave (mmWave) or terahertz (THz) signal in the received wireless communication signal to obtain a sensing measurement data of the received wireless communication signal (per para [0016] – user equipment 16 extracts and logs plurality of features, including attenuation as measured by received signal strength indicator RSSI. Also see para [0033] – live attenuation is determined.);
processing the sensing measurement data to obtain air pollution information (see para [0033] - comparing live attenuation to attenuation during clear low pollutant weather corresponds to “processing” used to obtain air quality); and
outputting a result of the obtained air pollution information (See [0033]-[0036] – air pollution mapping is performed, and considered an output of the result), wherein the wireless communication signal is transmitted or received by a base station of a radio access network of a mobile telecommunications network (see Fig. 1- mmWave signal is transmitted from first base station 12. Para [0014] further describes the mmWave 5G is for cellular communication).
Regarding Claim 3, Sadhu teaches the method of claim 1. Sadhu further teaches wherein: receiver is a user equipment (16; See [0015]) that receives the wireless communication signal from the base station (base station 12/14; See [0015]); or the receiver is the base station that receives the wireless communication signal from the user equipment
Regarding Claim 8, Sadhu teaches the method of claim 1. Sadhu further teaches wherein the sensing measurement data comprises a measurement of the attenuation (See [0033]), and at least one of location information corresponding to the sensing measurement data (See [0033]) and a path of the wireless communication signal.
Regarding Claim 9, Sadhu teaches a system for monitoring air pollution (system in Fig. 2; See [0015]-[0025]),, the system comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions (see Fig. 2 –receiver 44 includes computer processing system 50 considered to inherently include with memory); and
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (see Fig. 2 – computer processing system 50 considered to include a processor) to:
receive a wireless communication signal (RX 44 receives wireless signal TX 42);
measure attenuation of a millimeter Wave (mmWave) or terahertz (THz) signal in the received wireless communication signal to obtain a sensing measurement data of the received wireless communication signal (see para [0025] – features from received signal are extracted and include received signal strength indicator, which corresponds to attenuation per para [0016]. Also see para [0033] – live attenuation is determined.);
process the sensing measurement data to obtain air pollution information (see para [0033] - comparing live attenuation to attenuation during clear low pollutant weather corresponds to “processing” used to obtain air quality); and
output a result of the obtained air pollution information (See [0033]-[0036] – air pollution mapping is performed, and considered an output of the result),
wherein the wireless communication signal is transmitted or received by a base station of a radio access network of a mobile telecommunications network (see para [0023] – TX42 is a base station for mmWave 5G signals. Para [0014] further describes the mmWave 5G is for cellular communication).
Regarding Claim 11, Sadhu teaches the system of claim 9. Sadhu further teaches wherein: the wireless communication signal is received, from the base station (16; See [0015]), by a user equipment that performs the measuring (user equipment 12/14; See [0015]); or the wireless communication signal is received, from the user equipment, by the base station that performs the measuring.
Regarding Claim 14, Sadhu teaches the system of claim 9. Sadhu further teaches wherein the sensing measurement data comprises a measurement of the attenuation (See [0033]), and at least one of location information corresponding to the sensing measurement data and a path of the wireless communication signal (See [0033]).
Regarding Claim 15, Sadhu teaches at least one non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon instructions executable by at least one processor to perform a method of monitoring air pollution, the method comprising:
receiving, by a receiver, a wireless communication signal (user equipment 16 receives mmWave wireless signal from base stations 12, 14 in fig. 1; See para [0015]);
measuring, by the receiver, attenuation of a millimeter Wave (mmWave) or terahertz (THz) signal in the received wireless communication signal to obtain a sensing measurement data of the received wireless communication signal (per para [0016] – user equipment 16 extracts and logs plurality of features, including attenuation as measured by received signal strength indicator RSSI. Also see para [0033] – live attenuation is determined.);
processing the sensing measurement data to obtain air pollution information (see para [0033] - comparing live attenuation to attenuation during clear low pollutant weather corresponds to “processing” used to obtain air quality); and
outputting a result of the obtained air pollution information (See [0033]-[0036] – air pollution mapping is performed, and considered an output of the result), wherein the wireless communication signal is transmitted or received by a base station of a radio access network of a mobile telecommunications network(see Fig. 1- mmWave signal is transmitted from first base station 12. Para [0014] further describes the mmWave 5G is for cellular communication).
Regarding Claim 17, Sadhu teaches the at least one non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 15. Sadhu further teaches wherein: the receiver is a user equipment (user equipment 12/14; See [0015]) that receives the wireless communication signal from the base station (16; See [0015]); or the receiver is the base station that receives the wireless communication signal from the user equipment.
Regarding Claim 20, Sadhu teaches the at least one non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 15. Sadhu further teaches wherein the sensing measurement data comprises a measurement of the attenuation (See [0033]), and at least one of location information corresponding to the sensing measurement data and a path of the wireless communication signal (See [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7, 10, 12-13 and 16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadhu in view of Baldwin et al. (Patent NO. US 9,677,986 B1; hereinafter Baldwin).
Regarding Claim 2, Sadhu teaches the method of claim 1. Sadhu is silent about wherein the outputting comprises: transmitting, via a core network of the mobile telecommunication network, the air pollution information to a server; analyzing, by the server, the transmitted air pollution information in addition to a plurality of other air pollution information obtained by measuring attenuation of other mmWave or THz signals in a plurality of other wireless communication signals; and generating a report on air pollution based on the analyzing
Baldwin further teaches wherein the outputting comprises:
transmitting, via a core network of the mobile telecommunication network, the air pollution information to a server (user device 104 transmits air pollution data to server 118 in Fig. 1; See Col. 5, Lines 30-65);
analyzing, by the server, a plurality of air pollution information in addition to a plurality of other air pollution information obtained by measuring attenuation of other mmWave or THz signals (received wireless communication signal by sensor 110 is attenuated in terahertz signal in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See Col. 6, Lines 27-35) in a plurality of other wireless communication signals (112/124 of server 118 analyzes plurality of air pollution information in Fig. 1; See Col. 5, Lines 30-65); and
generating a report on air pollution based on the analyzing (122/124 generates report data 126 based on plurality of air pollution in Fig. 1; See Col. 5, Lines 30-65).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one for ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method of measuring of Sadhu to use the outputting comprises: transmitting the air pollution information to a server; analyzing, by the server, a plurality of air pollution information obtained by measuring attenuation of mmWave or THz signals in a plurality of wireless communication signals; and generating a report on air pollution based on the analyzing, as taught by Baldwin in order to benefit user from information about changes in airborne particles (Baldwin; Col. 1, Lines 10-20).
Regarding Claim 7, Sadhu teaches the method of claim 1. Sadhu is silent about wherein: the processing comprises processing the obtained sensing measurement data in addition to a plurality of other sensing measurement data that is obtained by measuring attenuation of other mmWave or THz signals in a plurality of other wireless communication signals, to obtain the air pollution information; and the plurality of other wireless communication signals are transmitted by a plurality of user equipment to a base station that measures the attenuation, or are transmitted by the base station to the plurality of user equipment that measure the attenuation.
Baldwin further teaches wherein:
the processing comprises processing the obtained sensing measurement data in addition to a plurality of sensing measurement data that is obtained by measuring attenuation of other mmWave or THz signals in a plurality of wireless communication signals (server 122/124 processes plurality of sensing measurement data to obtain air pollution in Fig. 1; See Col. 5, Lines 30-65),
to obtain the air pollution information (server 122/124 processes plurality of sensing measurement data to obtain air pollution in Fig. 1; See Col. 5, Lines 30-65); and
the plurality of wireless communication signals are transmitted by a plurality of user equipment to a base station that measures the attenuation, or are transmitted by the base station to the plurality of user equipment that measure the attenuation (plurality of base station 106/108 transmits to plurality of user equipment 104 that measures attenuated signal; See Col. 4, Lines 10-60).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one for ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method of measuring of Sadhu to use the processing comprises processing a plurality of sensing measurement data that is obtained by measuring attenuation of mmWave or THz signals in a plurality of wireless communication signals, to obtain the air pollution information; and the plurality of wireless communication signals are transmitted by a plurality of user equipment to a base station that measures the attenuation, or are transmitted by the base station to the plurality of user equipment that measure the attenuation, as taught by Baldwin in order to benefit user from information about changes in airborne particles (Baldwin; Col. 1, Lines 10-20).
Regarding Claim 10, Durjan in view of Baldwin teaches the system of claim 9. Durjan is silent about wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to output the result by: analyzing the obtained air pollution information in addition to a plurality of other air pollution information obtained by measuring attenuation of other mmWave or THz signals in a plurality of ither wireless communication signals; and generating a report on air pollution based on the analyzing.
Baldwin further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions (server 1120 is processor device to execute instructions in Fig. 1; See Col. 5, Lines 30-65) to output the result by: analyzing the obtained air pollution information in addition to a plurality of air pollution information obtained by measuring attenuation of mmWave or THz signals (received wireless communication signal by sensor 110 is attenuated in terahertz signal in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See Col. 6, Lines 27-35) in a plurality of wireless communication signals (112/124 of server 118 analyzes plurality of air pollution information in Fig. 1; See Col. 5, Lines 30-65); and
generating a report on air pollution based on the analyzing (122/124 generates report data 126 based on plurality of air pollution in Fig. 1; See Col. 5, Lines 30-65).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one for ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method of measuring of Durjan to use wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to output the result by: analyzing a plurality of air pollution information obtained by measuring attenuation of mmWave or THz signals in a plurality of wireless communication signals; and generating a report on air pollution based on the analyzing, as taught by Baldwin in order to benefit user from information about changes in airborne particles (Baldwin; Col. 1, Lines 10-20).
Regarding Claim 12, Sadhu teaches the system of claim 9. Sadhu is silent about wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: process the obtained sensing measurement data in addition to a plurality of other sensing measurement data obtained by measuring attenuation of other mmWave or THz signals in a plurality of other wireless communication signals, to obtain the air pollution information.
Baldwin further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
process the obtained sensing measurement data in addition to a plurality of other sensing measurement data obtained by measuring attenuation of other mmWave or THz signals in a plurality of other wireless communication signals (server 122/124 processes plurality of sensing measurement data to obtain air pollution in Fig. 1; See Col. 5, Lines 30-65),
to obtain the air pollution information (server 122/124 processes plurality of sensing measurement data to obtain air pollution in Fig. 1; See Col. 5, Lines 30-65).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one for ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method of measuring of Sadhu to use the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: process obtained sensing measurement data in addition to a plurality of other sensing measurement data obtained by measuring attenuation of other mmWave or THz signals in a plurality of other wireless communication signals, to obtain the air pollution information., as taught by Baldwin in order to benefit user from information about changes in airborne particles (Baldwin; Col. 1, Lines 10-20).
Regarding Claim 13, Sadhu in view of Baldwin teaches the system of claim 12. Sadhu is silent about wherein: the plurality of other wireless communication signals are transmitted by a plurality of user equipment to a base station that measures the attenuation, or are transmitted by the base station to the plurality of user equipment that measure the attenuation.
Baldwin further teaches wherein the plurality of other wireless communication signals are transmitted by a plurality of user equipment to a base station that measures the attenuation, or are transmitted by the base station to the plurality of user equipment that measure the attenuation (receiver 104 is user 102’s equipment and 104 receives the wireless communication signal from base station 108/106 in Fig. 1; See Col. 4, Lines 5-65).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one for ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method of measuring of Sadhu to use the plurality of wireless communication signals are transmitted by a plurality of user equipment to a base station that measures the attenuation, or are transmitted by the base station to the plurality of user equipment that measure the attenuation., as taught by Baldwin in order to benefit user from information about changes in airborne particles (Baldwin; Col. 1, Lines 10-20).
Regarding Claim 16, Sadhu teaches the at least one non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 15. Sadhu is silent about wherein the outputting comprises: analyzing the air pollution information in addition to a plurality of other air pollution information obtained by measuring attenuation of other mmWave or THz signals in a plurality of other wireless communication signals; and generating a report on air pollution based on the analyzing.
Baldwin further teaches wherein the outputting comprises:
analyzing the air pollution information in addition to a plurality of other air pollution information obtained by measuring attenuation of other mmWave or THz signals (received wireless communication signal by sensor 110 is attenuated in terahertz signal in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See Col. 6, Lines 27-35) in a plurality of other wireless communication signals (112/124 of server 118 analyzes plurality of air pollution information in Fig. 1; See Col. 5, Lines 30-65); and
generating a report on air pollution based on the analyzing (122/124 generates report data 126 based on plurality of air pollution in Fig. 1; See Col. 5, Lines 30-65).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one for ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method of measuring of Sadhu to use the outputting comprises: analyzing the air pollution information in addition to a plurality of air pollution information obtained by measuring attenuation of mmWave or THz signals in a plurality of wireless communication signals; and generating a report on air pollution based on the analyzing., as taught by Baldwin in order to benefit user from information about changes in airborne particles (Baldwin; Col. 1, Lines 10-20).
Regarding Claim 18, Sadhu teaches the at least one non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 15. Sadhu is silent about wherein the processing comprises: processing the obtained sensing measurement data in addition to a plurality of other sensing measurement data obtained by measuring attenuation of other mmWave or THz signals in a plurality of other wireless communication signals, to obtain the air pollution information.
Baldwin further teaches wherein the processing comprises:
processing the obtained sensing measurement data in addition to a plurality of sensing measurement data obtained by measuring attenuation of mmWave or THz signals in a plurality of wireless communication signals (server 120 receives plurality of transmitted data in Fig. 1; See Col. 5, Lines 30-65), to obtain the air pollution information (122/124 of server processes data to obtain air pollution in Fig. 1; See Col. 5, Lines 30-65).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one for ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method of measuring of Sadhu to use the processing comprises: processing the obtained sensing measurement data in addition to a plurality of other sensing measurement data obtained by measuring attenuation of other mmWave or THz signals in a plurality of other wireless communication signals, to obtain the air pollution information., as taught by Baldwin in order to benefit user from information about changes in airborne particles (Baldwin; Col. 1, Lines 10-20).
Regarding Claim 19, Sadhu in view of Baldwin teaches the at least one non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 18. Sadhu is silent about wherein the plurality of other wireless communication signals are transmitted by a plurality of user equipment to a base station that measures the attenuation, or are transmitted by the base station to the plurality of user equipment that measure the attenuation.
Baldwin further teaches wherein the plurality of other wireless communication signals are transmitted by a plurality of user equipment to a base station that measures the attenuation, or are transmitted by the base station to the plurality of user equipment that measure the attenuation (plurality of base station 106/108 transmits to plurality of user equipment 104 that measures attenuated signal; See Col. 4, Lines 10-60).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one for ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method of measuring of Sadhu to use the plurality of other wireless communication signals are transmitted by a plurality of user equipment to a base station that measures the attenuation, or are transmitted by the base station to the plurality of user equipment that measure the attenuation., as taught by Baldwin in order to benefit user from information about changes in airborne particles (Baldwin; Col. 1, Lines 10-20).
Claim(s) 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadhu in view of S. Durjan et al., "Effects of Major Air Pollutants on Millimeter Wave Spectrum," 2020 3rd International Conference on Emerging Trends in Electrical, Electronic and Communications Engineering (ELECOM), Balaclava, Mauritius, 2020, pp. 185-190; translation of record 11/18/2025).
Regarding Claim 4, Sadhu teaches the method of claim 1. Sadhu is silent about wherein the processing comprises processing, by the receiver, the sensing measurement data to obtain the air pollution information, the air pollution information identifying an amount of a pollutant in air, and obtained based on a predetermined correlation between the amount of the pollutant and wireless communication signal attenuation.
Durjan further teaches wherein the processing comprises processing, by the receiver (See the mobile receiver in Fig. 2), the sensing measurement data to obtain the air pollution information (See page 2), the air pollution information identifying an amount of a pollutant in air (See the correlation of concentration of air pollutant in table I and table II at page 3), and obtained based on a predetermined correlation between the amount of the pollutant and wireless communication signal attenuation (See page 2- page 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one for ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method of measuring of Sadhu by processing comprises processing, by the receiver, the sensing measurement data to obtain the air pollution information, the air pollution information identifying an amount of a pollutant in air, and obtained based on a predetermined correlation between the amount of the pollutant and wireless communication signal attenuation, as taught by Durjan in order to benefit user from information about changes in airborne particles (Durjan; page 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Sadhu teaches the method of claim 1. Sadhu is silent about wherein the processing comprises: transmitting, by the receiver, the sensing measurement data to a server; and processing, by the server, the sensing measurement data to obtain the air pollution information, the air pollution information identifying an amount of a pollutant in air, and obtained based on a predetermined correlation between the amount of the pollutant and wireless communication signal attenuation.
Durjan further teaches wherein the processing comprises: transmitting, by the receiver, the sensing measurement data to a server (transmitter and receiver are bidirectional in fig. 2); and processing, by the server, the sensing measurement data to obtain the air pollution information (See page 2-page 3), the air pollution information identifying an amount of a pollutant in air, and obtained based on a predetermined correlation between the amount of the pollutant and wireless communication signal attenuation (See the correlation of concentration of air pollutant in table I and table II at page 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one for ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method of measuring of Sadhu by processing comprises: transmitting, by the receiver, the sensing measurement data to a server; and processing, by the server, the sensing measurement data to obtain the air pollution information, the air pollution information identifying an amount of a pollutant in air, and obtained based on a predetermined correlation between the amount of the pollutant and wireless communication signal attenuation, as taught by Durjan in order to benefit user from information about changes in airborne particles (Durjan; page 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Sadhu in view of Durjan teaches the method of claim 5. Sadhu is silent about wherein: the transmitting comprises transmitting a plurality of sensing measurement data to the server at predetermined time intervals; and the processing by the server comprises processing, by the server, the plurality of sensing measurement data to obtain the air pollution information.
Durjan further teaches wherein:
the transmitting comprises transmitting a plurality of sensing measurement data to the server at predetermined time intervals (server receives plurality of transmitted data in Fig. 2; See page2-page 3); and
the processing by the server comprises processing, by the server, the plurality of sensing measurement data to obtain the air pollution information (server processes plurality of air pollution information in Table I and Table II; See page 2-page 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one for ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the method of measuring of Sadhu by transmitting comprises transmitting a plurality of sensing measurement data to the server at predetermined time intervals; and the processing by the server comprises processing, by the server, the plurality of sensing measurement data to obtain the air pollution information, as taught by Durjan in order to benefit user from information about changes in airborne particles (Durjan; page 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Allen et al. (Pub NO. US 2021/0241593 A1) discloses System and Method for Position Detection.
Nebel et al. (Pub NO. US 2020/0292449 A1) discloses Detecting Metal Contamination.
Schmidt et al. (Pub NO. US 2014/0065975 A1) discloses System and Method for Assessing Radio Sensing Data.
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858