DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over No et al. (US 2020/0119285) in view of Xia et al. (US 2010/0270916) (hereafter “Xia”) and Yokoyama et al. (US 2013/0112950) (hereafter “Yokoyama”).
Regarding claims 1-15, No teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0213]-[0223]) (claim 1). No teaches that the light emitting layer comprises two host materials and a phosphorescent dopant (claims 1 and 15). NO teaches that one of the host materials can be
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraphs [0136] and [0213]-[0233]) (claims 1-10). These compounds are the same as claimed by the applicant. No teaches that the second host material can be
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraph [0137] and [0213]-[0233]) (claims 11-14). These compounds are the same as claimed by the applicant except for the presence of deuterium atoms.
No does not specifically teach where either the first host or second host is deuterated.
Xia teaches materials for use in electroluminescent devices (abstract). Xia teaches that deuterium substitution can improve efficiency and stability of a compound because the atomic mass of deuterium is twice the value of hydrogen, which results in lower zero-point energy and lower vibration energy level (paragraph [0066]).
Yokoyama teaches materials for use in electroluminescent devices (abstract). Yokoyama teaches that the substituting a compound with deuterium can lead to improvement in heat resistance and thin-film stability (paragraph [0114]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the host materials of No so the compounds were substituted with deuterium atoms, as taught by Xia and Yokoyama. The motivation would have been to improve the efficiency and stability of the compounds.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Parham et al. (US 2017/0062736) meets compounds that meet applicant’s chemical formula I.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759