DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed 8/1/2024, is acknowledged. Claims 1-12 and 17-24 are pending. Claims 17-24 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not supported by either a specific and substantial asserted utility or a well-established utility.
Claim 17 lacks a specific utility because it merely provides a general statement of diagnostic utility or usefulness in treating of an unspecified disease with regard to the claimed composition. The claimed method also lacks a substantial utility in that it is directed to a method of treating an unspecified disease. Claims 18-21 which depend on claim 17 do not cure the deficiencies of claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 17 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sartore et al. (WO 2022/009126A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sartore et al. teaches “core-shell bioactive structures.” Page 1, line 5. The shell is made from crosslinked polypeptides (current claim 2). See page 8, lines 28-29. The shell may exhibit characteristics including pores, which reads on “surface indentations” that are “part spherical” (current claim 5). See page 11, lines 6-8.
Regarding claim 3, Sartore et al. teaches that “the polypeptides, can be derived from natural tissue or be synthetic; it is also possible to use a mixture of natural and synthetic polypeptides.” Page 9, lines 2-3. Sartore et al. does not require immunomodulatory polypeptides. Therefore, “one or more non-immunomodulatory polypeptides” is implied.
Regarding claim 6, the recitation that an element is “capable of” performing a function is not a positive limitation, but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchinson, 69 USPQ 138. In the instant case, the prior art is capable of generating inertial cavitation as Applicant by having a core-shell structure of the same material.
Regarding claim 9, Sartore et al. teaches that “[i]n the core-shell structure of the invention, the weight ratio between core [and shell] can vary within wide limits: each of the two components can constitute from 1 to 99% by weight of the structure.” Page 11, lines 1-3.
Regarding claim 10, Sartore et al. a possible additive includes “drugs or medications useful in the treatment of bone lesions and/or tissue regeneration” (current claims 17, 21 Page 10, lines 23-24.
Regarding claim 22, Sartore et al. teaches that “the polypeptides, can be derived from natural tissue or be synthetic; it is also possible to use a mixture of natural and synthetic polypeptides.” Page 9, lines 2-3. Sartore et al. does not require immunomodulatory polypeptides. Therefore, “at least 95% by weight non-immunomodulatory polypeptides” is implied.
Regarding claim 23, Sartore et al. does not require “a pathogenic antigen protein.” Therefore, the absence of a pathogenic antigen protein is implied.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Singh (CA 2505520).
Regarding claim 11, Singh relates to protein stabilized liposomes. See Abstract. To this end, “to make the protein stabilized liposomal nanoparticles, substantially water
insoluble pharmaceutical agent, lipid and other agents are dissolved in a suitable solvent (e.g.,
chloroform, methylene chloride, ethyl acetate, ethanol, tetrahydrofuran, dioxane, acetonitrile,
acetone, dimethyl sulfoxide, dimethyl formamide, methyl pyrrolidinone, or the like . . .)” Page 13, lines 2-6. Further, “to generate protein stabilized liposomal nanoparticles, a protein (e.g., human serum albumin) is added (into the aqueous phase) to act as a stabilizing agent or an emulsifier for the formation of stable nanodroplets.” Page 13, lines 12-15. Albumin is known to have cysteine residues. The solvent is preferably evaporated under reduced pressure and dried. See Page 13, lines 26-30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 8, 17-20 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, et al. (CN106984247) in view of Kwan et al. (WO 2015/075442)
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a polypeptide particle with a water-immiscible core and a polypeptide shell made of an adjuvant, bovine serum albumin (10016-0017) (current claims 7 and 24). The oil may be soybean oil of sorbitan monoleate (current claim 8). See Embodiment 1.
Li does not teach “wherein the particle has one or more surface indentations.”
Kwan teaches that nanoparticles may have small/shallow imperfections/indentations on their surface having an opening and depth of less than 20 nm (pg. 8, lines 16-24.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Li with the teachings of Kwan of allowing small imperfections on the surface. Kwan provides motivation by teaching that small imperfections advantageously do not encapsulate a gas pocket (pg.8, lines 16-24). One of skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success at combining Li, and Kwan because they teach methods for the creation of nanoparticles with water immiscible cores and polymer shells.
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches that the polypeptide particles have a diameter (defined as the mean particle size in the specification of the instant claim) of 500nm - 10µm (T).
Regarding claims 17-18, Kwan teaches the particles are used for initiating cavitation. See Abstract.
Regarding claim 19, Kwan teaches the particle can be used where histotripsy or thermal ablation is desired. See page 18, lines 5-6.
Regarding claim 20, Kwan teaches 0.5MHz to 5 MHz and less than 5 MPa. See page 19, lines 13-17.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-12 and 17-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 17-25 of copending Application No. 18/272,113 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to a polypeptide particle for inducing cavitation on exposure to ultrasound comprising a core, a polypeptide shell having one or more surface indentions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ROBERT S CABRAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614