DETAILED ACTION
Note: The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 71-89 in the reply filed on February 13, 2026 is acknowledged. Claim 90 is withdrawn from consideration.
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy (DE10 2021 000 320.9 filed on January 22, 2021) has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 23, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112B
Claims 71-89 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 71, and all dependent claims thereof, recites:
“at least two sensor units, at least one sensor unit… and at least one sensor unit” in lines 5-7, which is unclear. Please consider changing this limitation to be more clearly written, such as: “at least two sensor units, a first sensor unit of the at least two sensor units… and a second sensor unit of the at least two sensor units”.
“the sensor units” is lines 9-10, which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 72 recites:
“the at least third sensor connector” in line 2, which lacks antecedent basis.
“a sensor connector” in line 2, which in indefinite. Does this refer back to any of the recited sensor connector(s), previously recited in claim 71?
“a sensor unit” in lines 2-3, which is indefinite. Does this refer back to any of the recited sensor unit(s), previously recited in claim 71?
Claim 73, and all dependent claims thereof, recites:
“the sensor unit” in line 1, which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 74 recites the sensor unit” in line 1, which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 82 recites “the plastic” in line 1, which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 83 recites “the prisms” in line 1, which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 87 recites “the sensor unit” in line 1, which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(A)(1)
Claims 71, 72, and 84-88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Schranz et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0233781 A1) (hereinafter “Schranz”).
With respect to claim 71, Schranz teaches a measuring device for analyzing a respiratory gas flow (abstract “evaluation device for processing sensor signals… representing… gas flowing in the ventilation conducting assembly”), wherein the measuring device comprising at least one measuring unit (Fig. 1 shows sensor assemblies 54, 55, and 48; see also par.0088) and a cuvette releasably connected to the measuring unit and adapted and configured for a respiratory gas to flow through it (Fig. 1 shows measuring cuvette 52 is detachably coupled with sensors 54, 55, and 48; see also par.0094), and wherein the measuring unit comprises at least two sensor units (par.0088 “sensor assemblies 54, 55, and also 48”; see also Fig. 1), at least one sensor unit being configured to determine a respiratory gas flow and at least one sensor unit being configured to determine a CO2 concentration in a respiratory gas (par.0094 “flow sensor 48… CO.sub.2 sensor assembly 54”), the cuvette comprises at least two sensor connectors for attaching the sensor units for determining at least one respiratory gas flow and at least one CO2 concentration of a respiratory gas (cuvette 52 has multiple ports/connectors for attaching to flow sensor 48 and CO2 sensor 54; see Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 72, Schranz teaches wherein the cuvette comprises at least three sensor connectors, the at least third sensor connector being a sensor connector for a sensor unit for determining a respiratory gas pressure and/or an at least third sensor unit being a sensor unit for determining the respiratory gas pressure (Fig. 1; par.0093+ “differential pressure flow sensor”).
With respect to claim 84, Schranz teaches wherein the cuvette comprises a coupling for a gas-conveying connection to a patient interface (Fig. 1 shows cuvette 52 is coupled to various components, including control device 14).
With respect to claim 85, Schranz teaches wherein the cuvette and the measuring unit are releasably connected to one another by at least one connecting element of the measuring unit and at least one connecting element of the cuvette (par.0094 “coupled detachably with the measuring cuvette”; see also Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 86, Schranz teaches wherein the at least two sensor units of the measuring unit are arranged together in a housing (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 87, Schranz teaches wherein the sensor unit for determining the respiratory gas pressure determines the respiratory gas pressure via a difference from atmospheric pressure (par.0093).
With respect to claim 88, Schranz teaches wherein the at least third sensor unit comprises at least one sensor head (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 73-77, 79-81, 84, and 89 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schranz in view of Wilke et al. (US Patent No. 6039697) (hereinafter “Wilke”).
With respect to claim 73, Schranz teaches wherein the sensor unit for determining the CO2 concentration in the respiratory gas comprises at least one radiation source, at least one detector unit (par.0094 “infrared gas sensor… CO.sub.2 sensor assembly”; par.0096 “infrared light through the measuring cuvette”).
However, Schranz does not teach at least one mirror, at least two lenses and at least one prism.
Wilke teaches an infrared respiratory gas analyzer (title) that can at least one mirror, at least two lenses and at least one prism (see col. 7 lines 56-62).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art (“PHOSITA”) when the invention was filed to modify Schranz to incorporate at least one mirror, at least two lenses and at least one prism., in order to control or direct the infrared light, as evidence by Wilke (see col. 7 lines 56-62). Furthermore, PHOSITA would have had predictable success combining Schranz and Wilke as both teachings relate to the same narrow field of endeavor, i.e. utilizing infrared to analyze respiratory gas.
With respect to claim 74, Wilke teaches wherein the sensor unit for determining the CO2 concentration in the respiratory gas comprises at least two prisms, at least one of the at least two lenses being arranged on each prism (see col. 7 lines 56-62). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art (“PHOSITA”) when the invention was filed to modify Schranz to incorporate at least two prisms and at least two lenses, in the matter recited, in order to control or direct the infrared light, as evidence by Wilke (see col. 7 lines 56-62). Furthermore, PHOSITA would have had predictable success combining Schranz and Wilke as both teachings relate to the same narrow field of endeavor, i.e. utilizing infrared to analyze respiratory gas.
With respect to claim 75, Schranz and Wilke do not teach wherein the at least one mirror is a concave mirror which is coated for high reflection of radiation in a wavelength range of from 3500 nm to 4600 nm. However, further modification to incorporate this feature would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Note: Schranz and Wilke teach infrared radiation, which inherently uses a wavelength range), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 76, Schranz and Wilke do not explicitly teach wherein the at least one detector unit comprises at least two detector faces, at least one of the two detector faces being configured for detecting wavelengths in a wavelength range from 3950 nm to 4550 nm, and at least one of the at least two detector faces being configured for detecting wavelengths in a wavelength range from 3600 nm to 4200 nm, and/or at least one of the at least two detector faces being configured as measuring detector and at least one of the at least two detector faces being configured as comparison detector, the at least two detector faces having the same size and the detector face configured for detecting wavelengths in a wavelength range from 3950 nm to 4550 nm being configured as a measuring detector. However, further modification to incorporate this feature would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Note: Schranz and Wilke teach infrared radiation, which inherently uses a wavelength range), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 77, Schranz teaches wherein the radiation source is an infrared radiation source (par.0096).
With respect to claim 79, Schranz in view of Wilke render obvious wherein the cuvette is arranged between one of the at least two lenses and the at least one prism (see Wilke, col. 7 lines 56-62). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed to modify Schranz to the at least two lenses and the at least one prism, in the matter recited, in order to control or direct the infrared light, as evidence by Wilke (see col. 7 lines 56-62). Furthermore, PHOSITA would have had predictable success combining Schranz and Wilke as both teachings relate to the same narrow field of endeavor, i.e. utilizing infrared to analyze respiratory gas.
With respect to claim 80, Schranz and Wilke do not explicitly teach wherein a total transmission of optics consisting of mirror, radiation source, lenses and prisms of the sensor unit as well as the cuvette is more than 50 %. However, further modification to incorporate this feature would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 81, Schranz and Wilke do not explicitly teach wherein the prisms, the lenses and the cuvette are made of a plastic, the plastic exhibiting a transmission of infrared rays at a material thickness of 2 mm of more than 85 %. However, further modification to incorporate this feature would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Moreover, utilizing plastic, as the material for cuvette, prisms, lenses, etc. would have been obvious to PHOSITA as a design choice. See also below for example teaching, which sets forth that it is known to utilize plastics as material for cuvette (Raemer).
With respect to claim 84, Schranz and Wilke suggest wherein a surface of one of the prisms together with a surface of a second prism forms a tapering gap, the cuvette having an outer cross-section which fits the tapering gap in the area of a sensor connector for attaching the sensor unit for detecting the concentration of C02 (Schranz’s Fig. 1 depicts that cuvette 52, modified by Wilke, would be tapered for attaching to sensors 54, 55, and 48)
With respect to claim 89, Schranz and Wilke do not teach wherein the measuring device, consisting of the measuring unit and the cuvette, has an overall weight of less than 120 g. However, further modification to incorporate this feature would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 78 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schranz and Wilke, as applied to claim 73 above, in further view of Sinclair et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2014/0153864 A1) (hereinafter “Sinclair”).
With respect to claim 78, Schranz and Wilke teach a measuring device for analyzing a respiratory gas flow. Wilke also teaches utilizing a prism (see rejection of claim 73).
However, Wilke does not explicitly teach an inverting prism.
Sinclair teaches an inverting prism (par.0073 “roof prism”; Note: instant application discloses inverting prism, preferably as a roof prism, see par.18).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed to modify Wilke to utilize an inverting/roof prism as a roof prism is relatively easy to manufacture and creates an axicon effect extending the depth of field, as evidence by Sinclair (par.0073).
Claim 82 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schranz and Wilke, as applied to claim 73 above, in further view of Raemer (US Patent No. 4648396).
With respect to claim 82, Schranz and Wilke teach a measuring device for analyzing a respiratory gas flow.
However, Schranz and Wilke do not teach the limitations further recited in claim 82.
Raemer teaches wherein the plastic consists of more than 90 % by weight of a polysulfone, a polyethersulfone, a polymethylmethacrylate, a polycarbonate, a polytetrafluoroethylene, a poly(arylenesulfone), a polyimide, a polyamide and/or a mixture of at least one of the listed polymers and optionally a further polymer (col. 5 line 68 – col. 6 line 3).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed to modify Schranz’s cuvette 52 to be made of plastic, such as polycarbonate, in order to allow for transparency with respect to infrared radiation, as evidence by Raemer (col. 5 line 68 – col. 6 line 3). Although Raemer does not explicitly teach more than 90% weight of polycarbonate, further modification to utilize more than 90% of the recited material(s) would be obvious as a mere design choice.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PUYA AGAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791