DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A drawn to Figs. 1 and 2, and claims 1-7, 12 and 13 in the reply filed on 03/23/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that unity of invention has to be considered in the first place only in relation to the independent claims in an international application and not the dependent claims and therefore no restriction can be made between species. This is not found persuasive because when an independent claim does not avoid the prior art, then the question whether there is still an inventive link between all the claims dependent on that claim needs to be carefully considered. If there is no link remaining, an objection of lack of unity a posteriori (that is, arising only after assessment of the prior art) may be raised. Similar considerations apply in the case of a genus/species or combination/subcombination situation. (MPEP 1850 (II)). As noted in the restriction requirement mailed 01/23/2025 and in the office action below the prior art discloses the common feature in the independent claim and Species A, B and C and therefore there is no inventive link. As noted in the restriction requirement mailed 01/23/2025 upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which are written in dependent form or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowed generic claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 8-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species B and C, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/23/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (KR 20180083566 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an electrode assembly (115 in Fig. 2 and [0052] see Figs. 1-5);
a battery case (see Fig. 2, 116 [0052]) housing the electrode assembly (115 see Fig. 2);
a recessed part (see portion in which 130 is formed in [0054][0052]) recessed in a direction toward an inside of the battery case (116) from a bottom of the battery case; and a gas discharge port (see portion of 130 that opens and port is formed in 131 [0054]) located in the recessed part.
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Lee discloses further comprising an electrode tab connected to the electrode assembly, wherein the recessed part is located in the bottom of the battery case where the electrode tab (electrode terminals formed in cap 112 [0052]) is not connected to the battery case (116).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Lee discloses further comprising a cover (139 [0058]) covering the gas discharge port.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20180083566 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Lee discloses secondary batteries are used in mobile devices as energy sources ([0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the secondary battery of Lee by using it in a device because as disclosed by Lee it is obvious to do so.
Claim(s) 4-7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20180083566 A, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1-3 and 13 above and in further view of Lai (CN 211350788 U, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Lee does not disclose that a gas discharge vent has a rotatable cover.
Lai discloses a gas discharge vent (see 1 and 31 which forms vent structure) with a rotatable cover (1, Abstract, pgs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to replace the gas discharge vent structure of Lee with the gas discharge vent structure of Lai as it is merely a gas discharge vent structure for a secondary battery recognized in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so and further once the pressure is released Lai discloses that gas discharge vent can be closed (See working principle pg. 3).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Lee discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Lee does not disclose that a gas discharge vent has a rotatable cover.
Lai discloses a gas discharge vent (see 1 and 31 which forms vent structure) with a rotatable cover (1, Abstract, pgs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to replace the gas discharge vent structure of Lee with the gas discharge vent structure of Lai as it is merely a gas discharge vent structure for a secondary battery recognized in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so and further once the pressure is released Lai discloses that gas discharge vent can be closed (See working principle pg. 3).
Lai discloses that the gas discharge port (31) includes a gas discharge port hole (32) and the cover (1) includes a cover hole (12) (See pg. 3, paragraph 3). This feature will be present in modified in Lee.
In addition, Lai discloses that the cover hole 12 and cover (1) (See Fig. 2) have a cylindrical shape and a cylindrical hole (12) which matches with hole 32 (see overlap Fig. 3) and therefore both the gas discharge port hole and the cover have a cylindrical shape.
Regarding claim 6, modified Lee discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Lai discloses wherein the cover is rotatable (see Fig. 4 to Fig. 3, see pg. 3) into a position in which the gas discharge port hole and the cover hole are aligned with each other, and wherein an internal gas is discharged through the aligned gas discharge port hole and cover hole (see Working Principle pg. 3).
Regarding claim 7, modified Lee discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Lai discloses wherein the cover hole is equal to in size than size of the gas discharge port hole (see Fig. 3).
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726