DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
“support means” in claim 1;
“actuation means” in claim 1; and
“latch means” in claim 22.
The applicant’s specification states “Preferably, the support means or actuation means for facilitating insertion and/or removal of the filter element comprise a guide mechanism, which may be a sliding-block guide, and/or a spring element configured to at least partially displace the filter element from its operating position that it assumes when it is inserted in the filter seat” and “According to an embodiment, the support means or actuation means comprise an actuation surface, which is configured for performing a manual insertion and/or removal movement of the filter element, wherein the manual movement is specifically performed by the user. Said actuation surface is particularly a gripping surface, which may be arranged at or on a handle”
Factors that will support a conclusion that the prior art element is an equivalent are:
(A) The prior art element performs the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produces substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Kemco Sales, Inc. v. Control Papers Co., 208 F.3d 1352, 1364, 54 USPQ2d 1308, 1315 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (An internal adhesive sealing the inner surfaces of an envelope pocket was not held to be equivalent to an adhesive on a flap which attached to the outside of the pocket. Both the claimed invention and the accused device performed the same function of closing the envelope, but the accused device performed the function in a substantially different way (by an internal adhesive on the inside of the pocket) with a substantially different result (the adhesive attached the inner surfaces of both sides of the pocket)); Odetics Inc. v. Storage Tech. Corp., 185 F.3d 1259, 1267, 51 USPQ2d 1225, 1229-30 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Lockheed Aircraft Corp. v. United States, 193 USPQ 449, 461 (Ct. Cl. 1977). The concepts of equivalents as set forth in Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products, 339 U.S. 605, 85 USPQ 328 (1950) are relevant to any "equivalents" determination. Polumbo v. Don-Joy Co., 762 F.2d 969, 975 n.4, 226 USPQ 5, 8-9 n.4 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
(B) A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the interchangeability of the element shown in the prior art for the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. Caterpillar Inc. v. Deere & Co., 224 F.3d 1374, 56 USPQ2d 1305 (Fed. Cir. 2000); Al-Site Corp. v. VSI Int’ l, Inc., 174 F.3d 1308, 1316, 50 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Chiuminatta Concrete Concepts, Inc. v. Cardinal Indus. Inc., 145 F.3d 1303, 1309, 46 USPQ2d 1752, 1757 (Fed. Cir. 1998); Lockheed Aircraft Corp. v. United States, 193 USPQ 449, 461 (Ct. Cl. 1977); Data Line Corp. v. Micro Technologies, Inc., 813 F.2d 1196, 1 USPQ2d 2052 (Fed. Cir. 1987).
(C) There are insubstantial differences between the prior art element and the corresponding element disclosed in the specification. IMS Technology, Inc. v. Haas Automation, Inc., 206 F.3d 1422, 1436, 54 USPQ2d 1129, 1138 (Fed. Cir. 2000); Warner-Jenkinson Co. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865, 1875 (1997); Valmont Industries, Inc. v. Reinke Mfg. Co., 983 F.2d 1039, 25 USPQ2d 1451 (Fed. Cir. 1993). See also Caterpillar Inc. v. Deere & Co., 224 F.3d 1374, 56 USPQ2d 1305 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (A structure lacking several components of the overall structure corresponding to the claimed function and also differing in the number and size of the parts may be insubstantially different from the disclosed structure. The limitation in a means- (or step-) plus-function claim is the overall structure corresponding to the claimed function. The individual components of an overall structure that corresponds to the claimed function are not claim limitations. Also, potential advantages of a structure that do not relate to the claimed function should not be considered in an equivalents determination under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“marking or indicator means” in claim 11;
“track guide means” in claim 12;
“purification means” in claim 15.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12-14, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neunhauserer (US 20190195511 A1), hereinafter Neunhauserer, in view of Moran (US 20220226678 A1), hereinafter Moran, and further in view of Feisthammel (EP 2233842 A2), hereinafter Feisthammel.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 7, 9, and 22, Neunhauserer discloses an extraction device for removing air from an area above a cooking hob, the extraction device being a downdraft extraction hood and/or forming a combination appliance in combination with the cooking hob, the extraction device being arranged below the cooking hob, the extraction device comprising:
an air inlet opening arranged at or below a cutout or a recess of a worktop of the cooking hob (“The extractor fan apparatus 2 comprises an inflow opening 11. The inflow opening 11 penetrates the hot plate 6” paragraph [0062]);
a fan for aspirating air from the area above the cooking hob through the air inlet opening, in particular through the cutout or recess of the worktop (“The extractor fan apparatus is configured to convey cooking vapours through the inflow opening 11 along the flow channel 12 and through the two fans 14” paragraph [0064]);
a filter seat (“The filter replacement space 21 has a guide device 25 for the guided displacement of the two filters 20. The guide device 25 is formed by way of the walls of the filter seat 19” paragraph [0069]);
a filter element removably arranged in an operating position in the filter seat downstream of the air inlet opening and accessible through the air inlet opening via the cutout or recess of the worktop, the filter element being positionable in the operating position by inserting the filter element in a direction of insertion into the filter seat (“In order to insert the respective filter 20 into the filter seat 19, the respective filter 20 is first of all deformed, in particular curved about the vertical axis, is subsequently introduced through the inflow opening 11 into the negative pressure channel section 18, and is moved along the filter replacement space 21 through the transport channel 26 and onto the filter seat 19 in a manner which is guided by the guide device 25” paragraph [0084]), wherein the filter element comprises:
a filter body comprising an odour filter adapted to remove odours from the aspirated air, and/or a grease particle filter adapted to remove particles from the aspirated air, and/or an electrostatic filter adapted to remove particles electrostatically from the aspirated air (“The two filters 20 are configured as odour filters” paragraph [0065]),
an outlet opening for exhausting air (“the cooking vapours are aspirated through the inflow opening 11 along the flow channel 12 to the fans 14, and are discharged through the filters 20 and the flow opening 22” paragraph [0079]),
support means or actuation means configured for supporting or facilitating manual movement of the filter element into and/or from the filter seat, the support means or actuation means being arranged at and/or acting on the filter element in a direction at least partially opposite to the direction of insertion of the filter element into the filter seat, said support means or actuation means being arranged at an end or side of the filter element facing the direction of insertion or a direction of removal movement of the filter element, and/or acting on an end or side of the filter element (“In accordance with one aspect of the invention, the at least one filter has an actuating means. The actuating means can be configured as a handle for the manual removal from the extractor fan apparatus, in particular by hand” paragraph [0036] and “In order to remove the respective filter 20 through the filter replacement space 21 and the inflow opening 11, said filter 20 is curved about a vertical axis, in particular is rolled up. In the curved form, the filter 20 is removable from the extractor fan apparatus through the inflow opening 11. In order to insert the respective filter 20 into the filter seat 19, the respective filter 20 is first of all deformed, in particular curved about the vertical axis, is subsequently introduced through the inflow opening 11 into the negative pressure channel section 18, and is moved along the filter replacement space 21 through the transport channel 26 and onto the filter seat 19 in a manner which is guided by the guide device 25. The displacement of the respective filter 20 takes place in a partially automated manner by way of actuation of the drive device 34” paragraphs [0083]-[0084]. In this case, the guide device 25, the drive device 34, and the handle seen in figure 3 are equivalent to the sliding block guide, the spring, and the gripping surface respectively disclosed by the applicant’s specification as the prior art element perform the identical function specified in the claim in substantially the same way, and produce substantially the same results as the corresponding element disclosed in the specification);
wherein the filter element comprises a frame part that supports the filter body (“The filter can have a flexible, in particular pliable filter frame” paragraph [0031]).
Neunhauserer does not disclose:
the filter element comprising a cover that forms an end portion or end element of the filter element viewed in a direction of insertion of the filter element into the filter seat, wherein the cover separates the filter seat from the air inlet opening,
wherein the filter element is removable from its operating position by initially moving the filter element in the direction of insertion of the filter element into the filter seat;
wherein the support means or actuation means comprise a sliding-block guide, and/or a spring element configured to at least partially displace the filter element from its operating position during removal of the filter element from the filter seat, wherein the displacement takes place upon a user’s manual operation;
wherein the cover of the filter elements comprises:
a cover plate arranged within an entrance zone of the filter seat, and
an O-ring seal that provides a seal between an outer surface of the cover plate and an inner surface of the entrance zone, such that the cover separates the filter seat from the air inlet opening in an airtight manner;
wherein the cover is fixed to and/or integrally formed with the frame part of the filter element;
a latch means configured to inhibit removal of the filter element from its operating position with the filter seat, wherein initially moving the filter element from its operating position with the filter seat in the direction of insertion cases the latch means to release the filter element.
However, Moran teaches the filter element comprising a cover that forms an end portion or end element of the filter element viewed in a direction of insertion of the filter element into the filter seat, wherein the cover separates the filter seat from the ambient air (“the drawer 154 is positioned within the chassis 134, and a seal 158 and an O-ring 162 are secured to an edge of the drawer 154, thereby securing the internal filter 130 within the chassis 134” paragraph [0023]), wherein the cover of the filter elements comprises:
a cover plate arranged within an entrance zone of the filter seat (“edge of the drawer 154” paragraph [0023]), and
an O-ring seal that provides a seal between an outer surface of the cover plate and an inner surface of the entrance zone, such that the cover separates the filter seat from the ambient air in an airtight manner (“an O-ring 162” paragraph [0023]);
wherein the cover is fixed to and/or integrally formed with the frame part of the filter element (154 forms a frame for the filter 130. The edge of 154 forms the cover).
Neunhauserer does not disclose the claimed cover. Moran teaches the claimed cover. The substitution of one known element (the closure flap 27 of Neunhauserer) for another (the cover of Moran) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the cover taught in Moran would have yielded predictable results, namely, means for sealing the filter seat from air ingress at points other than the intended flow opening Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008). Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the o-ring as taught in Moran in the extraction device disclosed by Neunhauserer because Moran states that the arrangement is “thereby securing the internal filter 130 within the chassis 134.” Therefore, including the arrangement taught by Moran will provide a more secure filter in Neunhauserer.
Neunhauserer, as modified by Moran, does not disclose:
wherein the filter element is removable from its operating position by initially moving the filter element in the direction of insertion of the filter element into the filter seat;
wherein the support means or actuation means comprise a sliding-block guide, and/or a spring element configured to at least partially displace the filter element from its operating position during removal of the filter element from the filter seat, wherein the displacement takes place upon a user’s manual operation.
However, Feisthammel teaches:
wherein the filter (24) element is removable from its position by initially moving the filter element in the direction of insertion of the filter element into the filter seat (“The lower part 232 of the locking device represents a latching hook, which is aligned with the cap 211. When the viewing screen 21 is pushed into the retracted position, the latching hook moves into the cap 211 and is locked there. The extension of the viewing screen 21 is done by light pressure on the top of the screen 21. As a result, the screen 21 moves minimally down, whereby the locking of the latching hook is released” All citations from the machine translation appended to the foreign reference);
wherein the support means or actuation means comprise a sliding-block guide, and/or a spring element configured to at least partially displace the filter element from its position during removal of the filter element from the filter seat, wherein the displacement takes place upon a user’s manual operation (“the drive spring is designed as a compression spring 34 and therefore arranged to the supernatant of the lower lever 312 so that it increases by pressure the angle between the upper and lower levers 311, 312. In addition, auxiliary springs 35, 35 'are provided in the fifth embodiment, which are also referred to as additional springs. These auxiliary springs 35, 35 'are leg springs. The lower leg spring 35 is provided on the lower hinge 317. The leg spring 35 has two arms, wherein the lower arm is supported against the bottom of the housing 23 and the upper arm is supported against a pin 3121 provided on the lower lever 312 of the lever unit 31. This auxiliary spring 35 is thus in constant engagement, that is, supports a displacement of the viewing frame 21 from the rest position into the operating position over the entire travel path”);
a latch means configured to inhibit removal of the filter element from its operating position with the filter seat, wherein initially moving the filter element from its operating position with the filter seat in the direction of insertion cases the latch means to release the filter element (“The extension of the viewing screen 21 is done by light pressure on the top of the screen 21. As a result, the screen 21 moves minimally down, whereby the locking of the latching hook is released”).
Neunhauserer does not disclose the claimed actuation means. Feisthammel teaches the claimed actuation means. The substitution of one known element (the drive device 34 of Neunhauserer) for another (the spring of Feisthammel) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the spring taught in Feisthammel would have yielded predictable results, namely, means to eject from a stowed position Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008). Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the push-push mechanism as taught in Feisthammel in the extraction device disclosed by Neunhauserer because Feisthammel states that this is a “locking device.” Therefore, including the arrangement taught by Feisthammel will provide a more secure filter in Neunhauserer.
Regarding claim 2, Neunhauserer, as modified by Moran and Feisthammel, discloses the extraction device according to claim 1, wherein the filter element is arranged downstream of the fan (“the cooking vapours are aspirated through the inflow opening 11 along the flow channel 12 to the fans 14, and are discharged through the filters 20 and the flow opening 22” paragraph [0079]) and is removable through the air inlet opening through the cutout or recess of the worktop (“the filter 20 is removable from the extractor fan apparatus through the inflow opening 11” paragraph [0083]).
Regarding claim 5, Neunhauserer, as modified by Moran and Feisthammel, discloses the extraction device claim 1, wherein the support means or actuation means comprise a gripping surface configured for performing a manual insertion and/or removal movement of the filter element (“In accordance with one aspect of the invention, the at least one filter has an actuating means. The actuating means can be configured as a handle for the manual removal from the extractor fan apparatus, in particular by hand” paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 8, Neunhauserer, as modified by Moran and Feisthammel, discloses the extraction device according to claim 7, wherein the filter element passes through the entrance zone of the filter seat during its insertion into the filter seat (“In order to insert the respective filter 20 into the filter seat 19, the respective filter 20 is first of all deformed, in particular curved about the vertical axis, is subsequently introduced through the inflow opening 11 into the negative pressure channel section 18, and is moved along the filter replacement space 21 through the transport channel 26 and onto the filter seat 19 in a manner which is guided by the guide device 25” paragraph [0084]).
Regarding claim 10, Neunhauserer, as modified by Moran and Feisthammel, discloses the extraction device according to claim 1, wherein the filter element is:
bendable in the insertion and/or the removal direction for an adaptation to a curved insertion and/or removal path, and/or
incompressible or only marginally compressible in the direction of its movement (“In order to remove the respective filter 20 through the filter replacement space 21 and the inflow opening 11, said filter 20 is curved about a vertical axis, in particular is rolled up” paragraph [0083] and “In order to insert the respective filter 20 into the filter seat 19, the respective filter 20 is first of all deformed, in particular curved about the vertical axis, is subsequently introduced through the inflow opening 11” paragraph [0084]).
Regarding claim 12, Neunhauserer, as modified by Moran and Feisthammel, discloses the extraction device according to claim 1, further comprising an insertion aid for facilitating insertion of the filter element into the filter seat, the insertion aid comprising:
a rail or track guide means, and/or
at least one guiding surface (“The filter replacement space 21 has a guide device 25 for the guided displacement of the two filters 20. The guide device 25 is formed by way of the walls of the filter seat 19. During the introduction of the filters 20 into the filter seat 19, said filters 20 are guided between an upper and a lower wall, and by a rear-side wall of the filter seat 19” paragraph [0069]).
Regarding claim 13, Neunhauserer, as modified by Moran and Feisthammel, discloses the extraction device according to claim 12 wherein the insertion aid is insertable into the extraction device through the air inlet opening, prior to the filter element insertion process, and is removable from the extraction device after finalization of the filter element insertion process (“The filter replacement space 21 has a guide device 25 for the guided displacement of the two filters 20. The guide device 25 is formed by way of the walls of the filter seat 19. During the introduction of the filters 20 into the filter seat 19, said filters 20 are guided between an upper and a lower wall, and by a rear-side wall of the filter seat 19” paragraph [0069]).
Regarding claim 14, Neunhauserer, as modified by Moran and Feisthammel, discloses the extraction device according to claim 1, wherein the filter element is insertable into and/or removable from the filter seat in an at least approximately horizontal direction and a horizontal extension of the filter element in its direction of movement is equal to or greater than its vertical extension, a vertical cross-section of the filter element being rectangular or oval (See figures).
Regarding claim 21, Neunhauserer, as modified by Moran and Feisthammel, discloses the extraction device according to claim 1, comprising an air duct downstream of the fan that forms the filter seat (“the filters 20 are arranged in the flow channel 12 in such a way that the cooking vapour flow flows completely through them” paragraph [0066]), wherein a wall of the air duct forms an entrance zone of the filter seat and defines an aperture for insertion of the filter element into the air duct (“In order to insert the respective filter 20 into the filter seat 19, the respective filter 20 is first of all deformed, in particular curved about the vertical axis, is subsequently introduced through the inflow opening 11 into the negative pressure channel section 18, and is moved along the filter replacement space 21 through the transport channel 26 and onto the filter seat 19 in a manner which is guided by the guide device 25” paragraph [0084]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neunhauserer, in view of Moran, in view of Feisthammel, and further in view of Hsieh (US 20200037837 A1), Hsieh.
Regarding claim 11, Neunhauserer, as modified by Moran and Feisthammel, discloses the extraction device according to claim 1.
Neunhauserer, as modified by Moran and Feisthammel, does not disclose wherein a marking or indicator means configured to point out access to or a position of the filter element to the user, which marking or indicator means:
is visible or noticeable through the air inlet opening,
provides a visual and/or haptic guidance to the user,
is located on a bottom cover or an intermediate bottom wall of the extraction device.
However, Hsieh teaches wherein a marking or indicator means configured to point out access to or a position of the filter element to the user, which marking or indicator means:
is visible or noticeable,
provides a visual and/or haptic guidance to the user,
is located on a wall of the device (“To facilitate the replacement, cleaning and installation of the filter 12, the housing 11 can include a foolproof means of a position indicator or positioning member 113 etc. in order to prevent the filter 12 from being installed into the dust collector apparatus 100 in an incorrect direction. The term “positioning” described in this content refers to a member for restricting or positioning during the installation of the filter 12 by the user, or a member for facilitating the user to directly or indirectly determine the installation position of the filter 12. The installation position refers to the installation direction, orientation, forward/reverse, location, sequence, angle etc. of the filter 12, but not limited to: shape matching, retention matching, drawing matching, color indication etc” paragraph [0053]).
In view of the teachings of Hsieh, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the indicator as is taught in Hsieh, in the extraction device disclosed by Neunhauserer because Hsieh states that the indicator facilitates correct installation. The examiner notes that the particular location of the indicator will be tied to the particular location of the filter in Neunhauserer.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neunhauserer, in view of Moran, in view of Feisthammel, and further in view of Mahle (DE 202009017271 U1), hereinafter Mahle.
Regarding claim 15, Neunhauserer, as modified by Moran and Feisthammel, discloses the extraction device according to claim 1.
Neunhauserer, as modified by Moran and Feisthammel, does not disclose purification means for a cleaning of the aspirated air, the purification means comprising:
silver ions included in the filter element, and/or
lighting means emitting ultraviolet rays and being included in the extraction device, which lighting means irradiate the filter means at least during operating periods or at least one time range of an operating period of the extraction device.
However, Mahle teaches purification means for a cleaning of the aspirated air, the purification means comprising:
silver ions included in the filter element, and/or
lighting means emitting ultraviolet rays and being included in the extraction device, which lighting means irradiate the filter means at least during operating periods or at least one time range of an operating period of the extraction device (“According to one advantageous embodiment of the invention, are a filter layer or several filter layers doped with silver ions, causing bacterial growth is significantly reduced on the respective filter layer” citations from machine translation appended to the foreign reference).
In view of the teachings of Mahle, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the purification means as is taught in Mahle, in the extraction device disclosed by Neunhauserer because Mahle states that the silver ions significantly reduce bacterial growth. Therefore, including the silver ions of Mahle will improve sanitation in Neunhauserer.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neunhauserer, in view of Flesch (WO 2019081262 A1), hereinafter Flesch, in view of Moran, and further in view of Feisthammel.
Regarding claims 16, Neunhauserer discloses an extraction device for removing air from an area above a cooktop, the extraction device comprising:
a casing disposed beneath the cooktop and having an interior that communicates with the area above the cooktop via an air inlet opening thereof (Figure 2 for instance), the air inlet opening being accessible from above the cooktop through a cutout therein (“The extractor fan apparatus 2 comprises an inflow opening 11. The inflow opening 11 penetrates the hot plate 6” paragraph [0062]);
a filter assembly that is insertable through said air inlet opening (“In order to insert the respective filter 20 into the filter seat 19, the respective filter 20 is first of all deformed, in particular curved about the vertical axis, is subsequently introduced through the inflow opening 11 into the negative pressure channel section 18, and is moved along the filter replacement space 21 through the transport channel 26 and onto the filter seat 19 in a manner which is guided by the guide device 25” paragraph [0084]);
a receiving space within the interior of the casing and dimensioned to accommodate the filter assembly (“The filter replacement space 21 has a guide device 25 for the guided displacement of the two filters 20. The guide device 25 is formed by way of the walls of the filter seat 19” paragraph [0069]);
an air duct at least partially disposed in said casing (“the filters 20 are arranged in the flow channel 12 in such a way that the cooking vapour flow flows completely through them” paragraph [0066]); and
a fan disposed within said casing and configured to draw air from above the cooktop, through said air inlet opening and then through said filter assembly when installed in said receiving space, prior to exhausting the air through the air duct (“the cooking vapours are aspirated through the inflow opening 11 along the flow channel 12 to the fans 14, and are discharged through the filters 20 and the flow opening 22” paragraph [0079]);
said air duct comprising a filter seat configured to accommodate slide-in insertion of the filter assembly along a direction of insertion into the filter seat such that the filter assembly assumes an operating position with the filter seat, said filter seat being located adjacent at a region of said air duct that is immediately downstream from the fan (Figure 1);
said filter assembly comprising:
a filter material adapted to filter odors from air that passes through the filter material (“The two filters 20 are configured as odour filters” paragraph [0065]),
a flexible frame extending around a perimeter of the filter material, said frame having dimensions substantially complementary to those of the air duct in a vicinity of the filter seat so that when installed therein, air expelled from the fan outlet will pass through the filter material, wherein a length dimension of said frame is greater than a width dimension of said frame (“The filter can have a flexible, in particular pliable filter frame” paragraph [0031] see figures for filter dimensions);
wherein said filter seat is accessible from above said cooktop for slide-in insertion of said filter assembly therein through said air inlet opening when said filter assembly is not installed in said receiving space (“In order to remove the respective filter 20 through the filter replacement space 21 and the inflow opening 11, said filter 20 is curved about a vertical axis, in particular is rolled up. In the curved form, the filter 20 is removable from the extractor fan apparatus through the inflow opening 11. In order to insert the respective filter 20 into the filter seat 19, the respective filter 20 is first of all deformed, in particular curved about the vertical axis, is subsequently introduced through the inflow opening 11 into the negative pressure channel section 18, and is moved along the filter replacement space 21 through the transport channel 26 and onto the filter seat 19 in a manner which is guided by the guide device 25. The displacement of the respective filter 20 takes place in a partially automated manner by way of actuation of the drive device 34” paragraphs [0083]-[0084]).
Neunhauserer does not disclose:
wherein a length dimension of said inlet opening is greater than a width dimension of said inlet opening;
said filter assembly comprising a cover fixed to the frame that forms an end portion or end element of the filter assembly viewed in the insertion direction, wherein the cover separates the filter seat from the air inlet opening;
wherein the filter assembly is removable from its operating position with the filter seat by initially moving the filter assembly in the direction of insertion of the filter assembly into the filter seat.
However, Flesch teaches wherein a length dimension of said inlet opening is greater than a width dimension of said inlet opening (“The recess 1000 is located in the middle of the width of the cover plate 100, has a rectangular shape” all citations from machine translation appended to the foreign reference. See also “two odor filter 115”).
In view of Flesch’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein a length dimension of said inlet opening is greater than a width dimension of said inlet opening as is taught in Flesch, in the extraction device disclosed by Neunhauserer because Flesch states “Preferably, the air inlet opening and also the recess a rectangular, elongated shape and extending in the depth direction of the hob. This allows lateral to the air inlet opening cooking modules of the hob to be provided and thus a reliable suction can be ensured during cooking on the cooking modules resulting streaks and vapors.” Therefore, including the rectangular inlet will ensure reliability of suction in Neunhauserer.
Neunhauserer, as modified by Flesch, does not disclose:
said filter assembly comprising a cover fixed to the frame that forms an end portion or end element of the filter assembly viewed in the insertion direction, wherein the cover separates the filter seat from the air inlet opening;
wherein the filter assembly is removable from its operating position with the filter seat by initially moving the filter assembly in the direction of insertion of the filter assembly into the filter seat.
However, Moran teaches said filter assembly comprising a cover fixed to the frame that forms an end portion or end element of the filter assembly viewed in the insertion direction, wherein the cover separates the filter seat from the ambient air (“the drawer 154 is positioned within the chassis 134, and a seal 158 and an O-ring 162 are secured to an edge of the drawer 154, thereby securing the internal filter 130 within the chassis 134” paragraph [0023]).
Neunhauserer does not disclose the claimed cover. Moran teaches the claimed cover. The substitution of one known element (the closure flap 27 of Neunhauserer) for another (the cover of Moran) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since the substitution of the cover taught in Moran would have yielded predictable results, namely, means for sealing the filter seat from air ingress at points other than the intended flow opening Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 86 USPQ2d 1110 (Fed. Cir. 2008). Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the o-ring as taught in Moran in the extraction device disclosed by Neunhauserer because Moran states that the arrangement is “thereby securing the internal filter 130 within the chassis 134.” Therefore, including the arrangement taught by Moran will provide a more secure filter in Neunhauserer.
Neunhauserer, as modified by Flesch and Moran, does not disclose wherein the filter assembly is removable from its operating position with the filter seat by initially moving the filter assembly in the direction of insertion of the filter assembly into the filter seat.
However, Feisthammel teaches wherein the filter assembly is removable from its position with the filter seat by initially moving the filter assembly in the direction of insertion of the filter assembly into the filter seat (“The lower part 232 of the locking device represents a latching hook, which is aligned with the cap 211. When the viewing screen 21 is pushed into the retracted position, the latching hook moves into the cap 211 and is locked there. The extension of the viewing screen 21 is done by light pressure on the top of the screen 21. As a result, the screen 21 moves minimally down, whereby the locking of the latching hook is released” All citations from the machine translation appended to the foreign reference).
In view of Feisthammel’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the push-push mechanism as taught in Feisthammel in the extraction device disclosed by Neunhauserer because Feisthammel states that this is a “locking device.” Therefore, including the arrangement taught by Feisthammel will provide a more secure filter in Neunhauserer.
Regarding claim 17, Neunhauserer, as modified by Flesch and Moran, discloses the extraction device according to claim 16, said filter seat being oriented such that said insertion direction for slide-in insertion of said filter assembly is at an angle from the length dimension of the air inlet opening when viewed from above (Figure 3 of Neunhauserer), such that following insertion into said receiving space of said filter assembly oriented such that its length dimension is parallel to the length dimension of the air inlet opening (Figure 14 of Flesch), the filter assembly must be deflected according to said angle in order to achieve slide-in insertion into the odor-filter seat, wherein the flexibility of said frame accommodates said deflection (“In order to remove the respective filter 20 through the filter replacement space 21 and the inflow opening 11, said filter 20 is curved about a vertical axis, in particular is rolled up. In the curved form, the filter 20 is removable from the extractor fan apparatus through the inflow opening 11. In order to insert the respective filter 20 into the filter seat 19, the respective filter 20 is first of all deformed, in particular curved about the vertical axis, is subsequently introduced through the inflow opening 11 into the negative pressure channel section 18, and is moved along the filter replacement space 21 through the transport channel 26 and onto the filter seat 19 in a manner which is guided by the guide device 25. The displacement of the respective filter 20 takes place in a partially automated manner by way of actuation of the drive device 34” paragraphs [0083]-[0084]).
Regarding claim 18, Neunhauserer, as modified by Flesch, Moran, and Feisthammel, discloses the extraction device according to claim 17, further comprising an insertion aid that is insertable into said receiving space and comprises a sliding surface configured to guide deflection of said filter assembly according to said angle in order to complete slide-in insertion thereof into the filter seat (“The filter replacement space 21 has a guide device 25 for the guided displacement of the two filters 20. The guide device 25 is formed by way of the walls of the filter seat 19. During the introduction of the filters 20 into the filter seat 19, said filters 20 are guided between an upper and a lower wall, and by a rear-side wall of the filter seat 19” paragraph [0069]).
Regarding claim 19, Neunhauserer, as modified by Flesch, Moran, and Feisthammel, discloses the extraction device according to claim 17, said angle being 90° (Figure 14 of Flesch shows that the modified angle is 90°).
Regarding claim 20, Neunhauserer, as modified by Flesch, Moran, and Feisthammel, discloses the extraction device according to claim 17, said cover of the filter assembly comprising a handle that extends along the width dimension of the frame, such that slide-in insertion of said filter assembly into said filter seat can be achieved via pushing the filter assembly via said handle, along the length dimension of the frame, toward and into the filter seat (“In accordance with one aspect of the invention, the at least one filter has an actuating means. The actuating means can be configured as a handle for the manual removal from the extractor fan apparatus, in particular by hand” paragraph [0036] of Neunhauserer. Neunhauserer has been modified by Moran to possess a cover on the width end of the frame. Additionally, Moran shows a handle on the cover).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wolterink (US 20220136709 A1) “the user initiates deployment of the elevator and air filter unit assembly 45 by pressing down on the lid 24. Downward movement of the lid 24 correspondingly downwardly displaces the elevator and air filter unit assembly 45, including the elevator frame 50. As a result, the push-push release mechanism 64 releases the elevator and air filter unit assembly 45 from the stowed position”
Forlin (IT 201700066244 A1)
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762