DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/12/2023, 02/14/2025, 03/19/2025 and 07/08/2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 and the compound of formula (II) in the reply filed on 01/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)/(a)(2)) as being anticipated by US 20210380554 A1 to Sakanishi et al.
Sakanishi et al. discloses the elected species
on p. 2 as a compound of Formula (IV). The compounds are useful as insecticides (Abstract). Coating a seed as a form of application is discussed as a method of application at Para. [0417]. Numerous plants are indicated for application including corn at Para. [0435]. Para. [0255] indicates soil-dwelling grubs/family Chrysomelidae and Bruchus species as targets. While use as the only agent is not explicitly disclosed, said use is readily apparent to a PHOSITA as there is no indication that other agents are necessary for the disclosed use. With respect to combinations, Para. [0159]-[0161] disclose combination treatments. Planting furrow treatment is disclosed at Para. [0423]. Accordingly, claims 1-8 and 10 are anticipated.
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In the interest of compact prosecution, note that US20230157288A1 is also available as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and discloses the elected species in claim 5. Applicant is advised to include said disclosure in any statement pursuant to the preceding paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210380554 A1 to Sakanishi et al.
Sakanishi et al. discloses the elected species
on p. 2 as a compound of Formula (IV). The compounds are useful as insecticides (Abstract). Coating a seed as a form of application is discussed as a method of application at Para. [0417]. At Para. [0158] Sakanishi et al. states “The amount of the (hetero)aryl imidazole compound contained in the pest control agent of the present invention is not particularly limited as long as its pest control effect is exhibited.“
Sakanishi et al. does not disclose where 0.05 g to 1.5 g/kg seed is applied.
While Sakanishi et al. is silent as to specific amounts to be applied, application to a seed is taught. It would have been routine optimization for a PHOSITA to search for an amount where the compound’s pest control effect is inhibited and arrive at the instantly claimed amount. Accordingly, claim 9 is obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12195442.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because issued claim 1 is drawn a compound of formula (IV) which is equivalent to applicant’s elected species. Claim 3 identifies the compound as an insecticide and claim 6 as a seed treatment agent. The disclosure also discloses the claimed utilities (see prior art rejection(s) herein) and it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010). Accordingly, claims 1-10 are anticipated and/or obvious in view of the issued claims.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 13, 18-19, 21-28 and 35-37 of copending Application No. 17915058 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 1, 7 and 13 are drawn a compound of formula (II) which is equivalent to applicant’s elected species. The disclosure also discloses the claimed utilities (see prior art rejection(s) herein) and it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010). Accordingly, claims 1-10 are anticipated and/or obvious in view of the issued claims..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-10 are rejected.
Claim 11 is withdrawn.
/JED A KUCHARCZK/Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623