DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a control unit in claim 1 wherein control is a functional language with the recited term unit being a generic placeholder for means; and a temperature detection unit wherein temperature detection is a functional language with the term unit being a generic placeholder for means.
A control unit is interpreted as a processor sch as a CPU as disclosed in the specification or its equivalents thereof.
A temperature detection unit is interpreted as a thermistor as disclosed in the specification or its equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites for a “second” predetermined period, but there is no proper context for the second predetermined period in absence of a first predetermined period.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 2010/0198410) in view of Boedicker et al (US 2016/0324360) and Kim et al (US 2015/0292749).
Choi discloses the cooking apparatus claimed including a heating cooking chamber (11), a first heater (210; also see Figures 6 and 7) and a first fan (220) to blow first heated air by the first heater, a second heater (310) and a second fan (320) to blow second heated air by the second heater, a control unit (400; also, see Figure 11) configured to control the first heater, the first fan, the second heater, and the second fan wherein the control unit stops energization of the first heater (step S12 in Figure 12) and energizes the second heater (step S15) before completion of a preheating process (step S17 when the preheating is completed; para 0110).
But, Choi does not explicitly disclose for a notification of completion of the preheating process wherein the preheating process indicates a process wherein a temperature in the cooking chamber exceeds a threshold temperature at least once as claimed.
Boedicker discloses it is known to provide a cooking apparatus with an audible or a visual signal indicator including an buzzer or an LED light that indicates for a completion of a preheating of the cooking apparatus (para 0042).
Kim discloses it is known for a preheating process during which a heating temperature exceeds at least once and indicates for the completion of the preheating process (also, see para 0108 and Figure 7A).
In view of Boedicker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Choi with an indicator that notifies a completion of a preheating process which enables a user to starting a cooking process which would include accommodating or inserting a food item into the cooking chamber wherein, in view of Kim, the preheating process would include a process in which a temperature of the cooking chamber would exceed a threshold temperature (i.e., a desired target preheating temperature) at least once to predictably ensure that the desired preheating temperature has indeed been reached and allows a user to begin a cooking operation as desired.
With respect to claim 2, Choi discloses the control unit that stops energization of the first heater and the first fan (step S14 in Figure 12) when a first predetermined period is elapsed (shown by the elapsed time in step S16) from the time of energization of the second heater (step S15), the first predetermined period would indicate a period when the temperature of the first heater is decreased or lowered as the first heater is stopped or deactivated which would no longer generating heat.
With respect to claim 3, Choi discloses for the control unit that stops energization of the first heater (see step 14 in Figure 12) wherein a completion of the preheating process (step 17; para 0110) is made after a second predetermined period is elapsed (in step S16), but Choi does not show the second predetermined period during which the temperature of the cooking chamber is decreased substantially to the threshold temperature. But, Kim discloses for the preheating temperature that is decreased to a temperature substantially identical to the threshold temperature (i.e., target temperature) once after the preheating temperature has exceeded the threshold target temperature (also, see Figure 7A), and it would have been obvious to adapt Choi with the second period that indicates for the temperature that is decreased substantially identical to the target threshold temperature to ensure that the desired preheating target temperature is achieved once after it has exceeded the target/threshold temperature.
With respect to claim 4, Choi as modified by Boedicker and Kim discloses the control unit that drives the second fan (320) during a cooking operation (para 0094 of Choi) wherein such cooking operation would be after a notification of the completion of the preheating process.
With respect to claim 5, Choi discloses the first heater (210) positioned at an upper portion of the cooking chamber with the second heater (310) positioned at a predetermined side of the cooking chamber wherein the upper portion is different from the predetermined side as shown in Figure 6.
With respect to claim 6, Choi further shows a predetermined region of the cooking chamber shown by a region below the first heater (210) and the first fan (220) wherein Kim discloses for the preheating process during which a heating temperature exceeds at least once and indicates for the completion of the preheating process (also, see para 0108 and Figure 7A).
With respect to claim 7, Choi discloses for a temperature sensor (para 0053) that detects a temperature of the cooking chamber to bring about and sustain the required/threshold temperature (para 0010) wherein Choi shows the control unit (160) that controls the first heater, the first fan, the second heater, and the second fan (see Figure 3) based on a detection of the result of the temperature detection unit/sensor which allows the control unit to meet a desired threshold/required temperature (also Figure 5).
With respect to claim 8, Choi discloses a third heater (bake heater or boil heater) disposed in the cooking chamber wherein the control unit controls the third heated based on the detection result of the temperature detection unit (also, see para 0010 and 0053, and Figure 5)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Boedicker and Kim as applied to claims 1-8 above, and further in view of Nasu et al (US 2017/0171921).
Choi in view of Boedicker and Kim discloses the cooking apparatus claimed but does not show a pull-body on which an object to be heated is placed thereon wherein the pull-out body is configured to be pulled-out from the cooking chamber wherein the control unit stops energization of the first heater and the second heater when the pull-out body is pulled out.
Nasu discloses a cooking apparatus including a door (4) with a pull-out body (5) upon which an object to be heated is placed thereon wherein the pull-out body is pulled out from a cooking chamber when the door opens (see Figure 2), and Nasu further discloses a sensor (4008; also, see Figure 44) that senses when the door opens or closes wherein the sensor is connected to a heating control unit (4012) for controlling a heating element such that the heating element is activated only when the door is closed (para 0399) which suggests that the heating element is not activated when the door is open or that the pull-out body is pulled out of the cooking chamber.
Thus, in view of Nasu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Choi, as modified by Boedicker and Kim, with a pull-out body on which an object/food is placed on so that the heated object or food item can be conveniently retrieved in and out of the cooking chamber wherein the opening and closing state of the pull-out body is sensed and connected to a heating control unit (160/170) of Choi which would also control the energization of the heating elements including the first heater and the second heater so that the first and second heaters are stopped or inactivated when the pull-out body is pulled from the cooking chamber for safety purposes and predictably prevent a user from being exposed to excessive heat or energy from the heaters when the pull-out body via the door is pulled out from the cooking chamber.
Conclusion
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761