DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
For further clarification, arguments pertaining to the use of carbon fiber are moot because I is instead applied in a 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection where no motivation to combine is needed and therefore no argument of material compatibility needs to be addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US-20190280253-A1 (I), with support from INEOS, Typical Engineering Properties of Polypropylene (Year: 2014) and ZOLTEK, Carbon Fiber SDS (Year: 2025).
Regarding claim 1, I teaches a pouch-type secondary battery (10) comprising: a pouch-type battery case (30); a sealing part ([0026], “thermal fusion resin layer”) configured to be heat-sealed in a state of accommodating an electrode assembly [0077]; and a cover member (41A/B) positioned between an at least one thickness side of the electrode assembly and the pouch-type battery case (see Fig. 8B, where the shorter sides of 20 are the thickness sides), wherein the cover member is disposed on the at least one thickness side of the electrode assembly (Fig. 8B, which is the embodiment that is being used as reference for this rejection), wherein the at least one thickness side extends in a stacking direction of the electrode assembly (Fig. 6 shows the stacking direction is perpendicular to the long faces of the electrode assembly, so the thickness sides extend in this direction because they are also perpendicular to the long faces), wherein the cover member extends along the sealing part (the sealing part is taught to be a thermal fusion layer which is placed on a side of 30A/30B facing the electrode assembly [0026], so the cover member must extend along the sealing part because the sealing part is on the interior of the cases 30A/30B), and wherein the cover member includes a heat-resistant polymer material (carbon fiber [0020]) having a melting point higher than a thermal compression temperature of the sealing part (the sealing part is formed from materials that may be polypropylene or polyethylene. INEOS teaches that polypropylene has a melting point of 143-151°C (page 2) and ZOLTEK teaches that carbon fiber has a decomposition point at about 3500°C (page 6). Therefore, the melting point of the carbon fiber is higher than the melting point of the sealing member.).
Regarding claim 6, I teaches the cover member is in contact with the at least one thickness side of the electrode assembly (see Fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 7, I teaches the cover member completely covers the at least one thickness side of the electrode assembly (see Fig. 6 and Fig. 8B, taken together teaching that the carbon fiber sheet extends along the long side of the electrode body (Fig. 6) and covers the thickness side completely (Fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 9, I teaches a width of the cover member is greater than a length of a thickness of the electrode assembly in the stacking direction, and wherein the cover member is configured to be bent at opposing ends of the cover member, so as to form a U-shape surrounding the at least one thickness side of the electrode assembly [0105], and so as to be positioned between the at least one thickness side and the pouch-type battery case (see Fig. 6, position for embodiment in Fig 8B is still the same, between the case and the electrode body).
Regarding claim 10, I teaches the electrode assembly is a jelly-roll type electrode assembly (see Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20190280253-A1 (I), INEOS, ZOLTEK, and in further view of US-20170358783-A1 (K).
Regarding claim 3, the teachings of I are explained in the rejection of claim 1.
I further teaches the pouch-type battery case has one accommodating part (31).
I does not teach a pair of accommodating parts.
K teaches a pouch type battery case (200) with a pair of accommodating members (210, 220), wherein each of the pair of accommodating parts has an indent (see Fig. 3) configured to accommodate the electrode assembly (230), wherein the pouch-type battery case is configured to be bent along a bending line (see dotted line on annotated Fig. 3 below) so that each of the pair of accommodating parts are symmetrically positioned with respect to one another; and a sealing part (223) is disposed along an outer periphery of the pair of accommodating parts except for a periphery of the bending line (see Fig. 3, because there is little to no lip between the indent and the folding line, there is no sealing part there because the sealing part is only the lip).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to form the pouch type battery case of I in the shape of K because doing so would amount to no more than substituting one form of a pouch type battery case for another with a reasonable chance of success. A further reason for obviousness would be that this is a change of form or shape. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 4, the teachings of I are explained in the rejection of claim 1.
I further teaches the pouch-type battery case has one accommodating part (31).
I does not teach a pair of accommodating parts.
K teaches a pouch type battery case (200) with a pair of accommodating members (210, 220), wherein each of the pair of accommodating parts has an indent (see Fig. 3) configured to accommodate the electrode assembly (230), wherein the pouch-type battery case is configured to be bent along a bending line (see dotted line on annotated Fig. 3 below) so that each of the pair of accommodating parts are symmetrically positioned with respect to one another; and a sealing part (223) is disposed along an outer periphery of the pair of accommodating parts except for a periphery of the bending line (see Fig. 3, because there is little to no lip between the indent and the folding line, there is no sealing part there because the sealing part is only the lip).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to form the pouch type battery case of I in the shape of K because doing so would amount to no more than substituting one form of a pouch type battery case for another with a reasonable chance of success. A further reason for obviousness would be that this is a change of form or shape. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
The above modification meets the claim requirements of the sealing part being disposed along the outer periphery of the pair of accommodating parts, where each of the accommodating parts has an indent which houses the electrode body.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20190280253-A1 (I), INEOS, ZOLTEK, and in further view of US-20170149027-A1, KANG.
Regarding claim 8, the teachings of I are explained in the rejections of claims 1 and 7.
I additionally teaches a width of the cover member is greater than a length of a thickness of the electrode assembly in the stacking direction (evidenced by Fig. 8B, where the cover member wraps around 3 sides fully and one side partially, meaning it is longer than a thickness side of the electrode assembly in the stacking direction).
KANG teaches the cover member is provided to prevent the case (110) from wrinkling [0067] and to reduce the amount of electrolyte needed [0068]. KANG shows in Fig. 6 an alternative embodiment of the cover member (290 here) where a component of the cover member (293) which has an I shape (note the parts which extend in a stacking direction on either side of the electrode assembly 150, and the portion that is more flush with 150, forming the I shape).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to modify the cover member of I to have the geometry of the cover member of KANG in order to achieve the benefit of reducing the amount of electrolyte needed and preventing wrinkling of the case during assembly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUISE JAMES IANNUCCI/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721