DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koechner (U.S. Patent # 4,788,436).
In Re claim 1, ‘436 teaches a plastic wavelength shifting fiber comprising: a core (scintillator) containing a fluorescent agent having a peak of a fluorescence spectrum in a wavelength range of 430 to 550 nm (col. 7, lines 13 – 38); and a cladding (col. 7, lines 39 – 41) covering an outer peripheral surface of the core and having a refractive index lower than that of the core (col. 8, lines 46 – 47), wherein the number of carbonyl bonds in the fluorescent agent is zero (‘436 does not teach carbonyl bonds thus the number of carbonyl bond is zero, furthermore the claim recites the agents that do not contain carbonyl bonds, of which ‘436 teaches, thus meeting the claimed limitation), and the fluorescent agent is a bisstyryl-benzene-based compound or a bisvinylcarbazole-benzene-based compound (col. 7, lines 30 – 38).
In Re claim 4, ‘436 teaches wherein an outer diameter of the plastic wavelength shifting fiber is 0.1 to 3.0 mm (col. 8, lines 4 – 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koechner (U.S. Patent # 4,788,436) in view of HIRONAKA (JPH08248276A).
In Re claim 2, ‘436 teaches the fiber of claim 1 and that green and red emitting fluorescent materials are also available for such wavelength shifting, but is expressly silent to wherein a range of a peak wavelength of a fluorescence spectrum of the fluorescent agent is 450 to 550 nm.
‘276 teaches to use a variant of a bisstyryl-benzene-based compound to achieve blue and green wavelengths, which meets the claimed 450 – 550nm wavelengths (pages 5 and 6 of translation).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘436 to use the compounds as taught by ‘276 to fluoresce at 450nm to 550nm as the fluorescent material to create the green wavelength as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAD H SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874