Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh Jin (KR 10-2017-0037276) in view of Han Jin (KR 10-2020-0110226).
Regarding claim 1, Oh Jin discloses an organic optoelectronic device including an anode and a cathode facing each other, and at least one organic layer positioned between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer includes a second compound represented by Chemical Formula 2-III () (see claim 6) and a third compound represented by Chemical Formula 6-I () (see claim 11), and a light-emitting layer of the organic layer may include a second compound and a third compound (see claim 16). In addition, the compound represented by Chemical Formula 2-III includes compound [D -2] () (see paragraph [0575]), which corresponds to the first compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 (A = substituted carbazolyl) of claim 1, and the third compound represented by Chemical Formula 6-I includes compound [G -1] () (see paragraph [0714]), which includes a benzene ring fused with two neighboring pentagonal rings of claim 1; L ′ 1, L ′ 2 = single bond; Ar ′ 1 = unsubstituted C9 heteroaryl containing heteroatom N; Ar ′ 2 = unsubstituted C6 aryl; R ′ 1, R ′ 2, R ′ 3 = hydrogen and a, c = 4, b = 2).
However, Oh Jin does not disclose that a substituent represented by a circle is substituted in the compound. However, Oh Jin discloses that in the compound represented by Chemical Formula 2-III, R37 May be a substituted or unsubstituted C3-5 heterocyclic group (including a pyridinyl group, a pyrimidinyl, or a triazinyl group) (claim 6; Referring to paragraphs [0069]-[0071]). Han Jin, which pertains to an organic light-emitting device, discloses a compound represented by chemical formula 1 (wherein A is a substituted or unsubstituted carbazolyl), which is the same as chemical formula 1 in claim 1, in a light-emitting layer between a positive electrode and a negative electrode (see claim 1), and thus the different feature could be readily derived by a person skilled in the art from a combination of Oh Jin and Han Jin.
Claims 2 and 5-7 could be easily derived from the feature disclosed in D2 wherein the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 includes a compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 or Chemical Formula 3, wherein R13 May be hydrogen, deuterium, or the like; R2 is an unsubstituted C6-60 aryl and the like; and
R3 is a substituted C6-60 aryl or a substituted C6-60 heteroaryl containing one or more heteroatoms selected from N, O, and S (see claim 2).
Regarding claims 3-4, Han Jin indicates that in chemical formula 1, L is a single bond or phenylene, and Ar1 and Ar2 May be independently phenyl, biphenylyl, and the like (see claims 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 8, Han Jin discloses a compound (see claim 9), which is the same as the first compound of claim 8.
Regarding claims 9-13, Oh Jin discloses compound [G -1] (see paragraph [0714]). Compound [G -1] is the same as in Chemical Formula 2-3 of claim 9 and Chemical Formula 2 of claims 10 and 12, L ′ 1, L ′ 2 = single bond; Ar ′ 1 = unsubstituted C9 heteroaryl including heteroatom N; Ar ′ 2 = unsubstituted C6 aryl; R ′ 1, R ′ 2, R ′ 3 = hydrogen and a, c = 4, and b = 2.
The 72nd compound of claim 11 and claim 13 could be easily derived by a person skilled in the art through a simple design change of a heteroaryl group such as a quinoline group, which is a substituent in compound [G -1].
Conclusion
JAMES D. SELLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/JAMES D SELLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745