Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-12, 15-18, 20-21are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baligh et al (US 2017/0331645) (hereinafter Baligh) in view of Baum et al (US 2009/0168730)( herein after Baum).
Regarding claim 1, Baligh discloses a method comprising:
determining that at least two user equipments are to share the same channel state information reference signal port (see Baligh, p. [0109], e.g., a group-based approach is used to allocate a determined number of CSI-RS ports to a group of UEs and p.[0112], e.g., The group of UEs that share the same set of CSI-RS ports are grouped together based on one or more factors, e.g., sharing a VTRP set and/or being in the same vicinity);
transmitting the channel state information reference signal to the at least two user equipments from the same channel state information reference signal port (see Baligh, p. [0043], e.g., TRP serving each group of UEs transmitting CSI-RS on the determined set of CSI-RS ports).
However, Baligh does not expressly disclose the method comprising: determining cyclic shifts to be used for each of the at least two user equipments; wherein the cyclic shift for at least one of the user equipments is smaller than a delay spread of a channel used for transmission of the channel state information reference signal.
Baum discloses the above recited limitations (see Baum, p. [0054], e.g., there may be four sets of transmitters, each set using a possibly different set of cyclic shifts, and in cases where the delay spread is less than the minimum increment between cyclic shifts (cyclic delays), the processing can be adapted to provide improved performance).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Baum’s teachings into Baligh. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide improved performance when delay spread is less than the minimum increment between cyclic shifts as suggested by Baum.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the cyclic shift is determined based on a delay value used in a frequency domain precoding pilot of the at least two user equipments (see Baum, p. [0080], e.g., each of a plurality of transmitters is assigned a different cyclic shift value from a set of cyclic delay values to be used for pilot transmission on a pilot block).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum disclose the method of claim 1,wherein the cyclic shift is configured to separate a frequency resource element shared on the channel state information reference signal port shared with the at least two user equipments (see Baum, p. [0080], e.g., each of a plurality of transmitters is assigned a different cyclic shift value from a set of cyclic delay values to be used for pilot transmission on a pilot block).
Regarding claim 6, Baligh discloses a method comprising:
receiving a channel state information reference signal associated with a cyclic shift via a user equipment (see Baligh, p. [0109], e.g., a group-based approach is used to allocate a determined number of CSI-RS ports to a group of UEs and p.[0112], e.g., The group of UEs that share the same set of CSI-RS ports are grouped together based on one or more factors, e.g., sharing a VTRP set and/or being in the same vicinity); and processing the channel state information reference signal (see Baligh, p. [0043], e.g., TRP serving each group of UEs transmitting CSI-RS on the determined set of CSI-RS ports).
However, Baligh does not expressly disclose wherein the cyclic shift is smaller than a delay spread of a channel used for receiving the channel state information reference signal; and wherein the processing comprises compensating for an effect of the cyclic shift related to a channel state information reference signal port shared with at least one other user equipment.
Baum discloses the above recited limitations. In particular, Baum discloses wherein the cyclic shift is smaller than a delay spread of a channel used for receiving the channel state information reference signal (see Baum, p. [0054], e.g., there may be four sets of transmitters, each set using a possibly different set of cyclic shifts, and in cases where the delay spread is less than the minimum increment between cyclic shifts (cyclic delays), the processing can be adapted to provide improved performance), wherein the processing comprises compensating for an effect of the cyclic shift related to a channel state information reference signal port shared with at least one other user equipment (see Baum, p. [0080], e.g., each of a plurality of transmitters is assigned a different cyclic shift value from a set of cyclic delay values to be used for pilot transmission on a pilot block).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Baum’s teachings into Baligh. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide improved performance when delay spread is less than the minimum increment between cyclic shifts as suggested by Baum.
Regarding claim 7, the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum disclose the method of claim 6, wherein the receiving comprises receiving the channel state information reference signal as an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol (see Baligh, p. [0108], e.g., A CSI-RS port is a pilot port defined as a set of known symbols from a sequence transmitted over known resource elements (for example OFDM resource elements) for UEs to measure the channel state).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum disclose the method of claim 6,wherein compensating for the effect of the cyclic shift comprises separating a frequency resource element shared on the channel state information reference signal port shared with the at least one other user equipment (see Baum, p. [0080], e.g., each of a plurality of transmitters is assigned a different cyclic shift value from a set of cyclic delay values to be used for pilot transmission on a pilot block).
Regarding claim 11, Baligh discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code (see Baligh, p. [0191]); wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: determine that at least two user equipments are to share the same channel state information reference signal port (see Baligh, p. [0109], e.g., a group-based approach is used to allocate a determined number of CSI-RS ports to a group of UEs and p.[0112], e.g., The group of UEs that share the same set of CSI-RS ports are grouped together based on one or more factors, e.g., sharing a VTRP set and/or being in the same vicinity); and
transmit the channel state information reference signal to the at least two user equipments from the same channel state information reference signal port. (see Baligh, p. [0043], e.g., TRP serving each group of UEs transmitting CSI-RS on the determined set of CSI-RS ports).
However, Baligh does not expressly disclose determine cyclic shifts to be used for each of the at least two user equipments; wherein the cyclic shift for at least one of the user equipments is smaller than a delay spread of a channel used for transmission of the channel state information reference signal;
Baum discloses the above recited limitations (see Baum, p. [0054], e.g., there may be four sets of transmitters, each set using a possibly different set of cyclic shifts, and in cases where the delay spread is less than the minimum increment between cyclic shifts (cyclic delays), the processing can be adapted to provide improved performance).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Baum’s teachings into Baligh. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide improved performance when delay spread is less than the minimum increment between cyclic shifts as suggested by Baum.
Regarding claim 12, Baligh discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code (see Baligh, p. [0191]); wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive a channel state information reference signal associated with a cyclic shift via a user equipment; and process the channel state information reference signal.
However, Baligh does not expressly disclose wherein the cyclic shift is smaller than a delay spread of a channel used for receiving the channel state information reference signal; and wherein the processing comprises compensating for an effect of the cyclic shift related to a channel state information reference signal port shared with at least one other user equipment.
Baum discloses the above recited limitations. In particular, Baum discloses wherein the cyclic shift is smaller than a delay spread of a channel used for receiving the channel state information reference signal (see Baum, p. [0054], e.g., there may be four sets of transmitters, each set using a possibly different set of cyclic shifts, and in cases where the delay spread is less than the minimum increment between cyclic shifts (cyclic delays), the processing can be adapted to provide improved performance), wherein the processing comprises compensating for an effect of the cyclic shift related to a channel state information reference signal port shared with at least one other user equipment (see Baum, p. [0080], e.g., each of a plurality of transmitters is assigned a different cyclic shift value from a set of cyclic delay values to be used for pilot transmission on a pilot block).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Baum’s teachings into Baligh. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide improved performance when delay spread is less than the minimum increment between cyclic shifts as suggested by Baum.
Regarding claim 15, the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium encoded with instructions executable by hardware which, when executed by the hardware, causes the hardware to perform the method of claim 1 (see Baligh, p. [0191]).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum disclose a non-transitory computer readable medium, encoded with instructions executable by: hardware which, when executed by the hardware, causes the hardware to perform the method of claim 6 (see Baligh, p. [0191])
Regarding claim 17, the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum disclose the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the cyclic shift is determined based on a delay value used in a frequency domain precoding pilot of the at least two user equipments (see Baum, p. [0080], e.g., each of a plurality of transmitters is assigned a different cyclic shift value from a set of cyclic delay values to be used for pilot transmission on a pilot block).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum disclose the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the cyclic shift is configured to separate a frequency resource element shared on the channel state information reference signal port shared with the at least two user equipments (see Baum, p. [0080], e.g., each of a plurality of transmitters is assigned a different cyclic shift value from a set of cyclic delay values to be used for pilot transmission on a pilot block).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum disclose the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the receiving comprises receiving the channel state information reference signal as an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol (see Baligh, p. [0108], e.g., A CSI-RS port is a pilot port defined as a set of known symbols from a sequence transmitted over known resource elements (for example OFDM resource elements) for UEs to measure the channel state).
Regarding claim 21, the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum disclose the apparatus of claim 12, wherein compensating for the effect of the cyclic shift comprises separating a frequency resource element shared on the channel state information reference signal port shared with the at least one other user equipment (see Baum, p. [0080], e.g., each of a plurality of transmitters is assigned a different cyclic shift value from a set of cyclic delay values to be used for pilot transmission on a pilot block).
Claims 4, 9, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum in view of Mochizuki et al (US 2015/0208411) (hereinafter Mochizuki).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum do not expressly disclose the method of claim 1,wherein the cyclic shift is configured to align at least one window in a delay domain.
Mochizuki discloses the above recited limitations (see Mochizuki, p. [0210], e.g., A timing advance (TA) is provided for compensating for an uplink propagation delay. The transmission from UEs are respectively compensated for by the UEs so as to align with the receiver window of the base station).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Mochizuki’s teachings into the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide energy saving of a communication system as suggested by Mochizuki.
Regarding claim 9, the combined teaching of Baligh, Baum and Mochizuki disclose the method of claim 6,wherein compensating for the effect of the cyclic shift comprises aligning at least one window in a delay domain (see Mochizuki, p. [0210], e.g., A timing advance (TA) is provided for compensating for an uplink propagation delay. The transmission from UEs are respectively compensated for by the UEs so as to align with the receiver window of the base station).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teaching of Baligh, Baum and Mochizuki disclose the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the cyclic shift is configured to align at least one window in a delay domain (see Mochizuki, p. [0210], e.g., A timing advance (TA) is provided for compensating for an uplink propagation delay. The transmission from UEs are respectively compensated for by the UEs so as to align with the receiver window of the base station).
Regarding claim 22, the combined teaching of Baligh, Baum and Mochizuki disclose the apparatus of claim 12, wherein compensating for the effect of the cyclic shift comprises aligning at least one window in a delay domain (see Mochizuki, p. [0210], e.g., A timing advance (TA) is provided for compensating for an uplink propagation delay. The transmission from UEs are respectively compensated for by the UEs so as to align with the receiver window of the base station).
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum in view of Li et al (US 2019/0356448) (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum do not expressly disclose the method of claim 1,wherein the cyclic shift is a space domain and frequency domain shift.
Li discloses the above recited limitations (see Li, p. [0090], e.g., the resource used to transmit the reference signal may include at least one of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, a code domain resource, and a space domain resource. The four types of resources are specifically the symbol used to transmit the reference signal, the subcarrier used to transmit the reference signal, the cyclic shift of the reference signal, and the orthogonal cover code of the reference signal).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Li’s teachings into the combined teaching of Baligh and Baum. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a transmission resources in order to transmit the reference signal as suggested by Li.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teaching of Baligh, Baum and Li disclose the method of claim 6,wherein the cyclic shift is a space domain and frequency domain shift (see Li, p. [0090], e.g., the resource used to transmit the reference signal may include at least one of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, a code domain resource, and a space domain resource. The four types of resources are specifically the symbol used to transmit the reference signal, the subcarrier used to transmit the reference signal, the cyclic shift of the reference signal, and the orthogonal cover code of the reference signal).
Conclusion
/MINH TRANG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477