Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s response filed 06/11/2026.
Claims 1-14 and 17-22 are pending.
Claims 3, 6, 11-14, 17, and 20-22 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected groups or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/11/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10, 18, and 19 are currently under consideration to the extent that they read upon Applicant’s elected species.
It is noted that Applicant elected the species of trypsin, wherein in the process of searching the instantly claimed invention, the Examiner came across prior art that reads upon antibodies and cytokines. As such, the species election has been expanded to including antibodies and cytokines.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7-10, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wagstaffe et al (WO 2012/066334)(IDS Reference).
Wagstaffe teaches nanoparticles being coated with plasma proteins (see entire document, for instance, page 18, lines 26-33). Wagstaffe further teaches that the surface of the nanoparticles can have depressions with a width of not more than 50nm, and a depth of 5-50nm (see entire document, for instance, page 6, lines 18-23). The particles are taught as having a diameter of 100-300nm (see entire document, for instance, page 6, lines 4-16). It is noted that plasma proteins comprise antibodies and cytokines. The nanoparticles are taught as carrying drugs, such as anti-cancer agents and small molecule drugs (see entire document, for instance, claim 10 and page 17, lines 22-24).
It is noted that the composition of the prior art is deemed to be structurally the same as instantly claimed invention, and as such, is capable of generating internal cavitation if placed within the same potential environment as is articulated in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10, 18, and 19 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagstaffe et al (WO 2012/066334) and Desai et al (WO 1998/14174)(Both IDS References).
Wagstaffe teaches nanoparticles being coated with plasma proteins (see entire document, for instance, page 18, lines 26-33). Wagstaffe further teaches that the surface of the nanoparticles can have depressions with a width of not more than 50nm, and a depth of 5-50nm (see entire document, for instance, page 6, lines 18-23). The particles are taught as having a diameter of 100-300nm (see entire document, for instance, page 6, lines 4-16). It is noted that plasma proteins comprise antibodies and cytokines. The nanoparticles are taught as carrying drugs, such as anti-cancer agents and small molecule drugs (see entire document, for instance, claim 10 and page 17, lines 22-24). It is noted that the composition of Wagstaffe is deemed to be structurally the same as instantly claimed invention, and as such, is capable of generating internal cavitation if placed within the same potential environment as is articulated in claim 5.
Wagstaffe, while teaching the instantly claimed composition and that plasma protein can coat the outside of the particles, does not expressly teach that a coating can be formed by crosslinked polypeptides as in claim 2.
Desai teaches coatings formed by crosslinked polypeptides, such as polypeptides containing cysteine residues (see entire document, for instance, page 11, lines 8-10 and page 30, lines 21-24). The particles are coated with a stabilizing agent, such as human serum albumin (see entire document, for instance, Abstract and page 10, lines 20-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to utilize the crosslinked polypeptide coating of Desai for the nanoparticles of Wagstaffe. One would have been motivated to do so since Desai teaches that the crosslinked coatings of Desai are relatively thin compared to the diameter of coated particles (see entire document, for instance, page 12, lines 2-5).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10, 18, and 19 (all claims currently under consideration) are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 and 17-21 of copending Application No.18/272114 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach particles comprising crosslinked polypeptide shells comprising proteins and particles that are the same size as the instantly claimed composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10, 18, and 19 (all claims currently under consideration) are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 17-22 of copending Application No. 18/272115 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach particles comprising crosslinked polypeptide shells comprising proteins and particles that are the same size as the instantly claimed composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10, 18, and 19 (all claims currently under consideration) are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12, 17, 19-24 of copending Application No. 18/272110 reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach particles comprising crosslinked polypeptide shells comprising proteins and particles that are the same size as the instantly claimed composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10, 18, and 19 (all claims currently under consideration) are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-11 and 17-25 of copending Application No. 18/272113 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims teach particles comprising crosslinked polypeptide shells comprising proteins and particles that are the same size as the instantly claimed composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611