DETAILED ACTION
Final Rejection
Claim Status
The amendment filed on 10/06/2025 has been entered. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 1-5 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 101 rejections, the amendment to claim 1 has overcome the 101 rejection.
Regarding 102 rejections, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connor (US 20220233124 A1), herein referred to as “Connor”, in view of Chi et al. (WO 2019094609 A1), herein referred to as “Chi”.
Regarding claim 1, Connor discloses: A biological electrode comprising an electrode member ([0033]; “disclosed herein are EEG electrodes for use on a hair-covered portion of a person's head”), wherein the electrode member has an electrode body having a plate shape and a plurality of electrode protrusions provided so as to protrude from an electrode protrusion forming surface of the electrode body ([0464] “an electrode base 4201; a ring of electroconductive proximal protrusions (e.g. pins, prongs, teeth, spikes, fingers, and/or protrusions), including protrusion 4202, which extend out in a non-perpendicular manner from the electrode base toward the person's head… and come into contact with the surface of the person's head” , [Figure 42] ), the plurality of electrode protrusions each including a proximal end attached to the electrode protrusion forming surface ([Figure 42]; Connor discloses an embodiment in which protrusions (4202) and a proximal portion attached to the protrusion forming surface) and a distal end that is configured to be in contact with the body of the subject [0464]; “which extend out in a non-perpendicular manner from the electrode base toward the person's head… and come into contact with the surface of the person's head”), the plurality of electrode protrusions are arranged on a virtual circle that travels about an outer peripheral part of the electrode protrusion forming surface of the electrode body ([Figure 42]; Connor discloses an embodiment in which protrusions (4202) are located in the peripheral of electrode body in a virtual circle), a center of a cross-section of the proximal end of each electrode protrusion being positioned on the virtual circle ([Figure 42]) and a protrusion height of each electrode protrusion from the proximal end thereof to the distal end thereof in a direction perpendicular to the electrode protrusion forming surface is 6 to 15mm ([0275]; “an electrode can comprise a base which is worn a first distance from the surface of a person's head and a plurality of conductive protrusions which extend inward from the base through the person's hair to a second distance from the surface of the person's head, wherein the second distance is 1 mm to 10 mm less than the first distance”). Connor does not disclose: a center of a cross-section of the distal end of each electrode protrusion being positioned radially outward from the virtual circle.
However, Chi discloses: and a center of a cross-section of the distal end of each electrode protrusion being positioned radially outward from the virtual circle ([Claim 5]; “ rigid housing bends said prongs so as to dispose said prongs(s) in a radially outward pattern”, [Figure 5])
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode as disclosed by Connor with the radially outward projecting protrusions as disclosed by Chi the motivation being to improve penetration through hair ([Claim 5]).
Regarding claim 2, Connor in view of Chi disclose: The biological electrode according to claim 1. Connor further discloses: wherein each of the plurality of electrode protrusions is arranged so as to be located on the circumference of one virtual circle or a plurality of virtual concentric circles on the outer peripheral part of the electrode protrusion forming surface. ([Figure 42]; Connor discloses an embodiment in which protrusions (4202) are located in the peripheral of electrode body in a virtual circle)
Regarding claim 3, Connor in view of Chi disclose: The biological electrode according to claim 1. Connor further discloses: wherein the plurality of electrode protrusions are arranged at equal intervals on the outer peripheral part of the electrode protrusion forming surface ([0434]; “In an example, a set of electroconductive proximal protrusions can comprise at least three protrusions which extend out different polar angles relative to a central point, wherein the polar angles are evenly distributed around a 360-degree circle”).
Regarding claim 4, Connor in view of Chi disclose: The biological electrode according to claim 1. Connor further discloses: wherein each of the plurality of electrode protrusions has an oblique conical shape with a rounded apex. ([0110];” In an example, a protrusion can have a conic shape”)
Regarding claim 5, Connor in view of Chi disclose: The biological electrode according to claim 1. Connor further discloses: which is used for electroencephalography of a subject ([0033]; “disclosed herein are EEG electrodes for use on a hair-covered portion of a person's head with a plurality of conductive protrusions which extend out from a distal electrode base portion toward a person's head”)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CASEY GEORGE CHA/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794