DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0325606) in view of Barron et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0197550).
Concerning claims 1 & 2, Kim discloses a light irradiation unit comprising:
A heat sink (141) having a plate-shaped heat sink body and a fin protruding from a first main surface of the heat sink body (Figure 4);
A substrate (122) laminated on a second main surface on a side opposite to the first main surface in the heat sink body (141) as shown in Figure 3; and
A light irradiation element (121) mounted on a first surface of the substrate (122), which is a surface on a side where the heat sink (141) is provided;
Wherein the light irradiation element (121) is configured to perform light irradiation in an extending direction of the fin as shown in Figures 3-7. See paragraphs 38-48.
Furthermore, regarding claims 3 & 7, Kim discloses that the light irradiation element is configured to perform light irradiation toward a side opposite to a side where the heat sink (141) is located as most clearly shown in Figure 3, wherein the heat sink can be reasonably defined as the fins (141) on the right side of light (121) in which light (121) irradiates light to the left/a side opposite to the side where the heat sink (left fins) are located.
With respect to claims 4, 8 and 9, Kim also discloses a vehicle air-conditioning device (1000) comprising:
A fan (214) that pumps air (paragraph 58);
A duct in which the air pumped from the fan (214) circulates and to an inner surface of which the light irradiation unit (100) according to claims 1-3 is attached (Figure 11); and
An evaporator (410) provided on a downstream side of the duct in a flowing direction of the air (paragraphs 56-61).
Kim does not appear to disclose specifically that the substrate is an electronic substrate. Barron discloses a light irradiation unit that includes a heat sink (114), a substrate (107) laminated on a surface, and a light irradiation element (106) mounted on a first surface of the substrate (paragraphs 32 and 33). The reference continues to disclose that the substrate is an electronic printed circuit board substrate with said light irradiation element (106) mounted thereon in order to create a compact, cost efficient, controlling mechanism for the light irradiation element (paragraph 32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an electronic printed circuit board substrate with said light irradiation element mounted thereon in Kim in order to create a compact, cost efficient, controlling mechanism for the light irradiation element as exemplified by Barron.
As such, claims 1-4 and 7-9 are not patentable over Kim in view of Barron.
With respect to claim 5, Kim also discloses that the light irradiation element (100) is configured to perform light irradiation in each of a direction facing a fan side (214) and a direction facing an evaporator side (410) as shown in Figures 3, 5, 7, 10 and 11.
Thus, claim 5 is not patentable over Kim in view of Barron as well.
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0325606) in view of Barron et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0197550) as applied to claims 4 and 5 above, and further in view of Michinori (Japanese Document Identification No. JP 2005289243 A).
Kim modified by Barron is relied upon as set forth above. Kim does not appear to disclose a power element disposed on the electronic substrate to control driving of the fan, and a harness that supplies power to the power element and the light irradiation element. Michinori discloses a vehicle air conditioning device that includes a fan (1), a duct with an electronic substrate (3) having a heat sink (13) mounted on an inner surface of the duct (Figures 5 & 6), and an evaporator (4) provided on a downstream side of the duct. The reference continues to disclose a power element (14) disposed on the electronic substrate to control driving of the fan (1), and a harness that supplies power to the power element (paragraph 3), which supplies power to all of the components therein, which when modified with Kim includes the light irradiation element. Michinori utilizes the configuration in order to utilize a single electronic power supply component to provide all components of the vehicle air conditioner with power (paragraph 3). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a power element disposed on the electronic substrate of Kim to control driving of the fan, and a harness that supplies power to the power element and the light irradiation element in order to utilize a single electronic power supply component to provide all components of the vehicle air conditioner with power as exemplified by Michinori.
Thus, claims 6 and 10 are not patentable over Kim in view of Barron and Michinori.
Conclusion
/KEVIN JOYNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799