DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-9 and 17-19) in the reply filed on April 16, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 10-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 16, 2026.
(Note: Examiner acknowledges a typographical error in the original restriction requirement regarding the claims associated with the groups. For clarity’s sake, the groups are directed towards the product (claims 1-9 and 17-19) (elected) and the method of making (claims 10-16) (withdrawn).)
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed July 12, 2023, August 20, 2024, February 25, 2025, and May 28, 2025 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
The drawings received July 12, 2023 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2012/0115030 (Tanaka et al.).
As to claim 1, Tanaka et al. teach electrode comprising:
a current collector layer (collector foil [11]);
an electrode active material layer [12] on the current collector layer [11]; and
an insulating layer (high-resistance layer [40]) on the current collector layer [11] (fig. 1);
wherein:
the electrode active material layer [12] and the insulating layer (high-resistance layer [40]) overlap each other in an overlapping region (interface [50]) while being disposed side by side along a direction perpendicular to the surface normal direction of the current collector layer (fig. 1), and
a thickness of the insulating layer satisfies the relation of Equation 1 below:
[Equation 1]
TL ≤ Ts x {a x exp(b x L) - c}
wherein, TL is the thickness of the insulating layer, Ts is a thickness of the electrode active material layer, L is a length of the overlapping region, a is a number within a range of 0.55 to 0.95, b is a number within a range of -0.8 to -0.2, and c is a number within a range of 0.001 to 0.004.
Table 1 of Tanaka et al. (on p9) shows results of examples. For example, Test 3 has TL = 30 µm; TS = 50 µm. Additionally, Tanaka et al. teach that taper angle [123] (fig. 1) is most preferably between 20-35° (para 0034).
The following is a non-limiting example to show that Tanaka et al.’s teaching would fall within the claimed invention, relying on the known TL and the relationship of a 30-60-90 right triangle (see below) to arrive at L=60 (note: TL = 30 = x)
[AltContent: rect]
30 ≤ 50 x {a x exp(b x 60) - c}
Is true for values of a within a range of 0.55 to 0.95, b within a range of -0.8 to -0.2, and c within a range of 0.001 to 0.004). For non-limiting example, plugging in a=0.55, b=-0.2, and c=0.001 yields a true statement. (As no example is specifically given regarding the angle, anticipation is not found; however, obviousness is found regarding an overlapping teaching.)
As to claim 2, Tanaka et al. teach the electrode further satisfying Equation 2 below:
[Equation 2]
0.1 x Ts ≤ TL
wherein, TL is the thickness of the insulating layer, and Ts is the thickness of the electrode active material layer, as Table 1 of Tanaka et al. (on p9) shows results of examples, and for example, Test 3 has TL = 30 µm; Ts = 50 µm, which yields a true statement.
As to claim 3, Tanaka et al. teach the electrode satisfies Equation 3 below:
[Equation 3]
TS = d x LD + e
wherein, LD is a loading amount, unit: mg/25cm2, of the electrode active material layer, d is a number within a range of 0.1 to 0.2, and e is a number within a range of 10 to 16, as Tanaka at al. shows results of examples (Table 1, p9); for example, Test 3 has TS = 50 µm. Additionally, LD (amount of coating being applied) is 7.5 mg/cm2 (para 0096), which translates to 187.5 mg/ 25 cm2. Accordingly, the statement is true at TS = 50 µm; 187.5 mg/ 25 cm2, d=0.2, and e= 12.5.
As to claim 4, Tanaka et al. teach the thickness,Ts, of the electrode active material layer is in a range of 50 µm to 300 µm, as Table 1 of Tanaka et al. (on p9) shows results of examples, and for example, Test 3 has Ts = 50 µm.
As to claim 5, Tanaka et al. renders obvious that the length of the overlapping region is in a range of 0.01 mm to 2 mm, as Table 1 of Tanaka et al. (on p9) shows results of examples, where Test 3 has TL = 30 µm. Additionally, Tanaka et al. teach that taper angle [123] (fig. 1) is most preferably between 20-35° (para 0034). The following is a non-limiting example to show that Tanaka et al.’s teaching would fall within the claimed invention, relying on the known TL and the relationship of a 30-60-90 right triangle (see below) to arrive at L = 60 µm = 0.06 mm (note: TL = 30 µm = x).
As to claim 6, Tanaka et al. teach the electrode active material layer comprises polyvinylidene fluoride as a binder (para 0046, 0094), and the insulating layer (high-resistance layer) comprises a binder such as polyvinylidene difluoride (PVDF), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), and so forth (para 0053, 0095).
Accordingly, Tanaka et al. do not teach styrene butadiene rubber or styrene butadiene latex as a binder for the insulating layer.
However, Tanaka et al. teach of binders known to be used in positive electrodes in general, including polyvinylidene difluoride (PVDF), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), and styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR) (para 0046). The substitution of one binder (i.e. PDVF) with another (i.e. styrene-butadiene rubber) would yield the predictable result of providing a binder for a component of the positive electrode, as the substituted components and their functions were known in the art (as shown by Tanaka et al. in para 0046, as compared to para 0053, 0094, and 0095). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made (as applicable to pre-AIA applications) or effectively filed (as applicable to AIA applications) to substitute one binder (i.e. PDVF) with another (i.e. styrene-butadiene rubber), as the substitution would yield the predictable result of providing a binder for a component of the positive electrode, as the substituted components and their functions were known in the art. “When considering obviousness of a combination of known elements, the operative question is thus "whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." Id . at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.” See MPEP §2141(I).
As to claim 7, Tanaka et al. teach the electrode active material layer comprises polyvinylidene fluoride as a binder (para 0046, 0094), and the insulating layer comprises polyvinylidene fluoride as a binder (para 0053, 0095).
As to claim 8, Tanaka et al. teach the insulating layer further comprises a ceramic (inorganic materials such as Al2O3 (alumina), SiO2, ZrO2, TiO2, and MgO) (para 0051).
As to claim 9, Tanaka et al. teach the ceramic is one or more selected from the group consisting of AlO(OH), A1203, SiO2, TiO2, SnO2, CeO2, MgO, NiO, CaO, ZnO, ZrO2, Y203, SrTiO3, BaTiO3, and Mg(OH)2 ((inorganic materials such as Al2O3 (alumina), SiO2, ZrO2, TiO2, and MgO) (para 0051)).
As to claim 17, Tanaka et al. teach an electrode assembly comprising: a negative electrode [20]; a positive electrode [10]; and a separator [30], wherein
the negative electrode and the positive electrode are laminated with the separator interposed therebetween (fig. 3; para 0021), and
at least one of the negative electrode and the positive electrode is the electrode according to claim 1 (positive electrode [10] has the heat-resistant layer (para 0024-0025; fig. 1). For full details regarding how claim 1 is met, see the rejection to claim 1 for full details, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake.
As to claim 18, Tanaka et al. teach a secondary battery (para 0020) comprising the electrode of claim 1 (positive electrode [10] has the heat-resistant layer (para 0024-0025; fig. 1). For full details regarding how claim 1 is met, see the rejection to claim 1 for full details, incorporated herein but not reiterated herein for brevity’s sake.
As to claim 19, Tanaka et al. teach the insulating layer further comprises a ceramic (inorganic materials such as Al2O3 (alumina), SiO2, ZrO2, TiO2, and MgO) (para 0051).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0159505 (Kato) teaches the electrode seen in fig. 4 (having an insulating layer [36a] at the edge of an active material layer [34], both on top of a collector [32]).
Note: An evaluation regarding 112 and informality issues was conducted. The absence of any sections indicates an absence of any such issues.
/EUGENIA WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759