DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-2, in the reply filed on 28 October 2025 is acknowledged. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 3-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 28 October 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nakagawa et al. (WO 2018/225739 – using US 2020/0149179 as an English language equivalent, both references cited by applicant).
Considering claim 1, Nakagawa teaches a steel sheet for cans (abstract) where the steel sheet (2) has a chromium metal layer (3) with a weight of 50-200 mg/m2 (Paragraph 20), a hydrated chromium oxide layer (4) with a weight of 3-30 mg/m2 in terms of chromium amount (Paragraph 20) having granular protrusions (3b) separated by flat portions (e.g. flat plate shape base portion) (Fig. 1 – reproduced below; Paragraphs 40-41). However, Nakagawa does not expressly teach the claimed circularity or percentage thereof.
Nakagawa teaches where the plated steel is manufactured by a cathodic electrolysis treatment C1 using aqueous solution, anodic treatment A1 and cathodic electrolysis treatment C2 (Paragraph 85) in a fluorine-containing compound and sulfuric acid (Paragraph 91) where C1 is performed at 20-50 C/dm2 (Paragraph 106), where A1 forms the granular protrusions (Paragraph 109) at 0.1-5.0 A/dm2 (Paragraph 113) and C2 is performed at 10-60.0 A/dm2 (Paragraph 120) followed by a post-treatment in an aqueous solution of a hexavalent chromium compound of chromium trioxide, dichromates, or chromates (Paragraphs 127-130). These conditions substantially overlap those disclosed by applicant in Paragraphs 34-35, 43-45, and 47-48 of the originally filed specification. As such, one would reasonably expect the claimed circularity or percentage thereof as substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to behave the same, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.
As such, Nakagawa anticipates and/or renders obvious the instantly claimed steel sheet as Nakagawa teaches chromium metal and chromium oxide layers in a content falling within and overlapping that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2131.03 and 2144.05.
Considering claim 2, Nakagawa teaches where the granular protrusions have a maximum grain size of not more than 200 nm and a number density of not less than 30 protrusions/µm2 (Paragraph 22). See MPEP 2131.03 and 2144.05.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Haghdoost et al. (US 2017/0334170), Nakagawa et al. (US 2018/0355496 and US 2018/0363160) teach chromium plated steels demonstrating the level of ordinary skill in the art.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784