DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 07/30/2026 has been fully considered. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 11 are amended. Claims 8-15 are withdrawn.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher et al. (US 2017/0304420 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fisher teaches a statistical copolymer having the formula
, wherein
,
, and
[0119], which reads on a copolymer comprising a repeating unit 1 represented by the claimed formula (1) and a repeating unit 2, in the formula (1), X1 represents a hydrogen atom as claimed. Fisher teaches that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], wherein the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which suggests modifying Fisher’s
group in Fisher’s X group in Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer to be a different species, such as -CH(CH3)CH2-, such that the -CH- group is bonded to the -CONH- group bonded to the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, and the -CH2- group is bonded to the -NHCO- bonded to the -(CH2)2- group in the side group of Fisher’s statistical copolymer. Fisher therefore suggests the copolymer further comprising a repeating unit 2 represented by the claimed formula (2), in the formula (2), X2 represents a linear alkyl group having 1 carbon atom, L2 represents a divalent group, multiple R1s are same as or different from each other and are each selected from a hydrogen atom, an alkenyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, where two or more R1s bind to each other to form a ring, Z is selected from NR1, a’ is an integer of 2 to 3, a’’ is an integer of 2 to 3, and a sum of a’ and a’’ is 5, wherein the unit 2 comprises a cyclic alkyne.
Fisher does not teach that the copolymer further comprises a repeating unit 2 represented by the claimed formula (2). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Fisher’s
group in Fisher’s X group in Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer to be -CH(CH3)CH2-, such that the -CH- group is bonded to the -CONH- group bonded to the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, and the -CH2- group is bonded to the -NHCO- bonded to the -(CH2)2- group in the side group of Fisher’s statistical copolymer. The proposed modification would read on the copolymer further comprising a repeating unit 2 represented by the claimed formula (2), in the formula (2), X2 represents a linear alkyl group having 1 carbon atom, L2 represents a divalent group, multiple R1s are same as or different from each other and are each selected from a hydrogen atom, an alkenyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, where two or more R1s bind to each other to form a ring, Z is selected from NR1, a’ is an integer of 2 to 3, a’’ is an integer of 2 to 3, and a sum of a’ and a’’ is 5, wherein the unit 2 comprises a cyclic alkyne as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Fisher teaches that the statistical copolymer has the formula
, wherein
[0119], that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], and that the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which means that Fisher’s
group in Fisher’s X group in Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer and a -CH(CH3)CH2-, such that the -CH- group is bonded to the -CONH- group bonded to the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, and the -CH2- group is bonded to the -NHCO- bonded to the -(CH2)2- group in the side group of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, are of sufficiently close structural similarity that the resulting statistical copolymer would possess similar properties because they are isomers, and which means that Fisher permits the X group in the formula for the statistical copolymer to be any alkylene group. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties (MPEP 2144.09(II)). Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Regarding claim 2, Fisher teaches that the statistical copolymer has the formula
[0119], that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], and that the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which means that Fisher’s m and n in the backbone of Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer can be any integer that is 1 or greater, which reads on wherein a content of the unit 2 is greater than 0 mol% and less than 100 mol% when a total of the repeating unit is defined as 100 mol%.
Fisher does not teach that a content of the unit 2 is 1.0 to 30.0 mol% when a total of the repeating units is defined as 100 mol%. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer to be from 1.0 to 30.0 % of the total value of Fisher’s m and Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer. The proposed modification would read on wherein a content of the unit 2 is 1.0 to 30.0 mol% when a total of the repeating units is defined as 100 mol% as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for optimizing thermoresponsive properties of Fisher’s statistical copolymer because Fisher teaches that the statistical copolymer has the formula
[0119], that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], and that the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which means that Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer in % of the total value of Fisher’s m and Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer would have affected the thermoresponsive properties of Fisher’s statistical copolymer.
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Fisher teaches that the statistical copolymer has the formula
[0119], that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], and that the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which means that Fisher’s m and n in the backbone of Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer can be any integer that is 1 or greater, which reads on wherein a content of the unit 2 is greater than 0 mol% and less than 100 mol% when the total of repeating units is defined as 100 mol%.
Fisher does not teach that a content of the unit 2 is from 5 mol% to 30 mol% or less when the total of repeating units is defined as 100 mol%. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer to be from 5 to 30 % of the total value of Fisher’s m and Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer. The proposed modification would read on wherein a content of the unit 2 is from 5 mol% to 30 mol% or less when the total of repeating units is defined as 100 mol% as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for optimizing thermoresponsive properties of Fisher’s statistical copolymer because Fisher teaches that the statistical copolymer has the formula
[0119], that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], and that the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which means that Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer in % of the total value of Fisher’s m and Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer would have affected the thermoresponsive properties of Fisher’s statistical copolymer.
Regarding claim 6, Fisher teaches that the average molecular weights of the polymer may be between about 5,000 to 1,000,000 g/mol [0029], which reads on the copolymer according to claim 1, having a number average molecular weight of about 5000 to 1000000.
Fisher does not teach with sufficient specificity that the copolymer has a number average molecular weight of 5000 to 50000. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select the average molecular weights of Fisher’s statistical copolymer to be from 5,000 to 50,000. The proposed modification would read on the copolymer according to claim 1, having a number average molecular weight of 5000 to 50000 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing an average molecular weight that is suitable for Fisher’s statistical copolymer or because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Fisher teaches that the average molecular weights of the polymer may be between about 5,000 to 1,000,000 g/mol [0029], which encompasses from 5,000 to 50,000. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)). Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 7, and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Fisher et al. (US 2017/0304420 A1) renders obvious the copolymer of Claims 1 and 2 as explained above.
Fisher does not teach that the unit 2 is a unit 3 represented by the formula (3) or a unit 4 represented by the formula (4). Although Simon Jacques (Simon Jacques, “Polymer/DNA Bio-conjugates via Grafting-from and Grafting-to”, thesis at Flinders University, Adelaide South Australia, November 2017, cited in IDS, made of record on 10/09/2025) teaches a copolymer that has the formula
and that is synthesized by reacting
with
(p. 135), and a copolymer that has the formula
and that is used to synthesize another copolymer (p. 27), Simon Jacques, Fisher, and the prior art of record do not teach or suggest the copolymer according to Claim 1 or 2, wherein the unit 2 is a unit 3 represented by the formula (3) or a unit 4 represented by the formula (4).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Fisher et al. (US 2017/0304420 A1) renders obvious the copolymer according to Claims 1 and 2 as explained above.
Fisher does not teach that the copolymer according to Claim 1 or 2 further comprises a repeating unit represented by the formula (5). Although Simon Jacques, “Polymer/DNA Bio-conjugates via Grafting-from and Grafting-to”, thesis at Flinders University, Adelaide South Australia, November 2017, cited in IDS, made of record on 10/09/2025 teaches a copolymer that has the formula
and that is synthesized by reacting
with
(p. 135), and a copolymer that has the formula
and that is used to synthesize another copolymer (p. 27), Simon Jacques, Fisher, and the prior art of record do not teach or suggest the copolymer according to Claim 1 or 2 further comprising a repeating unit represented by the formula (5).
Regarding claim 7, Fisher et al. (US 2017/0304420 A1) renders obvious the copolymer according to Claim 1 as explained above.
Fisher does not teach an antibody-copolymer conjugate preparation kit comprising the copolymer according to Claim 1 and a linker represented by the formula (6). Although Fisher teaches that the statistical copolymer [0119] is a copolymer of thermoresponsive monomers [0116], that the copolymer is a thermo-responsive polymer [0023], that the thermo-responsive polymer is a polymer [0007], that PRRa molecules can be linked to polymer chains of the polymer in an adjuvant [0005], that the adjuvant composition may be suitable for eliciting an immune response [0030], and that the immune response may comprise an antibody response [0030], and although Sedlak et al. (US 2020/0299780 A1) teaches a linker comprising a spacer group at either end with a reactive functional group capable of covalent attachment to a target-binding moiety [0185], wherein exemplary reaction functional groups are azidoacetic acid NHS ester [0185], Fisher, Sedlak, and the prior art of record do not teach or suggest an antibody-copolymer conjugate preparation kit comprising the copolymer according to Claim 1 and a linker represented by the formula (6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 13, filed 07/30/2026, with respect to the objection to claims 1-7 and 16-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to claims 1-7 and 16-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 13-14, filed 07/30/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huffman et al. (JP 2012-2016634 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English or untranslated patent used for citation as indicated, made of record on 07/13/2023) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huffman et al. (JP 2012-2016634 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English or untranslated patent used for citation as indicated, made of record on 07/13/2023) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the applicant’s argument that there is absolutely no motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to make a modification of Fisher to modify the spacer of the copolymer described in Fisher into a branched structure, such as an isopropylamide structure as recited in the present claims (p. 14), one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Fisher’s
group in Fisher’s X group in Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer to be -CH(CH3)CH2-, such that the -CH- group is bonded to the -CONH- group bonded to the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, and the -CH2- group is bonded to the -NHCO- bonded to the -(CH2)2- group in the side group of Fisher’s statistical copolymer because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Fisher teaches that the statistical copolymer has the formula
, wherein
[0119], that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], and that the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which means that Fisher’s
group in Fisher’s X group in Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer and a -CH(CH3)CH2-, such that the -CH- group is bonded to the -CONH- group bonded to the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, and the -CH2- group is bonded to the -NHCO- bonded to the -(CH2)2- group in the side group of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, are of sufficiently close structural similarity that the resulting statistical copolymer would possess similar properties because they are isomers, and which means that Fisher permits the X group in the formula for the statistical copolymer to be any alkylene group. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties (MPEP 2144.09(II)). Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
In response to the applicant’s argument that Fisher is not intended for macroscopic “concentration” of antigens, that Fisher has a clear restriction in that it explicitly desires to avoid creating coarse precipitated particles, and that the aggregation of Fisher is not intended to form macroscopic precipitation or gelation like the present invention at all (p. 14-15), it is noted that “macroscopic concentration of antigens”, “macroscopic precipitation”, or “gelation” are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to the applicant’s argument that one of ordinary skill in the art would not consider easily changing the space portion of Fisher’s “delicately tuned” copolymer to an isopropylamide structure like the present invention simply because the “structures are similar” as the Examiner points out, and that this is because one would easily predict that if an isopropylamide structure were introduced at the corresponding location, causing a sharp macroscopic precipitation, such an amorphous gel, there would be a high risk that Fisher’s intended purposes could no longer be achieved (p. 16), Fisher teaches that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], wherein the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which means that Fisher does not limit their spacers (SPs) to a particular species of diamine, which means that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of making the proposed modification of Fisher such that Fisher’s intended purpose could have been achieved. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Fisher’s
group in Fisher’s X group in Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer to be -CH(CH3)CH2-, such that the -CH- group is bonded to the -CONH- group bonded to the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, and the -CH2- group is bonded to the -NHCO- bonded to the -(CH2)2- group in the side group of Fisher’s statistical copolymer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Fisher teaches that the statistical copolymer has the formula
, wherein
[0119], that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], and that the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which means that Fisher’s
group in Fisher’s X group in Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer and a -CH(CH3)CH2-, such that the -CH- group is bonded to the -CONH- group bonded to the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, and the -CH2- group is bonded to the -NHCO- bonded to the -(CH2)2- group in the side group of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, are of sufficiently close structural similarity that the resulting statistical copolymer would possess similar properties because they are isomers, and which means that Fisher permits the X group in the formula for the statistical copolymer to be any alkylene group. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties (MPEP 2144.09(II)). Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
In response to the applicant’s argument that therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have no motivation to modify the structure of Fisher into the present invention (p. 16), one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Fisher’s
group in Fisher’s X group in Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer to be -CH(CH3)CH2-, such that the -CH- group is bonded to the -CONH- group bonded to the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, and the -CH2- group is bonded to the -NHCO- bonded to the -(CH2)2- group in the side group of Fisher’s statistical copolymer because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Fisher teaches that the statistical copolymer has the formula
, wherein
[0119], that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], and that the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which means that Fisher’s
group in Fisher’s X group in Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer and a -CH(CH3)CH2-, such that the -CH- group is bonded to the -CONH- group bonded to the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, and the -CH2- group is bonded to the -NHCO- bonded to the -(CH2)2- group in the side group of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, are of sufficiently close structural similarity that the resulting statistical copolymer would possess similar properties because they are isomers, and which means that Fisher permits the X group in the formula for the statistical copolymer to be any alkylene group. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties (MPEP 2144.09(II)). Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 6-18, filed 07/30/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-6 and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon Jacques (Simon Jacques, “Polymer/DNA Bio-conjugates via Grafting-from and Grafting-to”, thesis at Flinders University, Adelaide South Australia, November 2017, cited in IDS, made of record on 10/09/2025) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-6 and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon Jacques (Simon Jacques, “Polymer/DNA Bio-conjugates via Grafting-from and Grafting-to”, thesis at Flinders University, Adelaide South Australia, November 2017, cited in IDS, made of record on 10/09/2025) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 18-19, filed 07/30/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 3 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher et al. (US 2017/0304420 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 2, and further in view of Simon Jacques (Simon Jacques, “Polymer/DNA Bio-conjugates via Grafting-from and Grafting-to”, thesis at Flinders University, Adelaide South Australia, November 2017, cited in IDS made of record on 10/09/2025) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 3 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher et al. (US 2017/0304420 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 2, and further in view of Simon Jacques (Simon Jacques, “Polymer/DNA Bio-conjugates via Grafting-from and Grafting-to”, thesis at Flinders University, Adelaide South Australia, November 2017, cited in IDS made of record on 10/09/2025) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 19, filed 07/30/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon Jacques (Simon Jacques, “Polymer/DNA Bio-conjugates via Grafting-from and Grafting-to”, thesis at Flinders University, Adelaide South Australia, November 2017, cited in IDS, made of record on 10/09/2025) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Sedlak et al. (US 2020/0299780 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon Jacques (Simon Jacques, “Polymer/DNA Bio-conjugates via Grafting-from and Grafting-to”, thesis at Flinders University, Adelaide South Australia, November 2017, cited in IDS, made of record on 10/09/2025) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Sedlak et al. (US 2020/0299780 A1) has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/DAVID T KARST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767