DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action of 07/08/2026 is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn. A new final action is issued for the claims that were submitted on 5/28/2026 which included amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 2010/0198410) in view of Boedicker et al (US 2016/0324360), Kim et al (US 2015/0292749; hereinafter Kim ‘749), and Kim et al (US 2007/0029312; hereinafter Kim ‘312).
Choi discloses the cooking apparatus claimed including a heating cooking chamber (11), a first heater (210; also see Figures 6 and 7) and a first fan (220) to blow first heated air by the first heater, a second heater (310) and a second fan (320) to blow second heated air by the second heater, a control unit (400; also, see Figure 11) configured to control the first heater, the first fan, and the second heater, and the second fan wherein the control unit stops energization of the first heater (step S12 in Figure 12) to begin a selected cooking process (e.g., baking process; also, see para 0111). But, Choi does not explicitly disclose for the control unit being a processor wherein the processor generates a notification of completion of the preheating process wherein the preheating process indicates a process wherein a temperature in the cooking chamber exceeds a threshold temperature at least once, and the second heater that continues to be energized after the completion of the preheating stage as claimed.
Boedicker discloses it is known to provide a cooking apparatus with a controller that is in the form of a processor (para 0031) wherein an audible or a visual signal indicator including a buzzer or an LED light is provided to indicate a completion of a preheating of the cooking apparatus (para 0042).
Kim ‘749 discloses it is known for a preheating process during which a heating temperature exceeds at least once and indicates for the completion of the preheating process (also, see para 0108 and Figure 7A). Kim ‘749 also discloses for the control unit including a processor (para 0157).
Kim ‘312 discloses a heating cooking apparatus having a first convection system (50) having a first heater and a first fan, and a second convection system (40) having a second heater and a second fan wherein when a grilling and baking (i.e., a cooking process) is performed, the second convection system (40) operates while the first convection system (50) does not operate (para 0042).
In view of Boedicker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Choi with a processor as the control unit which is a well known form of a control unit wherein the processor is provided with an indicator that notifies a completion of a preheating process which enables a user to starting a cooking process which would include accommodating or inserting a food item into the cooking chamber wherein, in view of Kim ‘749, the preheating process would include a process in which a temperature of the cooking chamber would exceed a threshold temperature (i.e., a desired target preheating temperature) at least once to predictably ensure that the desired preheating temperature has indeed been reached and allows a user to begin a cooking operation as desired, and in view of Kim ‘312, it would have been obvious to adapt Choi with the second heater to continuously be operated after the completion of the preheating process when a cooking operation such as a baking/grill operation is selected to perform wherein the second heater is selected to be operated while the first heater/fan is inactive to perform a cooking operation as desired.
With respect to claim 2, Choi discloses the processor as modified by Boedicker that stops energization of the first heater and the first fan (step S14 in Figure 12) when a first predetermined period is elapsed (shown by the elapsed time in step S16) from the time of energization of the second heater (step S15), the first predetermined period would indicate a period when the temperature of the first heater is decreased or lowered as the first heater is stopped or deactivated which would no longer generating heat.
With respect to claim 3, Choi discloses the processor as modified by Boedicker that stops energization of the first heater (see step 14 in Figure 12) wherein a completion of the preheating process (step 17; para 0110) is made after a first predetermined period is elapsed (in step S16) after a start of the energization of the second heater, but Choi does not show the first predetermined period during which the temperature of the cooking chamber is decreased substantially to the threshold temperature. But, Kim ‘749 discloses for the preheating temperature that is decreased to a temperature substantially identical to the threshold temperature (i.e., target temperature) once after the preheating temperature has exceeded the threshold target temperature (also, see Figure 7A), and it would have been obvious to adapt Choi with the first period that indicates for the temperature that is decreased substantially identical to the target threshold temperature to ensure that the desired preheating target temperature is achieved once after it has exceeded the target/threshold temperature.
With respect to claim 4, Choi as modified by Boedicker and Kim ‘749 discloses the processor that drives the second fan (320) during a cooking operation (para 0094 of Choi) wherein such cooking operation would be after a notification of the completion of the preheating process.
With respect to claim 5, Choi discloses the first heater (210) positioned at an upper portion of the cooking chamber with the second heater (310) positioned at a predetermined side of the cooking chamber wherein the upper portion is different from the predetermined side as shown in Figure 6.
With respect to claim 6, Choi further shows a predetermined region of the cooking chamber shown by a region, i.e., an area below the first heater (210) and the first fan (220) wherein Kim ‘749 discloses for the preheating process during which a heating temperature exceeds at least once and indicates for the completion of the preheating process (also, see para 0108 and Figure 7A).
With respect to claim 7, Choi discloses for a temperature sensor (para 0053) that detects a temperature of the cooking chamber to bring about and sustain the required/threshold temperature (para 0010) wherein Choi shows the control unit (160) that controls the first heater, the first fan, the second heater, and the second fan (see Figure 3) based on a detection of the result of the temperature detection unit/sensor which allows the control unit to meet a desired threshold/required temperature (also Figure 5), but Choi does not disclose that the temperature sensor is a thermistor.
Kim ‘749 shows it is known to provide a temperature sensor in the form of a thermistor (para 0086), and it would have been obvious to adapt Choi with the temperature sensor in the form of a thermistor as a substitute, which is well known form a temperature sensor that is also known to effectively measure temperature.
With respect to claim 8, Choi discloses a third heater (bake heater or boil heater) disposed in the cooking chamber wherein the processor, as modified by Boedicker, controls the third heated based on the detection result of the temperature detection unit (also, see para 0010 and 0053, and Figure 5)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Boedicker, Kim ‘749, and Kim ‘312 as applied to claims 1-8 above, and further in view of Nasu et al (US 2017/0171921).
Choi in view of Boedicker, Kim ‘749, and Kim ‘312 discloses the cooking apparatus claimed but does not show a pull-body on which an object to be heated is placed thereon wherein the pull-out body is configured to be pulled-out from the cooking chamber wherein the processor, as modified by Boedicker, stops energization of the first heater and the second heater when the pull-out body is pulled out.
Nasu discloses a cooking apparatus including a door (4) with a pull-out body (5) upon which an object to be heated is placed thereon wherein the pull-out body is pulled out from a cooking chamber when the door opens (see Figure 2), and Nasu further discloses a sensor (4008; also, see Figure 44) that senses when the door opens or closes wherein the sensor is connected to a heating control unit (4012) for controlling a heating element such that the heating element is activated only when the door is closed (para 0399) which suggests that the heating element is not activated when the door is open or that the pull-out body is pulled out of the cooking chamber.
Thus, in view of Nasu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Choi, as modified by Boedicker, Kim ‘749, and Kim ‘312, with a pull-out body on which an object/food is placed on so that the heated object or food item can be conveniently retrieved in and out of the cooking chamber wherein the opening and closing state of the pull-out body is sensed and connected to a heating control unit (160/170) of Choi which would also control the energization of the heating elements including the first heater and the second heater so that the first and second heaters are stopped or inactivated when the pull-out body is pulled from the cooking chamber for safety purposes and predictably prevent a user from being exposed to excessive heat or energy from the heaters when the pull-out body via the door is pulled out from the cooking chamber.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection including Kim ‘312 which is applied to show the second heater being continuously energized to perform a selected cooking operation after the preheating process.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761